@fansoption
the performance of a580?
btw, since u tested the a580, how's the comparison to a55 in terms of IQ?
Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V47!, The Orange Legion
Oct 20 2010, 10:57 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
@fansoption
the performance of a580? btw, since u tested the a580, how's the comparison to a55 in terms of IQ? |
Oct 20 2010, 11:09 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
Oct 20 2010, 11:10 PM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Oct 20 2010, 10:57 PM) @fansoption A580 like that lor acully is same sensor as A55 mah so no different hehe!the performance of a580? btw, since u tested the a580, how's the comparison to a55 in terms of IQ? Added on October 20, 2010, 11:12 pmSPAM Pic #1 ![]() #2 ![]() #3 ![]() #4 ![]() #5 ![]() #6 ![]() #7 ![]() #8 ![]() #9 ![]() #10 ![]() This post has been edited by fansoption: Oct 20 2010, 11:12 PM |
Oct 21 2010, 12:21 AM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Banzai_san: Nice #1 and #4! #5 could use a "digital graduated ND" (Google it.)
zstan: Won't work - image would be upside down. You're right on the AF assist/red eye flash. fansoption: I like #5 but with more light on the tourist. Try getting #7 from the front instead of an angle. |
Oct 21 2010, 01:51 AM
1,185 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: KKinabalu |
Oct 21 2010, 02:04 AM
Sony SLT-A55 with ECM-CG50 shotgun mike comparison
Compared the Sony SLT-A55 with Minolta 24-50mm F4 (a screw-drive lens, sure to make a sound when focusing) and the ECM-CG50 shotgun mike in three situations; 1) using on-board mike 2) using ECM-CG50 shotgun mike 3) using ECM-CG50 shotgun mike with low cut filter on ![]() The holder itself has rubber to form an isolation mount - this prevents vibrations from pressing the camera buttons, from reaching the mike. The iISO to ISO coldshoe adapter (it cannot work for flashes) is included in the package. VERDICT? We can observe certain things - for one, the average video length with the NEX-5/LA-EA1 combo with SAM lenses was 30 seconds (minus the introduction.) The average video length with the NEX-5/LA-EA1 combo with SSM lenses was 20 seconds (minus the introduction.) Meanwhile, the A55 videos clocked in at an average of 4 seconds (minus the introduction.) These were all for 3 cycles, focusing close, then further, then close again. I had to adjust my shooting location to accomodate lenses that could not focus so close, like the telephoto lenses. Contrast Detect AF, especially on the NEX-5/LA-EA1 with Sony 30mm F2.8 DT SAM Macro, was particularly loud! This was probably because the NEX-5/LA-EA1 decided to go all the way to minimum focus distance (MFD), then to infinity, then back, then to the focus point. The camera tells the lens motor to go at full speed from MFD to infinity which causes that loud sound. Compare this to Phase Detect AF, where the camera just tells the lens motor to go to the focus point (quite simply, because it only needs to look once to get it in approximate location.) Contrast Detect AF also seems to be a lot faster with shorter focal lengths. The Sony Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* 24-70mm F2.8 ZA SSM in particular proved to be the fastest in both contrast detect and phase detect situations. Contrast Detect AF also does much, much better with brighter lenses. The NEX-3/NEX-5 has another handicap - you cannot set the AF point to be fixed on the center; it will always go into Wide Area AF whenever it records video. The A33/A55 lets you change AF points even when recording video! My next mission - to find the Sony Alpha 580! |
Oct 21 2010, 03:49 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
albnol: next mission is to test them outdoor with daylight, it could pretty much be a giant differences in indoor available light.
offtopic a bit: since some of u frequents tech mall, i wan to know the price for a decent (non branded) HDMI>HDMI cable for around 3 meter (10feet), i rearrange my desk today found out my HDMI too short. and anyone know the price for 10feet HDMI>mini HDMI price?(wanna get one for A550/700/850 uses) and where i can get them?(those who recent survey or brought them, kindly PM me to prevent further offtopic.) This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 21 2010, 03:50 AM |
Oct 21 2010, 06:49 AM
3,807 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Masking |
QUOTE(fansoption @ Oct 20 2010, 11:10 PM) i think i like the slightly yellowish color tone..but maybe u can reduce the contrast or "black" in the photo..sometimes it makes the photos too dark...and feel a lil bit dull(bcoz its already in yellowish tone) |
Oct 21 2010, 08:38 AM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
achew: how do u make the light appear so nice 1..i mean in ur bokehmon album...i know how to make custom bokeh shape..but always cant get nice light at the background..mind to share ur setup???
This post has been edited by ahpingko: Oct 21 2010, 08:39 AM |
Oct 21 2010, 09:23 AM
3,065 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 21 2010, 12:21 AM) Banzai_san: Nice #1 and #4! #5 could use a "digital graduated ND" (Google it.) Thank you zstan: Won't work - image would be upside down. You're right on the AF assist/red eye flash. fansoption: I like #5 but with more light on the tourist. Try getting #7 from the front instead of an angle. |
Oct 21 2010, 09:32 AM
90 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Oct 21 2010, 09:49 AM
425 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
fansoption : what kindof post effect do you use ? seems that you purposely made it look dull to what is suppose to be colorful people/objects/stuffs.
Oct 21 2010, 10:37 AM
ieR: Unfortunately I won't be able to test them in daylight, if you know what I mean - Sony Style outlets are not within line of sight of daylight.
That said it is a better challenge for the lenses/bodies. |
Oct 21 2010, 10:52 AM
2,816 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
wtf..i saw ppl put my weblink in his website!..and the layout same...
sos open source code and will see my url.. |
Oct 21 2010, 10:54 AM
943 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL Sri Petaling |
@albnok
just finish reading ur blog..why SAM on a55 dont have buzzing sound when focusing? |
Oct 21 2010, 11:04 AM
1,063 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
![]() Can't wait to test this lens on Sony mount.. Tried it on D3100 and I'm impressed with it! Solid and fast! Its USD can compete with HSM This post has been edited by destfull: Oct 21 2010, 11:05 AM |
Oct 21 2010, 11:08 AM
4,858 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Tawau, Sabah |
70300? Oh VR for Nikon mount kan that?
U say 'solid and fast' what does it mean? Fast focus? |
Oct 21 2010, 11:10 AM
1,063 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Yeah, fast focus.. its body build its not like typical Tamron, more solid although still plastic... Priced around 1.4-1.6k
Melaka around 1.4k |
Oct 21 2010, 11:54 AM
6,659 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL/PJ/USJ/Puchong/KKB, Sel. |
QUOTE(destfull @ Oct 21 2010, 11:04 AM) ![]() Can't wait to test this lens on Sony mount.. Tried it on D3100 and I'm impressed with it! Solid and fast! Its USD can compete with HSM |
Oct 21 2010, 12:27 PM
kevinwcw: I explained why already - SAM on the A55 just needs to go to the focus point e.g. 2 meters. It can detect this immediately with the phase-detect sensors. Whereas Contrast Detect goes to MFD, then Infinity, and MFD again, because it does not know the subject is 2 meters away unless it does the 'scan'. Then only does it go to 2 meters.
The buzz happens because the lens has to speed from MFD to Infinity. destfull: Nice! This would make a decent budget video lens for the A55 since it has VC built in. |
| Change to: | 0.0332sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:19 PM |