Mechanical Keyboard Club, For gamers, and typist enthusiasts

jasmineivan
post Dec 19 2010, 07:06 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 19 2010, 06:48 PM)
If mechanical keyboard receive more attention from the public, I do believe that in the future we will have more feature-enhanced and cheaper mechanical keyboards.

Seeing how well the response are for the BW and 7G, we might just see that in a few years.

I guess the public needs people like us before they will hop on to the bandwagon, and by then mechanical keyboards would be much cheaper, but still a certain price away from rubber domes. That's wouldn't necessarily be better for us cause our investment opportunities with the keyboards we have now wouldn't be that great doh.gif
Increase of popularity definitely reduce the price, it will be good news if all Malaysian going to be flooded with mechanical keyboard.

Even though mechanical keyboard still got famous and popular in Malaysia but now Razer Blackwindow should be the 1st well known mech keyboard in Malaysia and more and more gamer and user changing to it also. So hope in future some other company like filco ducky and even cherry bringing in other.
But don't it will happen soon because Malaysia always judging the book from the cover 1, no matter how mechanical keyboard advance, customer always can see the keyboard casing first like G510 and G19.

Added on December 19, 2010, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 19 2010, 07:06 PM)
I asked this same question over at GH whether any mechanical keyboard has a lcd that can work with ventrilo. I don't think there is.

But considering Razer just recently hopped on the mechanical bandwagon; maybe Logitech may do the same in the future or be left behind. When they do; their kbs could be the only ones with a lcd, so that might be very interesting indeed.
Even though they really release, try imagine the price.

G19 with mechanical switches, most probably the price will be something like topre.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 19 2010, 07:08 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 20 2010, 08:32 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Dec 19 2010, 09:53 PM)
The price is always an issue for mechanical keyboards.
I have a dream of making Malaysia's own gaming keyboard, just no $, resource, technology, etc to start with. lol
Just like PLU in China, their 87 is way cheaper than the ones from filco, less than RM 200 if convert from RMB to MYR.
You thought too much??

Added on December 20, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 19 2010, 11:47 PM)
Well mechanical keyboards for sure will not be as cheap as rubber domes.
Not really, as you can see BW can selling at RM299.
If you able to increase the market then the price go to be less than RM200 should be very possible.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 20 2010, 08:33 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 20 2010, 10:23 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Dec 20 2010, 09:52 PM)
borrowing a picture from VRzone:

feel it's a very good guideline for newbie in mechanical kb smile.gif
btw, Filco says "see you guys at January 2011!"
Why have that kind of finger need choose MX black.
Actually I thought MX red and MX black are the same just with different actuation force and depth??

Anyway, MX red is very rare in Malaysia.

Added on December 20, 2010, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 20 2010, 09:53 PM)
my spacebar on 7g acting weird now.. i mean i press the left side of the keyboard, the right side will pop up too much till i can see the inside of the keyboard.. i always just tap it back to the right side and it looks normal again.

I scared i spoil the space bar later..

any way to fix this..
Maybe is the hole can fit the switch is loosen?
Anyway even though the key cap really loose out then just put back can already. Want make it stick to it?? put a very thin layer of glue in the key caps whole to tight it (made sure it really thin and the switch still can fit into it)

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 20 2010, 10:25 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 21 2010, 12:39 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 20 2010, 11:06 PM)
It would be good that once you have a mechanical keyboard with one of the cherry mx switches, you can then use that as a measuring stick whether you need more actuating force (the force required when pressing the key to register it) or not.

From softest to hardest ...

Red 45cN (linear non clicky) < Brown 45cN (soft tactile non clicky) < Blue 50cN (harder tactile clicky) < Black 60cN (linear non clicky)

http://geekhack.org/showwiki.php?title=Che...ches+and+boards
Seems to be a good explanation of the difference between pcb and metal plate mounted switches. Metal plate is more sturdy; whereas pcb mounted is easier to remove the switch. This was why i picked a Ducky because it was plate mounted; whereas the Cherry keyboards are pcb mounted. I wanted something sturdy for my first mechanical keyboard.
@StratOS

Yes i believe so.
Actually i still not really know how means by the soft tactile non clicky. Since non clicky, how it be tactile? some more with a specific actuation force 45cN.

My understanding is like this, the different MX red and Brown is
MX red, the key is as heavy as MX black, and they are linear non clicky. But MX red will register keystroke when the force reach 45cN which the actuation depth with MX black is different.
THen for MX brown, the key is harder to press but still register keystroke at 45cN but will has less depth compare to the 45cN in MX red.

