CONANDOR
post Jun 19 2008, 10:01 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(supadupa @ May 26 2008, 12:02 PM)
i think ubuntu does not support extended desktop? only clone

correct me if i am wrong
yes it does. but 8.04 is not working as good as 7.10
dunno y. probably i not good in configuration qua.

any advices? i'm using nvidia 7400
CONANDOR
post Jul 17 2008, 11:37 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Jul 11 2008, 03:22 PM)
Ok guys, its Ryuuga's lazy to search the web time. As such, i will list my problems in hope of someone helping me...

I'm on ubuntu 8.04

1[SOLVED]) I'm looking for a download manager as good as FDM. I've tried, cURL, d4x, downthemall you name it. but none of which got maximum(and stable) speeds when i download from megaupload premium. Or I must be really stupid unable to configure it properly.
moreover, I installed wine to use FDM, but the download frequently gets stuck and eventually hangs the program. When that happens, i can't restart the program resulting in a re-install everytime it hangs...
I'm looking for something that breaks the file into few sections and download them seperately(multiple connections) thus achieving max speeds.
EDITED: Problem solved by using Axel
CODE
sudo apt-get install axel

Theres one more called prozilla it has a GUI but i've yet to try it yet.

2) I'm using compiz with 4 desktop wallpapers. Forget about showing the desktop icons, My desktop wallieS always goes black when I boot the comp.

3[solved with mplayer] playing videos on VLC is pixelated compared to when i was using MPC
an example:

Note: windows media is actually MPC, wrongly labeled.. Notice the difference....
In fact, i actually had this problem on Windows as well. Thats the main reason i never used VLC player before =/ Always loved MPC =)

Note2: I solved the problem by using Mplayer instead. Its perfect and just the quality im looking for, however, i still cant seem to play mkv and mp4 HD files smoothly with mplayer nor vlc

4) My belkin f5d7050 wireles usb dongle goes crazy once in a while. the LED will keep blinking even though my internet activity is null(no data transferred) thus, resulting in slow connection when i REALLY need it to transfer data(surfing, downloading, etc)

PS: Please note that i DID do a search on the net and came up with various solutions, all of which are for older versions of ubuntu. I thought maybe, since I'm on 8.04, some of these problems might actually have been fixed.
PS2: I seem to be solving my own problems one by one..

As such, please help me oh mighty Linux sifus ^^
can you play wmv file format?
CONANDOR
post Aug 20 2008, 02:22 AM

200 posts

i've problem with the brightness configuration.

it works ok when i bootup ubuntu.
and i've set it to be dim when its in idle for 10 min
but whenver i back from the idle. the brightness still at dim.
how can i configure it?
CONANDOR
post Aug 20 2008, 09:30 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(oshiri @ Aug 20 2008, 09:06 AM)
This is probably acpi problem. Try get newer kernel. Dont know what brand your notebook is.
Usually notebook has function (Fn) key to control various aspect of their system. Try use it.
Or you could try command line.
Check in this : cat /proc/acpi/video/lcd/brightness
*video could have different name
You could just change the brightness using command such as: echo 100 > /proc/acpi/video/lcd/brightness
Change the numerical value to your liking, 0 -100
Already using up-to-date kernel from ubuntu. unless i install myself. lol

i using dell xps m1210
last time i think no problem 1. but after i configured the dim during idle.
d brightness become less when back from dim. odd
CONANDOR
post Aug 20 2008, 08:45 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(oshiri @ Aug 20 2008, 08:34 PM)
That does not help.
Try paste output of: iwconfig

CODE
Em it's quite annoying need to do Fn+UP whenever back from idle mode.

Yes annoying.
That is why I only use kernel which I compiled myself.
Anyway... I don't use ubuntu.
doesnt debian and ubuntu are similar?
CONANDOR
post Aug 23 2008, 03:10 PM

200 posts

hm... my laptop running high fever with temperature up to 80 degree celcius with ubuntu 8.04 when full load. lol

Added on August 23, 2008, 3:11 pmhm... my laptop running high fever with temperature up to 80 degree celcius with ubuntu 8.04 when full load. lol

This post has been edited by CONANDOR: Aug 23 2008, 03:11 PM
CONANDOR
post Aug 24 2008, 02:12 AM

200 posts

firefox generate so much heat? other heavy processor usage programs cuase it

but the my laptop dell xps m1210 is famous of heat issue... sad.gif

CONANDOR
post Aug 24 2008, 05:01 PM

200 posts

trying out debian 4.0r4a

seem like i8k not working fine
CODE

//output from dmesg
i8k: not running on a supported Dell system.
i8k: vendor=Dell Inc., model=MXC062                          , version=A08
i8k: unable to get SMM BIOS version
Dell laptop SMM driver v1.14 21/02/2005 Massimo Dal Zotto (dz@debian.org)
i2c /dev entries driver

This post has been edited by CONANDOR: Aug 24 2008, 05:02 PM
CONANDOR
post Aug 24 2008, 05:48 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(oshiri @ Aug 24 2008, 05:41 PM)
It's normal because you are using force=1 parameter on unsupported system.

