YTL Wimax launched?

sunnyK
post Dec 29 2010, 03:50 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(nonameNo @ Dec 27 2010, 10:49 AM)
you can't calculate it like these.

if you using 3GB and above, there is rebate going on. E.g. using 4GB, then RM23 rebate. If using 5GB++, then 30% discount and so on....
wonder 5gb per month of usage will equate to how much after rebate .

how do they calculate normal surfing ? and how do they calculate if we took 1 hr to read certain website page

anyone experience user please contribute

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Dec 29 2010, 03:52 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Dec 29 2010, 03:57 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Dec 29 2010, 03:50 PM)

how do they calculate normal surfing ? and how do they calculate if we took 1 hr to read certain website page

Bro,

What kind of webpage that requires 1 hour to load?
sunnyK
post Dec 29 2010, 04:10 PM

663 posts

not load lah.

taking sweet time to concentrate and read

edit: just discover , actually YES website did have a usage calculation . 250 hrs surfing at RM30 per month but youtube is expensive

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Dec 29 2010, 04:27 PM
lowkl
post Dec 29 2010, 11:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Dec 29 2010, 04:10 PM)
not load lah.

edit: just discover , actually YES website did have a usage calculation . 250 hrs surfing at RM30 per month but youtube is expensive
Actually, YES costs are based on the amount of data transferred. So what you pay is the amount of data that makes up that web page. It does not matter how long you take to read the page.... take your time! You can even leave it on overnight and it will not use any extra data (and therefore will not cost you an extra sen).

Most web pages are only a few hundred kilobytes in size, so that they can be loaded faster. As such you can browse thousands of webpages for 1GB of data... eg. 100KB per page = 10 pages per 1MB, or 10,000 pages for 1GB.

Of course these days there are many pages which build in Flash graphics and even let you view video/YouTube within the page itself (without having to go to another site). In this case the amount of data transferred can be much more.

Nevertheless, even with heavy browsing, IMHO you won't touch 1GB a month, unless you do a lot of video.

Quantum_thinking
post Dec 30 2010, 02:14 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

not load lah.

lowkl has answered most of my opinion.

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 29 2010, 11:26 PM)
Actually, YES costs are based on the amount of data transferred. So what you pay is the amount of data that makes up that web page. It does not matter how long you take to read the page.... take your time! You can even leave it on overnight and it will not use any extra data (and therefore will not cost you an extra sen).

Most web pages are only a few hundred kilobytes in size, so that they can be loaded faster. As such you can browse thousands of webpages for 1GB of data... eg. 100KB per page = 10 pages per 1MB, or 10,000 pages for 1GB.

Of course these days there are many pages which build in Flash graphics and even let you view video/YouTube within the page itself (without having to go to another site). In this case the amount of data transferred can be much more.

Nevertheless, even with heavy browsing, IMHO you won't touch 1GB a month, unless you do a lot of video.
Bro,

I still heard that a forumer claimed that he use 100mb at least per day due to very heavy surfing (3 hours at least per day).

Therefore, it is essential to have a data monitoring software to alert the user if too much data is used.
sunnyK
post Dec 30 2010, 10:12 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 29 2010, 11:26 PM)

yes thanks bro

that's what i believe the usage calculation rate should be and if that's the case , at least it's still fair
BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 06:10 PM

2,470 posts

How long did u guys take to have it activated ie can browse from the time u first get the hurdle from the shop? 3 hours?
lowkl
post Dec 31 2010, 07:24 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(BigMan123 @ Dec 31 2010, 06:10 PM)
How long did u guys take to have it activated ie can browse from the time u first get the hurdle from the shop? 3 hours?
I think immediately. The sales person asked me if I wanted assistance to set up the Huddle, so I said hey why not. Looked like the connection was live at the store itself (Lot10).

Confirmed that I linked up less than an hour after that.