Conclude, MX red and MX black are the same, but need press to deeper with 60cN.
MX red and MX brown feel different, easier to press red but hard to press MX brown but both actuate with only 45cN.

All above is assumption, correct me if I predict wrongly.
jasmineivan
post Dec 21 2010, 09:27 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(OCN_fssbzz @ Dec 21 2010, 02:51 AM)
all the cherry mx actuate at 2mm
mx red and mx brown use the same force, they only need 45g to press down the key easily, means their spring are kinda light.good for touch typist. the only difference is cherry mx brown give you tactile feedback.
mx black need 60g force to press the key down, actuate after 2mm key travel. it's spring are harder. for some1 who have strong fingers. if you have soft finger want to touch type on mx black, is kinda hard. mx black are for those who prefer silent too, because they are linear, they not clicky, and they need higher force like 60g, the higher force will prevent you from bottoming up the key, and without bottoming up the key, you will reduce alot of noise.
Very clear explanation.
And till now my favorite still linear non-clicky and using 7G, so looking forward for MX red. (Blue 1 just too noisy)

Added on December 21, 2010, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(OCN_fssbzz @ Dec 21 2010, 02:36 PM)
got my key cap today.

more photo here.
http://geekhack.org/showthread.php?t=13613
The quality looks superb. (but blank key looks more elegant, just my 2 cent)

Anyway, it should be very durable, or should say it won't fade off forever ever after.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 21 2010, 09:30 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 21 2010, 11:02 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 21 2010, 10:17 PM)
Filcos are coming to Malaysia in January. Look out for storm88's post.

Or you can opt for Ducky, which you can get through PChome Taiwan.
I prefer ducky all the way, of cause getting Filco will be much more easier from next month onward.
Hope there is no any delay of the stock come into Malaysia.
Begging new filco toy from parent as New Year present (if cant just use the Red pocket money to get it ^^)
Anyway, don misunderstand my meaning, I still satisfied with my 7G, the toy is means Filco leather arm rest haha.
jasmineivan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:24 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(StereophileDream @ Dec 21 2010, 11:57 PM)
Can u pls pm me the link for next bulk order,cz not really got wat u mean. notworthy.gif
I think stratos answered your question.
Anyway I was not joining GH forum, so maybe you pm Moogle for the link to vote and join them to bulking the keycaps.
I want the key caps also, but my wallet not allow cry.gif
jasmineivan
post Dec 22 2010, 02:32 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Dec 22 2010, 02:21 AM)
if filco is coming next year i think i'll wait for filco...
since they have brown switches...
MX red is another more idealistic switches for me. Rather softer linear 1.
jasmineivan
post Dec 22 2010, 11:53 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 22 2010, 10:46 AM)
Can if you buy different switches and mod yourself. But it's way cheaper to get either a filco/ducky/leopold if you want blue, black or brown doh.gif
But mod it ourself can mixing different switches in 1 keyboard.
jasmineivan
post Dec 22 2010, 03:02 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 22 2010, 02:12 PM)
True... but gonna be EXPENSIVE!
Might as well just get a Ducky... that has a combi of brown, blue and black.

Then again.. everyone's eager to try red out too.. laugh.gif
I thought Ducky on supplying all 3 brown blue and black switches separately?? What I means is to combine different switches in keyboard at differnt area so can maximize the comfortability and typing experience.
jasmineivan
post Dec 22 2010, 06:32 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 22 2010, 04:15 PM)
crap.. why m i a banana.. i dunno read.. laugh.gif
Use google translate?

Added on December 22, 2010, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(Squarebox @ Dec 22 2010, 05:50 PM)
New pics

LOL i don like the yellow color, white will be better, anyway love the blank key caps.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 22 2010, 06:33 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 23 2010, 10:13 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

Depends how we all consider cheap.
RM389 for a keyboard also cheap?
In LYP a normal keyboard cost less than RM20.

What you asking from the keyboard so then think how much you should pay for your keyboard. Is the your keyboard worth the money or not.
jasmineivan
post Dec 23 2010, 06:24 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(OCN_fssbzz @ Dec 23 2010, 12:40 PM)
what about this?  biggrin.gif
This is awesome ^^
The only bad thing is hard to keep white color clean and prevent it become yellowish.

Added on December 23, 2010, 6:25 pm
QUOTE(OCN_fssbzz @ Dec 23 2010, 03:42 PM)
haha those are secret.
LOL you mod yourself??
Why keep it secret, sharing is caring.

Added on December 23, 2010, 6:30 pm7G 1 should be the same, so damn thin, this shown the quality but it not really affecting the performance la.

