Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

escargo75
post Mar 18 2011, 04:03 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 17 2011, 10:47 AM)
1. You can lodge a police report but it is unlikely that the police will intervene as it is a civil matter.

2. You can serve an agreement on him, but if he doesn't want to execute it, you can't force him. And NO, it does not "constitutes he is unwilling to be my uncle's tenant any longer".

3. You would have to appoint a lawyer to serve him an eviction notice (with a demand for unpaid rental) - 1 month's notice to surrender vacant possession as he is not a trespasser, but a tenancy-holding-over. A monthly tenancy, so to speak. Once the eviction notice lapses, your lawyer would file an application for an order to evict the tenant. If upon being served with the order, he still refuses to move out, then your lawyer would seek the assistance of the Court bailiff to evict him. That would be the whole procedure.

You can't lock up the place nor can you file a caveat. Why caveat anyway when it is your uncle's own property?

4. Bailiff would come in when the tenant still refuses to leave upon being served with the Court order.

Hope the above helps. Cheers.
Aiyo there are faster way to get them out. Don't pay the water and electric bill and let it cut-off. Later when they cannot tahan no water and electric, they will move out. Later on you can re-connect it back.

escargo75
post May 4 2011, 11:00 PM

630 posts

Hi Dariafoo,

I want to know who should pay for the legal fees of the SPA, the vendor or the purchaser? Same goes to MOT.
escargo75
post Jul 12 2011, 10:58 AM

630 posts

When we engage a lawyer to be our stakeholder for a snp (vendor side), beside paying the professional charges for the service of redemption of property, is there any other charges like legal representation charges?
escargo75
post Jul 13 2011, 11:49 AM

630 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Jul 12 2011, 06:41 PM)
There are no legal representation charges. For redemption of loan on vendor's behalf - it would be RM300/title for discharge of charge OR RM400 if for deed of RnR (with revocation of power of attorney). There would be a bit of disbursements too for expenses incurred  nod.gif
Thank you Suetyen and dariofoo. I am relieved.

escargo75
post Jul 21 2011, 02:57 PM

630 posts

Why the lawyers cannot respect the date to sign the SnP stated in the "Offer To Purchase agreement? I have my apt for sale agreement signed 5 weeks ago but until now both side lawyers (my side and purchaser side is delaying the SnP signing. Everytime call the lawyer, always blame the other side lawyer slow in preparing the SnP and slow in coming back with amendments etc...

What a purchaser or vendor can do in order for the lawyers to speed up their work beside calling them everyday to ask about status? I was wondering why the lawyers cannot respect their clients dateline for SnP to be signed within a month after sign offer purchase agreement. What happen after sign the SnP, the lawyers delay again in their duty to process documents for the release of payment from bank?

I am thinking hard to change lawyer but what advantage it is to me if all my documents are with my lawyer?
escargo75
post Aug 6 2011, 12:03 AM

630 posts

Hi Dariofoo,

Can you please glance thro whether my lawyer charge me reasonable fees. I am the vendor and selling an apartment with the master title. I bought the unit more than 5 years ago and the purchaser is engaging his own lawyer.. Price is RM155k.

SnP agreement - $1,535
Submission CKHT 1A - $300
Receipt and Reassignment - $300
Revoke of Power of Attorney - $100
Service tax 6% - $134.10
Total fees - $2,369.10

Disbursements
Land search - $60
Bankcruptcy search - $40
CTOS search - $40
Stamping of R&R - $40
Registration Fee For Revocation of PA - $40