-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V9, Leaves You Speechless

sallehsi
post Nov 20 2010, 12:11 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(letmein @ Nov 19 2010, 11:42 PM)
Last week I went to PJ using Lebuhraya Mahameru from KL. The road was wet with drizzling rain.
In front of me, there was a Vios (probably the latest version) cruising at about 100km/h at the
fast lane and I was following right behind but kept a safe distance of about 4-5 cars space.
When passing under the parliament bridge where the big curve to right, all a sudden the
Vios rear starts skidding to left and start spinning 360 degree! shocking.gif  It was like the stunt
you saw in the movie. I sense the danger and immediately engage the brake to avoid direct hit
to the Vios. When I pressed the brake, I heard a sound “kluk” from the rear and felt the car like
being pressed down. I felt the slippery for a fraction of a second but later was the traction of tire
that I knew I am still going straight. The Vios spin for at least 3 rounds before it stopped in the
middle of the road and luckily it did not hit the side crash barrier and no car from the left.
I didn’t manage to stop by but I saw 2 passengers at the front seat with terrifying face.
It was the first time I saw a car spinning in front of me and later I remembered my colleague
had the same experience with his Vios (older version) at Kerinchi Link where it also happened
when the road is wet. My colleague told me his car tires were having plenty of thread.
Before this I was still thinking to downgrade the 17” rim to 15” for more comfortable ride but
now I think wider tires have better grip.
The lesson that I learn is slowdown when the road is wet and try to keep a safe distance from vehicle in front.
I guess our car ESP really works.  thumbup.gif
alamak bro, maybe i also should reconsider about downgrading to 15"..

This post has been edited by sallehsi: Nov 20 2010, 12:13 AM
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 12:18 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(sallehsi @ Nov 20 2010, 12:11 AM)
alamak bro, maybe i also should reconsider about downgrading to 15"..
17" also has weaknesses.. just ensure you're not speeding when it's raining or when the road is wet.

wider tyre will tend to hydroplane when you hit water puddle..

in the end its still us who can make different.. drive carefully.. especially when it's raining.
shamsul_LP
post Nov 20 2010, 12:22 AM

671 posts

Last week I went to PJ using Lebuhraya Mahameru from KL. The road was wet with drizzling rain.
In front of me, there was a Vios (probably the latest version) cruising at about 100km/h at the
fast lane and I was following right behind but kept a safe distance of about 4-5 cars space.
When passing under the parliament bridge where the big curve to right, all a sudden the
Vios rear starts skidding to left and start spinning 360 degree! shocking.gif  It was like the stunt
you saw in the movie. I sense the danger and immediately engage the brake to avoid direct hit
to the Vios. When I pressed the brake, I heard a sound “kluk” from the rear and felt the car like
being pressed down. I felt the slippery for a fraction of a second but later was the traction of tire
that I knew I am still going straight. The Vios spin for at least 3 rounds before it stopped in the
middle of the road and luckily it did not hit the side crash barrier and no car from the left.
I didn’t manage to stop by but I saw 2 passengers at the front seat with terrifying face.
It was the first time I saw a car spinning in front of me and later I remembered my colleague
had the same experience with his Vios (older version) at Kerinchi Link where it also happened
when the road is wet. My colleague told me his car tires were having plenty of thread.
Before this I was still thinking to downgrade the 17” rim to 15” for more comfortable ride but
The lesson that I learn is slowdown when the road is wet and try to keep a safe distance from vehicle in front.
my previous wira also face same situation like that vios but i manage to control & prevent the car from making 'donut' in the middle of highway....lucky my gaming skill save my life thumbup.gif
in my case, my car start to skid becoz a stupid waja suddenly overtake & brake in front of my car resulting i've to steer the stereng to prevent from crashing his car...suddenly steer the stereng during the raining day cauze my car start to skid but from my experience (gaming laugh.gif ) i manage to control the car with only a little bit of damage becoz the side have to kiss the divider.... sad.gif
krk24
post Nov 20 2010, 12:30 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 19 2010, 09:51 PM)
why to avoid eh? last time on V1 & V2 due to car service issue. not related with sales. now their service is okay.

quite frequent i read bout the good service subang one.. maybe u can try..

for SA, you can try this guy.. read all good comment on his service.

