QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Aug 10 2011, 10:31 PM)
Dear sifus,
I'm a complete n00b in property. I'm currently in the proccess of purchasing my 1st property as my own residence. I was led to understand that in purchasing a property (subsale) the only legal fee I had to pay was for the S&P Agreement, which I have already paid for. Now that my bank loan is approved, the bank's panel lawyer sent the Loan Agreement to me for signing, and there I'm to be charged another RM5k++ as legal fees. Is the correct? That means my legal fees would amount up to abt RM10k (of which 4k was paid for S&P) including both S&P and Loan Agreement (Property Sales Agreement).
Is the the usual practice or have I been conned or overcharged?
Thanks!
Usual practice is that there are two separate legal fees - one for SPA and one for the loan documentation.I'm a complete n00b in property. I'm currently in the proccess of purchasing my 1st property as my own residence. I was led to understand that in purchasing a property (subsale) the only legal fee I had to pay was for the S&P Agreement, which I have already paid for. Now that my bank loan is approved, the bank's panel lawyer sent the Loan Agreement to me for signing, and there I'm to be charged another RM5k++ as legal fees. Is the correct? That means my legal fees would amount up to abt RM10k (of which 4k was paid for S&P) including both S&P and Loan Agreement (Property Sales Agreement).
Is the the usual practice or have I been conned or overcharged?
Thanks!
As for whether you are overcharged or not, use the calculator at the first page of this thread to calculate your legal fees. Then, go through the numerous samples of legal fees quotations in this thread and compare with yours.
If still got doubt do come back here and ask.
Aug 11 2011, 12:52 AM
0.0316sec