[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

sweemeng
post Feb 1 2007, 04:24 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

qemu, bochs

with qemu you can download the qemu accelerator kernel module, which is unfortunately proprietary. but it can be faster.

sweemeng
post Mar 23 2007, 06:45 AM

organic code generator
879 posts

you do know, yahoo messenger for unix, is not updated for a long time.

it is actually better for you to use gaim, or even better gyache.

gyache is a yahoo client, don't think it is in repository, but can get it from automatix
sweemeng
post Mar 24 2007, 06:43 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

answer for:
q1. good question, it is in the trashcan in both gnome and kde. you should be able to see it. where do the thrashcan save the trash anyway?

q2. you will need to be root, or delete the file in shell.

q3. don't think you will need ctrl-alt-del anymore. there is shortcut in linux. you will need to check it out. for example in kubuntu, alt-space will launch katapult in kde. very nifty tools actually

q4. well, you don't really need it. but it exist, such as clamav, chkrootkit, rkhunter, firewall like shorewall, or the good old iptables. i probably use the firewall alot, but rarely check for rootkit, even i installed it.

q5. by default yes, but you can install extra codec in easyubuntu and automatix.

q6. you mean a script right? i assume you mean a script, you just type in a text file, then chmod +x the_name. i think you will need this line '#! /bin/bash' , in the beginning of the script. here i assume you use bash, which is default for ubuntu.

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Mar 24 2007, 06:44 PM
sweemeng
post Apr 1 2007, 09:16 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

have you done the checksum on the disk?
sweemeng
post Apr 4 2007, 09:00 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(littleman @ Apr 4 2007, 08:17 PM)
my pc only 128 ram... tongue.gif 
but i change to my laptop to install,
Compaq AMD turion 64 512 ram oso got error msg like this... cry.gif
you sure the cd is ok? just a thought. have you check the hash
sweemeng
post Jul 9 2007, 08:28 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

do you have the codec

sweemeng
post Aug 17 2007, 12:15 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Aug 17 2007, 01:04 AM)
I already have ubuntu cd. Is it possible to install Ubuntu on same partition with my windows XP?
no you cannot do that. if you want to use linux inside windows xp, it is either vmware or colinux. but not sure whether ubuntu is supported
sweemeng
post Jan 15 2008, 08:48 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 15 2008, 03:57 PM)
ubuntu fail to play most of the dvd and vcd i load into. why ?
because you didn't install the codec

try install restricted-extra-ubuntu, using synaptic
sweemeng
post Jan 21 2008, 08:06 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

reminds me of my lappy, a compaq running a nforce, and nvidia.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...23&hl=hda+intel

the solution is to add a line with sudo in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
option snd-hda-intel model=laptop
sweemeng
post Jan 24 2008, 10:31 AM

organic code generator
879 posts

the nvidia driver you can use the restricted manager. it's come by default, dig around.

sometime, memory leak on application slowdown your system
sweemeng
post May 1 2008, 01:49 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

QUOTE(shazzmania @ Apr 29 2008, 07:43 PM)
im a new user of ubuntu n i am having problem with the wireless internet connection.

the wireless detects d network and able to connect. but it doesnt seems to connect to the internet since i tried to surf using firefox and it shows page load error.

when i check the connection properties, it shows all IPs as 0.0.0.0

ive set it to free roaming. n using ubuntu desktop 8.04 i386
could it be access point problem? misconfigure it?
how you connect to the wireless, because to me I just click on network manager and click on the network.
sweemeng
post Jun 25 2008, 02:36 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

"googleearth(2).bin"

meaning put a quote in the beginnning and the end
sweemeng
post Aug 9 2008, 08:02 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

you need to install restricted-extra on ubuntu using synaptic to listen to ubuntu.

use pppoe-setup to setup adsl
sweemeng
post Aug 10 2008, 07:13 AM

organic code generator
879 posts

https://help.ubuntu.com/7.04/internet/C/con...dems-adsl-pppoe

my bad, but this is the correct one
sweemeng
post Aug 10 2008, 09:41 PM

organic code generator
879 posts

does it works on windows? and post models here.

0.0200sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:12 AM