4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

byfc2010
post Feb 15 2011, 07:20 PM

947 posts

but now is the low price period for DDR3 Ram, kinda looking too offload my DDR2 rams and change to DDR3 platform which means i need to change my mobo too... Advice me to change mobo and ram only? XD
byfc2010
post Feb 16 2011, 10:26 AM

947 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Feb 15 2011, 11:02 PM)
Get a good not that expensive but oc'able mobo + DDR3 lor, maybe a Asus M4A87TD + DDR3 for ur usage, cpu stick to ur X3 1st, later on when new AM3+ mobo launch u can just buy a mobo + BD drool.gif tongue.gif
considering that... XD
what rams to buy?
I have limited budget for RAM & I don't need it to be able to OC high...
Is TEAM Elite DDR3 1333 2GB C9 OCable by small margin?
Btw how much do you guys oc the rams normally...
Still new to DDR3... blush.gif
byfc2010
post Feb 16 2011, 10:58 AM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 16 2011, 10:31 AM)
a feloow forumer did a decent review on elite 1333. able to do rather tight timing @ 1600 (7-7-7 iirc). not bad for value range ram. but if u have all d time in d world + some luck, go hunt for kvr. ask kunta/verdict for what kinda chips u should hunt for. they got great pair of kvr that put shame on mid range of so called performance ram.  thumbup.gif

p/s: depends on d chip u have, if u have thuban, u'll have more option as they can bring decent ram to ~2k or slightly higher, w/ propus/deneb/regor, highest i reckon is ~1.9k. timing wise both platform should be almost identical, loose timing like 9-9-9/8-8-8/7-8-7/7-9-7 for 1800 or higher (for psc/some elpidas), tight timing like 7-8-7/7-7-7/6-7-6/6-8-6 for (elixir/elpida/micron/psc). correct me if i'm wrong... it's been a while since i last played w/ ram.  sweat.gif
IC... that's what i'm looking for... drool.gif
Read from Tom's Hardware that their KVR goes to DDR3 1624 without tweaking...
How much is the overclocked speed you guys mentioning?
Kunta and Verdict! What chips are on those beast KVR???

What about XMS, HyperX or TeamXtreem Dark...
They are 1600Mhz and CL9...
The only midrange 4GB kit that I find at around RM200/pair..
Digging their reviews right away...

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Feb 16 2011, 10:46 AM)
Eh u bukan tokan RAM's ka bro? laugh.gif
Agree with ah_khoo bout the KVR if u have the time go learn from the sifoo verdict & kunta on what to look for in KVR's smile.gif
On the sidenote tho i just love the ramsink on the elite value ram laugh.gif
Ok! ON!

I've got DDR2 kits here... You want? tongue.gif
byfc2010
post Feb 16 2011, 11:31 AM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 16 2011, 11:07 AM)
since when, playin w/ ya ex-es ram doesn't make me a tokan laa...  laugh.gif
xms  yawn.gif khx (lower end, not those 18xx to 2xxx models)  rolleyes.gif team dark lv series is ok (they run on elpida bbse), if normal team dark (w/ el cheapo heatspreader, unlike lv w/ higher & thicker heatspreader) no comment.  smile.gif

if u want some gud lookin + decent ram, looks no further, grab a pair of gskill, their ripjaws/eco series are kinda impressive, but ofcoz, u dun expect 'em to be as cheap as kvr la... kvr are dirt cheap now... $25 per stick (2GB, ddr3 1333) over here...  shocking.gif
so u mean XMS, no good?
KHX, take the lower models?
team dark normal ones you nvr heard bout the performance?

no lah... I'm not into looks... more into value... blush.gif
i just want to c if i can get those KVR,
if not i will try to find some RAMs that are able to do mild OC,
and price difference v KVR not that big...
Cz i saw KVR beat HPX in OC as well... drool.gif

your price is lower than ours a bit!

QUOTE(dafreak @ Feb 16 2011, 11:19 AM)
how about corsair vengeance 4gb stick? hmm.gif brows.gif
hmm.gif better not...
I've had an experience that 1 of my kit died and i still got 1 left to use...
I'm afraid if the 4gb goes down i've got no rig...
anyway thanks for suggestion...

byfc2010
post Feb 16 2011, 12:08 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 16 2011, 11:51 AM)
xms is kinda... ermm... average i'd say... khx only good for high end models like 1866 or higher model (those with tall heatsink iirc). never try normal team dark that's why no comment, but lv series like 2k cas 9 or 1600 cas 7 were kinda ok to my book, just that they were slightly pricey imo.  smile.gif

if ur not into look, by all mean hunt for kvr w/ elpida/alibaba (kingston relabeled) goodies. i was veli2 impressed by d latter, done by ram guru kunta. 18xx @ 6-8-6, i dun think u see this eveliday...  thumbup.gif

yup, d kvr here mite be slightly cheaper, but all half cut in size (short height pcb) & w/ bad alibaba chippies... 1600 @ 8-8-8 is d most i can squeeze outta 'em, not totally rock solid stable iirc...  sweat.gif
ok... thanks alot... thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
byfc2010
post Feb 17 2011, 08:07 PM

947 posts

Hei guys...
My friend's KVR is kingston chip, which means oc ability not as good as elpida chips lor??

