Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

fazlittc
post Nov 14 2010, 02:29 AM

82 posts

can someone advise for me this legal fee?
is it reasonable? the sub-sale house is rm140k

Thanks in advance

S&P agreement = 1400
letter of declaration = 100
5% Gov tax = 75
=================
sub total = 1575

disbursements
stamp duty on S&P agreement = 40
letter waiver = 10
stamp duty on transfer = 900
MOT registration fee on transfer (2 titles) = 100
title and caveat search = 60
printing of documents = 70
postage/courier/telephone/other expenses = 50
incidentals = 100
================================
sub total = 1330

TOTAL = 1575 + 1330 = 2905

This post has been edited by fazlittc: Nov 14 2010, 03:00 AM
fazlittc
post Nov 14 2010, 12:21 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Nov 14 2010, 02:40 AM)
Hey there,

Was wondering when you were gonna post it here. Let' see:

...the sub-sale house is rm140k

S&P agreement = 1400
letter of declaration = 100
5% Gov tax = 75
=================
sub total = 1575

S&P fees are standard and alright. Please find out what this letter of declaration is please. Funny how your solicitor forgot to quote you for filing CKHT 2A, which ought to cost RM200/purchaser.
Lucky you then!  tongue.gif 

disbursements
stamp duty on S&P agreement = 40
letter waiver = 10
What is this letter waiver? Please seek clarification from the lawyer.stamp duty on transfer = 900
MOT registration fee on transfer (2 titles) = 100
title and caveat search = 60
printing of documents = 70
postage/courier/telephone/other expenses = 50
incidentals = 100
================================
sub total = 1330

TOTAL = 1575 + 1330 = 2905

Disbursements look alright except for that letter waiver thingy. Am surprised you're not being billed for bankruptcy search [usually around RM30] and affirmation fees [also around RM20-RM30]

Perhaps if you want to save a bit more you can ask what incidentals are - because postage/courier/telephone/other expenses sounds like incidentals to me. If they say it's miscellaneous fees - then you're being taken for a ride coz the Solicitors Remuneration Order states that miscellaneous fees cannot exceed RM50.

Check with them and let us all know here how it went. Good luck
  nod.gif
thanks sifu dario. point noted. I will check with my lawyer. by the way, what are actually the elements in the S&P for purchaser? (bankruptcy search, affirmation fees, CKHT 2A and e.t.c)

i'll let u know the updates.

fazlittc
post Nov 14 2010, 06:00 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Nov 14 2010, 05:49 PM)
CKHT2A is fixed at RM200/purchaser. For CKHT1A it is fixed at RM300/vendor.  nod.gif
Is this CKHT2A compulsory? can the purchaser opt to fill the form and submit by themself?
fazlittc
post Nov 14 2010, 06:39 PM

82 posts

smile.gif...thanks Dario.
from ur explanation i can guess that its not easy to fill up the form. Okay i'll ask my lawyer to do it for me.
fazlittc
post Nov 14 2010, 10:52 PM

82 posts

Dario,

After discussing with my lawyer, here is the amend S&P legal fee.

Sale and Purchase Agreement = 1,400.00
CKHT 2A = 200.00
5% Government Tax = 80.00
sub total = 1,680.00

DISBURSEMENTS

Stamp duty on Sale and Purchase Agreement = 40.00
Adjudication = -
Letter Waiver = 10.00
Stamp Duty on Transfer* = 900.00
MOT Registration fee on Transfer* (2 titles) - 100.00
Title and Caveat Search = 60.00
Printing of Documents = 50.00
Postage/Courier/Telephone/other expenses = 50.00
Bankruptcy Search = 30.00
Miscellanous = 50.00
Incidentals = 50.00

sub total = 1,340.00

TOTAL = 3,020.00

fazlittc
post Nov 16 2010, 09:57 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Nov 15 2010, 01:19 AM)
fazlittc: How come the legal fees seemed to have INCREASED? And how come there's Misc as well as Incidentals? What's going on? And you told him about CKHT2A??  hmm.gif

Added on November 15, 2010, 1:23 amdreamadream: As long as you're happy la ya. However, I would advise you to get a breakdown of the fees. It wouldn't hurt. Plus it'll make your lawyer think, 'This is one smart, savvy client. Better take him/her seriously'

Whatcha think? All the best.
Dario,
The increase because including the CKHT2A and also bankruptcy search where my lawyer forgot to put in.
fazlittc
post Dec 3 2010, 08:11 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Nov 27 2010, 02:01 PM)
There's no hard and fast rule. Some people can execute their S&P and move on with life until they get a call informing them that the keys to their new house are ready for collection. Some insist on calling every single day to find out the latest position. Most, however, are in between.

Basically you can follow up with your solicitor at the following stages:
1) After signing the S&P, to get a copy of the stamped agreement;
2) After you have executed your loan documentation with your loan solicitor, to find out if your loan solicitor has written to your solicitor and the vendor's solicitor/ vendor's existing financier;

3) To find out if the cheque for redemption of the vendor's loan has been issued;
4) To find out if the property has been redeemed and that the original title and duplicate charge has been handed over to your solicitor;

5) To enquire if the cheque for the balance purchase price has been issued to the vendor, thus completing the transaction so that you can collect your keys.

nod.gif
Hi Dariofoo,

May i ask about the stage1. Normally, how long should we wait to get the copy of the stamped agreement? I've signed the S&P on 22 Nov 2010 but still not getting the copy till today.

0.0602sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:16 PM