http://www.myforteclub.com/forum/11-garage...ter-b4-december
thanks babe!
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 12:33 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Nov 20 2010, 12:22 AM)
my previous wira also face same situation like that vios but i manage to control & prevent the car from making 'donut' in the middle of highway....lucky my gaming skill save my life  thumbup.gif
in my case, my car start to skid becoz a stupid waja suddenly overtake & brake in front of my car resulting i've to steer the stereng to prevent from crashing his car...suddenly steer the stereng during the raining day cauze my car start to skid but from my experience (gaming  laugh.gif ) i manage to control the car with only a little bit of damage becoz the side have to kiss the divider.... sad.gif
yes. games do help in real life situation. my bro also get the same experience. he applied the gaming skills in real life situation like yours.
happened at karak on the way to KL.. near genting to be exact.. frequent spot for car skidding..
duck_lord
post Nov 20 2010, 12:53 AM

tire width wider suppose 2 help get better grip. More so while raining. At least thats what i tought all this while. Sidenote : saw ad on alor star streets Llumar hv rm399 on 4windows. Not sure exactly where the shop located.
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 01:12 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(duck_lord @ Nov 20 2010, 12:53 AM)
tire width wider suppose 2 help get better grip. More so while raining. At least thats what i tought all this while. Sidenote : saw ad on alor star streets Llumar hv rm399 on 4windows. Not sure exactly where the shop located.
experienced few times. car skid for momentarily but not to the extend until lost control.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroplaning_(tires)

Prevention by the driver
The best strategy is to avoid contributors to hydroplaning. Proper tire pressure, narrow and unworn tires, and reduced speeds from those judged suitably moderate in the dry will mitigate the risk of hydroplaning, as will avoidance of standing water.
Electronic stability control systems cannot replace defensive driving techniques and proper tire selection. These systems rely on selective wheel braking, which depends in turn on road contact. While stability control may help recovery from a skid when a vehicle slows enough to regain traction, it cannot prevent hydroplaning.
Because pooled water and changes in road conditions can require a smooth and timely reduction in speed, cruise control should not be used on wet or icy roads.

duck_lord
post Nov 20 2010, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 20 2010, 01:12 AM)
experienced few times. car skid for momentarily but not to the extend until lost control.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroplaning_(tires)
yeah good read! It suggest those w wider track could move slower ah on wet roads! Only speed up kao kao when dry tongue.gif. Since most stuck w same tires 4 at least 2yrs we could actively look out 4 tire pressure itself lah. Under inflate higher chance hydroplane coz bigger footprint. Just amaze how low speed b4 u skid urself. Cheerios mate, might as well start use tayar motor fkz on cars (ok thats not advisable)
kiaforteclub
post Nov 20 2010, 09:07 AM

not your tire size its the ESP ABS everything working in tandem to tires to get maximum grip and maintain direction hence why SX at 81k is a very safe value for money car for families....
cybermaster98
post Nov 20 2010, 09:25 AM

4,440 posts

The problem with the Vios is that the rear end is slightly elevated. On normal drives, the rear tyres have much lesser road contact compared to the front tyres. During braking, more weight is transfered to the front (more so if there arent any rear passengers). This reduces the tyre contact even more and causes loss of braking friction from the rear tyres causing the car to spin if braking is done while taking a corner. Slamming the brakes hard will make it much worse. But we must also remember that the Vios is a light car unlike the Forte. It weighs less than 1 tonne.

But this doesnt mean that with your ESP you cannot meet the same type of accidents. You must always remember that the ESP reduces your chances of an accident but it doesnt eliminate it altogether. It has its barriers and when ure going too fast no ESP will help you in an emergency situation.

Best thing is to always drive as if your car is not equipped with all these advanced safety features (except for the ABS feature which u need a change of braking technique). Being overconfident will only bring more harm than good.

Chronox
post Nov 20 2010, 10:08 AM

466 posts

Need your advice.

How long does it usually take for Naza Kia to deliver the car after payment of booking fee? I was told by the SA that it will only take them 1 week. I have waited for 1 week already but the car is no where to be seen. SA has given various excuses from staff on leave to Hari Raya to system down etc. Now they are saying I will get it only another week later, which brings the total waiting time to 2 weeks. But I am not sure whether to trust them. Plus, they want me to pay the full 10% deposit before I can see the car, but if I don't get the car, they say if I ask for refund, it will take 2-3 months!

