Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

jigsaw2
post Jan 11 2011, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jan 11 2011, 04:27 PM)
Greeting my ol' friend Hansel.

How's Gretel?  tongue.gif Sorry, couldn't help myself.  biggrin.gif

Interesting indeed. What framework is this? Can enlighten all of us here with the particulars?

Who wouldn't want to go one up on the developers huh?

This is like a people's revolution!
Heyyy Dario,.. smile.gif Gretel is doing well,... but she ate too much of a gingerbread recently,... biggrin.gif haha,.. that was the story, right ?

I heard that it's a method whereby if a landed property is not completed within a certain period, the purchasers can appeal for assistance from their respective Local Authority to help them (the purchasers) take back the rights to their houses from the Developer, after which the purchasers can then proceed to complete their houses with their own funds till the houses can be resided in, and subsequently, apply for the CF too.

This method is especially useful for landed properties, and easier to execute too.

I wonder if this framework is really something beneficial to would-be purchasers and purchasers who are currently caught with abandoned projects. Sorry, no personal experience here. never been caught by such a thing before.

What that interests me is that this is something revolutionery for the housing industry as a whole.
jigsaw2
post Jan 13 2011, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 11 2011, 11:14 AM)
Hi Dario,... greetings again.

Remember our discssion earlier where there was a group of purchasers who snatched back their uncompleted houses from the developer, and proceeded to build up on their own ?

I heard this morning that they have complied with ALL procedures and rules of their local authority, and have been granted the Certificate-of-Fitness for Occupation (CFO). They are now able to stay at their respective houses, and have managed to enact a framework of this sort for such future problems with other unfortunate purchasers of abandoned housing.

What do you think ?
This is a very unique news. Which means these purchasers have managed to follow all procedures related to the application of CFO from the local authority, I recalled my friend telling me earlier it was not easy. Even developers have problems doing the application.

So purchasers can apply for CFO now. There is hope for abandoned projects now for purchasers who are able to secure funding to recover their investments till CF issuance. I think if the purchasers can work out the procedures to abide to all rulings and regulations for CF application by the local authority, the banks will allow the loan disbursements to be given to the purchasers instead of the developer, since the purchasers will complete the property.

Maybe sifus here can give opinions.
jigsaw2
post Jan 13 2011, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jan 13 2011, 03:58 PM)
Sorry, Dario and jigsaw, was busy, this was how they started : they appealed to their local authority to help them because their houses were delayed for many years. After much persuasion, the local authority finally called for a meeting between the developer and the group of purchasers.

In the meeting, a date was set for the project to be completed, failing which, the developer is to surrender the houses back to that group of purchasers. The date finally came and the houses were still not completed, hence the houses were surrendered.

The purchasers then proceeded to continue the houses on their own. I think there are other details in between, but I am not sure how and what to ask this friend of mine. Am not too familiar with the laws here.
This authority is really helping the people. Really great.

jigsaw2
post Jan 14 2011, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jan 13 2011, 04:21 PM)
Which local authority is this?
I have been asking my kakis around, some of them have had their houses abandoned too. I think this activitiy that hansel mentioned is in MPS or majlis Perbandaran sepang. The abandoned houses which were taken back by the purchasers themselves are in that area. Any purchasers here can confirm this ?
jigsaw2
post Jan 16 2011, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jan 16 2011, 03:55 AM)
Shall answer all queries on Monday ya  icon_rolleyes.gif

Today's my  bday.gif  smile.gif

PS: Shall get back to you too Hansel!
Yeah,......... Happy Birthday to Dario rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

0.0182sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:16 PM