Nokia N8 - V6 - [The King of Camera Phones], Nokia N8... It's Coming!!!!!

doomx
post Oct 16 2010, 02:09 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

phew finally got time to reply here, was just briefing my housemate bout the nokia n8 like a salesman. lol.

i wanna thank everybody over at the nokia rangers event and also the lowyat forummers that i met. love the event and everybody is so friendly helping and answering questions. not to say got a good gift tongue.gif.
apecx92
post Oct 16 2010, 02:10 AM

Owner/Admin/Staff/Moderator/Elite/Vip/User
2,365 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 15 2010, 11:00 PM)
Switch simcard just now, not able to post and the wifi also slow...

im on the youtube mom!! tongue.gif
Andy214
post Oct 16 2010, 02:16 AM

3,308 posts

N8 currently still on Flash Lite.

Have not been touching Symbian since January this year after I got my N900. So kinda 'karat' already using Symbian, but I have tested few times N97 Mini.

My short test in Nokia Shop Pavillion; Smooth, great improvements of performance and response over S^1.

Some testing during Ranger event:
Tried multi-tasking opening many apps while playing music in background, also running OVI Maps... surprisingly, throughout the operation... the music playback was smooth all the way.
On the N900, sometimes the playback will face some problem. Maybe only some apps/processes have true multi-tasking capabilities? Not sure?
Also tried to snap photos when many applications are opened; Smooth also.....
Perhaps the OS is optimized/memory is managed very well? Or was it the "true" multi-tasking I mentioned?

Anyway, it's good to know; But we have yet to fully customize the N8 yet; After customizing the homescreen, those widgets will eat up on the device resources and we'll see how it well it performs; Sort of stress test, so those who want smoother device, can consider limiting their customization to get better performance.
Just to add, out-of-the-box Ranger's N8 homescreen is already partially customize; there's already widgets on all the 3 homescreen.

Overall, everything seems good; My only complain currently is the Mono Speakers; Really can feel the difference... although can plug-in headset/earphone/external speaker, but sometimes some people do play music directly, or when watching online videos, etc, or when showing your friends some videos, etc. and finally, ringtone....
Hope Nokia will take this into consideration on the next device.

Added on October 16, 2010, 2:17 am
QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 16 2010, 02:10 AM)
im on the youtube mom!! tongue.gif
You've just been TAGGED tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 16 2010, 02:20 AM
andrekua
post Oct 16 2010, 02:25 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

OK...

Apparently the keyboard problem only exist in the browser, while its working fine with messaging.

For example, when you press spacebar, it will double-spacing. Look at my previous 2 replies in page 132. All the words are double-spaced but I only press spacebar once. Thats not so annoying. Whats annoying is that after you fullstop, it does not auto-capital letter unless you press back once. Hopefully will be fixed.

Anyway, for those who enquire about Opera, I tried it out as well. Why I dont want to use it because first, it dont support pinch and zoom. Secondly it was not as smooth as stock browser.
silrave
post Oct 16 2010, 02:29 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 16 2010, 02:25 AM)
OK...

Apparently the keyboard problem only exist in the browser, while its working fine with messaging.

For example, when you press spacebar, it will double-spacing. Look at my previous 2 replies in page 132. All the words are double-spaced but I only press spacebar once. Thats not so annoying. Whats annoying is that after you fullstop, it does not auto-capital letter unless you press back once. Hopefully will be fixed.

Anyway, for those who enquire about Opera, I tried it out as well. Why I dont want to use it because first, it dont support pinch and zoom. Secondly it was not as smooth as stock browser.
hmm this kind of problem will it solve on firmware ?
cause wan to get n8
XD
ulwan25
post Oct 16 2010, 02:33 AM

2,054 posts

waa, this phone can consider as cheap..
gona let off my n82 then!!
lohmaikai
post Oct 16 2010, 02:37 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Oct 16 2010, 02:33 AM)
waa, this phone can consider as cheap..
gona let off my n82 then!!
1.7k very satisfied with the pricing.
Leo the Lion
post Oct 16 2010, 03:01 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 16 2010, 03:25 AM)
OK...

Using opera mini in sgs and it has pinch to zoom. N8 opera mini dont have pinch to zoom?
apecx92
post Oct 16 2010, 03:06 AM

Owner/Admin/Staff/Moderator/Elite/Vip/User
2,365 posts

well to me,the design solid(i like it),the camera is smooth captured and process..the homescreen really fast..gaming like nfs shift got lagging..

the s^3 os is improve alot..but some prob when open youtube desktop and then when wanna open anot app,need to close the youtube first if not damn lagging jus like games and the touch so so lar,but overall its a nice phone,its really worth it..(sorry for my english)

right now download all S^3 in ovi and internet smile.gif

This post has been edited by apecx92: Oct 16 2010, 03:07 AM
Leo the Lion
post Oct 16 2010, 03:08 AM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Oct 16 2010, 12:21 AM)
eh.... mayb next time got SE ranger leh... or HTC ranger also hard to said
There is a survey asked who in the forum that u want him or her to be nokia ranger. Most of us choose bufung. And some prefer exploitmachine. thumbup.gif

Added on October 16, 2010, 3:10 am
QUOTE(apecx92 @ Oct 16 2010, 04:06 AM)
well to me,the design solid(i like it),the camera is smooth captured and process..the homescreen really fast..gaming like nfs shift got lagging..

the s^3 os is improve alot..but some prob when open youtube desktop and then when wanna open anot app,need to close the youtube first if not damn lagging jus like games and the touch so so lar,but overall its a nice phone,its really worth it..(sorry for my english)

right now download all S^3 in ovi and internet smile.gif
It feels very solid.never expect it to be this solid. Btw, just arrived at home in johor. Yawning now.

