HTPC Casing Modding, Come and have a look !

TSlkp857
post Oct 16 2010, 12:32 PM, updated 15y ago

27 posts

Guys, have you ever wanted a powerful HTPC yet looks nice to put besides your TV? However, there is something which bugging you the most, is the HEAT! Yes, the heat definately is your worst enemy when you are in the same condition as I am.
a) No air con.
b) Room temperature is high
c) No budget for water cooling

Well, when I was setting up my home theater, with 42 inch Toshiba and Sony HT, my plan was clear at that time, to turn my current gaming rig into a HTPC, small yet powerful (hehe, with Gigabyte 460GTX, entry class lah... no budget ma... brows.gif

At first, when i try to play game, the temperate is sky rocketing, CPU reaching 75 degree and GPU around 83, wow, I worry the heat will kill my rig within a year. At that time, I was thinking: I wish I have intelligent hardware which automatically open up my case and let the heat out ! thumbup.gif

When I was a child, I actually planned to be an E&E engineer, but I was unlucky, end up be a software engineer. When I was child, I always think of: one day if I old enuf, when I have the $$, I hope I can buy this, do this... shocking.gif To me, I just wanted to play with RC Motors, remote controller and be creative to build something, something like Robot. Why not since I'm still single, and got plenty of time, why not I build something so that my HTPC can take it breath while trying to serve me the best during gaming?

This is the thing i have prepared:
a) An old Dell Workstation Casing (which going to be my new HTPC Casing, save the existing one so that I can sell it later)
b) Bought a Servo micro controller
c) 2x Servo
d) and Help from RonModz to help me cut the Dell casing into the shape that I wanted.

This is how it looks like:
(I wanted to put my PS3 on top of it, caz putting PS3 into the small area will also causing it to overheat)

(This is the sofware I wrote, to detect temperature and open the hatch at will)

(When remove my PS3 out)

(Closed)

This post has been edited by lkp857: Oct 16 2010, 12:33 PM
geforce88
post Oct 16 2010, 12:36 PM

2,841 posts

good luck!
RonModz
post Oct 16 2010, 02:12 PM

199 posts

Hey, looks cool Bro!! rclxms.gif Glad it worked out icon_idea.gif
Mandalorians
post Oct 18 2010, 12:29 PM

like torpedo hatch on submarine!! cool!! thumbup.gif
Traveler
post Oct 19 2010, 08:49 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Very cool!

So do the hatches open and close automatically according to temperature? Does the PC sound noticeably louder when the hatches are open? What's the impact on the CPU/GPU temps?

viruz019
post Oct 20 2010, 01:06 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

wow..this is interesting..can show the proecss on what you did and how much u spend total to design the stuff? tongue.gif
huzzLEE_82
post Oct 20 2010, 03:10 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

wah so nice bos...like bonet kerete...
blh buka & tutup....
awesome job++ nice PS3 there..huhu
TSlkp857
post Oct 20 2010, 08:24 PM

27 posts

Temperature stop raising and getting lower of caz, however, yes the noise is loud (depend on your Fan). Yes I can configure what temp it should open and which one to open.

Added on October 20, 2010, 8:27 pmArr... Forgot to shoot during fabrication. Just design two big square holes in adobe illustrator, asked Ronz to help me to cut it, bought the servo controller from cytron, hook up, test it, wrote my own software to control it

This post has been edited by lkp857: Oct 20 2010, 08:27 PM
da drummer
post Oct 21 2010, 02:20 AM

:)
808 posts

maybe u can teach us here how u do it in detail~like me tongue.gif
im not pro~so need a bit step by step blush.gif
TSlkp857
post Oct 21 2010, 01:48 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Oct 21 2010, 02:20 AM)
maybe u can teach us here how u do it in detail~like me  tongue.gif
im not pro~so need a bit step by step  blush.gif
ok, let me schedule a time to do some writeup
overclockalbert
post Nov 1 2010, 02:49 AM

1,058 posts

most creative case mod year 2010.......
chenhui87
post Nov 3 2010, 01:18 AM

♥Jigeumeun So Nyuh Shi Dae♥
2,150 posts

cool man~~~
dreaming
post Dec 2 2010, 09:59 AM

124 posts

damn nice and great job !
wanna be hi-tech
post Dec 9 2010, 01:24 AM

Any self respecting GEEK, certainly owns more than a single rig
1,598 posts

hey not bad man...creative..
ReaLsHot
post Dec 9 2010, 07:59 AM

woww~ rare casing! comes with ps3 summore.. hehe
stan001
post Dec 19 2010, 12:52 PM

623 posts

Yeah, nice mod...

post some details or some howtos..

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Feb 5 2011, 01:59 PM

291 posts

Mind to hare with us where did U get the below items and how much do they cost?

b) Bought a Servo micro controller
c) 2x Servo

Is the software written using VB?
ultimate1
post Feb 8 2011, 05:36 PM

50 posts

Wow nice. This project is cool.

<lkp857> : Can I know what type of controller do u use to control the servo and also its connected via usb or serial onboard ? How about the programming language used ? I've some mc68 left from my FYP that can be used. drool.gif
jeopardise
post Feb 10 2011, 12:09 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

I think can control using arduino microcontroller. It can control some device; servo, motor, lights, temperature sensors as well. It also come with SDK.
dakwan5555
post Feb 23 2011, 02:52 AM

85 posts

Could you please at least give us a link to the software? Or your basic device controlling software?

0.0265sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:43 PM