Added on December 31, 2010, 8:07 pmI've done a side-by-side breakeven analysis with currently available broadband services against YTL Yes, purely on the basis of cost (not looking at quality).

My criteria:

- packages must provide at least 1Mbps. Less than that is a sad excuse for broadband.
- generally no promo considered (DiGi's an exception, because I generally like their service... so sue me)

The results:

Conclusion:

- There is nothing cheaper than YTL Yes if your data volume is less than 2.3GB per month. Above this until 3GB DiGi and Maxis have cheaper packages but only until 3GB at which point they will throttle. So if you use under 2.3 GB most of the time and sometimes exceed 3GB, still want full speed and are willing to pay for it, YTL Yes is still a better deal.

- For the next tier usage (10GB to 20GB) YTL Yes is only cheaper until 3.7GB (at DiGi speeds during promo), 4.7GB (at P1 or Maxis speeds), 5.1GB (at DiGi non-promo speeds) or 7.1 GB (at Unifi 5Mbps speeds). These only throttle at a min of 6GB to 60GB, depending on the service. So IMHO if you don't routinely exceed 5GB per month, then YTL Yes is more cost-effective; however, things can get pretty expensive if you go beyond this limit all the time.

- For the heavy usage tier (Above 10GB) no need to talk lah... as expected YTL Yes is NOT the service for you.

Please flame me lightly where I got it wrong...

<corrected: max transfer speed for Maxis packages to 7.2 Mbps -- thanks digilife>

This post has been edited by lowkl: Dec 31 2010, 10:40 PM
BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 08:29 PM

2,470 posts

Strange. The gal told me 3 hours but then when i could not get thru, i called the number and they told me 24 hours min. What the heck

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 07:24 PM)
I think immediately. The sales person asked me if I wanted assistance to set up the Huddle, so I said hey why not. Looked like the connection was live at the store itself (Lot10).

Added on December 31, 2010, 8:07 pmI've done a side-by-side breakeven analysis with currently available broadband services against YTL Yes, purely on the basis of cost (not looking at quality).

My criteria:

- packages must provide at least 1Mbps. Less than that is a sad excuse for broadband.
- generally no promo considered (DiGi's an exception, because I generally like their service... so sue me)

The results:

Conclusion:

- There is nothing cheaper than YTL Yes if your data volume is less than 2.3GB per month. Above this until 3GB DiGi and Maxis have cheaper packages but only until 3GB at which point they will throttle. So if you use under 2.3 GB most of the time and sometimes exceed 3GB, still want full speed and are willing to pay for it, YTL Yes is still a better deal.

- For the next tier usage (10GB to 20GB) YTL Yes is only cheaper until 3.7GB (at DiGi speeds during promo), 4.7GB (at P1 or Maxis speeds), 5.1GB (at DiGi non-promo speeds) or 7.1 GB (at Unifi 5Mbps speeds). These only throttle at a min of 6GB to 60GB, depending on the service. So IMHO if you don't routinely exceed 5GB per month, then YTL Yes is more cost-effective; however, things can get pretty expensive if you go beyond this limit all the time.

- For the heavy usage tier (Above 10GB) no need to talk lah... as expected YTL Yes is NOT the service for you.
digilife
post Dec 31 2010, 08:57 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

My criteria:

The results:

Conclusion:

i beg to differ
i am using Maxis 3G Internet @ rm99/mth ( discontinue for new subscribers)
this is truely a unlimited package whereby i downloaded more than 30GB/mth and there is no throttle
fyi, maxis hav already deployed HSPA in major towns, meaning the speed is 7.2Mbps
if we wanna save, we hav a choice to subscribe a maximum of 4 multisim @ rm15/sim, and all those sims use the same default profile of the parent sim ie, download of 7.2Mbps and upload of 2.0Mbps, imagine rm99+rm60(4 multi-sim)=rm159 , rm159/5 = rm31.80/sim
we share the bill among 5 users and we pay only rm31.80 each . irrespective wheather you are light or heavy user and maxis is widely available too, not YES.
all sim are unlimited and unmetered too............