Instead i shud look for smthg like this is it?

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Feb 17 2011, 08:11 PM
byfc2010
post Feb 17 2011, 09:13 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Feb 17 2011, 06:28 PM)
may i know ur board bro..and ur ram..

i think higher is possible with ur setup..
assuming u using ddr3.. with 265htt, 1066 divider will get u 14XXmhz ram..i think many value ram can handle this.. so try with 1066 divider 1st and see...

i encouterd soo many setups that dont like 800 ram divider.. so try with 1066..u might have higher chance..

btw, loosen timings..how loose? if like >CL 10, try make it max cl9 only.. i donno how true my guessings, but too loose wont help..

gambatte yo!!
bro kunta...
ur super KVR's chip is kingston what chip??
can u have a look at my post above?

Added on February 17, 2011, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 17 2011, 09:02 PM)
relabeled kvr can be 2 edge sword, either u get d super chippies like guru kunta's kvr (which can do 18xx @ 6-8-6) or my alibaba half cut kvr which can do 1600 @ 9-9-9...  sweat.gif

not so sure bout babg (i only tried bdbg b4 but too noob that time - zaman 790gxe 128m + c2), but in general they're safer bet. shouldn't have any problem hittin 8-8-8 (or slightly tighter) @ 1600 & above.  wink.gif
i got this babg from a review...
this babg did beat khx as well...
the speed was erm around 18xx but i think not tweaked to 6-8-6...

ops sorry... babg's review did nothing but compare 12GB v 4GB...
my bad...
the one which beat khx DDR3 1375 module @ 16xx c9 is Kinston chip i guess... the pic too small to see...

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Feb 17 2011, 09:20 PM
byfc2010
post Mar 1 2011, 09:20 PM

947 posts

failed to get KVR v alibaba chip near my place, in fact failed to find KVR also!
All i found was Winova, Elixer, TeamElite or TeamXtreemDark...
2GB stick that is >RM200 is not my choice...
Any suggestions guys?
byfc2010
post Mar 1 2011, 09:43 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 1 2011, 09:40 PM)
i wont go for winova (coz i never tested one, but to be honest, they shouldn't be in d same league as elpidas). elixir? team elite 1333 uses 'em too, not d best but should be better than winova. not so sure bout team xtreme dark, but if they're lv series, it's gonna be my pick... they (lv series) run on elpida bbse...  smile.gif
sifu ah khoo come ans me again..
ahha... i still rmb your recommendations!
if no luck finding all those then i'll just have to settle for rams that canot OC. wink.gif .
byfc2010
post Mar 12 2011, 11:37 PM

947 posts

hei guys... just gt my new mobo as shown in siggy...
kinda new to asus bios...
wanna ask what is this VDDNB?
is it VIMC?

then about the LLC,
what settings to set?
set to 100% means?
set to 0% means?

also due to my noobness in D3 oc,
my RAM as shown in siggy cannot run @ 1600 Mhz...
How to make it run @ 1600 Mhz?
byfc2010
post Mar 13 2011, 10:17 AM

947 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 13 2011, 03:30 AM)
If the box really look like that i'm in  wub.gif  wub.gif
VIMC try look for CPU-NB Volt hmm.gif
LLC setting usually we just set only for the cpu, disable the vimc llc..
Did u try changing the ram multiplier?  hmm.gif
yes changed to DDR1600 divider when i'm at 200 HTT...
then others all auto, cannot be able to set...
the 1600 for this ram is a XMP...
will this be a problem cz i'm not using phenom?

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Mar 13 2011, 07:14 AM)
looks fake.. but for the 1st sight im  drool.gif  drool.gif
asus using "vddnb" eh? cuz my asus using "cpu-nb voltage"..
but i think most likely it is the imc volt.. the vdd sounds familiar to me.. msi bios perhaps.

but just to make sure, check the stock voltage.. what is the stock voltage? if 1.1v or 1.175v , then for sure that is the vIMC

some bios just have enable and disable.
i belip c4 have the percentage one..
so my guess will be 0% is disable (0% calibration) and 100% is enable (100% calibration)
well.. this might have take some times.. so, u try 1st and ask what u not sure.. this is too wide to e answered..
btw, 1 tip, if have NB LLC, disable it.
mine is CPU LLC, so disable it or enable it?
my mobo's llc settings ranging from 0-100%... icon_question.gif
all the stock values are set as "auto",
so no values to look at... cry.gif

P/S: OH YA, it's 1.175v, get from the TurboV software...

i wanted to follow the XMP profile to set it but the value is bigger than the value in my bios...
plus my bios doesn't have command rate to set..

