Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V5, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

freakfingers12
post Oct 3 2010, 05:11 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Anyone have read about this? A dual screen Galaxy S.

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/35981/sams...laxy-s-pictures

freakfingers12
post Oct 3 2010, 09:07 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Is the SGS from Maxis 8GB or 16GB?
freakfingers12
post Oct 3 2010, 09:23 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Wah, that package from Maxis is superb lah! 16GB somemore. I am so tempted. drool.gif

Wanna ask all you galaxy users, any regrets after using your SGS? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by freakfingers12: Oct 3 2010, 09:24 PM
freakfingers12
post Oct 3 2010, 10:25 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Oct 3 2010, 09:47 PM)
Let me give you an unbiased comment: tongue.gif
1) the display, despite being really nice, good contrast and colours (except for red, it's too red on some photos), it's not as sharp as it should be. It's not TRUE 480x800 pixels, because it has only 2-subpixel for each pixels, or maybe 5 subpixels for each 2 pixels, due to its pentile arrangements. So yeah, it sucks on vertical and horizontal lines.
2) the lag, it starts to creep on me... but still manageable. I'm quite patient with it. biggrin.gif *coming from a Windows user, you'll get used to it tongue.gif*
3) Samsung lied to us on the battery life. Maybe it would standby as long as claimed if you set it to Flight Mode, or don't activate the screen AT ALL.  rclxms.gif

I guess that's all for now. As for my friend owning HTC Desire. He keeps complaining that he has to contemplate on what apps to install, due to the puny 512MB ROM it has. lol. Oh ya, and somehow, my A-GPS works fine, while his Desire's A-GPS having problem locking instead.

And I've been installing/uninstalling all sorts of craps without remorse.  thumbup.gif

Thanks. Those are something I don't come across reading reviews. Very useful. Aside from lagging, does it crash a lot? I've even seen reviews where it shows the SGS crash. lol.

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 3 2010, 09:58 PM)
The cons are : Poor GPS, laggy interface and slow program launch ( can improve by applying lag fix solutions)., mediocre scrolling, slow file access using file explorer even with lag fix applied

PRO's : Great screen display - sharp bright colours ( can match if not better than iPhone4), big screen 4", high end graphic chip good for gaming, can install lots of apps as large flash memory but at expense of slower program load, great video options
Lagging seems to be the main con here, from your opinion, how bad is the lag? Once the program load, does it lag in program too?
freakfingers12
post Oct 3 2010, 11:03 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Oct 3 2010, 10:31 PM)
it not really lag inside the program/apps..
the most annoying thing is when u click/access the apps,it will hang for 1-2 seconds to go in..but of course not all apps also like that

i dont have any crash on my SGS(i mean apps)
i have over 100 apps and all work fine for me...
Oh thanks, that sounds okay to me. (100 apps, nice!) I think I'll go ahead and if the lag develops oni I'll find a lag fix. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Oct 3 2010, 10:52 PM)
dunno whether u guys heard of this yet.. but this is just amazing! typing with no accuracy at all !

http://news.cnet.com/8301-30685_3-20018373-264.html
Wah, that's scary! Telepathy keyboard.
freakfingers12
post Oct 11 2010, 09:57 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Need to include RM50 minimum monthly commitment for rate plan too, right? (depending on which rate plan you choose)

Just a ques, how much do I need to pay upfront?

This post has been edited by freakfingers12: Oct 11 2010, 09:57 PM
freakfingers12
post Oct 14 2010, 10:04 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hi guys, to persons who got their SGS from Maxis, how long do you wait for stock to arrive?
I planned to get it this weekend. But last week the person say no stock and duno when only got stock.
freakfingers12
post Oct 14 2010, 10:07 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

^ Wah, so lucky. Heard many ppl have to wait very long...

Oh btw, will Froyo 2.2 still be using RDS file system?
freakfingers12
post Oct 16 2010, 11:23 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hi guys, haven't been keeping in touch with this thread. It's growing so fast.

Anyway, Maxis ran out of stock for almost 3 weeks now. I am so fed up. I'd be lucky to get a Maxis set before this thread becomes version 6. xD

So, I decided to just buy the phone instead la and gonna change to Digi (using maxis now).
I am going for 16GB Ori set.