Quantum_thinking
post Dec 31 2010, 10:35 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

My criteria:

The results:

Conclusion:

Thanks for these comparison. Looks like i can consider of getting YTL wimax. But I prefertolearn more on securing the wireless before getting the huddle. If my YTL is being hacked, it will really make me cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
lowkl
post Dec 31 2010, 10:45 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 31 2010, 10:35 PM)
Thanks for these comparison. Looks like i can consider of getting YTL wimax. But I prefertolearn more on securing the wireless before getting the huddle. If my YTL is being hacked, it will really make me  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
I found out that I can link cabled to the Huddle and disable WiFi. This effectively secures the connection; however, you are right ... since YTL Yes is PAYU I also constantly worry that someone compromises my ID/password and eats up my credits.

Must suggest to YTL some ways to mitigate against this, eg: ID linked to a list of registered devices, so that only these devices can draw down on that ID's credits

Added on December 31, 2010, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 31 2010, 08:57 PM)
i beg to differ
i am using Maxis 3G Internet @ rm99/mth ( discontinue for new subscribers)
this is truely a unlimited package whereby i downloaded more than 30GB/mth and there is no throttle
fyi, maxis hav already deployed HSPA in major towns, meaning the speed is 7.2Mbps
if we wanna save, we hav a choice to subscribe a maximum of 4 multisim @ rm15/sim, and all those sims use the same default profile of the parent sim ie, download of 7.2Mbps and upload of 2.0Mbps, imagine rm99+rm60(4 multi-sim)=rm159 , rm159/5 = rm31.80/sim
we share the bill among 5 users and we pay only rm31.80 each . irrespective wheather you are light or heavy user and maxis is widely available too, not YES.
all sim are unlimited and unmetered too............
Thanks for pointing out the max speed error on Maxis... I've corrected.

re: the unlimited package... so sorry but I can't find the details of this package. Furthermore, you mention that this has been discontinued, so new subscribers cannot get this deal anymore. As such, not sure it is of any value to include this in the comparison as no one new can signup.

re: the multisim package, again so sorry but can't find anything on maxis.com.my on this... please direct me. Also, mutisim would only be beneficial if a group or family wants to sign up together. In this case, we are not really comparing apple to apple. Nevertheless, once you redirect me to the details, I will amend my post.

Thanks once again.

This post has been edited by lowkl: Dec 31 2010, 10:51 PM
BigMan123
post Dec 31 2010, 11:08 PM

2,470 posts

I have waited 11 hours and huddle is still red. Called yes and they said it takes min 24 hours to get it activated. Help!!!!!!
digilife
post Jan 1 2011, 01:11 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Dec 31 2010, 10:45 PM)
I found out that I can link cabled to the Huddle and disable WiFi. This effectively secures the connection; however, you are right ... since YTL Yes is PAYU I also constantly worry that someone compromises my ID/password and eats up my credits.

Must suggest to YTL some ways to mitigate against this, eg: ID linked to a list of registered devices, so that only these devices can draw down on that ID's credits

Added on December 31, 2010, 10:51 pm

Thanks for pointing out the max speed error on Maxis... I've corrected.

re: the unlimited package... so sorry but I can't find the details of this package. Furthermore, you mention that this has been discontinued, so new subscribers cannot get this deal anymore. As such, not sure it is of any value to include this in the comparison as no one new can signup.

re: the multisim package, again so sorry but can't find anything on maxis.com.my on this... please direct me. Also, mutisim would only be beneficial if a group or family wants to sign up together. In this case, we are not really comparing apple to apple. Nevertheless, once you redirect me to the details, I will amend my post.

