Can vegetarian do bodybuilding & get good result ?, rec diet routine for a vegetarian bodybu

TSsynzo
post Oct 10 2010, 03:30 PM, updated 16y ago

314 posts

Hi pros, can i train bodybuilding properly and get good result being a vegetarian ?

kindly recommend a suitable diet routine for a vegetarian bodybuilder wannabe, thanks
SUSfifi85
post Oct 10 2010, 04:38 PM

751 posts

No way a vegetarian can body building smile.gif

sorry to say that
jamis
post Oct 10 2010, 04:55 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Oct 10 2010, 03:30 PM)
Hi pros, can i train bodybuilding properly and get good result being a vegetarian ?

kindly recommend a suitable diet routine for a vegetarian bodybuilder wannabe, thanks
Possible, but result are varied from meat eater dude due to the BV.
janson_kaniaz
post Oct 10 2010, 05:37 PM

6,955 posts

R u a vegan or a vegetarian?
For a vegetarian, I guess it ain't that hard. But for a vegan, I can say it's almost impossible coz u can't have protein from eggs n dairy stuff. So if ur current diet can include eggs n milk etc, it's not mission impossible.

pizzaboy
post Oct 10 2010, 06:55 PM

9,495 posts

It's do'able. Mike Mahler's a vegetarian. Or if you're a lacto-ovo vegetarian then, much better!

http://www.google.com.my/search?sourceid=c...an+bodybuilders

Anything's possible, don't let others dictate what you can or cannot do.
david890701
post Oct 10 2010, 09:46 PM

-
3,152 posts

legume is also a good protein source.
Avangelice
post Oct 10 2010, 10:03 PM

5,274 posts

All is not lost. The only lost you get from not eating meat is protein and iron and some other stuff which you get from meat. My suggestion go for supplements. Ask a nutritionist on which supplements to take
angrydog
post Oct 10 2010, 11:39 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

Tempeh!
mikehuan
post Oct 11 2010, 09:39 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(fifi85 @ Oct 10 2010, 04:38 PM)
No way a vegetarian can body building smile.gif

sorry to say that
with that kinda attitude you wont be able to even if you weren't a vegetarian. if you're very sure of this fact then please back it up with something.

btw scooby (from scooby's workshop) is a vegetarian of sorts.
mcbarney666
post Oct 11 2010, 05:42 PM

405 posts

In the wise words of one Anthony Bourdain, I hate vegetarianism. I hate it I hate it I hate it.

Relevance to thread? Nada.

My take on being a vegetarian or a darn vegan and you want to be a bodybuilder will take immense dedication and loads of research. C'mon, even with us carnivores eating every damn chicken breast out there we're still struggling to get good quality muscle what more the herbivores?

Nearly impossible is my take on this.
iamyuanwu
post Oct 11 2010, 07:44 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Oct 11 2010, 05:42 PM)
In the wise words of one Anthony Bourdain, I hate vegetarianism. I hate it I hate it I hate it.

Relevance to thread? Nada.

My take on being a vegetarian or a darn vegan and you want to be a bodybuilder will take immense dedication and loads of research. C'mon, even with us carnivores eating every damn chicken breast out there we're still struggling to get good quality muscle what more the herbivores?

Nearly impossible is my take on this.
Not everyone digest meat the same. And this can persuade some people to be vegetarians, since eating meat can make them feel unwell.
veger_leong
post Oct 12 2010, 10:34 AM

86 posts

Im a vegetarian as well. But i wonder why people sound it so difficut? Isnt that we can replace the meat with protein powder?
night
post Oct 12 2010, 10:44 AM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

I gues it is still possible without egg white, chicken and fish as your source of natural protein. You still can opt to whey protein or other natural food like beans. They are rich on protein.
ijnek
post Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM

566 posts

it's possible.
look at how big the elephant is...

a good source of protein is those green beans that jap restaurant serve...forgot the name, sorry

This post has been edited by ijnek: Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM
LadyVanity
post Oct 12 2010, 07:17 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM)
it's possible.

a good source of protein is those green beans that jap restaurant serve...forgot the name, sorry
edamame! rclxm9.gif

but beans give you bad gas sad.gif ewwww
janson_kaniaz
post Oct 12 2010, 07:41 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Oct 12 2010, 06:15 PM)
it's possible.

elephant is big bcoz of its genes.
why don't we compare whales as well...
as far as i know, our stomach does not have the enzyme like most of the herbivores out there to get the most out of vegetables, that is y its main function is to help ease the process of getting digested food out of our body, ie prevent constipation without itself being digested much.
any pro here would like to correct me?

pizzaboy
post Oct 12 2010, 08:43 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 12 2010, 07:41 PM)
as far as i know, our stomach does not have the enzyme like most of the herbivores out there to get the most out of vegetables, that is y its main function is to help ease the process of getting digested food out of our body, ie prevent constipation without itself being digested much.
Erh....no. Check your teeth. Your teeth was designed to cut both meat, and vegetables. If you were designed to eat veggies merely as a digestive aid, your body wouldn't develop teeth specifically to tear down the veggies would they?

Now consider your ancestors, they practically lived on vegetables and fruits, and occasionally, when they got lucky, an animal. Pretty healthy didn't they grow? It's the level of activity that we have, nowadays that makes us fat fcuked up slobs. It's pretty absurd to claim vegetables are merely a digestive aid. Think about it, if your body can't even digest a simple leaf, how's it going to digest meat which atomic structure is built with, much more density?
iamyuanwu
post Oct 13 2010, 12:09 AM

2,425 posts

Specifically, our digestive system doesn't have the necessary bacteria to digest cellulose/fibre.

YOu can try eating some of those bacteria and see if they adhere to your stomach. But most probably you'd get into serious diarrhea that will be fatal. =P
pizzaboy
post Oct 13 2010, 12:48 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Oct 13 2010, 12:09 AM)
Specifically, our digestive system doesn't have the necessary bacteria to digest cellulose/fibre.

YOu can try eating some of those bacteria and see if they adhere to your stomach. But most probably you'd get into serious diarrhea that will be fatal. =P
I've heard of this, but as I experimented, it didn't make too much sense. When I removed vegetables in my diet, there wasn't a terrible drama. But I did feel more prone to headaches when exposed to heat after being in a cold room. And as I did more studies, our stomach cannot digest certain parts of vegetables, but the necessary nutrients which are provided by the vegetables, CAN as a matter of fact be digested. Correct me if I'm wrong though.
ijnek
post Oct 13 2010, 09:30 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 12 2010, 07:41 PM)
nah...blue whales(biggest of them all) dun eat plants, but they feed on the smallest living things in the sea called krill...

meal used to be a luxury item on the menu for our forefathers, so to say vege is jus to help ease digestion, i think tat's underestimating wat vege can really do for ur body

Benefits of Fibre

0.0209sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:00 PM