5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

winner
post Oct 30 2010, 01:28 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 30 2010, 01:21 PM)
well.. it depends, when u pay with a higher prestige cc while paying, u will be more sort of "confident". (imagine all people at the queue take out VI/Plat while someone take out a piece of norm cc, in case u in the high class places) This kind of self-boasting, although not really good, but sometimes are just useful.
OMG! doh.gif
winner
post Oct 31 2010, 11:44 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 31 2010, 10:12 AM)
For cardmembers who can hit RM10k easily, then OCBC Ti is not recommended in this case.
Who said OCBC Titanium MC is not suitable for those big spenders? It serves me perfectly as my primary card. When the monthly rebates have been maximised, I switch to other cards.

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 31 2010, 10:43 AM)
yes true. having said that i must say Standard Chartered is really "cheapening" the World Mastercard. Its preferred banking world mastercard has a starting limit of RM 15,000! what the hell! Where as other players like cimb, maybank and mbf has general starting credit limit of RM 100k onwards.
You must know that in order to obtain the SCB WMC, you need ONLY either deposit, investment or annual income amounting to RM72,000. For those earning only RM6,000 per month, getting a CL of RM15,000 is pretty normal. Nevertheless, CIMB/DA WMC's requirement isn't high either. As far as I know, existing CIMB Platinum cardholders who earns RM5,000 per month with a CL of RM30,000 can also try asking CIMB to upgrade their cards to WMC with a new CL of RM100,000.

If you would like to compare HSBC WMC which is only given to HSBC PB customers with SCB, you should compare it with SCB VI instead. SCB VI is exclusively for SCB PB customers only.
winner
post Oct 31 2010, 12:04 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 31 2010, 11:40 AM)
then i shall apply for Standard Chartered World Card.. wink.gif

accompanied with preferred banking too..
To be frank, I won't recommend you to get the SCB WMC as the benefit sucks. If you want a card from SCB, get the Business Platinum card instead. See the comparison below.

1. SCB WMC doesn't give any free access to airport lounges, while SCB Platinum gives unlimited access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge.
2. SCB WMC doesn't give complimentary travel insurance, but SCB Platinum does give a high premium of travel insurance.
3. SCB WMC gives 2x choice points for monthly spending of more than RM1,500, which equals to 1% cash back. SCB Business Platinum gives 0.5% cash back plus 1x choice point for any amount spent, which is also equivalent to 1% cash back.
4. For overseas transactions, SCB WMC only gives 2x choice points for monthly spending more than RM1,500, while SCB Platinum gives 3x choice points for any amount transacted in overseas.

As a smart consumer, you should know which card is better obviously.

This post has been edited by winner: Oct 31 2010, 12:06 PM
winner
post Nov 1 2010, 06:41 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 28 2010, 09:32 AM)
SCB promotion. But as I see the T&C for the cashback eligibility, there are some points to note:
- Your acc must be in good standing (as usual)
- Any retail transaction from 1-Nov to 30-Nov (posted by the merchant and received by SCB)
- Max capped at RM50 (Principle and Sup share the same)
- Cashback credited by 30-Dec
- Valid for the addressee of this letter only (So maybe it’s not a general promotion, but we will see whether SCB will advertise it at the end of this month or not in their website.)
That's such a good promotion from SCB! However, I didn't receive such letter. Or it could be for selected customers only.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 28 2010, 01:49 PM)
For my case, once I get my December 11 statement, going to BT 90% of outstanding immediately to DA and settle the balance with OCBC before Christmas. Kiasu a bit in case got hiccups due to BT documentations.
That's exactly what I have been thinking of. DA's 0% interest for BT offer is running until 31/12.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 31 2010, 12:44 PM)
Miles said Ti's 1% rebate may be just enough to cover the convenience fee and end up didn't earn anything, but I replied that the swipe amount can help cardmember to achieve RM10k in order to get the bank waived the GST. This is especially suitable for cardmembers who do not spend much but wish to get GST waiver.
If that's the case, use other cards to purchase your air tickets. It's not worthwhile to spend something like RM10,000 or other big sum just to get a mere RM50 rebate.

