Terran V Z/P, is terran dat imba??

TSgnomemaster
post Oct 12 2010, 11:52 PM, updated 16y ago

210 posts

smtg dat crossed my mind when watching commentary on youtube...
i am a fan of HDStarcraft and HuskyStarcraft's commentary on youtube..everytime i see them cast, whenever there is a game involving terran, i sure see ppl comment say terran very imba and OP ( is it OverPowered?). of course these happens when the T wins, if T lost they will say the Z/P player very geng can win T players...

juz wanna noe, is terran dat OP??? wanna noe bout u guys' opinion..coz thru out the patches since Beta, terran only experience nerfs and hardly any buffs...IYO, wat u think is a balanced or nt OP terran??
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:04 AM

210 posts

then wat players wan?? 1st tier unit:
P > Zealots -Melee
Z > Zerglings - Melee
T > Marines - Range

so unless marine change to melee then ppl will still say T is OP LOL!
looks like marine will be wearing boing glove soon...

Yeah jz watch Fruitdealer's commentary on Husky, lost to OGSStC 's T though...
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:06 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 13 2010, 12:04 AM)
its not that terran is overpowered..
its becoz not many ppl is using zerg, hence the exploration on the units is low..
and great units such as infestor is under used..
TRUE!! infestor is really under use...even by the diamond league ppl i watched on youtube (sry i still beginner though) and for P, high templar is still nt really most favored unit to be use too...from wat i see
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:12 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Oct 13 2010, 12:07 AM)
QUOTE(idra)
I don't play terran because i have self respect

tht biomech ball is uber freakin hard to counter if you're a zerg player. sigh. thors are so hard to kill.

plus the wall-in. with siege tanks and then use banshees to harass.
yea gotta admit MMM build is too strong...but for the thor's case, i don see ppl use infestor burrow move towards thors and pops out to neural parasite them?? is it because dat doesn't work or wat??to me it seem possible since many T player don use raven much...
but kinda pity zerg doesn't have tier 1 ranged units excepts queen....

Added on October 13, 2010, 12:14 am
QUOTE(westley0214 @ Oct 13 2010, 12:10 AM)
Rofl! Never thought of this before!
Nobody will compare it like that. The game is not only consists of first tier unit. They are not the only unit you can build.

People keep complaining about Stalkers being more expensive than Marauders but couldn't beat Marauders 1v1. But there's no rule saying that you must use Stalker to fight Marauder. Besides, Stalkers can attack both air and ground, yet when people keep losing them to Marauders on ground, they complain.

When a Terran player mass Marauders and then lost to a Void Ray rush, they should complain too: "Why Marauders can't attack air? Wtf? Why Stalkers can attack air?".
that's how i feel too! to me everything is quite balanced to me d...even siege tanks' siege atk decreased to a decent amount....and Z players tends to rely on lings and muta more??is dat true??

This post has been edited by gnomemaster: Oct 13 2010, 12:14 AM
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:21 AM

210 posts

[quote=Grif,Oct 13 2010, 12:18 AM]
yea gotta admit MMM build is too strong...but for the thor's case, i don see ppl use infestor burrow move towards thors and pops out to neural parasite them?? is it because dat doesn't work or wat??to me it seem possible since many T player don use raven much...
but kinda pity zerg doesn't have tier 1 ranged units excepts queen....

Added on October 13, 2010, 12:14 am

that's how i feel too! to me everything is quite balanced to me d...even siege tanks' siege atk decreased to a decent amount....and Z players tends to rely on lings and muta more??is dat true??

[/quote]

For you to reach the Thor in order to use NP, half of your infestors will be dead. whistling.gif

[/quote]

i mean as in infestor travel when burrowed and comes out behind the battle lines, coz i see they usually station thor behind in stead as tanker....does thor's hammer blast affect burrowed unit??
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:36 AM

210 posts

do you think its fair to reduce marauder's range to like 5 or 4?? 6 seems a bit too much for a tier 1 unit moreover doing extra dmg to armored like stalkers....the movement speed is quite fast same as marine correct?? somehow i feel dat marau's stim + micro is very very hard to counter...
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:46 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(Grif @ Oct 13 2010, 12:45 AM)
Melting a Terran bioball always has been a thrill for me. biggrin.gif
also a thrill to see them die too tongue.gif
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 01:01 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(IisTHEmoron @ Oct 13 2010, 01:00 AM)
yes it is!!! omg.. 

but if it fails. GG.
if failed

A : GG
GG has left the game.

TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 11:21 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Oct 13 2010, 10:50 AM)
Overlord = cost only 100, needs no supply space, can be used as a transporter and a scout..

