AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 02:52 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 7 2011, 02:49 PM)
Look at the pictures of the cpu pin from the link louislkw gave, even tho AM3 socket is 941pin but AM3 cpu is only 938pin yoo..
While AM3+ cpu has 940pin active, it could mean that those AM3 mobo's that manufacturer had electrically activate all 941pin on their socket may able to use AM3+ cpu..
There are basis to what some of these people claim, we just have to wait for official annoucement from AMD, hope it would be a good one just like bro louislkw mention thumbup.gif
Well..fingers crossed biggrin.gif

Oh yea, if given the choice of tight timing with lower frequency and loose timing with high frequency.
Which one would be a better choice?

This post has been edited by cllee86: Apr 7 2011, 02:55 PM
cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 03:41 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 7 2011, 03:01 PM)
I'd take tight timings with lower frequency anytime of the day, 1600mhz is more than enuff for me  flex.gif
Oh Yeaa...I rike brows.gif

QUOTE(shajack @ Apr 7 2011, 03:29 PM)
how bout buying high freq n loose timing ram n tighten the timing?gskill sniperrrrrrrrr drool.gif
Yea..like everyone can afford those high end stuffs sweat.gif
cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 04:03 PM

540 posts

Sorry la..now I'm working night shift. Don't really have much time to tweak the settings and Prime them for long.

So for now I'm still running 3.6Ghz @ 1.4v. FSB 212 and Multipllier set at 17. Can't remember the NB frequency but its the same as last time.

The only change I made this time is tighten my RAM timing to 8-9-8-23 @ 1410Mhz @ 1.6v.
cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 06:26 PM

540 posts

Woo...1600Mhz OC it 1800Mhz..feels good man..
But my mobo only up 1666Mhz sad.gif
cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 08:50 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 7 2011, 07:06 PM)
i did the same as well...
but my casing is meshed one so i can hide it at the back... it did help in air flow... thumbup.gif
Yea, should have done that a long time ago..the best part is, I'm only using double-side tape to secure my fan onto the DVD-Rom bay thumbup.gif

I'm gonna get a good 8cm fan for my exhaust next. The one I'm using now is so freaking weak. Totally cannot feel any air coming out.
cllee86
post Apr 7 2011, 09:56 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 7 2011, 09:14 PM)
try priming 1024 min 4096 max
1 min
3072mb ram use (if u using 4gb in win7)
that tras and trc u i only tighten at the end..means after cant push anymore.. but depends on u tongue.gif
This part I don't understand? Can explain?
cllee86
post Apr 8 2011, 01:11 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 8 2011, 10:07 AM)
dun get 8cm fan... get 12cm fan...  brows.gif
Woah..I wish I can put 12cm fan but unfortunately the screw mount and exhaust mesh is only for 8cm fans.
Haizz...I'm saving money to buy new casing. Always wanted a CM HAF series, gonna get the HAF-X drool.gif
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 01:00 AM

540 posts

Hi Guys. My latest attempt at OC. This time I push it to 3.74Ghz @ 1.4v. HT Link at 2200Mhz. Increased the NB to 1.22v.
I've tighten my RAM Timing to 8-9-8-23-28 @ 1.6v. Just a tiny bit tighter this time.
Prime for 17 mins and no errors found icon_rolleyes.gif
I have to admint there is a certain kind of unexplainable satisfaction when OC'ing and successful brows.gif
Btw, screen shot below. And so sorry, I capture it once I've stop the workers. Forgot to capture it while Priming tongue.gif
Only 60Mhz to 3.8Ghz thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cllee86: Apr 9 2011, 01:02 AM
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 02:30 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Apr 9 2011, 01:53 AM)
if i were you, i wouldnt consider 17 minutes of prime = stable

maybe stable enough to bench but not stable for daily usage

No choice bro. Time restrain. Will only be able to prime it on the weekends. I'm not comfortable leaving it to Prime alone while I work or going out.
But 1 hour enough edi rite...

Added on April 9, 2011, 3:59 amJust game for 1 hours plus using the latest configuration. Everything seems to work fine thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cllee86: Apr 9 2011, 04:00 AM
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 12:57 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 9 2011, 08:12 AM)
Make sure u up the CPU-NB volt not the NB volt instead, increasing NB volt doesn't really help in ocing hmm.gif
Alright..This I need to double confirm..I think I over volt NB and not CPU-NB volt like you said...
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 02:30 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 9 2011, 01:40 PM)
HAF 912 Advanced seems nice as well...
and it cost much less...
Hehe. HAF 912 not big enough. I actually like 922 alot of the design is a bit outdated, interior is not black and the side transparency is not big enough. Waiting for a replacement for it drool.gif

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 9 2011, 01:40 PM)
u make me wanna run my 955BE @ 4.0GHz as well... mayb i can do a quick one...  drool.gif
Haiz..I don't think I can runt my 955BE at 4.0Ghz. At 3.74Ghz the temp at full load is nearing 55c, almost hit the heat wall edi.

