14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia N8 V7-King of Multimedia, Pls read FP!location changed!

Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:14 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Oct 17 2010, 11:12 AM)
That's the deal breaker for me.... I am using both Opera Mini and Nokia browser and preferred Nokia most of the time. But it frequently OUT OF MEMORY on me. And surfing is one of my main activity on phone, besides music playback. Hope they implement the new webkit browser ASAP.
Never experience out of memory when surfing the internet using nokia stock browser.

Added on October 17, 2010, 10:15 am
QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 17 2010, 11:13 AM)
u mean the N8 still show u "out of memory"?   hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I assume he doesn't have N8 yet

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 10:16 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:18 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Oct 17 2010, 11:16 AM)
No, i meant on my current 5800. I didnt try out the browser capability when demo N8 yesterday since no WiFi AP nearby.

Does N8 browser crashed or just show OUT OF MEMORY then closed?
So far, didnt experience any crash or out of memory.

I only nag the UI of the browser.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 10:18 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:25 AM

6,358 posts

The goodside of the N8 browser,

1. It renders even with heavy website pretty quick.
2. flashlite is really doing the job

The downside of N8 browser,

1. not smooth scrolling on heavy websites like gizmodo, engadget.
2. UI pretty sucks, there is no tab, back to previous web (u have to go history)
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:40 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Oct 17 2010, 11:29 AM)
guys, do u think to change from 3GS to N8 is worth?
Compare build quality of N8 and 3GS, N8 feels very solid on hands, 3GS feels plasticky

Compare browsing experience of N8 and 3GS, 3GS still owns.

Compare camera of N8 and 3GS, N8 is the best

Compare app of N8 and 3GS, 3GS still owns.

Compare Music player of N8 and 3GS, N8 wins with very smooth coverflow and speaker kinda loud for my ears

Compare picture gallery of N8 and 3GS, I say even, N8 is pretty smooth swype from photo to photo

Compare customization (without hack) of N8 and 3GS, N8 wins

Compare customization (with hack) of N8 and 3GS, N8 still wins

Compare gaming of N8 and 3GS, hard to decide... tried Need For Speed Shift HD, its kinda smooth and NFSS is free for N8. And Angry Bird full version will be free for N8 as well. So you decide ba.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 10:43 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:44 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Oct 17 2010, 11:43 AM)
thanks bro for update. ill try spend sometime to play around today at the shop today in order to feel it.  smile.gif
i have edited my post just now sweat.gif

Added on October 17, 2010, 10:48 amBtw, heard E7 already have the new browser in it. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 10:48 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 10:54 AM

6,358 posts

oh,

Compare GPS of N8 and 3GS, N8 wins by a mile. Ovi Map lock my position really quick and navigations really accurate in my place. Somemore, u can install garmin on the N8. What kind of GPS Chip N8 use? hmm.gif

Compare HD recording of N8 and 3GS, N8 wins~ oh yea, forgot 3GS doesn't have HD recording tongue.gif

QUOTE(wk2u @ Oct 17 2010, 11:54 AM)
BTW, can n8 run opera browser ? if can, will n8 better browsing experience ?

I know there are many methods (eg. close unused apps, disconnect ..etc) but I still prefer if n8 standard battery 1200mAh with a 1500mAh battery ?
Browsing experience on Opera browser is better. But Nokia's Opera browser doesn't have pinch to zoom. There are 2 kind of Opera browser; Opera Mobile 10 and Opera Mini 5. Prefer Opera Mobile 10 than Opera Mini 5

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 11:02 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:04 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(are_yee @ Oct 17 2010, 12:03 PM)
im charging my n8 8 hours start at 3pm yesterday till 11pm then now i need to recharge again,huhu..  sad.gif

y my battery got fast kong???  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

help me..  icon_question.gif
U use what with your phone?????????
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:17 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(mrfarhatadib89 @ Oct 17 2010, 12:16 PM)
n8 btry not good?
good but not great
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:20 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 17 2010, 12:19 PM)
It's what you can expect from 1200mA battery.
Why Nokia don't produce 1500mA batteries still puzzles me.
1500mAh is better though, but I think I can live up with the battery life. still better than my SGS
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:31 AM

6,358 posts

I say N8 battery life is good.

Maybe I switch off all 3G connection and just connect to WiFi instead. Btw, if anyone experience below <12hours battery life, it could probably your phone always connected or Widget is always on. Try switch to GSM Mode, dun use Dual Mode.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 11:34 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:45 AM

6,358 posts

Connecting to 3G/3.5G drains alot of battery compare to WiFi. Experienced it myself.
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 11:57 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 17 2010, 12:50 PM)
I'm confused about the "3G" status.

Does it mean that I'm currently using 3G, or 3G is available that I have the option to use it?
if

3G
<-
->

means ur connected

but if it shows

3G

...only, means you r under 3G coverage.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 11:58 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:03 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 17 2010, 12:58 PM)
Really?
When I go back to my hometown I have to use 2G doh.gif
In my hostel I have to use 2.5G doh.gif
But I'm subscribing to RM58 unlimited plan shakehead.gif
What a waste when u are on unlimited plan and using 2.5g below doh.gif

QUOTE(are_yee @ Oct 17 2010, 01:00 PM)
thanx bro.. but should i need the 1st once or only 3g?

did the 1st sign drain my battery? n does it shows its download data using my line?
If you're connected, it drain your battery instead. Even you don't have credit (on prepaid), it will try connecting.

But if only under 3G/3.5G coverage, I think its fine. The phone automatically search GSM coverage to 3G coverage, it won't connected to 3G/3.5G.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 12:04 PM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:05 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Oct 17 2010, 01:05 PM)
i got my N8 already!
Welcome to the N8 photographer club. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 12:05 PM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:09 PM

6,358 posts

Testing out Ovi Map beta now =D
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:18 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(hsyong @ Oct 17 2010, 01:16 PM)
I have used N80 b4, and still have N82 now (using as alarm clock and spare camera only haha)...... but never update firmware b4. Is it easy to update the firmware myself for N8?  (when new firmware is available of course).

It has FOTA means firmware over the air. You can go Setting>Phone>Phone Management>Device Updates, click Options and check for updates. If updates is available, update it.

And update via PC is easy too.

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 12:19 PM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:21 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 17 2010, 01:19 PM)
e7 got  new  browser?sos?
I said I heard only.

http://mynokiablog.com/2010/10/16/nokia-n8...going/#comments

Check alex68 #12 post.
Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:53 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 17 2010, 01:50 PM)
until i dont know what to do with the phone,just browsing web =.=
already download pic ranger event at nokia malaysia facebook..
and now download asphalt 5
tongue.gif

Leo the Lion
post Oct 17 2010, 12:55 PM

6,358 posts

Only got 1 Green user? laugh.gif

Where is nicholesbeh?! please update the user list! biggrin.gif

Added on October 17, 2010, 12:55 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 17 2010, 12:55 PM
Leo the Lion