Patch 1.1.2, That was fast!

darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 08:30 AM

204 posts

Wow they double nerf almost every unit...

VR nerf to speed is rather lame... It super slow now... Can have a race with mother ship and carrier already LOL. I agree with the damage reduction but not the speed.

Reaper nerf is almost like a triple nerf. First barracks need supply, then packs need factory then roaches range increase.

I think the roaches range was to counter reapers. So i would rather have supply first then barrack and keep the nitro pack upgrade untouch.

The 2 proxy barracks is so dangerous even againts zerg.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 08:31 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 08:38 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(diasrandford @ Oct 15 2010, 08:36 AM)
void ray pilots are gonna quit their job. lol
VR Pilot: There is nothing but THE VOID.

So guess they going nowhere and must stick to their jobs LOL.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 08:45 AM

204 posts

I hate reapers but i believe this is too much... Nitro packs should stay as it is... Just the barrack before supply is enough.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 08:53 AM

204 posts

Wait s sec, VR first phase i actually buff. 10 damage to armor units 2x more then normal. Just that the charge phase is nerf. In a way isn't this better? This mean VR do not have to be charge to deal sufficient damage to armor units. 1 extra damage to light unit when uncharged.

Added on October 15, 2010, 8:57 amVR still better then Immortals i think.

VR has 2 thing better then Immortal still.
Attack air and land
Air mobility

I do not counter immortal shield into this because only ground attack usually deal massive damage

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 08:57 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 09:55 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 15 2010, 09:20 AM)
no1 uses lvl1charged VR...
u usually precharge at ur own pylon (proxy) or ur buildings (defense)...
so the lvl1 buff is pointless...
wut more VR's role is heavy armor buster like corruptors, BC and my fav bunkers...

immortals are 50gas cheaper, easier to get (since u need obs) and easy transition to colossus...
What what what? I do not get not say you need to use level 1 charge to get to level 2?

So you do not have to sac a pylon before it deal sufficient damage is not good? Well i salute you term of good and bad.

Also this actually means VR is now good even if it is not charged up. So i fail to see your point of logic. True that the level 2 is nerf but i felt the level 2 charge damage output a little bit too high also if you think about it. VR has the highest dps when charge with a wooping 41.66 DPS to armor units. That even higher then a Thor.

True that it suppose to kill high dps units but with all the pylon sac strategy like you said. People abuse their level 2 charge to own other units easily. This is to stop that abuse more. I feel it is alright.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 09:56 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Oct 15 2010, 09:26 AM)
Oii.. why no nerf for Stimmed Marauders???

Revenge of the Zerg!!!!!!!  hahahah
Basically the buff on buildings are the nerf to Marauders. This buff+the medivac nerf will prevent more easy building snipes drop from Stim Marauders.

Added on October 15, 2010, 9:59 amThe VR buff on level 1 also means no more proxy pylon charging as the pylon will die before it is charged.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 09:59 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:04 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 15 2010, 10:02 AM)
Do it mean i still get to click on my nexus/hatches when hero marauder is stimming it?
+1 LOL

More like your building will go down before the alert is given that you base is under attack.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:08 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 15 2010, 10:03 AM)
u dun sac a pylon...
2 VR can get to phase 3 beam with only the pylon shields gone (provided that terran is bad enuff to let u charge at a pylon outside his ramp LOL)...
then u micro em over to ur opponent's ramp and bust their bunkers while keeping the charge up on ur zealots...
else with terran mass repair, u'll nvr break the bunker...
do note this is a high high high lvl technique which is freaking micro intensive to keep the charges up aka juggling...
not many ppl can do this perfectly to date (in fact no1 did in gsl1 beside a werra guy who beat ITR in yesterday's gomtv clanwar)...
even when i do this, i am forced to atk move my ground army with a sentry for GS as i dun have the apm to micro my ground...

to counter this?
a small squad of marines is all it takes as they have really low life...
if marine have stim? its even easier...
marine in bunker? not even close as the VR would melt by the time he get the bunker to half life...
as i take, low lvl leaguers dun have the marine count spamming marauders and marauders in bunkers...
if u scout well enuff, ur 1 single viking (1-1-1) can kill those 2 VR without taking a single hit...
so whichever build u go with as a terran there's a solution to it (see how ITR handle tester's VR in GSL1)...

and dun start with wut if ur opponent dunno etc...
the same can be said with cloak banshees etc...
dying to not scout does not make a unit bad nor is having a bad unit compo (1marine2marauder when a 2VR timing atk is so far away)...
I will say the same thing to you. Why not mix units to kill marines and viking?

Please do not rage just because your race unit get nerf.

I more rage about the reaper nerf then VR nerf right now.