The other thing is, they say they will take my car as trade in, but will not deduct the balance after repaying my bank from the total payment to Naza, because they say they will issue a separate cheque to me 3 days after I give my car in. In other words, I have to pay the full 10% downpayment by cash, although I will be getting some cash back from trade-in.

Could someone please guide me on the procedure for trade-in and the waiting duration? Mine will be Titanium Silver Forte 1.6sx
XionCity
post Nov 20 2010, 10:19 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(duck_lord @ Nov 20 2010, 01:53 AM)
Jalan Lencong Barat

Added on November 20, 2010, 10:20 am
QUOTE(letmein @ Nov 20 2010, 12:42 AM)
should share this is Inspira vs Forte thread

This post has been edited by XionCity: Nov 20 2010, 10:20 AM
JOe891
post Nov 20 2010, 11:25 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Nov 18 2010, 01:14 PM)
me at kulim kedah....my friend at kl said rims at there quite pricey...donno true or not..
Bro, my Lovely forte kena BAD ppl scracth, see white paint d (base paint?) , will it be rustly if i leave it?
any cheap n good polishing @ repairing recommend? thx
bomberman
post Nov 20 2010, 12:30 PM

185 posts

Dude,

anyone of you change your front windscreen before?? the actual price is how much?? which SC is the best to replace the front windscreen???

really bad luck... this morning while i'm at Kesas highway, a flying stone hit my windscreen.... its crack now.... thinking to claim it as i did insure it.... but I will loss my tinted.... shit... all are money involving in this world.... mad.gif
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 12:42 PM

76 posts

in the range of rm1200 ~ rm1300 if not mistaken.

cybermaster98
post Nov 20 2010, 12:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Nov 20 2010, 12:30 PM)
Dude,

anyone of you change your front windscreen before?? the actual price is how much?? which SC is the best to replace the front windscreen???

really bad luck... this morning while i'm at Kesas highway, a flying stone hit my windscreen.... its crack now.... thinking to claim it as i did insure it.... but I will loss my tinted.... shit... all are money involving in this world.... mad.gif
If you have insurance then use it to change la. Too bad for your tint.
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 12:45 PM

76 posts

can claim up to your windscreen insured limit.

if you insured rm2K
can claim windscreen rm1.3K + tint

if exceed 2K bear with own money
shamsul_LP
post Nov 20 2010, 01:22 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(JOe891 @ Nov 20 2010, 11:25 AM)
Bro, my Lovely forte kena BAD ppl scracth, see white paint d (base paint?) , will it be rustly if i leave it?
any cheap n good polishing @ repairing  recommend? thx
try go to spray paint immediately...don't let it become rusty...my repair cost is rm450 for both side...(4 door)...

QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 20 2010, 12:42 PM)
in the range of rm1200 ~ rm1300 if not mistaken.
QUOTE(Taipan052 @ Nov 20 2010, 12:45 PM)
can claim up to your windscreen insured limit.

if you insured rm2K
can claim windscreen rm1.3K + tint

if exceed 2K bear with own money
btw...if claim windscreen insurance, it will affext ncd or not?
seanoys
post Nov 20 2010, 02:14 PM

Wow scray to see a car skid in front of you. Lucky you wasn't following too close...haha really ESP prevents alot of accidents but we can't take it for granted..just to share I was driving my myvi(sold off already) and in front of me was a avanza..both of us was on the 2nd lane(middle lane) of 3 lanes and we were going to make a right turn..while the avanza was turning right..a freaking stupid myvi driver from the 3rd lane(right turn only lane) went straight and knocked the avanza at the rear side and the avanza flipped 3 times before landing on it's side..and the worst thing is there were about 7 people in the avanza and the myvi sped off..all the window shattered and everyone in the avanza was seriously injured(not wearing safety belt). Anyways if the avanza has ESP the story will be different..I'll try to post the pic of the acident soon..
Taipan052
post Nov 20 2010, 02:40 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Nov 20 2010, 01:22 PM)
try go to spray paint immediately...don't let it become rusty...my repair cost is rm450 for both side...(4 door)...
btw...if claim windscreen insurance, it will affext ncd or not?
No effect. as it is separated scheme. u can buy if you missed to include this under renewal. but they'll need picture as a proof.. and if they're strict might have to send for inspection by their agent.

148 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:48 AM