Thanks once again.
this is the proper maxis thread to ask and fyi, some new subscribers still managed to sign up this package, as the saying goes "wat you knoe gets you the job and who you knoe gets you the promotion/position u wan"
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 01:17 AM

603 posts

Not to worry just make sure that your account has sufficient credits inside and not in excess will ensure that you won't be compromised.
RM100 is more than enough inside.

There's some concern about the RM1199 Free Huddle plan though which gives you a free Huddle with RM1200 credit.
If someone gets hold of your password say bye bye to your 40 months of RM30 1GB pre-payment.

So make sure your account has just enough.If your password is stolen, you'll know right away that someone has been using your line even when you didn't touch the account.
SUSMNet
post Jan 1 2011, 10:26 AM

11,954 posts

u missed XOX and umobile unlimited berukband rm68/m
rocket_jet
post Jan 1 2011, 11:53 AM

Videogame connosieur
712 posts

I tried using P1 but my area can seem to get a good line on it. So return it after 2 days
faizalmzain
post Jan 1 2011, 01:26 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Dec 27 2010, 02:00 PM)
At the end, it won't be better than the fixed rate broadband price and the constant fear of high bills.
it is prepaid system, no money no need to top up.
you won't get shocking bill.

Added on January 1, 2011, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(sunnyK @ Dec 29 2010, 03:50 PM)

do you use any mobile broadband before?
data transfer is the same thing, amount of data transfer to download and upload regardless of what you are doing.
it's not totally a new system.

Added on January 1, 2011, 1:31 pm
not load lah.

laugh.gif dude, if you use mobile/wireless broadband before then you'll know how it is calculated unless you're coming from fixed broadband.

Added on January 1, 2011, 1:33 pmso how we can expect first class broadband when majority of consumers don't even know how data transfer is calculated.
providers need to educate customers first, then can offer first class service.

This post has been edited by faizalmzain: Jan 1 2011, 01:33 PM
Quantum_thinking
post Jan 1 2011, 03:13 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

@iipohbee

Does the huddle allows the user to set which device can connects based on their MAC address?

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Jan 1 2011, 01:17 AM)
Not to worry just make sure that your account has sufficient credits inside and not in excess will ensure that you won't be compromised.
RM100 is more than enough inside.

There's some concern about the RM1199 Free Huddle plan though which gives you a free Huddle with RM1200 credit.
If someone gets hold of your password say bye bye to your 40 months of RM30 1GB pre-payment.

So make sure your account has just enough.If your password is stolen, you'll know right away that someone has been using your line even when you didn't touch the account.
I thought i read in somewhere this thread that the YTL is the first prepaid system with negative balance?

I forgot which page already, but i think it is somewhere in this thread.

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jan 1 2011, 01:26 PM)
it is prepaid system, no money no need to top up.
you won't get shocking bill.

Based on the system,I am not comfortable in using their service as I prefer the bill worry free subscription.

This post has been edited by Quantum_thinking: Jan 1 2011, 03:14 PM
iipohbee
post Jan 1 2011, 05:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Jan 1 2011, 03:13 PM)
@iipohbee

Does the huddle allows the user to set which device can connects based on their MAC address?
I thought i read in somewhere this thread that the YTL is the first prepaid system with negative balance?

I forgot which page already, but i think it is somewhere in this thread.
Based on the system,I am not comfortable in using their service as I prefer the bill worry free subscription.
Nope and not recommended as well. With a personal mifi device, you're better off setting WPA2 and a strong password.

Also the negative balance only happened when they gave the complimentary 10GB last month.

Now no more, you won't get the negative balance and internet access will cut off once hits RM0.
A minimum of RM30 will be deducted every month or else if it doesn't find that amount , you'll get a negative in this case.

That's why don't top up too much in your account. Those who subscribed to the prepaid RM1200 with Free Huddle plan have to be very careful or else you'll be paying RM50 for the next 24months while still having to top up a minimum of RM30 for the next 2 years to keep your account alive.

45 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:37 AM