Reaper nerf was not needed already if roaches has 4 range. Maybe reaper nerf is to help zealots which get snipe easily by reapers. So now nitro pack is now almost the same time as Zealot Charge.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:17 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 15 2010, 10:12 AM)
cause u cant afford to?
250/150 on a another tech tree far away...
u can go at most 3gate 1stargate but u wont have the correct unit compo...
its usually 2gate 1stargate for a better mix...

as u can see, i linked nony, huk and jinro (jinro is a terran btw)'s comment...
the VR changes kill the whole purpose of VR...
and its meant to be a high risk high reward unit (watch inca vs one of the toss in gsl where the VR juggling was good but inca use stalkers to beat it in the end)...
in the end low leaguers and team players forced such a rushed change which affects high lvl 1v1...
gladly tell me wut units can answer BCs now...

as this current stage, its nt worth to get VR or even micro them to lvl2...

heck i bet half of the people here dun even knw the 2 lvls of vr and still think its 3lvls LOL...
wut more some ppl including u nvr got to experienced it done on u as the precharging takes lots of practice to get it right...
We shall see but i do get the point. But if VR purpose to counter massive units maybe changing the bonus dmage to Massive instead of armor is better. Their previous when charges just basically raped anything in this game.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:31 AM

204 posts

VR should deal bonus damage to massive unit and ability to deal extra to buildings then (Ability for banelings). Having bonus againts armor means that they will steamroll stalkers when charge which is also defeats the purpose of stalkers countering them cost to cost.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 10:31 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:41 AM

204 posts

Things i agree and do not agree.

Barrack/Supply Nerf (Agree)
Proxy rax is just too dangerous.
You can have 3 Marine before 1 Zealot is out

Reaper Nerf

Do not agree. The Barracks nerf+previous nerf was enough

VR Nerf
On the fence. VR do destroy shit loads of stuff quickly when charge before but reducing the damage by this much is still defeat the purpose of charging. But on the bright sight it deals more damage without charging.

Roaches Buff
Needed because now they can counter Helions and Reapers easier.(hence a double buff to Reapers which is not good). Also counter Pylon & Cannon wall in from Protoss early game

Other Stuff
No more feedback for HT on Thors and Corrupters. We will see how this goes. Good thing is PPD can be feedback again.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 10:44 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 10:54 AM

204 posts

Roaches are suppose to be like tankers so if they get snipe then im fine because they are zerg meatshield for hydras until ultralisk comes out.

So im more concern about roaches actually dealing damage then receiving them.
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 11:15 AM

204 posts

My god can people stop saying that Fruitdealer do this and fruitdealer do that... It getting kinda lame. No one in this forums is as good as Fruitdealer.

If i said HuK did this and HuK did that so that how to play would you like to hear it?

Example: I remember HuK using minimap to chrono boost why don't you use it?

A lot of people are shying away from SC2 because people make it a competition more then a game. Just chill. We are not PROs. We are not FruitDealer's, we are not HuK, we are not xBoxeRx or whatever. We do not earn money from losing or winning so what is the big deal? I lost a lot of 1v1 when i change from Protoss to Zerg and i do not care.

In normal circumstances you would not use Roaches said by you yourself in previous post where you favor Zergling over Roaches. So this is to give Roaches more role in this game thats all.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 11:18 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 11:41 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2010, 11:33 AM)
its only a big deal if you make it out to be.
some people plays it seriously/competitively, its their choice and you have no say in it. likewise you playing it casually and carefreely, that is fine to.

point being that for players that play it professionally, money is involved and most definitely balancing would be prioritized to those players. then again if you look at the current patch change, its more towards team game balancing, and the pro leagues atm are all solo games. so in that regards blizzard are watching out for casuals too.
Yes i agree but Aeco comments was coming from pro gamers to rebuttal mine changes bout roaches(Like using using Pro gamer logic against my logic which i have a different thinking). I do not care if FruitDealer wins or lose the next GSL, i just wanna use this awesome new unit called roaches more in my games. Balancing is an ongoing process and Blizzard is doing it maybe for the good or the bad of the game. Either way it has been implemented and thus live with it.

I maybe will be switching races again if i find Protoss less underpower now. I always play the underpower races so for me patch or not does not matter.

Terran still feels kinda OP with Marauders but we shall see.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 11:45 AM
darkplacid
post Oct 15 2010, 11:46 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Oct 15 2010, 11:43 AM)
Immortals and stalkers are still better than roaches...
That's true...but stalkers cost almost as much as twice than roaches, and roaches have higher damage than stalkers too.
Stalkers still can kite roaches with their 6 range though. And has faster movement speed then roaches without creep.

Added on October 15, 2010, 11:47 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2010, 11:46 AM)
doesnt matter when the roach can never touch the stalkers. (unless both guys just simply atk move, then i nothing to say)
Awww you beat me to it. LOL.

This post has been edited by darkplacid: Oct 15 2010, 11:47 AM

0.0231sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:14 AM