Run Warcraft3 DotA in openGl mode fix all problem, no more mouse lag etc..fps > 60

SUSgogo2
post Oct 9 2010, 01:38 AM, updated 16y ago

gogo2
18,672 posts

Your target line should look something like "C:\Program Files\Warcraft III\Warcraft III.exe" -opengl

I just realise this line can fix all problem with mouse lag problem faced by so many people who use
optimus and nvidia graphic card.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Oct 9 2010, 01:42 AM
ketapang
post Oct 9 2010, 02:17 AM

GG
1,115 posts

Just test n it works! thx 4 sharing! biggrin.gif
btw, if play using opengl, the text kinda choppy.

This post has been edited by ketapang: Oct 9 2010, 02:25 AM
SUSgogo2
post Oct 9 2010, 02:39 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Oct 9 2010, 02:17 AM)
Just test n it works! thx 4 sharing! biggrin.gif
btw, if play using opengl, the text kinda choppy.
you mean, the text does not look crispy? hmm.gif i guess better than unplayable mouse lag..haha
ketapang
post Oct 9 2010, 03:20 AM

GG
1,115 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 9 2010, 03:39 AM)
you mean, the text does not look crispy? hmm.gif i guess better than unplayable mouse lag..haha
yup. i think the frame rate is also much more better. i'll try search around if i can find any solution regarding the crispy text. i ordy try forcing wc3 running in aa mode @ 8x through nvidia 3d panel but only in the menu the text kinda okay. but ingame still crispy. thx again! biggrin.gif
lawtm
post Oct 9 2010, 08:09 AM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

really meh. anyway tq for share. i wan try now. how click icon warcraft properties ma then click open gl
SUSgogo2
post Oct 9 2010, 09:12 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ketapang @ Oct 9 2010, 03:20 AM)
yup. i think the frame rate is also much more better. i'll try search around if i can find any solution regarding the crispy text. i ordy try forcing wc3 running in aa mode @ 8x through nvidia 3d panel but only in the menu the text kinda okay. but ingame still crispy. thx again! biggrin.gif
i never see any text not crisp.

My setting is:
For nvidia:
vsync off
ambient occlusion = performance
gamma correction = on
multi-display = single display performance
Power management = maximum performance
triple buffering off

QUOTE(lawtm @ Oct 9 2010, 08:09 AM)
really meh. anyway tq for share. i wan try now. how click icon warcraft properties ma then click open gl
actually I dun understand what u talking about.. lol
Alpha_Tay
post Oct 9 2010, 11:29 AM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

u can use DiabolicW3Tools to change font.
lawtm
post Oct 9 2010, 01:40 PM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Oct 9 2010, 09:12 AM)
i never see any text not crisp.

My setting is:
For nvidia:
vsync off
ambient occlusion = performance
gamma correction = on
multi-display = single display performance
Power management = maximum performance
triple buffering off
actually I dun understand what u talking about.. lol
lolx. i try already liao that bo lag while i play dota. before also lag and now settle problem lag. tq TS
ketapang
post Oct 9 2010, 01:53 PM

GG
1,115 posts

I've already try changing font, still the same. here some screenie about the crispy text. note that the alphabet "i" and "L" look thinner than usual.

SUSgogo2
post Oct 9 2010, 02:00 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(lawtm @ Oct 9 2010, 01:40 PM)
lolx. i try already liao that bo lag while i play dota. before also lag and now settle problem lag. tq TS
you're welcome...glad to help... wat graphic card and laptop you're using?

QUOTE(ketapang @ Oct 9 2010, 01:53 PM)
I've already try changing font, still the same. here some screenie about the crispy text. note that the alphabet "i" and "L" look thinner than usual.

oic... i never try chatting...hahahahahaha
ketapang
post Oct 9 2010, 02:34 PM

GG
1,115 posts

nvm la about the text. i just wan a smooth gamplay. biggrin.gif
ineednickname
post Oct 28 2010, 09:21 PM

26 posts

i cant seem to opengl my warcraft.. everytime i do so, my warcraft wont open.. it says something like pls insert the correct disc.. -.-"

SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 09:22 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:21 PM)
i cant seem to opengl my warcraft.. everytime i do so, my warcraft wont open.. it says something like pls insert the correct disc.. -.-"
lol.. i think your copy of warcraft is pirated.
ineednickname
post Oct 28 2010, 09:22 PM

26 posts

oh dang! really? is there anyway i can fix the lag except through this way -.-"
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 09:23 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:22 PM)
oh dang! really? is there anyway i can fix the lag except through this way -.-"
Why you buy pirated Warcraft?

Added on October 28, 2010, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:21 PM)
if you use nvidia graphic card, pls update to the latest version, then maybe no need this fix...

