Nokia N8 v8 - Great Multimedia Device, For Starters, read the first page

Andy214
post Oct 19 2010, 02:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 19 2010, 01:58 PM)
i would say similar case to LX-3 also, although i am not sure of what sensor, but image quality wise, it's no where near to compete with even semi pro cameras on normal condition shots

Added on October 19, 2010, 2:00 pm

extra cost ler...somemore i plan to use a while, then let my sister use liao...
The LX series quality is good; Sometimes sensor may not be everything although having a bigger sensor should be better and have better advantage especially for low light photography; I'm surprise of the GF1 quality over Sony NEX in one of the sample I saw in YouTube. But the Sony NEX does have many very nice functions.
Andy214
post Oct 19 2010, 02:55 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 19 2010, 02:44 PM)
probably not, from how it's going to be, i'd say it will soon be a troll thread and mod will come close it..and he might just open another thread to prove steve jobs is correct again...
what we called open minded vs closed minded...he is obviously an apple zombie
Just let them them win; What's the point of winning argument; more important is whether the device is good for the person. no point winning an argument and pretend the device is perfect.

Anyway, each person has their own preferences and needs. If someone prioritize camera, they might consider the phone with good camera "best phone".
The mistake people often do is, they hear someone say XXX phone is good then they buy, only to find it doesn't fit them (e.g. prioritize camera, but the phone they buy have poor camera). People need to buy what they think is good for them, not what others say/think.

Andy214
post Oct 20 2010, 08:51 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 20 2010, 08:45 PM)
can it video-output thru 3.5mm?..go try with the N900 cable smile.gif
Was told you can... too bad my N8 in ICU cry.gif

Andy214
post Oct 21 2010, 12:56 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 21 2010, 12:50 PM)
New Camera Quality & Sound Mods, please read through before use any of the mods

This mods are modify from hyperX camera mod:

USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!
Need TS to update in front page for all these useful information, as well as, those problems after Hard Reset (losing OVI Store), any solutions to get it back, what about MY set pre-installed apps/widgets, etc.

Previously, andrekua also provided his review; this can be added to the frontpage (under Ranger's review or user's review).

All these nice/good information will easily lost in the post as the thread moves too fast tongue.gif

Andy214
post Oct 21 2010, 12:59 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 12:57 PM)
done already after 5 sec sklchan post it whistling.gif
Great job! very efficient! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I think you need to find andrekua's review, lost somewhere already, hehe

Waiting for Paolo/Radiance reply on the OVI Store and MY pre-installed apps/widget; I think doomx also checking on this.
Andy214
post Oct 21 2010, 02:14 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 21 2010, 01:03 PM)
i lost the youtube widget (or shortcut with youtube icons) after i install the s60v5 youtube app... the s60v5 youtube app can't get connected through wifi nor 3g internet... and the app will overwrite the original N8 youtube icons/shortcut... after i uninstall the s60v5 youtube app all gone liao...  sweat.gif
Another issue need to be recorded down.

Maybe can add a "Issues" section, with status like PENDING, RESOLVED, and solutions.

Andy214
post Oct 21 2010, 03:38 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 21 2010, 03:09 PM)
aspire2006 going?
1-to-1 class brows.gif
Andy214
post Oct 22 2010, 01:36 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Oct 22 2010, 01:28 AM)
Did that, but still cant find the image
It's in the previous V7.

Anyway, this is the picture:

This is the comparison between the demo set and my one:

Added on October 22, 2010, 1:38 am
QUOTE(620omen @ Oct 22 2010, 01:24 AM)
Hard restart or normal restart?
i try it becuz when i take the night foto, its seem look really bad.. so, i try the andy's photo & yeah, same problem as andy..
Nope.. only after 3-4 days use, it became like that...
how did u restart..N yeah, my video also look so bad went recording at night...
just type screen problem at the search colum.. u will find andy's image..
Don't hard reset...... You will loose OVI Store and the pre-installed apps/widget for Malaysia's set.

Still in the processing on finding out how to get these 2 back.....

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 22 2010, 01:38 AM
Andy214
post Oct 22 2010, 02:04 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 22 2010, 02:02 AM)
guys beside 8tv tv3 e!..what others web tv have?
You managed to install back those apps/widgets?

If yes, how?
NCC?
Andy214
post Oct 22 2010, 08:19 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(danniechua @ Oct 22 2010, 03:20 AM)
i got nothing to prove that if buy finland ones wont have problem but so far for me i got the finland ones really nothing no problem at all... 
buy in malaysia (zitron or avaxx) but made in finland the warranty is still the same...