@StratOs
Why not you try search the Cherry Keyboard which whole piece in white color 1. If you mod yourself can just spray white on the WASD keycaps but the letter printing will be troublesome.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 23 2010, 06:30 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 23 2010, 08:09 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Dec 23 2010, 07:17 PM)
I got the keyboard size alphabet template.. so can just attach and spray it on.. haha.. just try mod la.. if cant work can order spare ma.. tongue.gif
I see, then after the color spray, that you spray for the coating??
If just let it like it, i believe the paint will fade off very fast.
jasmineivan
post Dec 24 2010, 02:11 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Dec 24 2010, 01:37 AM)
dude u all surely goes crazy with a keyboard!!! , btw where can buy those blank key cap it looks nice.

Added on December 24, 2010, 1:38 amplanning to buy 7G soon, but when c how low quality the key caps are just make me feel upset huhu..
Don't think the thickness of key caps affecting the performance.

Added on December 24, 2010, 2:12 pm
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 24 2010, 05:28 AM)
Old DAS models had issues with their controllers.

Newer models supposedly have fixed the issue.

However DAS keyboards are known to have crappy key caps because they wear out very fast.

Also, they have a glossy finish like the Razer Black Widow, which makes it a pain to keep nice.

I'm not sure if it's pcb or plate mounted. But the stuff i mentioned earlier is a bit worrisome.

I think the DAS may have a usb port, but honestly it's hardly worth mentioning because it would have little value unless you want to plug your usb coffee mub warmer  laugh.gif
Some DAS reviews
Das Silent
http://jseliger.com/2009/11/01/product-review-das-keyboard/

DAS III Professional
http://geekhack.org/showwiki.php?title=Island:4698
For the fingerprint issue is depends how regular you clean your keyboard.

Added on December 24, 2010, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Dec 24 2010, 10:13 AM)
Hey, guys.

My Leopold Keyboard FC200R Tenkeyless will ship by DHL from Korea at Monday.
Hopefully It will went smoothly.

I've heard from their employee that they already preparing to expanding branch towards China and Hong Kong.(this might let us purchase Leopold Keyboards in future much more easily thru China)

And now, they are interested as well as setting a retail system in Malaysia, so Malaysians could purchase them once they arrived. Estimated 2011.

The Keyboard Price tag is still not yet confirmed. But According to XE Money Convert. South Korea Won Converted To Ringgit Malaysia. The Price is Around RM335. So you can expect the price to be around RM300.

I'm actually very looking forward for the Leopold Keyboard right now, because sixty and clickclack from geekhack did agree the keyboard has very good overall quality as well as thicker Keycaps. So i will be the 1st Malaysian to ever own a Leopold FC200R. I'll post Picture Comparison after i get the keyboard.
You so desperate le, actually can wait for the Filco until next worth maybe can save quite a lot of money.

Added on December 24, 2010, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(lucidlts @ Dec 24 2010, 12:41 PM)
go for BW if you're not aiming for a full NKRO keyboard. smile.gif
My way to choose keyboard is based on my own guide line,
first will be choose your preference switches.

If say you don't like the clicky blue, then no point to get the BW.
Next only the built quality, but the existing mechanical board in Malaysia just too limited, either import the bulk order, otherwise just get Razer or Steelseries only.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Dec 24 2010, 02:17 PM
jasmineivan
post Dec 24 2010, 07:51 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

But now is easily available in Malaysia, no longer need to find kaki to do bulking order. Moreover no need keep on waiting for the postage. A bit more expensive is worth it.
jasmineivan
post Dec 25 2010, 12:51 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 24 2010, 11:14 PM)
Just realised no key puller come with.. wonder how do I replace those keys..
Any key caps order should bundled with the key caps puller.
jasmineivan
post Dec 25 2010, 10:59 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(OCN_fssbzz @ Dec 25 2010, 12:22 PM)
got this today.
Whats that?? What material and printing method?
jasmineivan
post Dec 26 2010, 02:00 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 26 2010, 01:52 AM)
Heh, playing sc2 with mechanical keyboard is fun. Especially Blue switches, where spamming APM just got a lot more fun.

I don't have people near me so the noise isn't such a big of an issue.
SCII is a game that very concern on the APM, with MX blue you can spam fast?? (i means a single key)
MX blue is not really good in doing double tap or key spamming. So if say you are a hardcore SCII player, don't think you can spawn the creeps as fast as using other switches.
jasmineivan
post Dec 27 2010, 06:11 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Dec 26 2010, 11:41 PM)
personally like cherry black better.
tried blue on BW, kinda annoying sad.gif
Did you means prefer type by using MX black?
I prefer black also, don like the click but i like the click sound.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0496sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:55 AM