May I know what are the basic things (and advance things) that I need to check before buying the phone eg. clarify it's ori set, make sure there's no faulty camera or wifi?

Who are the authorised distributor of original Samsung? Is it, First Mobile Group (FMG)?
Ori samsung have any stickers behind?
How to check IMEI code?
Latest ori firmware is DXJG4 (sp.)?
Anything else?

Thanks everyone. Really hope you guys can tell me as this is going to be my first android. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
freakfingers12
post Oct 17 2010, 12:13 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Oct 16 2010, 11:47 PM)

Okay, so basically, if the recovery mode runs alright (like BIOS setup in computer right?) then it should boot up back to the rom right?
Thanks for the info! hehe. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Oct 16 2010, 11:51 PM)
no more FMG, now is distributed by Samsung Malaysia Electronics (SME)
Okay, noted. Thanks.

This post has been edited by freakfingers12: Oct 17 2010, 12:14 AM
freakfingers12
post Oct 18 2010, 09:26 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

HOORAY! rclxm9.gif Just got my SGS today from Maxis. Surprisingly, got stock already. rclxms.gif

Queued up for an hour, was so excited when I saw that SGS is available. Paid, signed and blah blah. Then, it's time to check the phone. The first unit was good. I would have happily walked out without knowing it didn't have a recovery mode if it wasn't for silentser's advice. tongue.gif

Really wanna thank silentser for the advice.
QUOTE(silentser @ Oct 16 2010, 11:47 PM)

So, I asked for a second unit. The counter girl had to key in everything again but she smiled. So, signed again and checked the new unit. It was flawless.
I realised and I am not being biased, that the unit without recovery mode takes longer time to boot. The other one booted up in about 10 seconds plus.

Straight away bought capdase casing and SP. Now already installed about 20 apps using Maxis 3G.

The firmware is DXJG4. And yea, I have the GPS problem. Will try to figure it out tmr.

I have questions, how to transfer my contacts the easy way and sync all my contacts to facebook/myspace/twitter?
freakfingers12
post Oct 18 2010, 10:01 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Oct 18 2010, 09:33 PM)
my wifi also no problem also until that unable to open wifi thgy happened this afternoon..then I try open again OK le....sometimes it's very laggy tbh, especially when I wan to use the phone after a long time without using it..but have to be patient with my baby~

btw freakfingers, what is the software CD? just curious, coz i thk i dint get it...And IIRC my package wasnt seal though, careless me, but nvm la already bought for 3 months
The only software CD i got was KIES CDs. Yeah, my package wasn't sealed also, I asked and they said all are not sealed. I have the seal in the box. xD

freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 12:33 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Oct 19 2010, 12:00 AM)
pat yourself on the back for remembering to check that.

and now.....*suspen music with a heavy breathing sound* choose your side..... the light side(all stock change nothing) or the dark side(root and etce tc..)......
Haha, I'll ride both boats. For now the light side. Still venturing apps. Any recommendation for apps? I want those huge eye candy clocks. smile.gif
freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 01:47 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

OMG Emino, this is Maxis' billings worst case scenario! I am sure you'll win in court. GO GO GO!

Btw guys, noob here, how to transfer music to my int memory card? xD
freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 05:36 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hi guys, I just rooted my phone to Samset 1.9f rom. I think it's awesome. The theme is much sleeker than the original theme.
But now I don't have the daily briefing widget anymore. Where can I reinstall it? I can't find it in Samsung Apps. tongue.gif
Also, I am on JM5 now. Can I reflash my firmware to JM9 and still retain the custom rom?
freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 06:07 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

That's ADW launcher, Fornx.
freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 08:30 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Hey guys, I flashed a new rom (on JM5) to my phone and now I wanna reflash the firmware (to JM9). If I do that will the new rom disappear?
Do I need to back up my int memory to flash VooDoo?
freakfingers12
post Oct 19 2010, 08:58 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

From 1st page,
Maxis APN

yes it will...
justreflash the rom after u up to jm9
Ok thanks. But the rom is based on JM5.. sad.gif
freakfingers12
post Oct 20 2010, 12:33 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

how do I upload photos from gallery to facebook?
freakfingers12
post Oct 20 2010, 12:51 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Yup tried that but don't have facebook in share option..

0.0535sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:57 PM