Bodybuilding Thread v8, Bodybuilding diskussion

mcbarney666
post Oct 11 2010, 05:37 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Oct 11 2010, 12:12 PM)
this is good news, pedro biggrin.gif
sometimes i do get very worried about consuming so much beef....sometimes up to 300g per sitting! all that saturated fat..... hehe.
Heh. I've been eating beef for the past 4 days. All heavy meals with them. I feel great rclxms.gif

But my tummy don't look that good, though...

sad.gif
mcbarney666
post Oct 27 2010, 05:28 PM

405 posts

Will be doing me Legs tomorrow and I watched this video for some inspiration.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QlSWUqsfb0

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I don't care if you have the best upper body, if you're legs are like chopsticks, you ain't squat (I pun, get it?).

EDIT: I can't seem to get the video to appear. Darn that white box thingy.

This post has been edited by mcbarney666: Oct 27 2010, 05:32 PM
mcbarney666
post Oct 28 2010, 04:05 PM

405 posts

Thanks, Pedro! You're a champion.

I did stiff legged deadlifts today and now I feel stiff.

What a pump!
mcbarney666
post Oct 29 2010, 10:57 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Oct 29 2010, 12:09 AM)
u mean stiff-legged deadlift?
if so, yeah they are essentially the same thing... but with minor differences. SLDL is straight at the knees completely, all locked out, whereas the romanian has a slight bend in the knee. both are great ham/glute workouts.

*some variants of SLDLs take the bar so low until the lower back is rounded - absolutely not recommended for beginner lifters or for heavy poundages!
Definitely not a beginner's exercise as they'll tend to use their back to compensate the weight. It took me a while before the burn in my hammies were felt. The other great thing is that you don't need a tonne of weight on the bar. It's all about form and feeling the burn.

You know you've done good when walking down a flight of stairs takes you 10 minutes. tongue.gif
mcbarney666
post Nov 4 2010, 11:48 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Nov 4 2010, 10:48 AM)
FOCUSED CONTROLLED proper FORM!!!
i have seen many ppl using their body swing movement to move the weights through the movement.

it's not abt the machines in the gym, but sometimes the simplest things like dumbbells and barbells works magic...

dun bother if u r lifting lighter than some guyz, every1 is different in terms of strength or goals.
as long as u r focused and working towards it, it's all good
I am a strong advocate of using proper form, in a controlled way. I hate it when slightly bigger guys with sleeveless tees throw the weights around like they're friggin' Jay Cutler. Anyone can lift heavy, but not everyone can lift it right.

Again, it's NEVER about how heavy the weight is, it's all about doing it right.

On a side note, t-bars FTW.

On another side note, nasi lemak for pre-workout is no good. Something about the chilli burning your arse after you've silently farted and when you exert yourself doing deadlifts. Really, it's no good.
mcbarney666
post Nov 11 2010, 09:07 AM

405 posts

Straps are useful when your grip is about to give way. Only use them sparingly as you need to build grip strength. Don't be like the delicate yobs who wear thick gloves when curling 5kgs. Only ever use them when really necessary.

I use Harbinger straps and they work superbly. I'd like to get me a pair of these once my current straps have kicked the bucket.

You can find them at the Curve, top most floor. Err. I forgot which store number, sorry.
mcbarney666
post Nov 16 2010, 04:11 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Nov 15 2010, 11:50 PM)
Oh I see,but I mostly feel only my muscles at my legs are sore after doing squats,that's normal?
You're squatting, not curling. If you feel pain in the biceps means you're doing it very wrong.
mcbarney666
post Nov 19 2010, 11:08 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ Nov 19 2010, 12:14 AM)
okay here comes another question
should we be locking out our knees when we're doing squat?

Am doing front squat today,1 huge fella come to me,and ask me to wear belt for protection,and ask me not to squat heavily(yea that time i was struggling at 140 lbs+20kg olympic bar, front squat for 5 reps)
According to him,I am not supposed to lock knees when I am standing up,I should control the movement slowly and maintain the muscle tension there.

and he did pointed out I tend to 'bounce' when I am standing up,which is stressing more to the knees.it will hurts the ligament and I will be regret after 3-4 years.squat should not be too heavy as I am not competing ,why rushing ? yes I admit it,when I am standing up I tend to bounce so the lift will be easier.but I never realized thats a cheat form and could be potential harm to my knees.

