6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia N8 V7-King of Multimedia, Pls read FP!location changed!

super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 02:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Oct 18 2010, 02:52 PM)
Nokia and Palm exchange boss. Palm/Windows mobile developer give Nokia Stephen Elops and Nokia give their meego developer (whats the ah? 4got) tp Palm LOL
Aari Jaaksi.He's a good with designing OS.
Best name still belong to MeeGo's user experience new boss,Peter Skillman.
I'm willing to kill for that kind of name laugh.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 18 2010, 02:57 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 03:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 18 2010, 03:22 PM)
haha
i remember there impossible symbian 3 upgrade till 4
Symbian^1 to Symbian^3 is impossible because the need of dedicated graphic chip for the graphic acceleration.
Symbian^3 to Symbian^4 might be possible depending on the hardware requirement.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 04:28 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 04:17 PM)
few post on top I saw Alien posting Symbian^3 write on Qt...  now u say Symbian^3 no Qt....

which one is correct?? 
No Qt?  I tot Nokia say big big about Qt?  hmm.gif hmm.gif

Added on October 18, 2010, 4:18 pm
this is not a N8 user..
but N97 have an application call Compass...  just start that.. turn u phone few time.. there u go....
Symbian^3 was rewritten with QT.Every OS supported by Nokia will be written with QT going forward.
QT is cross platform application writer.In theory an app written with QT should be working for another OS(must also support QT) with minor modification.

For example an app written by symbian^3 should also work for MeeGo assuming it's written with QT.

QUOTE(kae7 @ Oct 18 2010, 04:22 PM)
just found that N8 has Qt. 4.6
sweat.gif
but i'm not sure that.. it is like Meego /
4.6? Latest 1 is 4.7.Maemo 5 was fully rewritten with QT 4.7.
Upcoming PR1.3 should make Maemo 5 another full QT based OS.Same as MeeGo.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 04:30 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

If so many users have problem with the headset why don't you guys just return it & ask for new 1 on the spot?
I'm very sure things that are less than 1 week old can be replaced 1 on 1.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 04:46 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 04:42 PM)
true.. 

like the N900.. they said. u wanna upgrade.. u bare all the responsible urself..  all about $$
Dah...It's what they always say but the risk of damage is very minimal.
I've flashed my phone with Android,MeeGo,Maemo & multiple other crap.Still runs fairly well.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 04:50 PM)
the point is they don't want to officially support if there is anything wrong..
not like other.. like HTC etc.. they have upgrade from 2.0 to 2.1 Eclair... it is official and not void anything.... 

Nokia are playing Tai Ji with u in this aspect...
For Nokia you're stuck with whatever OS that your phone comes with.They won't upgrade the entire OS only provide firmware updates probably because they want the best troublefree tested OS for the phone.

But I expect things to change with MeeGo.If you have delved into Maemo's world you should know that we have our own saying:"If the OS is imperfect,we'll try to perfect it ourself"
This is the main advantage of open source.The open community is capable delivering stable working OS to end users.So far they have delivered fully working new Maemo OS for Nokia 770(IT) & Android for N900(New update coming soon)
Symbian is also open source but I don't see much people developing the OS because it simply lack power that MeeGo/Maemo/Android offers.

But in future I do hope that Nokia will follow other company way of giving full OS update choice instead of bugfix.We'll know more in November.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:03 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Aiyah..If you guys spoiled by colour choice just disassemble the phone & bring it for the powder coating.Can choose rainbow colour also if you want.
But of course the colour don't last as in anodized aluminum.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:04 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 18 2010, 05:02 PM)
Godlike phone can bring down satellite  bor?
Who knows?Maybe can? laugh.gif
neopwn still isn't complete.Once it's complete then users can try hacking rest of stuff.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 05:04 PM)
perfect it ourself... 

it is like you buying a car with gearbox problem.. u have to perfect it yourself.. and the manufacturer do not cover the warranty of it.. probably entire car also they don't cover you... 

it is like a bunch of developer paying money to the manufacturer and Help them to perfect thing out...  doh.gif
Well...Thats the price that N900 users paid for buying phone with dead OS.
But the community really did lots of things.Reviewers complain that N900 support MMS,community came up with fmms,another group criticize N900's crappy camera & again open source community(Standford Students) came up with DSLR class fcamera.There are plenty of things done without Nokia's support.

Since Nokia is gambling everything on MeeGo I doubt they will pull stunt MeeGo like they did on Maemo.You can expect proper support.

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 18 2010, 05:09 PM)
ya my fren n900 got android inside
Desperation to play Asphalt5 forced me to install Android.Turn out N900 can operate Android just fine.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:24 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 05:19 PM)
have to give big credit to the community..  but not the manufacturer....  doh.gif
Exactly.In past I've always criticize Nokia on software support.
Their software support always been half baked.Take N97,5800 & C6 for example.It took them long time to come up with stable usable firmware.
However I do think now it's better.N8's firmware is good when I tested it & even N900 is getting firmware update soon.
Seems like Nokia do prioritize software now.

