Halo: Reach vs Call of Duty: Black Ops?

TSalb3rt
post Oct 3 2010, 02:23 PM, updated 16y ago

I have not played either game or any of the previous versions. I would just like for some one to tell me which one is best for me. I don't play online but me and my brothers have three controllers so I am wondering if i can play multiplayer and if so which one has the best offline multiplayer. Also in the story mode can me and my brothers play together. Thank you please answer my question please

Luqman999
post Oct 3 2010, 02:36 PM

476 posts

Black Ops biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif
heavy rain
post Oct 3 2010, 05:12 PM

351 posts

joined today ? no wonder u noob or u dupe ?
pls dont compare already release game with haven release yet game
System
post Oct 3 2010, 05:13 PM

Reach, and it's so obvious that Black Ops has stolen so many features from Halo.

Halo takes more Skill.
marauderz
post Oct 3 2010, 05:49 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

i think Reach supports splitscreen support, not sure for 4 or not lar
trogdor1oh1
post Oct 3 2010, 06:35 PM

101 posts

Call me retarded, but from past experience Halo is always way more fun splitscreen than Call of Duty.

My friends used to come around to my house a lot to play splitscreen, and Call of Duty never quite satisfied our needs.
Later I discovered that Call of Duty is really only fun when there are lots of people in the game, 4 just doesn't work. It's the kind of game where you go in, run around and shoot anything that moves.
Halo on the other hand is slower and more "tactical" shall I say, something about it just works way better for splitscreen.

But for online play in my honest opinion Call of Duty was always way better. Feel free to disagree with MW2's brokenness, I still really like it. As of late the only shooter I've been playing is CoD4.
JustNael
post Oct 4 2010, 01:14 AM

61 posts

as what i heard the black ops won't be better then wm2. i don't know the game haven't be release yet tho. People just talk to make them self happy. People keep talking about Black Ops. tut tut Medal of Honour lagi meletop. biggrin.gif. for ts, if ur kind of person love to go around shooting anything moving go for COD some pro from COD can't even play Halo. Halo is 10 times harder then COD, that's my experiences smile.gif
Jas2davir
post Oct 4 2010, 03:50 AM

461 posts

when in doubt buy both :|
nafra
post Oct 6 2010, 02:42 AM

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Oct 4 2010, 03:50 AM)
when in doubt buy both :|
I like ur style....

TS, U can check here for a Halo Reach vs CoD Black Ops article. Personally, I prefer shooting Aliens than Humans, their death is so colourful..... biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post Oct 6 2010, 08:56 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Black Ops vs Reach? Black Ops has not been released how to make a fair judgement? I'd say Halo Reach given the sheer number of fans. Online. smile.gif

MmxZero
post Oct 6 2010, 12:46 PM

189 posts

Be patient and get both in the end.

Both game will give a different experience.
Friction
post Oct 6 2010, 01:07 PM

QUOTE(alb3rt @ Oct 3 2010, 02:23 PM)
I have not played either game or any of the previous versions. I would just like for some one to tell me which one is best for me. I don't play online but me and my brothers have three controllers so I am wondering if i can play multiplayer and if so which one has the best offline multiplayer. Also in the story mode can me and my brothers play together. Thank you please answer my question please
Halo Reach supports 4 player split screen for local competitive multiplayer. So you can enjoy splitscreen fun with your brothers. COD will probably have the same support. But what it wont have is 2 player split screen campaign and custom firefight.

Online I'd say preference. Both are (and will be) excellent. Offline though I'd go for Halo Reach. Just more fun to fool around with offline.
trogdor1oh1
post Oct 6 2010, 03:33 PM

101 posts

I love how everyone seems to have forgotten about Medal of Honor.
hazardcradle
post Oct 7 2010, 03:59 AM

77 posts

i tried playing halo. started with Halo 3 and wasnt really impress. i dont know why. maybe because not my cup of tea.after that, i bought both ODST and Modern warfare 2. keep playing till the end and all i can say is, only COD manage to get into me. Maybe because i'm a fan of real military rather than space marine. right now i dont know whether it's a good idea to buy reach or not. only manage to finish ODST once and didnt bother to go online or trying to get achievement (at least).well.. that's my 2 cents. it's all up to preferences. i'm not sure about reach but i'll definitely going to buy black ops...and medal of honor too..

trogdor1oh1
post Oct 7 2010, 04:12 AM

101 posts

Well yeah singleplayer's all fine and dandy but at the end of the day the only reason we're getting either game is for multiplayer, which we'll be playing for years and years to come(until CoD's next 5000 sequels).

Though in terms of singleplayer yeah I'd agree, Call of Duty wins, no question. It's so fast paced and all, feels like a summer blockbuster movie and stuff. Halo, I dunno just doesn't seem to click with me gameplay wise. Story is good but I dunno the missions feel way too meh OH GO FROM POINT A TO POINT B SHOOT SOME THINGS etc.
hazardcradle
post Oct 7 2010, 04:43 AM

77 posts

that's what i said. Halo ODST single player is a turnoff for me that i didnt bother to try multiplayer. The storyline is great but gameplay wise, yeah..COD in the other hand is great in both single and online.and no, i'm not COD fanboy. I'm a military fanboy. COD, Battlefield, Medal of honor, killzone (at least helghast is human).

again, that's my 2 cents.
trogdor1oh1
post Oct 7 2010, 05:55 AM

101 posts

You should try Halo MP imo, even if you don't entirely like the SP campaign there definitely is some appeal to it.
Weapons are a lot of fun and lots of sploddy things and stuff, give it a shot.
thurtin
post Oct 7 2010, 03:06 PM

277 posts

get both. come on, its not like you are getting two consoles. you can save or buy 2nd hand to get both games.
PrivateJohn
post Oct 8 2010, 01:20 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Obviously it's Halo Reach...

Hitman190
post Oct 8 2010, 02:21 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Oct 8 2010, 01:20 PM)
Obviously it's Halo Reach...

many fanboys did this exact same thing the night it came out

0.0187sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:04 PM