By the way, your copy of pirated Warcraft 3, you buy from where one?

This post has been edited by gogo2: Oct 28 2010, 09:24 PM
ineednickname
post Oct 28 2010, 09:25 PM

26 posts

i abit blur.. dunno if it was even pirated -.-"
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 09:25 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:25 PM)
i abit blur.. dunno if it was even pirated -.-"
Did you pay money for the Warcraft 3?
ineednickname
post Oct 28 2010, 09:26 PM

26 posts

i think i got it from a fren -.-" i copy paste it i think.. haha
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 09:32 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:26 PM)
i think i got it from a fren -.-" i copy paste it i think.. haha
copy paste cannot one... i also try to copy paste just now... also cannot... must have original
CD... =.=||
ineednickname
post Oct 28 2010, 09:34 PM

26 posts

sorry for the trouble ya ^^

Added on October 28, 2010, 9:38 pmi tried updating, but it says that my windows version isnt compatible.. how can that be? mine is original windows 7

This post has been edited by ineednickname: Oct 28 2010, 09:38 PM
SUSgogo2
post Oct 28 2010, 10:07 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ineednickname @ Oct 28 2010, 09:34 PM)
sorry for the trouble ya ^^

Added on October 28, 2010, 9:38 pmi tried updating, but it says that my windows version isnt compatible.. how can that be? mine is original windows 7
updating nvidia driver?

i dunno wor...
frunkstasiea
post Oct 29 2010, 08:48 AM

23 posts

problem i'm having is, there'll be occasional screen freeze when playing..I dunno what went wrong, but always screen freeze for 1-2 seconds, then continue again de.. @@

how to fix??
i'm using Asus A42Jr graphic ATi Hd 5470..

SUSgogo2
post Oct 29 2010, 08:53 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frunkstasiea @ Oct 29 2010, 08:48 AM)
problem i'm having is, there'll be occasional screen freeze when playing..I dunno what went wrong, but always screen freeze for 1-2 seconds, then continue again de.. @@

how to fix??
i'm using Asus A42Jr graphic ATi Hd 5470..
force your laptop to HIGH PERFORMANCE in power gear...
frunkstasiea
post Oct 29 2010, 09:49 AM

23 posts

prob still same..huhu
ketapang
post Oct 30 2010, 02:40 PM

GG
1,115 posts

If ur gpu doesnt hve problem running in normal mode, then just play with normal mode. since opengl mode only for those who have problem wit mouse lag. did u encounter any mouse lag too?
ALeUNe
post Oct 31 2010, 10:32 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

Radeon GPU with switchable GPU suffers the same problem too.
Laggy mouse.

Bad thing is, Radeon GPU does not run opengl.
Good thing is, you can disable switchable GPU in bios.

Disable the switchable GPU will solve the issue.
frunkstasiea
post Nov 1 2010, 08:25 AM

23 posts

rite now my prob fix after i've updated Ati catalyst..version from 10.5 to version 10.10
no more prob..thanx for give opinion

SUSgogo2
post Nov 1 2010, 08:49 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 31 2010, 10:32 PM)
Radeon GPU with switchable GPU suffers the same problem too.
Laggy mouse.

Bad thing is, Radeon GPU does not run opengl.
Good thing is, you can disable switchable GPU in bios.

Disable the switchable GPU will solve the issue.
huh? ATI not running opengl? now that's new thing I learn today....

seems like ATI and nVidia directX old driver is broken.... but is fixed in the latest driver...
weird that both solve it at the same time sweat.gif
ALeUNe
post Nov 1 2010, 09:09 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 1 2010, 08:49 AM)
huh? ATI not running opengl? now that's new thing I learn today....

seems like ATI and nVidia directX old driver is broken.... but is fixed in the latest driver...
weird that both solve it at the same time sweat.gif
Yes, ATI does not support opengl by default.
It requires separate driver.
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages...iew-driver.aspx

It is not the old directX problem.
This is because changing to from "switchable" to "discrete" would solve the laggy problem. The driver works fine.
It is generally the driver problem for the "switchable" and "optimus".

SUSgogo2
post Nov 1 2010, 09:58 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Nov 1 2010, 09:09 AM)
Yes, ATI does not support opengl by default.
It requires separate driver.
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages...iew-driver.aspx

It is not the old directX problem.
This is because changing to from "switchable" to "discrete" would solve the laggy problem. The driver works fine.
It is generally the driver problem for the "switchable" and "optimus".
I dun get what u meant...

Optimus works fine for all other game with latest directx. Only Warcraft 3 with older directX not working.

Also, by using openGL, switchable/optimus driver works fine... proof that no problem with Optimus/switchable.