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 31 2010, 12:54 PM)
I already have SC Platinum..
You should get the SCB Business Platinum instead.

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 31 2010, 08:33 PM)
Let's stop the bickering about HSBC's WMC shall we ?
I used to hold the HSBC Premier card myself and I can confirm that even my RM has no idea about the WorldCard status.

Still card design is not worth mentioning. Even the HSBC's classic card design is much more interesting than HSBC's Premier MC. Not to mention despite the so called premier status ... this card is nothing less than a hyped up HSBC Platinum card. I'd rather hold the Platinum
Exactly. This also applies to SCB WMC, which is not really in the WMC category, and SCB Business Platinum is a much better card.

SCB always came out with innovative products but this WMC was quite poorly created.

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Nov 1 2010, 12:10 PM)
True also .. now I alr got 6 cc with me. GST so much .. RM300 sweat.gif , I think I not gonna apply anymore and start to cancel card alr ..
I would suggest that you cancel most of your cards. Or else, you will be getting difficulty in obtaining bank loans next time.
winner
post Nov 1 2010, 07:28 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 1 2010, 07:10 PM)
that last statement only applicable if there are credit outstanding as i had no problem in my recent loan application which was confirmed by the bank's officer.
Your combined CLs from different banks will be treated as potential debts and thus affecting your loan repayment capability.
winner
post Nov 2 2010, 11:45 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 1 2010, 09:39 PM)
true, but if you always pay in full and no other outstanding credit facilities, your loan app shud hv no prob

my total CL almost = my annual salary (previously exceeded, but request to reduce CL for 2 of the cards), but I still manage to get housing loan from 3 banks recently (applied 3 banks only)

of course, if you don't need the CL, reduce it
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 2 2010, 10:06 AM)
but when i wanted to apply for my 2nd loan last week, i repeated ask the officer, he said is fine as it appears 0 outstanding debt in the ccriss... (dong get me wrong, not wanting to argue here, just stating my findings)
hmmm  hmm.gif
It depends on the loan amount you would like to apply for. If the amont is not big and it is well within your repayment capacility, you could get the loan approval easily.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 2 2010, 12:19 AM)
Last time the Rebates option gives you both cash back and Timeless Bonus Points but it seems that it gives only cash back now.
If you choose Alliance Younique "rebate" option, you can still get both cash back and bonus points. Only the "rate" option does not give any bonus points.
winner
post Nov 3 2010, 03:27 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 28 2010, 09:32 AM)
SCB promotion. But as I see the T&C for the cashback eligibility, there are some points to note:
- Your acc must be in good standing (as usual)
- Any retail transaction from 1-Nov to 30-Nov (posted by the merchant and received by SCB)
- Max capped at RM50 (Principle and Sup share the same)
- Cashback credited by 30-Dec
- Valid for the addressee of this letter only (So maybe it’s not a general promotion, but we will see whether SCB will advertise it at the end of this month or not in their website.)
Except ck3lam, has anyone else received the letter from SCB about the 5% cash back for November 2010? I inquired SCB CS officers a few times but they were not aware of this promotion.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 10:45 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 7 2010, 11:51 PM)
i did. maybank rewards me with 10k bonus treat points for me to redeem.
also i said dont want to continue coz got annual fee is rm550 (non-petronas card) sweat.gif
Can you specify which MBB card are you holding? As far as I know, MBB does not compensate customers with free points or cash for the service tax. MBB customers have to sacrifice their hard-earned points or cash to pay the service tax. Also, credit card service tax and annual fee are totally 2 different things.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 12:11 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Nov 8 2010, 11:26 AM)
for ocbc titanium, will they send the monthly statement?
Yes. It is FOC. You can also view your statement online.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 12:59 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Nov 8 2010, 12:47 PM)
since reciveing th card almost 1 month, have not received the statements...tats why
You will receive the statement soon. Even if you have not performed any transaction, the first month statement will still show an outstanding amount of RM50. It is the service tax.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 01:30 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 3 2010, 07:04 PM)
It doesn't matter which card you are holding as the T&C said it applies to any SCB card. Anyway, I think it is like Citibank's style which is special promotion for selected card members only.