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 13 2011, 10:23 AM
byfc2010
post Mar 13 2011, 05:02 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Mar 13 2011, 04:42 PM)
hitting 1600mhz is way too easy even with athlon...maybe something messing up with the oc..

btw, u can only use ur brain what..
if auto..u can check 1 notch lower and higher.. and guess what the auto value is.. 

cpu llc = enable
cpu nb llc - disable
and i think this was mentioned here few times d.. even by abg cloudwan in the same page...
lol... auto 1 notch higher is the lowest value, 1 notch lower is auto itself...
i've used my brain... XD
cpu LLC set to 100%...

anyway now bumped Vimc a notch or 2 higher,
put vdimm to 1.65v as specified in specs,
1600MHz running now...
the timings are messed up as well... auto set as CL11... doh.gif
fine tuning one by one...
but not really stable...
trying to stabilize it and stressing it...

Added on March 14, 2011, 1:06 amFOUND THE CULPRIT OF MY OC PROBLEM...

one of my ram is faulty... doh.gif

now able to oc my ram to around 1750Mhz, C9 @ 1.71v...

instead i tighten my ram to 8-9-8-20-28 @ 1600Mhz @ 1.65v..

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 14 2011, 01:06 AM
byfc2010
post Mar 20 2011, 02:48 PM

947 posts

Guys i've some question bout unlocking...

I've tried to unlock my X3 425 but turns out it become a X4 B25 with 1 core activated only... hmm.gif

my settings was Unleash mode - Auto, system could not boot...
so I set to Manual which core 2-6 set to ON, it became X4 B25 with 1 core activated only,
tried to increase Vimc from 1.25->1.30->1.35 but no effect...

Anyone have experience for cases like this?

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 20 2011, 02:58 PM
byfc2010
post Mar 20 2011, 03:47 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 20 2011, 03:24 PM)
bro, try to set core 2 to 4 on, while core 5 & 6 disable. sb710 uses diff kinda core unlockin method.  smile.gif
Oh ic...
and 1 more question regarding CPU-LLC,
If i set to 51.6%, Vdrop wil be from 1.41->1.39v
If i set to 100%, Vdrop wil be from 1.41->1.34v

So doesn't mean 100% is the best for every case is it?

Or my understanding of CPU-LLC is not correct?
byfc2010
post Mar 20 2011, 03:57 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 20 2011, 03:52 PM)
on my board llc is either enabled or disabled, no % thingy bro. for ya case, i'd pick 51.6%. are those d options available or there are more? how bout cpu-nb? got llc too?  hmm.gif
for my case is from 0%-100% biggrin.gif

Only CPU-LLC... others dun have..

I've been convinced by you that my B25 have 1 core defective...
Tried your method and couldn't post... cry.gif
byfc2010
post Mar 20 2011, 05:00 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 20 2011, 04:05 PM)
bro, u mean if u set core enabled on 2 & 3 only (while d rest disabled) u can post normally?  hmm.gif
At first core 2,3,4 on wasn't able to post,
but now core 2,3,4 on I am able to get X4 B25 but with 2 cores only... hmm.gif

Added on March 20, 2011, 5:09 pmcore 2,3 set to on also gives me X4 B25 with 2 cores only...

Added on March 20, 2011, 5:13 pmcore 3,4 set to on give X4 B25 with 2 cores only...

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 20 2011, 05:13 PM
byfc2010
post Mar 27 2011, 12:44 AM

947 posts

Hei there, I wanted to you guys 1 question...
Is there a any difference in terms of oc-ability between these 2 mobos?
Giga 870A-UD3 (870+SB850)
AND
Asus M4A88t-M/USB3 (880G+SB710)

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 27 2011, 01:04 AM
byfc2010
post Mar 27 2011, 01:15 PM

947 posts

lol!

the CPU-Z confused all ppl...

ok thanks for the input, change mobo again to the Gaygay one...

the shortest time a mobo is with me... 1 week plus ... = =
byfc2010
post Mar 27 2011, 03:27 PM

947 posts

QUOTE(egorain @ Mar 27 2011, 02:08 PM)
sry guy, it did confused, I don't know why.. doh.gif  the voltage appear to be not actual,  hmm.gif  here's the actual one.... wink.gif
as bro ah_khoo said, your CPU-Z version is old..
update to the latest will solve that...
byfc2010
post Mar 27 2011, 05:58 PM

947 posts

this my my newest OC...
My current voltage is ok or not? will it be on the high side for a denab?
Ram I haven't tweak... but my Winova maxed out at around 1700 8-9-8-20 i guess...
And usually how much did u guys need for Vcore in order to be stable @ 3.8Ghz?

This post has been edited by byfc2010: Mar 27 2011, 06:00 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0537sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:26 PM