5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V7 (More than 150 owners), Made by Nokia,Powered by Community

jananan
post Oct 21 2010, 11:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

congrats new grandmaster super_evil_alien heading n900 v7 thread...

aspire, my friend bought the N8 just now...

the ring vloume... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

cant hear a thing in a busy restaurant...
jananan
post Oct 21 2010, 11:12 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 21 2010, 11:09 PM)
so means even dark till anything can't see also can't even take a "Ghost" picture? sad.gif
unless you can turn on the flash with torch app and open fcam...

haha... tried that... does not work... cry.gif

cos fcam takes over the entire cam interface bus, incl the flash

so other 3rd party torch app cant access the flash...
jananan
post Oct 21 2010, 11:14 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 21 2010, 11:11 PM)
Yea speaker quality Nokia N900 wins over Nokia N8 because stereo speaker.
Nokia N900 = speaker side ways

Nokia N8 = at the camera so if u put on table or pocket it will block the speaker
and the leaked n900 firmware talks about higher volume from the speakers...

n900 is turning out to be the multimedia phone it was never intended to be...

esp. with FCAM
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 12:09 AM

Android
1,513 posts

N8 froze for about 4 mins... when try to switch off bluetooth...

the bluetooth dialog box stuck on screen...

had to press pwr btn and hold 8 secs... goes off

only can turn back on when hooked to charger...

dunno low batt issue or bug

since firmware first version i guess can expect bugs...
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 05:58 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 22 2010, 01:09 AM)
Am very sad now - plus the fact that Dell just burned me with the disappointing new launch of the 2010 XPS range (crappy GC is crappy Dell).  Palm burned me with the underwhelming new Pre. WP7 burned me with it's complete lack of multi-tasking.

Telefon Apple burned me... well, relatively, I'm actually less disappointed in the IP4 compared to most of the above. I mean, KNOWING that the Epfel comes with all the limitations that it does makes the fact that it actually comes with very little in terms of new problems very refreshing indeed (antennagate? Pfft, everyone sticks a cover on it anyway).

Sigh. HOPEFULLY the N9 AND Meego is at least slightly POLISHED when it comes out later.

Also because most of my android plans have been postponed indefinitely (due to small niggles like no adhoc support, amongst others), this probably means I'll just get a iPod Touch 4th gen 32GB, stick to the back of my E71, jailbreak it and tether it using bluetooth lol - what I was planning to do if my N900 got repaired anyway.

But really Nokia, Dell, Palm and Microsoft. Thanks to all of you I'm gonna end 2010 in despair.
yeah, get Windows Phone 7 if you dont like copy & paste.

come on micro$oft, are we in the 60's ?

Added on October 22, 2010, 6:10 amthe N8 usb host cable does not seem like it can go in the micro usb slot of N900. the cable is the same, looks like nokia made the cable tip more squarish so that it wont fit...

any guys, N8 warranty is 1 year or 2 years ?

my friend bought Zitron set and they said warranty just 1 year ?

how come some people saying its 2 years...

This post has been edited by jananan: Oct 22 2010, 06:10 AM
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 11:12 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 22 2010, 08:06 AM)
Pre-orders get 2 years warranty. After that  is 1 year warranty.

If it's Nokia it; it's Original;
AP is still original, just a different country set.
Authorised = Malaysian set.

Just like you can buy Sony Playstation from console shop, which can be other country model, warranty from the shop itself. This is AP products.
If you buy from Sony Malaysia or you choose to buy Malaysian set, you get warranty by Sony Malaysia.

NON-ORIGINAL = FAKE, IMMITATION (e.g. NokLa)
of course i know the difference between Authorized retailer AVAXX/Zitron and other self-import AP company.

what i was wondering is why some people say 1 year and some say 2 years.

now i know, only pre-order get 2 year. not fair la.

even my 5800 xm had 18 month warranty from AVAXX.
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 11:56 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 22 2010, 10:02 AM)
N900 thread infected by N8 virus ady  hmm.gif

Added on October 22, 2010, 10:03 amwalao...I sendiri syok only...nobody on N900 thread cry.gif
nah... my friend bought the N8. not me...

since its only Aspire and Super_Evil_Alien sifus answering in N8 thread, might as well ask here...
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 12:06 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 22 2010, 11:57 AM)
no worries. Like yourself sifu jananan u come from the maemo world so for u to handle nokia N8 should be piece of cake lor
imho, symbian^3 is not a shocker. its just a minor upgrade from symbianv5 from phones like 5800xm and N97.

they should have named it symbianv5.1

apart from the hard work they put in the homescreen, the rest is just plain old symbianv5

i am not saying symbian is not good, i have been using symbian since nokia first launched it in the form of Nokia 7650 till 5800xm.

probably used more than 20 symbian powered phones in between those.

nokia is like scared to tweak the core symbian OS, they are just customizing the UI and adding more stuff.

its time to rework the entire OS. maybe re-write symbian^4 from scratch.

but its good to hear the latest news, symbian will be receiving updates from time to time just like linux from new builds of software and libs.

nokia's open source, finally we can see the light at the end of the tunnel.
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 12:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 22 2010, 12:06 PM)
In N8 thread you give some some technical answer,your status will be automatically upgraded to godlike.. doh.gif

You're keeping your friends N8 for a while?
nah i just played with it for a while last night.

tell you the truth, i dont see anything except the camera.

it looks like N8 was never meant to be the flagship.

i had better feeling of a flagship device when i held Nokia N95 8GB

same goes for N97 and N900.. feels like flagship.

but N8 does not convey that feeling.

