Lawyers Corner, A one-stop centre on lawyers and queries

dtna7
post Mar 29 2011, 10:00 PM

456 posts

Hi dario,

Would appreciate it if you can give me some advice on my loan agreement.

The SPA agreement is absorbed by the developer as the unit im opting will only VP in 3 years.

This is a quote my loan agent get from the lawyer for me, and she says i must talk to the lawyer myself if i wanna ask for discounts.

Loan Amount: RM335,000

Loan Agreement

Legal Fees
Beed Assignment - RM2795
Power Attorney - RM279.50

Service Tax(6%) - RM201.24

Disbursement
Stamping
Facility Agreement - RM1705
Deed of Assignment - RM40
Power of Attorney - RM40

Searches
Land Search - RM50
OA Search/Bancruptcy - RM30
SD(affirmation&stamp) - RM30

Registration
Power of Attorney - RM47
(travelling to HIGH Court)
General and specific administrative disbursement - RM150 rclxub.gif
Transportation - RM180
Miscellaneous - RM50
Purchase Documents - RM200

Total : 3354(legal) + 201.24(tax) + 2532(disbursement) = RM6087.24

Im guessing there are things i should talk to the lawyer in order to get a much lower amount than this.
Since its the developer's lawyer, SPA was done by him as well~

Please advice~
appreciate all the help i can get~
icon_question.gif

dtna7
post Mar 30 2011, 02:13 PM

456 posts

hi dario,

thanks for the help.

I just called my lawyer (his assistant i presume), and she says that i am entitled to 30% discount according to the Bar Council something.... :stars

Then she concluded that RM4800 (initially RM6087.xx) will be the price i can get, and i negotiated further by claiming that since they are the SPA lawyer as well, some things are double charged. The weird term on general disbursement something... i objected was promised to be removed as well..

The last thing i need explanation is...the 30% discount something she mentioned.

Do you know anything about that Mr.dario?

Thanks for the help thus far~
dtna7
post Mar 30 2011, 11:53 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 30 2011, 05:11 PM)
Para 6 of the Solicitors' Remuneration Order 2005 (SRO) by the Bar Council which regulates the fees which lawyers can bill their clients in conveyancing matters effective Jan 1, 2006 clearly states that "there shall be no discount on fees specified in this Order"

Here you go:
[attachmentid=2125867]
shocking.gif
means the lawyer is actually playing bringing me for a ride? mad.gif

anyway, its the common way of dealing with lawyers nowadays.

customers ask for discounts everytime, so they mark up the things they can while anticipate the client to negotiate blush.gif

thanks sifu dario notworthy.gif

0.0583sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:52 AM