Regulated Power Supply, Adapter., 12V DC, no hum

jazzy939
post Oct 20 2010, 01:56 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

There are of course commercial units, the better ones going to cost a lot of $$$ on your part. Other than Jalan Pasar, KL, I can't think of anywhere else.
If you are good, there are power supply kits available. With a good transformer and casing, it can be built cheaper with better parts, equal or better performance with equivalent commercial units.
jazzy939
post Oct 21 2010, 10:06 AM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Take a look here under AC-DC Regulated.

http://www.teletron.com.my/products/adapters/adapters_1.html

jazzy939
post Oct 21 2010, 10:55 AM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Now that you've mentioned it, yeah their products certainly looks the same since I frequent Jalan Pasar when I was still a school boy! laugh.gif

Yes good power supply starts with a good AC filtering.. any hint/clue with regards to ebay kits?

Something like this?

http://cgi.ebay.com/DIY-LM317-Variable-DC-...=item27b273616c

http://cgi.ebay.com/DC-Power-Supply-0-30V-...=item4aa55c2a82

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 21 2010, 11:01 AM
jazzy939
post Oct 22 2010, 06:54 AM

reel is real
8,183 posts

You go and survey lah what they have on the shelves.. Little Ghost use them, so I guess they're 'good enough'. I don't as I build all my PSUs.
jazzy939
post Oct 22 2010, 09:50 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Little Ghost, its your call! tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 09:48 AM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Show us some pix of the said regulator.
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 09:49 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Isolated transformer? Oh really? hmm.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 10:05 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

I'd say hissing normally does not come from PSU, its more related to your head amp circuits.. could be related to your impedance mismatched..

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Oct 23 2010, 10:08 PM
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 10:11 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Here's a good read I picked up:

Some headphones have limited frequency which can limit the amount of hiss you can hear. Few common causes of the hiss/pops are
1) Unregulatered/unfiltered/noisy power to CD player/DAC/amp,
2) unmatched impedance of headphone and inadequate amp (amp can't handle low impedance cans),
3) picking up interference/noise from unshielded or inadequately shiedded interconnect/power cable/headphone cable, just to name a few.

jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 10:45 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

It certainly says 'regulated'!
Thanks for the pics.
jazzy939
post Oct 23 2010, 11:25 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

IF you tried with batteries and there were no hiss, I guess it must be the EKK PSU then.. sad.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 24 2010, 12:27 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

The ABS plastic will be hard to hack open..
You need a hacksaw and cut around it.. put it in a good metal casing for proper grounding and 'improve' the regulating circuit.. Not that I have not done it before.. wink.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 24 2010, 12:44 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

How true.. sad.gif
But I am curious on the EKK's regulator part of the circuit..
jazzy939
post Oct 24 2010, 01:08 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

See if there is a possibility to improve the regulating circuit?
jazzy939
post Oct 24 2010, 01:42 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Lets see it! wink.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 24 2010, 01:49 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Thats good to know! thumbup.gif

jazzy939
post Oct 25 2010, 04:37 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Anything more than the working voltage, in this case 12VDC is ok. So 16V, 25V are useable.

QUOTE(santik @ Oct 25 2010, 04:15 PM)
ok... but my supply voltage is 12VDC... 16V capacitor should be good enough, isn't it?
jazzy939
post Oct 26 2010, 01:03 PM

reel is real
8,183 posts

Yup. See if that would helps.

0.0225sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:10 AM