it looks and feels like a gap filler, a temporary solution to save symbian and take the megapixel crown for a while.
jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 12:22 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 22 2010, 12:13 PM)
For me actually Nokia N8 is quite good. It can sms, call, nice camera , nice video recording , light weight, big screen, good battery life and solid feel compare to nokia N900 and Nokia 97 or even Nokia 5800XM capable to play HD games. What could i ask for more?
yes i know it does all of the above and it does it almost perfectly.

its a powerhouse allright, there is no denying that.

its just the feeling when you hold something in your hand.

even though i am not a fan, iphone4 has that flagship feeling and N8 does not. (even though all iphones sux as a phone)

something is not right somewhere. with aluminium housing and amoled capacitive display, it is supposed to feel like you've got something real powerful in your hands.

but it fails to do just that.

the specs are impressive.

but as a whole device it just fails to impress.

jananan
post Oct 22 2010, 01:33 PM

Android
1,513 posts

http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/nokia_N900.php

cannot access already...

the browser just freezes on that link....

too many http requests from ppl looking for PR1.3 ??

Added on October 22, 2010, 1:33 pmAn error occurred while processing your request.

Reference #97.4f1cb4a.1287725580.d548050

This post has been edited by jananan: Oct 22 2010, 01:33 PM
jananan
post Oct 24 2010, 06:32 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 24 2010, 01:43 AM)
You don't have to rub in my face you know... laugh.gif
I think I'll get iPod Touch 4 by end of this year.No choice since seems like most of the games & apps comes to iOS 1st.Definitely I'll jailbreak it.
tried angry birds on my friend's N8.

virtually indistinguishable from iphone.

you should get N8 or any of the newer symbian^3 with 3D GPU accel and multi-touch.

i am sure most iOS games will be ported to Symbian^3 soon, due to multitouch support available.

don't go to the dark side...
jananan
post Oct 24 2010, 01:15 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 24 2010, 01:10 PM)
N900 and N8 creates very distinctive photos.
you can tell by just looking.
jananan
post Oct 24 2010, 02:23 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 24 2010, 01:48 PM)
The one I've been testing are the release candidates.It should be close to the actual v1.1.
But yeah,the final product could be different.
Somehow I prefer FCams colour.It look more natural too me.

MeeGo using unrecognized file format by Maemo  doh.gif

After months I still cannot figure out how to move the extra 3 phone shortcut to folder doh.gif
Anyone have idea?
meego-x86 is using btrfs filesystem.

btrfs is a very safe filesystem, safe as in it is not easily corruptable.

meego-arm i am not sure what filesystem it uses...
jananan
post Oct 25 2010, 12:54 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 24 2010, 11:30 PM)
btw fennec 4 beta sucked big time!
you prolly need to OC to 1500mhz for fennec to be smooth...
jananan
post Oct 25 2010, 10:08 AM

Android
1,513 posts

it is kinda sad actually... sad.gif

we N900 users...

we dont have apps for our own platform...

always have to run emulators, dual boot, hack, chop and mash up apps from other devices and platforms...

its like we are trying our best to revive our phones by salvaging leftovers from other devices...

it is a sad, sad situation. sad.gif

jananan
post Oct 26 2010, 05:43 AM

Android
1,513 posts

here we go again....

Added on October 26, 2010, 6:12 amflashed fiasco and emmc as well, even though the emmc is the same as prev version.

wonder if they're gonna make a new emmc.

maybe give us new wallpapers and stuff... haha...

This post has been edited by jananan: Oct 26 2010, 06:12 AM
jananan
post Oct 26 2010, 07:05 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(azamfikri @ Oct 26 2010, 06:38 AM)
All sifus.. my battery bar is missing.. dunno why.. need I reflash back my phone?  cry.gif
1. try rebooting

2. did you do some mods ? or change themes ?

3. in which case, try to use the original theme.

4. if you have this problem after installing PR1.3, then its time for a complete reflash (fiasco + emmc)

5. be sure to backup your data before proceeding.
jananan
post Oct 26 2010, 11:50 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Oct 26 2010, 10:58 AM)
can super, so far with preenv 1.0 these are the ones confirmed not working yet :

-Super KO Boxing
-Assasins Creed
-Crusade Of Destiny
- Dungeon Hunter
- FIFA 2010
- Guitar Hero 5
- H.A.W.X
- Modern Combat Sandstorm
- Raging Thunder 2
- Real Soccer 2010
- Skater Nation
- Speed Forge Extreme
- Uno
- Transformers G1
- Monopoly

this list will change tho as preenv 1.1 is released.

N.O.V.A supposedly works, but i can't find an ipk ( needs to be v 1.0.9, the earlier versions are buggy even on the pre )

Edit: preenv is reported to be working fine on pr 1.3 but can't confirm till i upgrade myself which will be either later today, or early tomorrow, by then hopefully however preenv 1.1 will be released.
i saw 0.1.1

just updated i guess...
jananan
post Oct 26 2010, 11:55 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Oct 26 2010, 11:50 AM)
In my update section, maemo 5, i assume its the pr1.3 update, states that theres a problem where a conflict with application package: libgles1-sgx-img (0.20091104.34+0m5), so if i update, wil anything happen?

btw im running OC @ 150-800mhz
if you dont have much data, my advice is flash using the flasher-3.5 tool

you will start with a clean slate and at least if you had some other issues with PR1.2 it wont be carried onto PR1.3

also, if you are a 'install and try everything' guy, i suppose your rootfs will be almost full after all these updates and stuff...

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0525sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:33 AM