Honda CRZ

watonk
post Jan 18 2012, 10:55 PM

QUOTE(300078 @ Jan 18 2012, 05:08 PM)
wont the battery be empty in awhile like tat.....
Anyway i also dunno much about this hybrid battery thing. Gonna do more research dun want kena laugh by ppl.
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 18 2012, 05:22 PM)
It wont empty... as I said the Motor only boost the torque (this is where it take the electricity) then when the engine hold the speed it actually go into recharging mode to keep the battery charged so if you boost it again there is power to go...
From my experience going top speed with econ off on the Insight, once i step on throttle @ around 100km/h, rpm jump to 5.5k, assist needle goes to full, the car will surge quite fast to around 160km/h when the battery level drop to half/ slightly below half. Then the engine will be forced to charge the battery with charge needle drop 1/4 from center. If i continue to floor the pedal, the charging will stop but the car will get limited assist, needle only slightly up from middle and the battery will immediately charged anytime i reduce throttle pressure.

Means at 160-170km/h, give the car some nice 10-15 seconds charge and the battery level will show 1 bar below full, floor the throttle again, rpm will climb to 6k, and u'll be surprise the car can easily pass 180, 190, but i notice whenever the battery depleted and the car going to charging state, the top speed would reduce by 2-3km/h.

And that 200km/h easier to achieve when the highway is going downhill. haha... all car like that what?

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 18 2012, 05:55 PM)
Sorry ah...  I donna about this... Sorry...   So can Toyota advertise the Prius have 178hp and the prius c have 134hp total then?  Enlighten me ha.. Thank you...
Its slightly complicated than just add up the numbers. There were some overlap in power delivery between combustion engine and electric motor. The actual total output (calculation) were also different between toyota's HSD and honda's IMA. From my readings, IMA approach is more on 'as light as possible' with normal CVT, brushless single motor while HSD is more heavier & more complicated drivetrain with planetary gearset etc. The advantage of HSD is it could do extended slow, full battery run with engine shut off (where its get more range), while IMA with smaller capacity battery quite limited in that area. For high speed, IMA seems more suitable with low resistance drive-train and low friction internal while Toyota HSD felt heavier and resist to be pushed faster. Try it. The most comfortable high speed for Prius is around 140-150kmh, while IMA Insight felt light on throttle @ 160km/h. As usual, Honda make it drivers likes to drive fast, while Toyota make its drivers like to drive slow.

This post has been edited by watonk: Jan 18 2012, 10:56 PM
watonk
post Jan 19 2012, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 18 2012, 11:14 PM)
I have my Insight top speed at Seremban-KL route... I doubt there is any downhill run... the speed is 200km/h and it is not slow to approach that speed... I'm quite surprice at the performance...
Yeah not much downhill there but i guess u play your momentum quite well...
I prefer Elite highway for top speed run.
watonk
post Jan 20 2012, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 19 2012, 10:35 AM)
If they can make the car acceleration fully run on battery then it should b real fast just like the battery version lotus tat outrun the petrol version.

But currently it is still a joke compare to the legendary cr-x
QUOTE(yamato @ Jan 20 2012, 09:08 AM)
when crz was under concept development, honda already marked it as "sporty hybrid" not "sports hybrid"
it is focus on fun handling with hybrid gimmick. they didnt give a damn on horsepower nor 0-100.

that alone disappoint many crx enthusiasts, but come on guys lets move on rather than nagging... if u wan a seriously fast FF coupe/hatch, there is always type-r in thier catelgue, integra-R for example.

ayrton senna is the legend that no one can replaced for decades or even centuries, but if we keep comparing f1 drivers nowadays to senna then we should have disband the race cause literally all these drivers are nothing compare to senna.
schumacher & alonso are all good but not as legendary as him... so shall we keep praising & worship senna like god & crap on every other drivers which arent as good as him?

the world will not change itself to suit us, but we shall change ourselves to suit the world or we will be left behind.

do u really want to live in the pass like that? your pick...
I dont think its a joke. Honda is producing both, Insight & CRZ. If Insight can easily hit 200km/h (some foreigners even up to 205-210), I'm quite confident they tuned the CRZ to edge slightly more. Or at least both have similar tops but CRZ accelerate much faster. Maybe the owners of the new CRZ still not yet master the art to bring it to the absolute top speed (as stick shift and clutched car need more skills) and maybe most of the units on the road is still very new and the engine is not loose enough for absolute top speed.
watonk
post Jan 20 2012, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(sensation1234 @ Jan 20 2012, 12:18 PM)
Went and test drove couple of cars last week (based on wife's wish list)  blush.gif  My rankings are as follows.

Note that this is IN MY OPINION only, if it differs from yours, go and test drive them yourself.

1) Golf tsi - Best of the lot in terms of performance and comfort but jerks at low speed. Maybe something to do with the DSG. Also the most expensive
2) Peugeot 308T - Approaching the Golf, reasonably fast, feels ok but not as comfortable. Somehow does not feel as solid. Price is good.
3) Prius - quiet at low speed but tyre noise starts to creep in at high speed. Great to drive in traffic jams. Performance is reasonable, not as good as the above 2 but as expected.
4) Insight - Easily worst of the lot, however it's also the cheapest so cannot complain too much. As for performance whoever says its fast must have been driving a kancil his/her whole life. CVT is f@cking noisy why can't they do it like the prius? Handling is so so.
Dont mind the Golf & 308T, but prius 1.8 atkinson output is not far off of Insight's 1.3 otto. From my experience, test driving session will give u only that much of impression of a car compared to owning one. 200km/h is fast for normal driver. I guess u're a champ level. notworthy.gif
And comparing Prius's handling vs Insight, u really need to test it again. Really. At least not so so doh.gif
watonk
post Jan 20 2012, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 20 2012, 04:31 PM)
i think he mean accelaration, not top speed.

becos 1.3 saga blm also they say 140-180 accelaration very fast  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Insight acceleration slow? hmm.gif hmm.gif . Now how fast is fast.
The figure is similar to prius what.

I get it. Some people not used to that CVT rubber band effect (RPM jump, followed by speed). U should use a scooter last time thumbup.gif
watonk
post Jan 26 2012, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 20 2012, 09:47 PM)
Test both insight n Prius also the ct200h...  When the sport mode engage, there is no way insight can match the Prius or ct200h....   Didn't own any of them...
Yeap. its about 0.2-0.3 seconds faster than Insight on century sprint.

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jan 21 2012, 12:34 AM)
damn the comparison is getting further apart.... how on earth is insight able to match lexus CT200.... the price itself already like 60k different.
Different league.

QUOTE(psycho1 @ Jan 21 2012, 03:44 AM)
I thought this is a Honda CRZ thread?? why owezzz Insight and Prius??? doh.gif  doh.gif
Haha. Very seldom saw lowyat thread hijacked as nasty.

Added on January 26, 2012, 11:07 am
QUOTE(usj101 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:42 AM)
Any real CRZ owner?  Please speak up!

They are enjoying they new car. Giv em sometimes.

This post has been edited by watonk: Jan 26 2012, 11:07 AM
watonk
post Jan 31 2012, 05:19 PM

My salute to engineers working on VSA (honda)/VSC (toyota).

That thing really kicks in when i think i've had it and waiting for crash. Saves me/my wallet few times oready.

0.0252sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:17 PM