Kiasu parenting or just being safe?

Lord_Ashe
post Oct 6 2010, 01:13 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

As a first time parent, of course you tend to be overprotective, a little bit. I have a 2 year old. We try not to hover around him too much at home. We send him to a kindergarten where we hope he learns how to socialise. Letting go isn't easy. It wasn't easy for my parents (and I questioned the hell out of them for that) and only now can I see how difficult it is for me.

I tend to agree avoiding cold drinks, drinking nothing but tomato juice etc etc to me is superstition. As for other substances like nicotine, tar, coffee and alcohol, I believe there's a reason doctors tend to advise against it. Note that I said doctors, not "friends". I tend to refer to doctors instead of friends unless they're also very knowledgeable (which most people aren't, even tho they may be well meaning).

For example: friends cautioned me against the danger of SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome). The resident gynae at the hospital said he had never come across a single case, and mentioned that most times the greatest enemy of an infant is the grandparents LOL.

So all in all, a little common sense goes a long way. If you feel that that stick of cigarette or shot of tequila is worth the possible risk to the infant, then go ahead. No one is putting a gun to your head either way.

0.0178sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:28 AM