In BW, for me Overlord is the most value for money unit as it can also detect cloak units.

Overseer = u can use to spy with channeling and u can use it to halt productions

Infestor = mass infested terrans

nydus worm = u can place it anywhere as long ur unit can see the location
early rush = 6 pool rush, 10 pool rush
pre-midgame rush = baneling bust

Zerg has many harrassment tactics too..
many times Z players tend to look at overlord as SUPPLY DEPOT and not transportation or detectors!! if Z noe they are up against T, overseer shud be up already..1 or 2 is good enough, and also speed and trans for overlord is hardly researched..

a lot ppl complain bout MMM micro, wat about infestor that spawn infested terran at the back as blokade like sentry's force field (as far as i noe, IT deal same dmg as marine w/0 stim and i saw dis on HDstarcraft's commentary, freaking useful) hence u will have 2 forces to sandwich the bioball=.= and it oni cost 25 energy perIT means 1 infestor = 8 marine

and juz wanna ask, 4mara + medvac cheaper or 1 warp prism + 1 HT cheaper?? 1 psionic storm at harvester = ???

every races has their pros and cons, depending whether u can find the right abuse and exploits for that race, for T its definitely MMM abuse, Z and P players just need time to find out wat is it that they can do to abuse as well...
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 12:46 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 13 2010, 12:23 PM)
3. u die before getting HT as agreed by the pros (and mid-high diamond)...
u take a early robo no matter wut due to the banshee styled builds (polt timing attack even need u to go 3-1-1) as well as to scout early on...
and even when ur colossus get EMP, u sitll have dps unlike templar...
archon getting emp-ed = 10hp crap...
FYI, EMP drains all energy and 100shield not the other way round. archon got EMP-ed?? 10 hp, 250 shield remaining...still fairly good..
rclxms.gif
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 03:44 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 13 2010, 03:40 PM)
(User was temp banned for this post.)
wow macam ini pun akan ban?? i'm new to this forum anyway =)

so back to the topic, any insights of wats coming up on the upcoming 1.2 patch??
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 04:54 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 13 2010, 04:04 PM)
id assume ur not a TL forum visitor wwww
nope..not a big fan of that site....
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 05:33 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 13 2010, 05:17 PM)
dont have to be. but they do have pretty much everything you'll want to know for SC/SC2 (remember wiki.teamliquid.net? lol)
yea yea heard of it...who manages TL anyway?? foreigners?? i tot it was some local dorum jz like LYN...
i went there actually but theres too many stuff so end up din read=.=
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 06:09 PM

210 posts

Quote Blizzard:

Here are a few of the changes we currently have planned:

· We're increasing roach range. This will allow roaches to be more effective in large groups, giving the zerg more options in the mid to end game.

· Fungal Growth will now prevent Blink, which will give zerg a way to stop endlessly Blinking stalkers which can be very challenging to deal with in large numbers.

· The Barracks are going to require a Supply Depot, which will impact a lot of early terran reaper pushes.

· The reaper speed upgrade will require the Factory, which is meant to weaken a lot of the early terran reaper attacks that dominate so many matches, especially in team games.

· We're making a number of increases to the health of zerg buildings, which will make the very vulnerable zerg technology structures more resistant to raids. We don’t expect these hit point changes to have a super significant impact on the game, but the current numbers felt way too low.
judging from that post, i assume by juz making this few changes doesn't really make terran any weaker?i mean these changes primarily is to indirectly nerf reaper i suppose??
i think adjusting roach and mara's range to be equal would be great for both parties??tongue.gif
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 08:28 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Oct 13 2010, 07:41 PM)
there are reasons why those 2 units should be compared
ultras are supposed to be hard counter counter for armored units ... thors are more of a utility kind of unit ...
food count is the same, resource to build is the same ...
logically, ultras should own thors ...

come to think of it, maybe thors are OP ... they'd even gun down BCs in a straight fight ... i guess they need a big nerf
logically ultra can win thor 1 on 1 when there is no other units around...i've seen players ( pros dats being casted in HDstarcraft) tend to have thors vs ultras battle in choke point where oni 2 out of 8 ultras can atk at a time coz they're melee and thors' range atk jz happily blasting them from behind...dats the problem..

and i don think thor can win BC 1 on 1 though...unless its group mayb thors have the advantage...
IMO i don think ultras are OP, since their ram atk has been decreased after all... blush.gif
TSgnomemaster
post Oct 13 2010, 10:14 PM

210 posts

oh is it?? haha my mistake...this also means map plays a big role determining how well can ultralisk perform....not every map can simply build ultralisk and engage whick sucks....

0.0244sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:18 AM