Added on October 22, 2010, 3:27 am

he didnt say where his from also in the first place...well i dont have any sources also...but is up to people to believe or not only... you might not know that he is trying to cover the mess that china made...as here got quite some complains about N8

doomx
GothFebrio
Andy214
alfredtwl

this 4 guys have problem with the N8..in 50 user...seriously this is bad...i dunno if i miss out anyone here...
My problem might be caused by the display, which can be blame on the supplier of the display.
As for how it passed the QC, actually it's not noticeable under normal conditions. When I show it to the customer service, she don't see the problem as well, then show to technician, the technician also took some time to check through and blame the picture quality. Even I show them the picture I took, difference between the demo set and mine, also they can't verify, luckily another customer send in an N8 later (I think for software flashing or something), finally we're able to make the comparison and accept for further check/repair.

You may say how the QC pass this; but remember, QC are done by human, regardless of race or where the QC is done; It can by pass naked eye easily as it's not really noticeable unless you check in detail. Beside, they might not know of this problem with the display. Now, since it's known, Nokia can highlight this to the QC department to add this into their QC checking list.

Since this is a parts problem, it doesn't really matter where this unit is assembled or QC, unless the QC person managed to see it that is. Who knows, maybe some customers also have this issue but they don't know about it and thought it was normal. Under normal conditions, it's really not noticeable.

Now, the problem I want to highlight is not the failure, but to provide a GOOD SERVICE & SUPPORT.
I've put in suggestion to Nokia during the Ranger even "No matter how good a product is, it's useless if the services and support is bad".
Since this N8 is new, all the centres don't have the parts or even know much of the N8, they don't even have an N8 in their centre to do comparison; IMHO, they should have everything ready BEFORE they launch the N8, also the parts. Imagine someone who buy the device and face problem, have to go through the hassle of warranty claims (which should be fast and easy procedure), and then have to wait for parts....
This thing applies to ANY products; For MY, another very apparent one is the auto-industry, which has very poor after-sales services and support.

Andy214
post Oct 22 2010, 09:50 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Oct 22 2010, 09:11 AM)
I'm sorry if this seems to be a double post but after reading so many times i really still do not understand on the problem regarding the screen.
How do you identify on the problem and what is the problem?
After reading andy's post I hope i'm not one of those who did not notice that my phone has problems.
Can anyone kindly explain to me so I can check?
It's quite hard to identify and explain, plus, I'm not good at putting in words or explaining; Basically if you use video recording, you will notice "pixelated" or not smooth blending of colour especially on blacks.

You can try watching a low quality video, you will see somewhat similar problem. More obvious if there is SMOKES, you will see pixels, probably due to too high contrast/brightness. I don't know.
The TRON video, there is clouds blending, dark video, it's so obvious; but I notice the video is "too bright" or contrast too high; I'm not sure.

Check out the video I captured; It's not very obvious in this video, but if you see the real thing, it's really obvious; Really regret I did not test the video during the event...
1. Look at when the Disney Castle fade to black, it's not smooth.
2. Look at the clouds...
3. Look at when those brightness sets in, the white to black, not smooth, and I think it's very "bright" compared to other N8.

I'm not sure it's the display or graphic chip.... This problem is also visible on games, I tried NFS Shift, and when using IN CAR/DASH view, the dash which is black colour, it's really obvious...

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 22 2010, 09:28 AM)
i think the display might have been a fault in the amoled control...as we know, AMOLED handles pure black by turning the pixel off, where if you have grey, it will have to turn on, and show an extremely  dark color...something something...so when u put image like what we used to test earlier on, black turn off + grey pixel is on, suddenly color difference will make it look like it's 16-bit color...it's one of the possibility that me and my other friend come out with
Not sure, I'll share the problem and solution when it's fixed...

Andy214
post Oct 22 2010, 10:06 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 22 2010, 09:56 AM)
actually i kena once before i think..i snapped a picture of the mouse..when i see it back at the gallery, the color tone is off, something like the 16-bit color you described...but when i zoom it, i wont see it..then after that i think what i did was adjust screen brightness to max...
i also did restart the phone and played a video, but i doubt these 2 actually helped..you can try it out though
I think mine is different from yours maybe. If I zoom it, it will look worst.
I have played around with all the brightness, have tried restarting many times, also tried re-install firmware option from OVI Suite and also Nokia Software Updater.
My last action was Hard Reset, which causes me to loose everything, still the same.

I have done side by side comparison with another N8 (demo set in Nokia Shop), I test both at maximum brightness and also both as lowest brightness. The demo set don't have any issues even set the maximum brightness and still looks better than my N8 at minimum brightness.

I also tested the same picture on N97, it still looks better than my N8 in any brightness settings.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 22 2010, 10:07 AM
Andy214
post Oct 23 2010, 06:57 PM

3,308 posts

Update on my problem:
In summary:
They changed the OLED display, seems didn't solve the problem.
I notice when outdoor in bright daylight, there is NO problem, the picture is showing perfectly fine. When I go indoor, especially room or low light, the problem become obvious.
I suspect something to do with the light sensor, so I experiment around the light sensor by covering it, seems there is difference; but in outdoor it's showing perfectly fine covered/uncovered.