Btw, 1 noob question, did you guys enable or disable AMD Cool n Quiet while OC or Priming? I always leave it on..
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 02:57 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ Apr 9 2011, 02:34 PM)
go go go...juz a quick one,enuf to go make cpuz validation tongue.gif

@cllee
better watch temp on other area too...afraid ur chip go pop cry.gif  n say ello to new mobo drool.gif
Hehe. Got warranty maa.. Btw, how to monitor temp on other areas? If use Hardware monitor you can only see CPU and GPU temp only. And 1 more is the overall temp which I'm not sure if its accurate at all..
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 04:19 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ Apr 9 2011, 03:10 PM)
tmpin points to nb also but vary with diff mobo...

warranty dont cover burned chipset...dont know bout g-byte tho...juz got my msi burned n no warranty gonna cover tht
Nvm. I still got my old mobo, just in case tongue.gif

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 9 2011, 03:21 PM)
if you want to use CnQ then leave it on lor...
if ur oc stable v CnQ on then shud be no issue...
If ur oc can't get stable oni can off it...
I see. On is better cause I'll leave my PC on sometimes to DL.
cllee86
post Apr 9 2011, 09:35 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(GAT-X105 @ Apr 9 2011, 04:21 PM)
certain mobo once u manual setting the voltage and multiplier,AMD Cool n Quiet will auto off
QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 9 2011, 08:48 PM)
i put them to off but i use phenommsrtweaker...
it's like CnQ using software...
I see. But since its not giving me any problems I'll just leave it on for now. Only if it kacau me then I'll turn it off biggrin.gif
cllee86
post Apr 12 2011, 03:27 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Apr 12 2011, 12:24 AM)
Just tried to fine tune my ram...
Currently @ 1.7vdimm... but feel a bit high for my settings...

[attachmentid=2150088]

Comment and critics please... icon_question.gif
Bro. That AIDA64 you use is for what?

Btw, I've been extremely busy these 2 days. I've been helping my brother to build his new rig; and my father to upgrade his tongue.gif

Now I'm jealous with my brother's new casing. He bought a new NZXT Lexa-S. Damn cool. Too bad I can't afford a decent casing now cry.gif

Btw, Specs as follows;

1055T
CM Hyper 212
MSI 790FX GD70 - ( This 1 bought 2nd hand from another LYN forumer )
8GB Kingston value RAM.

He asked me to help him OC his 1055T a little bit and so I OC'ed it to 3.2Ghz. Bump the Vcore to 1.4v.
Push the NB to 230Mhz and added 0.2v to the CPU-NB voltage.
Can't remember I OC'ed DDR3 to how many Mhz but its definitely higher than stock 1333Mhz tongue.gif Stock Timing.
Have Primed it for 1.5 hours and everything seems fine. The CPU temp didn't even reach 50c. Damn the casing have good air circulation......And Hyper 212 is really good for tis price biggrin.gif

Picture Below;

This post has been edited by cllee86: Apr 12 2011, 03:38 AM
cllee86
post Apr 12 2011, 03:37 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 12 2011, 05:20 AM)
U don't need 1.4v to oc a X6 1055T to 3.2ghz ah especially when u already pump extra volt to the cpu-nb@IMC sweat.gif
QUOTE(dafreak @ Apr 12 2011, 07:42 AM)
you dont simply bump volts just because you increased the clock speed sweat.gif
Haha..used to it edi sweat.gif
Its just a minor bump anyway. Consider it an extra juice for the CPU tongue.gif
cllee86
post Apr 12 2011, 04:44 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 12 2011, 03:55 PM)
It will just make the cpu eat more watt that it need to, more watt also means more heat sweat.gif
Hehe..Didn't have enough time to properly configure it. I did it in the first try and since it could run fine I just leave it like that tongue.gif
cllee86
post Apr 12 2011, 05:11 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Apr 12 2011, 05:07 PM)
not every single mhz needs volt..

let say older deneb x2 can do 3.1ghz to 3.6ghz with stock vcore
regor is like 2.7ghz > 3.3ghz with stock vcore

for thuban, 1.4 is >3.8ghz already and 4ghz possible..
Haha..too late to configure my brother's PC now. He's already back at our hometown biggrin.gif
Btw, Thuban only needs 1.4v to clock more than 3.8Ghz. With extra 2 cores some more.
Wow. I love technology rclxms.gif
cllee86
post Apr 12 2011, 10:00 PM

540 posts

Did you check the temp at the BIOS? Or can you set the casing alarm to go off when your CPU reaches a certain temp. Like mine, I set the alarm to go off at 60c.
cllee86
post Apr 13 2011, 04:18 PM

540 posts

@GAT-X105

I have squeeze every juice in my brain but still cannot think of any cause for your problem...
There aren't many things that will cause the CPU temp to jump that high.
1 very tiny possibility is short circuit but that will almost instantly fry ur CPU.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0594sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:46 PM