Keyboard really easy to use now. Just got suit with it.

Post via N8

Added on October 16, 2010, 3:19 am
QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Oct 16 2010, 03:08 AM)
Hmm, just got back from the ranger event.

The event was nice, but i'm just too shy to introduce myself to some of the rangers. You guys seems soooo.... Full of knowledge you know. Leo, didn't have a chance to talk to you there just now. tongue.gif

First of all, good job Nokia for making this event a success. Way much better compare to explorer event early this year.

Just now I did tell the cons and pro to Nokia representatives and, Nokia shouldn't forget their stronghold
here in Malaysia was supported by many older generations compare to us rangers and they should
balanced their online Ovi service with offline functions too. That's what I think.

As for now, I think S^3 did a really good part in Nokia phones which is:

Less cost, superb responsivenss, no lagging and such. This weekend I will try if this phone can withstand 15GB full memory with 500GB external HDD plugged in. That's the most 'appeal' experiment I can think of now since I'm quite lazy to backup thigs into my lappy.

The facebook through Ovi; I do encounter a problem, cannot retrieve any feeds whatsoever. Quite a letdown for tonight. Will try the responsiveness to the ,axafter this.

waa, seems eveyone wanna talk with me. Lol. Sklchan done alot of talking and also zero_kboom. Zero_kboom was loud during the events. And we saw 2 cute couple from sklchan and cloudy with their wife.

Btw, about the ovi social network, sometime that does happen in android facebook. I think its normal though

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Oct 16 2010, 03:22 AM
doomx
post Oct 16 2010, 03:22 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

Was comparing the facebook experience from my IdontK phone and the N8. And i can say that the IDontK phone wins hand down.
The Nokia N8 some of the video are not render and i also realise that some of the text are missing. Like my friend type to another friend wall, the text is missing. That is really weird.
I guess new firmware will fix this problem. Viewing all social activies (facebook and twitter) the scrolling seems sluggish abit or is it because of the screen protector.. hmmm
620omen
post Oct 16 2010, 03:52 AM

157 posts

Their Marketing strategy really nice..~ >> Nokia N8 rclxms.gif
Andrew Lim
post Oct 16 2010, 04:02 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(620omen @ Oct 16 2010, 03:52 AM)
Their Marketing strategy really nice..~ >> Nokia N8  rclxms.gif
That video is really old. I think when they first announced N8 they showed that video.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 16 2010, 04:16 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 16 2010, 03:01 AM)
Using opera mini in sgs and it has pinch to zoom. N8 opera mini dont have pinch to zoom?
Pinch & zoom in Opera Mini currently only available for Android if I'm not mistaken.
Maybe things could change once the new Opera Mobile released.But I have no idea whether new Opera will be available for Symbian.
nicholasbeh
post Oct 16 2010, 04:47 AM

4,518 posts

new home already created.

Added on October 16, 2010, 5:12 am
QUOTE(freakenstein @ Oct 15 2010, 10:29 PM)
FUUUUUUUU!
Waste my invitation to the event!

I feel like crying now.
haha.dun sad la.sayang

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Oct 15 2010, 10:45 PM)
Malaysia maps from ovi is 45.5mb leh, 2 weeks ago when i download was 33.1MB, so many update meh????

will test.....hehe

Added on October 15, 2010, 10:46 pm

surpass abit nevermind but you do get a free trip to KL right?
ya,lot of update

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 15 2010, 10:53 PM)
Wrong, aspire is a guy. Didnt talk much, by looking him bring dslr n n900, i think that guy is aspire
BINGO!
QUOTE(x132755 @ Oct 15 2010, 11:17 PM)
1 yr from NOKIA
2 years

This post has been edited by nicholasbeh: Oct 16 2010, 05:12 AM
rahuldave
post Oct 16 2010, 05:38 AM

FAFC 'Forever Android Fan Club'
1,241 posts

So, N8 doesnt have alphanumerical keyboard in portrait mode? rclxub.gif

Something like this

This post has been edited by rahuldave: Oct 16 2010, 05:46 AM
tripple_a
post Oct 16 2010, 06:52 AM

47 posts

from previous (last night) post...
can say that:
1. N8 is not a very good phone for internet/surfing, have some lag with the browser... sad.gif

BUT

2. N8 is a very nice & smooth camera... rclxms.gif
3. No problem with multitasking... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
3. N8 got very solid design... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

So anxious to hold my N8 this afternoon... thumbup.gif
andrekua
post Oct 16 2010, 07:19 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Oct 16 2010, 05:38 AM)
So, N8 doesnt have alphanumerical keyboard in portrait mode? rclxub.gif

Something like this

Thats a keypad... not keyboard...
Thats what currently on the N8...
rahuldave
post Oct 16 2010, 07:24 AM

FAFC 'Forever Android Fan Club'
1,241 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 16 2010, 07:19 AM)
Thats a keypad... not keyboard...
Thats what currently on the N8...
Oops sorry bro. Thanks for the clarification
stanley85
post Oct 16 2010, 07:46 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(Clementyeo @ Oct 16 2010, 12:47 AM)
i cant skip my class....lol...1pm stil gt lecture class..haiz, hope they dont forget my part..pls dun stock clean gao gao icon_question.gif
shouldn't be. cos the girl from the garden called me and confirm with me again last night..if first come first serve i think they will ask me to collect at saturday instead of asking when will i go to collect?

134 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 >Top

0.0280sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:43 AM