In short, my N8 is back to NCC ICU. This time will take longer time as they will send to HQ to check; I suppose due to many levels it need to go through...

Anyway, hope they can find the problem soon. I miss it cry.gif particularly the camera tongue.gif
Andy214
post Oct 23 2010, 07:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 23 2010, 07:10 PM)
Maybe u have eye sight problemĀ  rclxub.gif
Haha, if like this; How to explain their N8 have no problem?
The demo set N8 in Nokia Shop also have no such problem.

In room condition, I compared again the N900 and also N97 Mini; Only N8 have this problem.

So, if this isn't a problem, I don't know what it is.

Maybe we can exchange our N8? hehehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 23 2010, 07:21 PM
Andy214
post Oct 23 2010, 07:29 PM

3,308 posts

Anyway, I'm not sure if they have any N8 units which they use for training, like how to dissemble and re-assemble back again, etc. (maybe they can even use their demo unit)
If yes, they could use that unit to try to change with my display, or the light sensor, etc. to help them diagnose the problem. I think it shouldn't take long to find out if which is the problem, but maybe because there is many levels need to check and approve, so it might take longer time.

Then again, these are authorised care centres, I think they also need to check with Nokia Malaysia first, and I don't know if this has another level where they need to check with Nokia Finland, etc.

Anyway, just hope they can find the problem soon.

Added on October 23, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 23 2010, 07:26 PM)
I got recommendation

Take your n8 put next to the demo set use your Nokia N900 take a photo or video to show the difference
Already done, they also got N8 at Nokia Care Centre. Put side by side and show the picture..... very obvious my unit have problem..... They blame the picture... so I test the TRON video, can see my one is bad... so, the lady just say, if I not satisfied, then I can send in, they will send to HQ to check. No choice for me, just can hope they can find the problem.....

Anyway, at Nokia Care, the lighting was better, so the problem not as obvious when in my room; In room, we may have one fluorescent light and depending on the life, it may not be as bright as new... In short, in my room, the quality is really much worst... When watching video, it's like the brightness/contrast too high.
As for the picture, I already compare with the N900 and also N97 Mini, only N8 have this problem.

So, I don't know what to say. I'm not trying to complain, but trying to solve the problem on my N8 and sharing the problems I encounter and possible solutions. Hope members here don't mistaken I'm complaining...

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 23 2010, 07:38 PM
Andy214
post Oct 23 2010, 07:45 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 23 2010, 07:40 PM)
Can't you ask for replacement unit?
Maybe can try, but I don't know should ask or not; If I ask, then if others have same problem, will have to go through the same process again; It's troublesome and sad experience.

I leave the decision to Nokia for now; I do hope they can find out the problem, I think it can also help them to add this to the QC list and/or rectify this issue for other customers?

I really don't know what to do, just hope they will check on this issue...
Andy214
post Oct 24 2010, 10:40 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(620omen @ Oct 24 2010, 09:25 AM)
so aspire, wat do u think bout dat video?
yups2, i dont know either all n8 seem dat way or not.. Just waiting other gathering n can compare wit others.. Huhu  tongue.gif
aspire's posted video looks normal, same as what I saw with the demo set. I also compare side by side to the customer service lady.

I don't know if it's normal, maybe each unit has slightly different brightness/contrast settings, but we can't change it from the settings; If we can change it then possibly we can test further. We can only play with the brightness or Light Sensor "Settings->Phone->Display->Light Sensor".
Tested all settings still same.
Is there an app to adjust the brightness/contrast?

If you got drop by shopping malls, you can test the demo set N8 there, you can do side by side comparison under the SAME lighting condition, and try also you can try covering the light sensor and see the difference between your unit and the demo set.
So far, the demo set I tested was OK or acceptable;
The N900 never had such problem.
The N97 Mini have some slight problem but not obvious unless you really look into it, but I'm not sure if all N97 Mini is like that.

Maybe if there is a proper app for us to adjust the brightness and contrast setting, and possibly the sensor behaviour, we might be able to test more and find out the problems? Because as I said, in outdoor under bright day, it look perfectly normal and clear, even if I cover the light sensor, it still looks normal and great.
Andy214
post Oct 24 2010, 11:07 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 24 2010, 10:45 AM)
The brightness affected the way you see the picture. Try testing the video running in the dark room, but with a torch light to fool the sensor thinking you're in a light up room.

You tend to notice this even when watching HDTV when its dark and bright.

Not a big issue.
That could mean the sensor on my unit is not working properly compared with the other N8? hmm.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:00 AM)
This is mine i am using the clear version sp

Nice bokeh! taken with DSLR?

Btw, how you make the N8 stand?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 24 2010, 11:07 AM
Andy214
post Oct 24 2010, 11:16 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 24 2010, 11:07 AM)
U try now put on the table or anywhere. It can stand as long as the surface is flat.
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

0.0344sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:23 AM