Nokia N8 - V6 - [The King of Camera Phones], Nokia N8... It's Coming!!!!!

Andrew Lim
post Oct 10 2010, 12:13 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(Username is username @ Oct 9 2010, 11:56 PM)
today i went to Nokia outlet at The Gardens
What? They have a display unit there already? I checked on Thursday I think but they still hadn't had any units.
What about sales units? Can we purchase from there?
I work in MV, so it's convenient for me to buy there.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 10 2010, 12:19 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Even on Android I prefer using Opera Mini because it compresses the data and caches it on their server first. Only bad thing is no pinch-to-zoom. If I get N8 first time I'm going to install in Opera Mini.

Anyway I hear they're going to release a new official browser for N8 anyway.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 11 2010, 01:40 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Just tested the N8 at The Gardens. Their stocks will arrive on the 16th, price will be between RM1800-RM2000.

Things I liked
- Really nice screen. The colours look more vibrant than my TFT HTC Hero.
- Overall, Symbian^3 is responsive. Everything loaded quickly. My main gripe is with the home screen non-realtime scrolling, but it's not a big issue.
- Simple to use.

Didn't get a chance to test the camera properly because quite a few people wanting to try the phone out.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 11 2010, 01:46 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I will wait for more user reviews from you guinea pi-- er, I mean early birds before buying. biggrin.gif

Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2010, 02:25 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I have Android and Symbian phones, and I'm an iPhone developer.

In my opinion, in terms of usability, iOS > Android > Symbian
Overall functionality wise, Android > Symbian > iOS
Browser wise, Android > iOS > Symbian
Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 02:29 PM)
SO i will put Symbian 1st, 2nd Symbian and 3rd also Symbian. End Discussion.
I commend you on your unbiased and impartial judgement. rolleyes.gif

Seriously though, I guess it depends on the user. In my case, browsing on a Symbian device is a pain in the ass. Even with the new improvements on Symbian^3, it's still not as fluid or optimized as Android's or iPhone's.

Connectivity-wise though, I'm happy to say Symbian phone come out on top. I've never had problems connecting to WiFi/Edge/3G with Symbian phones, only with Android/iPhone devices (although usually in special cases).

I've also become addicted to storing all my contacts in Gmail and syncing them via Android/iPhone. Symbian is a bit more difficult which is why I seldom carry my Nokia phones around anymore.

Camera-wise, there's no competition. Nokia makes better camera phones, especially N82 and N8, while Android and iPhone cameras are so-so only.

I think in the long term though, Android has the most survivability and long term prospects. It's just too friggin flexible. I've seen people customize it in really crazy ways through installing alternative home applications and flashing ROMs. Development on Symbian/Qt is a pain in the ass if you're tried it. iPhone applications are the easiest to develop thanks to standard width and height (480x320) in the code, whether it's iPhone 1 or iPhone 4.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2010, 03:11 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM)
Is that a fair comparison? Last time I check, iPhone does not support flash at all, while the Symbian Internet browser (called webkit?) does, it may be just flash lite, but better than nothing.
I think it's a fair comparison because I'm comparing the browsers overall. 90% of web content is HTML and images. Smooth scrolling, screen rotation, pinch-to-zoom and automatic text rearrangement so it fits your screen are things I like more about the iPhone browser than Symbian's. And if we wish to compare Android's with Symbian's, Symbian is even further behind because Android has all the iPhone features and it still supports Flash.

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM)
My not try the Opera on the N8 just to make it fair with iPhone browser?

Because it isn't the default browser. You can also install Opera on Android and iPhones.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 12 2010, 03:12 PM
Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2010, 03:16 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 03:13 PM)
Thats why i said your need and mine not same. you want browser. but i dont need that seriously.
im not selfish.. he declared out his need and i declare mine..
yes.. not all term is good for android or iOS.
It's just that your statement "SO i will put Symbian 1st, 2nd Symbian and 3rd also Symbian. End Discussion." sounds like you don't even think other operating systems deserve to be considered. smile.gif
Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2010, 03:26 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(SecretPaladin @ Oct 12 2010, 03:18 PM)
LOL.. you dont understand "I" means for myself only.
Oh I understood you meant only for yourself. I wasn't referring to anybody else except you. smile.gif

Added on October 12, 2010, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 12 2010, 03:21 PM)
iOS at the last, coz its pretty sickening with all the restriction.
I would put Windows Phone 7 as the last, because it's got all the disadvantages of the other OSs and none of their advantages. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 12 2010, 03:27 PM
Andrew Lim
post Oct 13 2010, 10:35 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

GSMArena's Nokia N8 Review has been posted.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 13 2010, 05:31 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(jbb_lkh @ Oct 13 2010, 05:29 PM)
Usually sites like that are usually prone to their own US products instead of EUR product.
Just look at how much they praise Windows Phone 7 even though it lacks so many features (BlueTooth, Flash, SDCard, Multitasking, File Manager). It's made in America so they love it.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 13 2010, 05:31 PM
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 12:45 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Nokia N8 battery life so-so.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Oct 14 2010, 12:46 AM
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 09:58 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 14 2010, 09:31 AM)
lol... but sony ercisson is more good in phone design compared to nokia... =D
Their Android devices suck though. I think they're still using Android 1.6, even though 2.2 is out already.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 10:47 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(MIVECburuk @ Oct 14 2010, 10:42 AM)
Dear people of N8 discussion thread, other than the camera, what is the attraction of this phone that can beat iphones & android phones? I heard the starting price is very reasonable, can someone enlighten me  icon_rolleyes.gif
It uses an AMOLED screen that looks pretty good. Newer Android phones by HTC use SLCD which I feel is inferior. Samsung's Galaxy S uses Super AMOLED which is even better than AMOLED but the build quality is plasticky. As for iPhone 4's retina display it just looks brighter but I still prefer AMOLED technology.

The metal finishing of the N8 is another thing that attracts me. It feels really nice and is not a fingerprint nightmare like the SGS or iPhone 4. Also while playing with it the phone doesn't seem laggy. One thing about Android phones is that unless the processor and software is good the phone will lag. The SGS has a 1GHz Hummingbird processor but there's bugs in the software that often leads to long waiting times. Any HTC phone that has lower specs than the Legend/Desire also experiences slight delay in displaying some screens (but not as bad as the SGS).

Symbian^3 is also simple to use. It took me a while to figure out how to properly display my contacts on my HTC Hero. Android phones tend to be harder to use and you have to learn how to use GMail's Contacts to use it properly.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 12:09 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(MIVECburuk @ Oct 14 2010, 10:50 AM)
bro, you've fiddle around with it?
Yup, I've tried out the black version at Gardens. The screen is really nice, even with the lackluster Symbian^3 homescreen.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 04:19 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I thought they will only call you on Saturday? I think that's when they can sell it, right?
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 04:43 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

The N86 had a hardware problem in the 1st batch, where the camera lens could actually be scratched by the shutter. They fixed it in the 2nd batch but not sure if they offered to fix the problem for 1st batch users.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 05:21 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Oct 14 2010, 05:21 PM)
Wah Lau so many buyer and Nokia Malaysia is laughing all the way to bank by next week.....
I don't care if they laugh, but hopefully they don't forget firmware updates and after sales support.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 06:15 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Gardens also told me 16th when I went to their store just now. I don't know if they differentiate between people who pre-order with deposit, and those who do not.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 14 2010, 06:39 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(crazyguy152 @ Oct 14 2010, 06:16 PM)
Told u 16th can get the phone?
Told me pay deposit, 16th can go collect. I don't know if anything has changed since then.

0.0268sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:57 PM