Well,kinda speaking,he's much bigger than me and least years of experience,so now...I always think that squat should be go heavier,or i should follow to this guy advise? dont lock out,go slowly..

and my feel left knees knuckles cracking when I am doing front squat..which I recheck my form,its should be shoulder stance,foot pointing outwards,hips go downs,knees not over toes....it is not pain but feel weird....

There are not over than 5 people squating in the gym room,and only 1 people who doing deadlift,thats me ! none-of any instructor there,which I barely cant find a big bodybuilder and ask for the skill helps.

Someone enligthen me , I am confused,especially the knees cracking part seriously bothering me,and I might not want to harm my knees,I know squat is way too important,but if I am doing it wrong end up this might be my last chapter of bodybuilding.I did googled,but too many version there ,confusing which 1 to follow.
How were his legs? Don't take advice from someone who professes to do squats but goes 5inches down and up. Only someone with superior legs' development should advise you, not some yob with big biceps but with chopsticks for legs and super smooth calves.

Anyhow, yeah, bouncing is no good but then again did you bounce like a rabbit? I don't think so. From experience, locking my legs screwed me up as I went down. Ended up with a really sore back.
mcbarney666
post Nov 29 2010, 02:04 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 29 2010, 12:44 PM)
Use WD-40 and why do people "play" with dumbbells/barbells?
Direct translation, my comrade.

I can't imagine playing with a loaded barbell myself.
mcbarney666
post Nov 29 2010, 09:09 PM

405 posts

Okay, quick rant here: the recently relocated Menara Maxis Fitness First has moved to Avenue K. Godawful place. Anyway, I goes in to get a cursory feel of the place as I was actually heading home. It was packed to the brim as today was the first day of the completed relocation. I check out each section quickly and oh my goodness it was a total mess!

Machines were in a little quadrant of space, it looked crammed as heck. Then I walk further. There's a little space for TRX thingy (the one with bands), pretty cool I admit. Then another set of machines, this time spaced well but still had "crammed" feel. Then the weights section. WTH? IT was tiny and it looks like they brought the short benches with them. Equipment was recycled as expected but c'mon let's have some new stuff.

Anyway, unless my eyes have deceived me, the power rack was missing. And you know what that means, right? Yes, no deadlift or squats! This is blasphemy! I hope I'm wrong. I'm going in tomorrow to get a better taste of the new place but first impressions have left a really sour taste in my mouth.

This post has been edited by mcbarney666: Nov 29 2010, 09:11 PM
mcbarney666
post Nov 30 2010, 10:46 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Nov 30 2010, 02:20 AM)
any of u guys been to ff avenue k?
you've never been to a ghetto gym till u get ur ass to ff avenue k
i've been to ill equipped gym and felt more at home than being at the newly situated ff (moved from maxis to avenue k)

u know how large the weight room is?
its a size of 2 average bed rooms in a medium sized apartment
and ur sharing about 7-8 benches (including fixed flat and incline bench) and 3 dumbbell racks (not taking into account huge guys doing their stuff there)
and ur next to the bodyweight areas and the cable crossovers and stuff

i was damn angry and asked the managers there what happened
they said "the management gave it a thought and decided that ff is aiming for 'fit' and not 'muscular',"

now thats bullseye for business acumen
stupid sh*t!

oh well no use complaining though
now gotta go to the curve and play
My sentiments exactly. I haven't worked out there yet but I've got a feeling that I won't be a happy person.

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 30 2010, 10:12 AM)
Sorry it got your panties in a bunch,should always remind myself that people here think different,from where I come the Iron rules and there's nothing to compare it with as gyms such as CF/FF are inexistent.
Of course with Malaysian commercial gyms one cannot expect the It's Like Having an Orgasm feeling ala Governator but to dive into such lowball tactics just screams conformity.

FF at the Curve's is much better than this and that's very high praise indeed.

Added on November 30, 2010, 10:49 am
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Nov 30 2010, 01:32 AM)
Do the ghetto style:
Squat the barbell off the bench press rack --> walk out of the bench --> skwat --> walk back into the bench rack --> unrack.
I used to do this, not in those fancy gym though.
I've been doing that but for barbell rows because there's this silly Pakcik that does the silliest moves at the power rack. Wait, FORMERLY located power rack.

