Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

kmf165
post Jun 15 2011, 10:40 AM

100 posts

Hi Sifu here, seek some advice on the cost of refinancing.

I am doing refinance at RM330K. Below are the quotation. I saw someone doing 500K loan but the fees only little bit higher???

Legal Fees
1. Facility Agreement RM2,750
2. 1st Charge RM275
3. Purchase Undertaking RM275
4. Deed of Promise/Deed of Trust RM0
5. Power of Attorney RM275
6. Entry & Withdrawal of Private Caveat RM350
7. Discharge of Charge RM300
8. Consent to Charge RM0

Legal Fees before tax RM4,436.25
Add : 5% Service Tax RM211.25
Total Legal Fees RM4,436.25

Disbursements
1. Stamp Duty on Facility Agreement (less 20% waiver)+2copies RM1336

2.Stamp Duty :
a) 1st Charge RM40
b)Power of Attorney RM40
c) Purchase Undertaking RM30
d) Deed of Promise/Deed of Trust RM0
e) Power of Attorney RM40
f) Discharge of Charge Rm10
g)Letter of Offer RM10
h) Statutory Declaration - Occupation & Bankruptcy RM20

3. Registration Fees :
a) 1st Charge RM120
b) Power of Attorney RM80
c) Entry & Withdrawal of Private Caveat RM420
d) Discharge of Charge RM70
e) Consent, CTC Title & Application Consent to Charge RM0

4. Search Fees :
a) Land Title RM120
b) Bankruptcy Search Fees RM80
c) Winding Up Search RM0

5. Admin Fees RM20
6. Miscellaneous RM50
7. Finance of Fees RM100
8. Photostating/Fax/Tel/Courier, etc RM80
9. Transport, postage, etc RM250
10. Others Rm250

Total Disbursements Rm2916

Total Legal Fees + Disbursements RM7352.25

Thanks for your time.

kmf165
post Jun 15 2011, 11:27 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 15 2011, 11:23 AM)
kmf165:

Clarify first - is this HSBC?
Wah...sifu memang sifu... tongue.gif rclxms.gif yes. Why?
kmf165
post Jun 15 2011, 01:25 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 15 2011, 01:12 PM)
Normally if property with title no need to create Power of Attorney [PA] for bank. Only HSBC requires it.  nod.gif
Hi Dario,

Thanks for reply. I see. They charge 3 x Power some more doh.gif . Any reason why they do so?

So you think the quote is ok?

And one more question on strata title. I have done MOT from developer already. So will this refinancing will cause me another MOT process later? I know there will be 1 when I fully settled my loan right?

Regards;

Added on June 15, 2011, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 15 2011, 01:21 PM)
kmf:

Better seek clarification for all these:

3. Purchase Undertaking RM275
c) Purchase Undertaking RM30
5. Admin Fees RM20
10. Others Rm250

Never heard of such charges before.

a) Land Title RM120

* RM30/search
b) Bankruptcy Search Fees RM80

* RM12/pax. So should be RM12 only.

If you had asked for 'rebate' on your fees, then it is normal for them to mark up to make up for the deficit. If you are paying fees in full, it's obvious that they are overcharging you and also charging you for unnecessary and unallowed matters.

I suggest that you get a 2nd quotation or even a 3rd.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Posted another message before noticed your reply here tongue.gif

Ok, got some updates from my banker. The total fees is for legal firm to charge to bank as a draft (not final yet. I put the legal fees and MRTA on loan amount. Its a Amanah Loan). Got some discount on fees from above quotation. Thanks for your advice.

This post has been edited by kmf165: Jun 15 2011, 03:16 PM
kmf165
post Jun 16 2011, 04:33 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:31 PM)
kmf:Normally it is done by the bank panel lawyer even ad hoc cannot do it. I would suggest you to find atleast 10 firms.  rclxm9.gif

Let us know how you feel and share your experience.  rclxms.gif

I normally fong fei kei to those ppl who ask donut.