Only problem is with DirectX driver.

If you search around the internet, even nVidia newer graphic card have mouse lag.. so definitely not Optimus
issue. But a generally compatibality of DirectX 8 vs nVidia driver.
ALeUNe
post Nov 1 2010, 10:15 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 1 2010, 09:58 AM)
I dun get what u meant...

Optimus works fine for all other game with latest directx. Only Warcraft 3 with older directX not working.

Also, by using openGL, switchable/optimus driver works fine... proof that no problem with Optimus/switchable.

Only problem is with DirectX driver.

If you search around the internet, even nVidia newer graphic card have mouse lag.. so definitely not Optimus
issue. But a generally compatibality of DirectX 8 vs nVidia driver.
It is the "driver for optimus" problem, especially you can't turn on the discrete GPU.
You can't run in discrete mode with optimus.
As I said, even Radeon with "switchable" suffers the same problem too.

There is no problem for discrete GPU like GT330 to run Warcraft3.
I never had laggy problem with GT330.

It is a driver problem but it is not the directX problem.
GT330/GT335 use the same set of driver.
It is a "driver for optimus" problem.

SUSgogo2
post Nov 1 2010, 10:28 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Nov 1 2010, 10:15 AM)
It is the "driver for optimus" problem, especially you can't turn on the discrete GPU.
You can't run in discrete mode with optimus.
As I said, even Radeon with "switchable" suffers the same problem too.

There is no problem for discrete GPU like GT330 to run Warcraft3.
I never had laggy problem with GT330.

It is a driver problem but it is not the directX problem.
GT330/GT335 use the same set of driver.
It is a "driver for optimus" problem.
if cannot turn on discrete GPU, meaning it'll use i5-450 CPU which is more than enough for
Warcraft 3. So mouse lag is not that it cannot turn on discrete GPU right? hmm.gif

ALeUNe
post Nov 1 2010, 10:35 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Nov 1 2010, 10:28 AM)
if cannot turn on discrete GPU, meaning it'll use i5-450 CPU which is more than enough for
Warcraft 3. So mouse lag is not that it cannot turn on discrete GPU right?  hmm.gif
GT330 no mouse-lag issue.
I turned on the discrete GPU on my 3820TG & 4820TG and the mouse-lag issue was gone too.

So, the possibility is current drivers do not run well in hybrid mode.
They need better drivers.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 1 2010, 10:44 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Nov 1 2010, 10:35 AM)
GT330 no mouse-lag issue.
I turned on the discrete GPU on my 3820TG & 4820TG and the mouse-lag issue was gone too.

So, the possibility is current drivers do not run well in hybrid mode.
They need better drivers.
well, current hybrid mode driver is running well from someone who updated their driver. No need
to run openGl....

probably hybrid mode problem... nod.gif
frunkstasiea
post Nov 3 2010, 08:17 AM

23 posts

gogo
now i know the main prob is when i'm playing a dota without using battery then the prob coming..huhu..
still confused wat the prob

sometimes when i'm using battery with ac mode the prob start...uhhh
but when using battery only nothing happen..i can play dota smooth...

u know what prob is?

This post has been edited by frunkstasiea: Nov 3 2010, 08:18 AM
ALeUNe
post Nov 3 2010, 09:02 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(frunkstasiea @ Nov 3 2010, 08:17 AM)
gogo
now i know the main prob is when i'm playing a dota without using battery then the prob coming..huhu..

u know what prob is?
It could be buggy bios. Or corrupted system.
Try updating the bios and re-install OS.
SUSgogo2
post Nov 3 2010, 09:04 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frunkstasiea @ Nov 3 2010, 08:17 AM)
gogo

u know what prob is?
erm, normally if AC mode and Battery mode will affect your power configuration. Did you check what
you set if AC mode and what you set during Battery mode? tongue.gif

frunkstasiea
post Nov 3 2010, 09:19 AM

23 posts

i set ac mode same as battery mode(high performance) n the prob still same..huhuh
any idea??
SUSgogo2
post Nov 3 2010, 09:30 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(frunkstasiea @ Nov 3 2010, 09:19 AM)
i set ac mode same as battery mode(high performance) n the prob still same..huhuh
any idea??
you can try ALeUNe's method since my easier method not really the problem.. hehe...

becareful updating BIOS...

I would recommend format and install new OS first before doing the BIOS...
frunkstasiea
post Nov 13 2010, 04:51 PM

23 posts

sorry for late reply..
ahaha...after i've update my bios from ver 402 to ver 504 the prob is solve..so i can play game smoothly
thanx guy for recommend the solution =)

thanx gogo & aleune

0.0268sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:50 AM