However, I'm not sure whether it is a random selection or they will base on some criteria like expired soon, new card member, outstanding balance, good repayment record etc.
Damn! I've got an answer today. This promotion is only for selected SCB cardholders who rarely use their SCB cards. It is unfair to existing active customers. You are lucky receiving this invitation.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 02:36 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 02:29 PM)
next time swipe 12k in 2-3 swipes and keep JustOne away for the rest of the year, maybe then we'll get invited laugh.gif
SCB won't extend this promotion to JustOne customers. I was told that the invitation was sent to those new customers who refused to use their cards after receiving the cash as welcome gift for quite some time.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 03:15 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 02:40 PM)
ic tongue.gif
Has your JustOne cc already hit the annual cash back limit too? tongue.gif

OCBC Titanium is the only card I can use now but it has also hit the monthly cash back cap for the 5% category. It will be timely if SCB could give me 5% cash back now. I am now forced to reuse my Amex Gold cc for petrol and grocery purchase.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 04:10 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 04:02 PM)
i have not hit the limit yet
been using PBB card for few months to maximise the cash rebates brows.gif
and also AMEX Gold for petrol on non friday - since paid GST for the yr oledi
But you would need to be careful a bit with PBB cc as there is always a maximum cash back pool per month. I'll terminate my Amex Gold cc by mid next year since not much attractiveness from Amex nowadays.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 05:30 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 05:00 PM)
1) Classic Card = Alliance Younique
2) Gold Card = AMEX Gold Credit Card
3) Titanium Card = OCBC Titanium
4) Platinum Card =
5) Visa Signature =
6) Visa Infinite =
7) World MasterCard =
In addition to alexwsk's recommendation, I would like to say something but it is purely my own opinion only.

Isn't Alliance Younique considered a Gold cc?

3) Titanium Card = OCBC Titanium / SCB JustOne; tie, both are equally good
4) Platinum Card = Alliance Platinum / SCB Business Platinum / AMEX Platinum Charge Card (assuming AF is waiveable)
5) Visa Signature = <can't find a good one at this moment>
6) Visa Infinite = SCB VI
7) World MasterCard = Maybank WMC (assuming AF is waiveable)

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 8 2010, 05:03 PM)
I hardly use SCB, why is it not applicable to me?
i suppose that's promotion is to make the inactive users to start using it and ultimately, "addicted" to it by when, the promotion will end.
You seldom used the card, but at least you still swiped it occationally. In fact, 5% cash back for all transactions is a very good deal although the maximum rebate is capped at RM50.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 05:45 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(pandazhun @ Nov 8 2010, 05:36 PM)
any1 to give any ideas?
Your brief on your income details and requirements are too general. Browse through this thread from page one and you will roughly get an idea.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 06:02 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Nov 8 2010, 05:57 PM)
Well, I only stop using it in Sept and Oct (Replace by OCBC Ti). I spent a lot during Jul and Aug promotion. Am I consider as an inactive cardholder?
You are very lucky then. Very few customers were selected for this promotion.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 07:23 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 8 2010, 07:06 PM)
nvr oh, i only used it for the 1st 3 times then kept it in the cold storage.....
It's bank decision on the selection of customers. The particular forummer is fortunate enough to be chosen. I've put my SCB JustOne and WMC in the cold storage already.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 07:32 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 07:28 PM)
Younique's min income requirement is only 18k, so shud be in classic category
thought of JustOne, but no longer accept app biggrin.gif
I had owned Alliance Younique before. It was shown as Gold cc in the statement.
winner
post Nov 8 2010, 08:09 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 8 2010, 07:48 PM)
might add this to the 1st post, then less ppl will ask what is the best card laugh.gif
Excellent idea. It is so sick to see those similiar posts and questions again and again.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0386sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:19 PM