Dariofoo: (I think I can give some opinion)
              Even the bank panel lawyer over charge the client, the law firm cann't by pass the HSBC HQ as the person in charge who release the legal fees
              knows the correct billing and will erase the unrelated or unwanted charges.
Hi Seremban_2 biggrin.gif

10 firms? They told me have to get their panel firm and they have only 50 in Malaysia. Not sure true not. But I am ok with the quotation already as they give discount.

Anyway, I will still check with them on what Dario mentioned. Especially bankruptcy search, kenapa banyak kali? tak pecaya aku belum bankrupt kah? mad.gif

>>Even the bank panel lawyer over charge the client, the law firm cann't by pass the HSBC HQ as the person in charge who release the legal fees knows the correct billing and will erase the unrelated or unwanted charges.

If they are brothers? tongue.gif
kmf165
post Jun 21 2011, 09:26 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 17 2011, 12:02 PM)
10 firms is not reasonable, and I'm sure you know it. If you want to be cheeky and sarcastic, I respectfully suggest you do so in the open forum where anything goes. The person asking for the advice is seeking for a serious answer in this thread, and if you can't provide one, don't.

Hope you understand.  icon_rolleyes.gif

No worry. I wont follow that suggestion. I stick to the current one and fight for fair quotation, thats all. thumbup.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 9:47 am
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jun 17 2011, 12:12 PM)
2-3 would be enough. At the end of the day, it's not the rate, it's the service.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Honestly I didnt go and ask from other firm. I just study around forum here with those prices.

And yes, the service which more concerned. They willing to travel to my place for drafted copy and explain, guide me to the statements in the agreement whenever the Q I asked, so I feel satisfy on that. Also, this is my second time with law firm, their process are very fast. 2 days after I confirmed the offer letter they managed to get ready all docd for me to sign.

Got the final quotation, below are some of the charges which Dario highlighted.

- Purchase Undertaking -> Told me that diff bank needs diff item. hmm.gif And HSCB required that. sweat.gif
- Bankruptcy Search --> from 80 to 20 now.
- Admin Fee --> Wrong/typo by me after get the final original copy. Should be Affirming Fees. doh.gif
- Land Title --> Still RM120. But they giving good % discount on Facility Agreement. So I one eye close la.
- Others --> Removed. rclxms.gif

Many thanks thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kmf165: Jun 21 2011, 09:47 AM
kmf165
post Aug 2 2011, 11:21 AM

100 posts

Hi dario,

How's day?

I am in the middle of refinance. Possible if you can drafty tell how is the process flow in between banks and lawyer from after signing the offer letter till the end?

I called the lawyer can told that they waiting release of money from current bank to ex-loan bank. What next actually?

From what I can find out.
1. Sign letter offer and legal doc
2. Ex-bank issue confirmation letter on how much my is balance
3. Current bank pay my balance in ex-bank
4. ....
5. ....
10. I got $$$ from refinancing in bank. tongue.gif

Thanks for your time.
kmf165
post Aug 2 2011, 02:10 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Aug 2 2011, 12:50 PM)
Hey bro,

How't things?

Day was busy busy busy.  smile.gif

Here you go. I started from No.4 onwards:

1. Sign letter offer and legal doc
2. Ex-bank issue confirmation letter on how much my is balance
3. Current bank pay my balance in ex-bank (and forwards Deed of RnR for execution)
4. Ex-bank returns original docs to current bank with Deed of RnR.
5. Stamping of Deed of RnR
6. Revocation of PA
7. Submission of FA, new DOA and new PA  for adjudication
8. Payment of stamp duty for FA, new DOA and new PA  for adjudication
9. Registration of new PA in Court
10.Notice of assignment to Developer
11. Lawyer advises bank to drawdown (release balance loan sum).
12. You get $$$ from refinancing in bank
10. I got $$$ from refinancing in bank. tongue.gif
Hi bro, its also call a BBB mode hor? haha.

Hmmm, didnt realized that it have more steps to process. So from your listed, 6 - 12, tentatively how long it goes? It was a month since I signed.

Thanks for your helps.

kmf165
post Aug 2 2011, 04:31 PM

100 posts

Orite taikor, thanks a lot! notworthy.gif

0.0649sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:31 AM