Nokia N8 - V9 - [The King of Camera Phones], New N8 Owner, please read the FrontPage!

keenjeen
post Oct 25 2010, 01:23 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 24 2010, 01:29 PM)
at  shopping  mall  now,  just  bought  the  car  holder  came  with  the  car  charger  cost  rm80 with  6  months  warranty...
do you mind sharing a pic on how it look like? I'm looking for something more sturdy and not those flimsy RM10 car holder.... or anyone got this http://www.nokia.com.my/find-product/acces...e-holder-cr-122 ?

keenjeen
post Oct 25 2010, 01:31 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 25 2010, 01:28 PM)
the charger should be this:
http://www.nokia.com.my/find-product/acces...-accessory-dc-4

but the car holder mine one not in the list leh...
http://www.nokia.com.my/find-product/acces.../mobile-holders

the suck cup is about the same only the holder are more universal and smaller....  nod.gif
oh, so u get the official nokia car holder... do you remember your model number? which hello station you get it from as i asked some of them, no stock... any how much for the car holder itself without the charger? thanks..
keenjeen
post Oct 25 2010, 01:52 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 25 2010, 01:46 PM)
hehe better have a piece of spec wiper around somewhere...  nod.gif

Added on October 25, 2010, 1:48 pm

receipt kat rumah... maybe later i update lah... never ask only car holder how much leh as when i dengar rm80 original holder come with charger straight ambil terus lah.... tongue.gif
wokie dokie.. thank you..
keenjeen
post Oct 25 2010, 03:26 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(anucia @ Oct 25 2010, 03:24 PM)
And from your experience, is the N8 has really slow browser and sluggish OS??
what is your benchmark? slow and sluggish compare to which phone? for me, it's a BIG improvement compare to my previous E71 :-)
keenjeen
post Oct 26 2010, 10:11 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Oct 26 2010, 09:50 PM)

Added on October 26, 2010, 9:50 pmbtw.. anyone interested with a tripod for your phone??
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry37324193
this is cool... if only you got sell the ball head without the tripod :-) was planning to DIY one myself before i saw this...
keenjeen
post Oct 26 2010, 10:41 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 26 2010, 10:39 PM)
If u wanna see sample of go-kart racing i have shot by the nokia N8
panning shot? smile.gif
keenjeen
post Oct 26 2010, 10:47 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 26 2010, 10:43 PM)
problem the thing end up panning not the background but the object focus hahaha,.
since u can't set the shutter speed in N8, i guess the only way to influence it is to play with combination of ISO and the scene mode... eg. slower shutter speed: low ISO with night scene and no flash... fast shutter speed: high ISO with sport mode
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 01:05 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 27 2010, 12:52 PM)
Comes lets make today photography theme.
Photo of your lunch

The best one ill pick and post up in flickr then link it to around the world hehe
good idea rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 06:16 PM

103 posts

Did some testing for close up shot with some explanation for those who want to know more details

1) This is shot using close up mode with ISO setting as high and no flash. This is shot at the minimum focus distance of 10cm.

2) This is shot using the same setup as above but add raynox dc250 (click here to find out more on raynox). The minimum focus distance has reduced to around 6.5cm in this case.

Base on the sensor size of N8, which is 1/1.83" the magnification for 1) is around 0.06x and for 2) is around 0.125x. If you guys are interested, I can post the "ruler" shot that can show this calculation more accurately.

High ISO setting is used to increase the shutter speed and flash is not use because it make the subject too harsh.

Actually, you can use those cheapo magnifying glasses as well to increase the magnification, just that the image quality may not be as good... have fun playing around
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 06:31 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 27 2010, 06:19 PM)

Sorry off topic awhile

Base on your experience
sifu should i get raynox dc250 or 50mm f/2.5 Macro or 50mm f/1.4 USM
if $$ is an issue, try raynox first.. unless you are very sure you want to go into macro, then get the macro lens. but you need to know what kind of macro you want to shoot because with 50mm, your focus distance is very near... so you must be in stealth mode to shoot the insect without scaring them off biggrin.gif

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 27 2010, 06:23 PM)
but how to use conversion lens with n8 ah?? lx-3 can use also?
handheld blush.gif
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 06:35 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 27 2010, 06:33 PM)
lol...i see...i tot got some auto adjustable lens adapter or something to use lol
hehehe.. i'm just trying it out to see whether worth it or not to DIY an adapter... since the magnification is not much, i think will use handheld easier lah...
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 06:43 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 27 2010, 06:41 PM)
for the buaya king and guess who is on the video

hei.. this is at stadium shah alam... hainanese gathering :-)
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 06:51 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 27 2010, 06:46 PM)

cheers.gif
you are killing the threat with the size of photo... doh.gif
keenjeen
post Oct 27 2010, 08:37 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Oct 27 2010, 07:24 PM)
aren't those lens were made for DSLR lens?? blink.gif

Added on October 27, 2010, 7:25 pm
no wonder sweat.gif
get tamron sp90 can use? lol
well, u can if u have enough hand to open the lens aperture and hold it to the phone and snap the pic smile.gif let me try this weekend with reverse lens first..
keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 01:49 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 28 2010, 12:39 PM)
lol.. use opera keyboard then. its our only choice. im trying to update my firmware now and see if it works.. now downloading software updater.
i don't issue with using opera and N8 keyboard to surf lyn, no issue when keying in p/w and etc....

keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 01:53 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 28 2010, 01:52 PM)
ur opera download from where?
ovi store..
keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 02:14 PM

103 posts

my lunch :-) close up mode, auto ISO and no flash:

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 02:17 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 28 2010, 02:05 PM)
i don think n8 can play fb game
i heard lot si fu say cannot
managed to play Castle Age the other day on my phone...
keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 02:26 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Oct 28 2010, 02:23 PM)
i had another 1 which in closer shot. the fluorescent light. but appear to be the same problem.

anyway i did email nokia last week about this problem. Hopefully next software update will solve this problem.

or perhaps it's due to n8 shutter is "cirle", thats why the light look round. dig more in dslr, and you find that some shutter are in 4 or 6 or 8 (i dunno how it call in eng. 快门叶片的形状,及多少快门叶片)
i just remember that the nokia n8 shutter is actually in a round shape...i think the problem is due to that?
that's called aperture blades... usually will give the shape of the bokeh...
keenjeen
post Oct 28 2010, 02:45 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(stanley85 @ Oct 28 2010, 02:36 PM)
well..nvm.
anyway i'm not pointing on the "the lamp etc sure over expose one...  it happen to all camera.."

oh yeah..aperture blades..
well...yeah it's for bokeh, i had mistaken the use of it.
anyway..just wait and see if there is any changes..i had email nokia last week about this problem  hmm.gif
after looking at your photos and explanation, i think i know what you trying to say on the "issue"... let me try to reproduce it and do some comparison and some reading.. hopefully got an explanation for it smile.gif

0.0270sec    1.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:32 AM