Planning on riding from KL-Bangkok or Krabi, Anyone wants to follow me!

TSdar121191
post Oct 27 2010, 03:53 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(UE7 @ Oct 23 2010, 12:26 PM)
Hello there,

I've completed KL-Bangkok-Siem Reap-Phnom Penh-Bangkok-Chiang Mai on a Hayabusa and all smaller places in-between and I'd like to share a certain opinion.. don't waste time and money and keep the journey fun!

Riding up to the Thai border is the pretty much the only option of getting there, but once in Thailand,
you have the choice of taking the smooth Thai state trains to other places.
Trains are frequent and aplenty, and you have the comfort of resting and enjoying the views (in the rare occasion when there are some views) and having a drink or having a go with karaoke in the restaurant car!

You can have your bike loaded on the cargo car up front in the train.. leave a nice tip to those who attend to you so that they don't **** about with your precious.

Taking the train saves a lot of your energy, gas money, and tires!
On a bike you'll need new tires when you've rode from KL to BKK but with the train, you'll still have some treads left to make it to wherever else you want to go in Thailand which isn't too far.

As for me I've had a full service and new tires in BKK even though I still had treads because I know of Cambodia, these bikes literally don't exist and if something goes wrong, it could cost you dearly.. both financially and mentally.

I can't help you in terms of your financial budget, as I've had cards with me.

1k gets you to Bangkok and back, but rather tightly and no further.
thanks for the very useful information.
i think maybe i should go to KL-Bangkok or Krabi 1st.
since this is my 1st time riding far distance.

QUOTE(bugbear1986 @ Oct 23 2010, 02:45 PM)
http://iamalaysian.com/project-i-am-malaysian/

Why not??
With a mordenas kapchai..!

His route:

Malaysia
Thailand
Nepal
India
Pakistan
Iran
Armenia
Turkey
Greece
Albania
Macedonia
Montenegro
Bosnia
Serbia
Croatia
Hungary
Slovakia
Austria
Slovenia
Italy
Czech Republic
Poland
Switzerland
German
Netherlands
Belgium
France
Uk
this is nearly impossible.

QUOTE(yamato @ Oct 23 2010, 09:37 PM)
wait till he finishes the trip, n c how much he spent as a benchmark to TS trip. lol
dun forget TS has only 1.5k
thanks again.
maybe of changing the trip from KL- Bangkok or Krabi

QUOTE(tanhks @ Oct 24 2010, 05:02 AM)
When you ride your motorbike from one country and enter another country, do you need to get entry permit for your motorbike?
Can you use your driving license in Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and China? do you need to get an International driving license?
Is your motorbike's Insurance cover also your trip to all the above country?
last i checked is we need passport and vehicle grant.
thats all.

QUOTE(masz94 @ Oct 25 2010, 02:38 AM)
Previously some Yamaha FZ rider has already make it to China. So if reliability is your concern than I think you should not worry. Plus FZ ia fuel efficient bike rite. So FC won't cost you a bomb. BTW if you want to change your tire, change it in Thailand coz it is cheaper. my 10 cent smile.gif
Thats what i heard when i planned this trip
hoping to go this coming november.

Added on October 27, 2010, 3:59 pmanyone who wants to join me on this trip!!
cheers
maybe changing to KL-Krabi or Bangkok.

This post has been edited by dar121191: Oct 27 2010, 03:59 PM
SUSbudakdegilz
post Oct 27 2010, 09:59 PM

1,138 posts

when are you going???...i'm interested!!! tongue.gif
or maybe you can join this group..
http://malaysianbikers.com.my/forum/index....ic,73313.0.html

sadly i'm too busy on november and my leave didn't approved by my boss.. cry.gif
those guys in Malaysian Biker Community forum are usually organized many trip to thailand over the past year....
i'm maybe planning my trip to thailand january next year...
november and disember too busy for me!! have to work very hard to save money for my first ride to thai... tongue.gif
TSdar121191
post Oct 28 2010, 12:04 PM

60 posts

i join that forum
but i dont really understand what they are talking about.
btw what bike do you own??
SUSbudakdegilz
post Oct 28 2010, 09:41 PM

1,138 posts

my ride are cbr150r
are you using nickname "darryladrien" tongue.gif
i'm sorry to said that the convoy participate is already full
by the way...you can post it in english if you doesn't understand BM thumbup.gif
there is also one of the rider in that convoy ride fz150i (Abg Acid)
and he is occasionally rode his fz150i convoy to thailand...
try post here
http://malaysianbikers.com.my/forum/index....board,16.0.html

audee_c4
post Apr 21 2012, 03:41 PM

hello...if somebody frm here want to convoy by bike to thailand/indo china plz lemme know here...im fully interested tq smile.gif

0.0168sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:02 PM