After modprobe try run: i8kmon or i8kctl fan
i8kctl fan will show you the current fan speed status.
To adjust fan speed, use: i8kctl fan 2 2 &
Where 2 2 is the highest speed for left and right fan.
1 2 means low speed on left and highspeed on right.
0 = off
ya. saw the figure already.
thx sifu.

now trying to compile my own ver of kernel.
really got alot of options there when compiling kernel. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by CONANDOR: Aug 24 2008, 05:52 PM
CONANDOR
post Aug 26 2008, 01:25 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(babeadeline @ Aug 25 2008, 03:22 PM)
Tried running 7.04 Live CD, error is:

/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
Googled and tried the solutions online but no to avail.

Have tried the break=top , modprobe piix, but all i get is a blank black screen after the spash screen.
all_generic_ide doesn't work, still get to the same error
changed boot order, doesn't work, still get to the same error

Start normally, safe graphics mode, check CD, all get to the same error.
No HDD on the system.
cd got problem?
CONANDOR
post Aug 27 2008, 09:45 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(jordan86 @ Aug 27 2008, 07:32 AM)
Is it???
My m1210 still ok. It will get heat when in heavy processing. But the heat still cannot beat my friend's HP laptop.
My friend one will get heat although the laptop in normal processing.
Firefox make me headache. Alway run in high process when i opening some blog or whatever with some pictures. Haiz...
ya. i notice it recently.
ur frien hp sure can cook water d, if his 1 manage to reach 100.

ya. seem to be firefox 3 kinda like utilize alot of processor power
CONANDOR
post Aug 31 2008, 12:25 AM

200 posts

i got this when i do dmesg

CODE

[ 1159.620224] wlan0: RX deauthentication from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1159.620229] wlan0: RX deauthentication from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1159.620235] wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e
[ 1161.697583] wlan0: RX deauthentication from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1161.698977] wlan0: RX authentication from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (alg=0 transaction=2 status=0)
[ 1161.698982] wlan0: authenticated
[ 1161.698985] wlan0: associate with AP 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e
[ 1161.700238] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (capab=0x441 status=12 aid=1)
[ 1161.700243] wlan0: AP denied association (code=12)
[ 1159.821560] wlan0: associate with AP 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e
[ 1159.823055] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (capab=0x441 status=12 aid=1)
[ 1159.823062] wlan0: AP denied association (code=12)
[ 1160.021270] wlan0: associate with AP 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e
[ 1162.298009] wlan0: association with AP 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e timed out
[ 1166.476031] wlan0: RX disassociation from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1166.476041] wlan0: RX disassociation from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1166.476047] wlan0: RX disassociation from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1166.476053] wlan0: RX disassociation from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)
[ 1166.476058] wlan0: RX disassociation from 00:19:5b:20:4b:1e (reason=7)

where AP is deauth me? and what is reason 7?

and i found out that ubuntu after d update not really stable.
my gnome gui sometimes got hangup and restart itself

This post has been edited by CONANDOR: Aug 31 2008, 02:37 AM
CONANDOR
post Sep 1 2008, 01:11 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(fastcx @ Aug 31 2008, 02:06 PM)
for ur gui to hangup n restart it self, i would like to know is 3d desktop enabled? if thats the case, reinstall ur graphic driver n reboot, it should solve tat bits of problem smile.gif as for ur wlan, try google it
3d desktop? u mean compiz fusion? i enable enable till 'normal' at appearance preferences.

any suggestion on nice sound editor for ubuntu?
CONANDOR
post Sep 4 2008, 01:17 AM

200 posts

would it be possible that i change the eth0 to other like wlan0 ?
CONANDOR
post Sep 6 2008, 12:49 PM

200 posts

how can i record a sound from application internally?
eg. i having conference with frien on skype. how can i record d his conversation down without actually thru mic?

0.0432sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:48 PM