I will workout there tomorrow and I'll give my final verdict then.

This post has been edited by mcbarney666: Nov 30 2010, 10:49 AM
mcbarney666
post Dec 8 2010, 01:59 PM

405 posts

Heh? What was your workout like? Did you do any stretching?
mcbarney666
post Dec 16 2010, 09:52 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Dec 15 2010, 06:18 PM)
i got told off today at my gym(FF) for "slamming" the weights..when all i did was touch the weights to the floor after every rep as i was deadlifting..hence producing a clinking noise due to the floor mat being not very sound absorbent..

i mean when im lifting 100kgs+ the least of my worries is putting the weights down nice a gently for u now is it? stupid commercial gyms.. yawn.gif
Which FF told you off? I've been to most branches and have done deads but nobody has told me off. Yet.

If it was the trainers then I think they're pussies. I mean, I've seen some yobs throwing the weights down to the floor as though it were wet towels. That gets me real angry but I refrain because I know violence might be involved.

And, dude, deadlifts FTW smile.gif Keep on doing them and show 'em punks what a real man's exercise is.
mcbarney666
post Jan 31 2011, 10:36 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ Jan 29 2011, 01:45 AM)
I can't fit into jeans anymore, plus the trend now is the fitting type of cutting for both jeans and shorts... which makes it all the more tougher, gosh. I think my mom would be pissed if I told her I needed tailor made shorts.
I understand completely. I can't fit into 4 pairs of trousers already and the ones that I have now make me look like I have elephantiasis.

I was in Melbourne and tried on jeans at Boss Orange. First few pairs I tried wouldn't go pass my calves. I am not kidding. Finally, the rather pretty shop assistant gave me another cut of jeans for me try on and it went pass my calves, finally. The joy was short-lived. I couldn't zip it. I thought, hot damn, my waist has gone up. But after measuring my waist, it was the same. Thank goodness. The pretty shop assistant then gave a sympathetic look and said, at least you've got nice, big legs (I was wearing shorts). I was, like, my hamstrings need some work but thanks all the same.

The compliment was great to hear but saving RM800 was even better. biggrin.gif
mcbarney666
post Feb 9 2011, 04:00 PM

405 posts

It's articles like these that get me in a spin. I was tempted to give the Shoulder Shocker regimen a go today but instead I did the typical shoulder set of dumbbell presses, etc. I see the points the author is trying to make but as to its veracity, well, Kevin Levrone sure as heck didn't heavy plate raises yet he had boulders for shoulders.

If someone tries this and does it for 4 months (Triple H's duration) please do share with us the results.
mcbarney666
post Feb 18 2011, 10:12 AM

405 posts

Noobs! Read this so that you can grow and grow.

You'll thank me later.
mcbarney666
post Mar 4 2011, 01:37 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Mar 4 2011, 11:46 AM)
any recommended exercises for back and shoulder width? kinda noticed thickness has increased but width remain the same, resulting in a stocky look. others has commented the same as well. been doing close parallel grip cable pulldowns and lots of lateral raises, any other suggestions?
Bent-over barbell rows with a slightly wider grip is giving me some width I've never had. For shoulders, side laterals with decent weight and form are starting to make me shoulders larger and rounder. Though, I've got some way to go before I can say they're good. Happy training!
mcbarney666
post Mar 14 2011, 09:24 AM

405 posts

Word to all of the above. When I first started deadlifting I did 30kgs MAX, with a rounded back and wiggle wiggle legs. But I thought I was badass. smile.gif

Of course, after wising up a little, I don't round my back anymore and have much better control now.
mcbarney666
post Mar 22 2011, 07:43 AM

405 posts

Good luck, mofonyx.

Holy crap. Check out his striations...in the face!
mcbarney666
post Apr 5 2011, 05:43 PM

405 posts

All right, I'm finally venturing into the realm of supplementation. Have been using GAT's JetMass and JetFuse for the past two weeks and my golly they're working like a charm. From a dude who used to not care about ingesting supps of any kind I am slowly trusting them more and more.

What's another good post-workout product that's not as pricey as GAT? Thanks in advance.

0.0551sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:40 AM