Lucky I wasn't chosen as Ranger.Else the Nokia workers would have get earful from me laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:28 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 18 2010, 05:22 PM)
In short; Maemo has is strength as well as it's weakness. Personally, for the OS, like MeeGo, it's a class above smartphone range OS; After all, Maemo is a Tablet OS, and the possibilities and flexibility is very wide, also on the customization, many things can be done. There is Chromium port (Google Chrome for Linux), there is mplayer, there is VLC player, there is full Java can run Java Applets, for programmers, you can even install NetBeans, there are applications for JB for PS3, there are aMSN (Desktop version MSN for Linux), so much more. But it really lacks the "power" to support all those.

Godlike or not, depends on each person definition/preference; Technically, it's a powerful device; If someone don't like Nokia, then close one eye on the branding thing. The OS itself is powerful and great. But the phone functionalities is very poor; can't believe it's from the same company which provides great phone function.

Just my cheap 2 cents "lah"; call it godlike or whatever; love your own device and OS. Each device and OS has their own target Customers or Customers that prefers them.
Now back to N8; Already send my N8 to NCC ICU... face some problems and go through several hassle. Anyway, already emailed to Radiance/Paolo to follow up with Nokia.

Btw, after I hard reset, I can't play those demo videos anymore, it shows license missing or expired?
I heard another rangers also send in his device to NCC?
Phone functions maybe poor but you have to love the functions like integrated IM's.Very creative.
But too bad these sort of functions wasn't brought forward for Symbian.

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 18 2010, 05:23 PM)
wat do u mean by JB for PS3?
You can jailbreak PS3 with N900.

QUOTE(nokia2004 @ Oct 18 2010, 05:24 PM)
Why Nokia N8 cannot browse full webpage of Facebook? Can Anyone tell me why?
Maybe Symbian browser identify itself as mobile browser & force all the sites to load it's mobile sites.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:33 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 18 2010, 05:25 PM)
Somehow I wished MeeGo never come into picture...
In my personal opinion, MeeGo doesn't look better than Maemo; Maemo is unique as it's an Internet Tablet OS, which has it's own category of users; Now if MeeGo is different (I feel its Android-ish), then those Maemo category of users will no longer have proper replacement OS, they'll need to "switch".
Finally, Maemo still sounds way cool than MeeGo; So does Android.

Maemo always been pet project of Nokia.However when people starts saying that Symbian lack power they started to experiment it to take over as primary OS.
You know Maemo 5 was the step 4/5 of the experiment.Main feedback that Nokia got it the user interface it hard for average users to use.Hence the heavy GUI transformation in Harmattan.
Once Intel joined in I guess they started simplifying the entire OS.
Indeed the name sounds like crap but do not worry,MeeGo does carry some of Maemo's legacy.You'll see it v1.1.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:38 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Anyone know why skyfire terminated it's service in Malaysia?

Do taking out battery in N8 void the warranty?
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 18 2010, 05:42 PM)
cos of your browser header...
check the mobile site, there should be a "Go to full site" link somewhere

Added on October 18, 2010, 5:43 pmit that still doesnt work, just use opera
Should have "Touch Site" also
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 05:49 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Oct 18 2010, 05:45 PM)
yeah, that too...whenever i try to go to facebook on safari with iphone also it will direct me there
There should be way to trick the browser to identify itself as desktop browser hmm.gif
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 06:44 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Video: Nokia N8 versus Samsung Galaxy S – UI/Browser/Gallery/Navigation/Speed Test

http://mynokiablog.com/2010/10/18/video-no...tionspeed-test/

Smartphoneenvy takes a look at the Nokia N8 but closely against the google Android powered Samsung Galaxy S (Arguably one Android phones).

It’s in four parts.

“Specs, Maps, Navigation and Unofficial Speed Test”

User Interface

Gallery and YouTube

Browser (oh the woes). It hurts to watch the stupid Nokia Browser after knowing just how incredible MicroB (a Maemo Nokia Browser on N900) for the association of Nokia and Browser to be tarnished again by this poor excuse of a browser. Opera Mobile 10 helps a lot. I can’t wait for the new browser that’s supposedly just as good as anything on the market (even MicroB?)
(I cannot help but to grin at this part brows.gif )

Any users don't agree with this "review"?
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 06:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 18 2010, 06:47 PM)
680mhz arm11 with dedicated gpu vs 1ghz hummingbird intergrated gpu. why people make stupid comparison between rm1.6k with rm2.4k phone.

obviously u know what i pick whistling.gif

not to mention i have both phone laugh.gif
Human nature.Can't be helped.
Is the browser really that bad?When I tested the browser I felt like it was ok.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 07:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 18 2010, 06:57 PM)
Does N8 has that "WOW" factor compare to fruit phone?
If the Applefags did say 'WOW' you can always knock their head with the phone.Heavy aluminum body of N8 will surely make them change their mind.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 07:15 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Oct 18 2010, 07:05 PM)
laugh.gif  thumbup.gif But still lots of chicks really like the fruit phone, why ah?
iPhone is chick magnet.They know iPhone is the most expensive phone around.
Ada wang ada amoi.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 18 2010, 07:18 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 18 2010, 07:16 PM)
may I ask how you get free phone seriously???
I don't understand why you guys can get free phone!
I want too lar  cry.gif
From Nokia Rangers Program

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0503sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:58 PM