Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V5, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

agn
post Oct 5 2010, 09:37 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 4 2010, 07:50 PM)
Battery life is awesome! I have animated wallpaper, Facebook and Twitter retrieving updates and feeds every 30 minutes, Hotmail sync every 1 hour, WhatsApp push messaging always available. By end of the day, I usually have 70% to 85% of remaining power. By any chance I have lots of SMS and phone call, the lowest I ever had is 60% after a day

I wrote this, I always keep myself connected to internet.
What firmware are you on? My battery life sucks to high heaven!! I'm thinking of giving up on the Galaxy due to its dismal battery life.
agn
post Oct 5 2010, 09:58 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 5 2010, 09:43 AM)
Alright start listing down what firmware, hows your usage routine, what kind of apps you install, what kind of settings, etc
jpk 2.2 doc's (from xda) superslim firmware, gmail & twitter (updated hourly),
internet usage (mainly checking twitter links etc) for about 1 hour throughout the day.
on DiGi's network. Without using JuiceDefender, i'd never last the day.
and i dont even use this device for many calls/sms as it's my second device.

I have tried jp4/jp8/jph - all with similar results. coming from an iphone - i would have thought the battery life would be about the same. and i think the iphone had more apps which pulled data.

I want what mengsuan gets - my usage is similar too +/-. i'd even settle for 30% at the end of the day. arghhhh!!!

Perhaps somewhere down the flashing route, the modem/pda/csc combination is screwing up the battery life which is why i wanted to know mengsuan's firmware (preferably the specific modem/pda/csc files if not standard).

agn
post Oct 5 2010, 10:07 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 5 2010, 10:03 AM)
Go market download "spare parts", then click Battery History on it, check the field "Running" is it 100%? If is 100% must be some bad apps preventing your phone from sleeping, bad apps i had encounter is "tango"

If is not 100%, try switching from 3G to 2G, go Settings - > wireless and network -> Mobile Networks - > Network Mode -> Change to GSM ONLY

by switching to 2G can save about 50% of battery from my experience.

I'm using 2G, sync Exchange, Gmail, whatsapp, facebook, gtalk all on the same time, never turn off them. If normal usage i can have 50%+ during night time, heavy usage then around 20 to 30 by midnight.
thanks will try that. i have been using 2G when idle - switching to 3G when I am on the internet only - it did improve a little but not tremendously.
so what firmware are you on?

agn
post Oct 5 2010, 10:11 AM

317 posts

thanks. we'll see if it helps. if not, it's the the sale forum for the galaxy and maybe i'll wait for the Desire HD or something else. Still prefer the Android platform to the IOS (but BB is still better for me for daily use phone).
agn
post Oct 5 2010, 10:21 AM

317 posts

i was using on the Eclair firmwares previously but they weren't any better (before I tried Froyo which I thought would have solved my battery woes). I guess if I was using the i9000 as a primary device, I'd use the more stable Eclair. I'm going to wipe and re-flash (and not download any third party apps at all) to see how the battery life is.
At least this device is keeping me busy (and out of mischief) until the next device (like the Torch) is released that is!! Damn you gadgets!
agn
post Oct 5 2010, 02:35 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 5 2010, 12:01 PM)
PDA:I9000DXJG4

PHONE:I9000DXJG4

CSC:I9000OLBJG4

My firmware.
Thanks mengsuan. Much appreciated.
agn
post Oct 8 2010, 09:30 AM

317 posts

i suggest u flash to the newer Froyo leaks - JP1 very unstable (at least for me).
agn
post Oct 13 2010, 10:26 AM

317 posts

Added on October 13, 2010, 10:29 am
QUOTE(skyfire @ Oct 13 2010, 10:26 AM)
I have a pile of RSS subscribed and updated every 1 hour, GTalk, Whatsapp plus Fring always on, non closing ireader as i will read when i have time also games that hook me up during lunch time, and my battery life can last for 1.5 days.

How's that work? Simple, dim the back light to 1 bar, do not use live wallpaper, turn off wifi and GPS (i have my bluetooth always on) and do not sync so much on your mail (ha ha...), that should do it.
do you connect to the internet n surf much? i find using the internet (Edge or 3G) sucks battery big time.

kmrdeva - your point on the screen sucking battery is also true. makes me re-think the decision of a super amoled screen. maybe better go for a normal htc screen for the sake of a better battery life. Or get a couple of spare batteries.

This post has been edited by agn: Oct 13 2010, 10:32 AM
agn
post Oct 13 2010, 12:18 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Oct 13 2010, 11:09 AM)
But the S-AMOLED screen is so gorgeous - even the higher res and pixel density of the iPhone4 didn't wow me one bit compared to the display on the SGS. It's vibrant, it fascinates and it totally captivates (pun intended)..

Just stick to darker themes and you should be alright - Super AMOLED technology consumes little or no power when displaying black.
no doubt i agree - the screen is absolutely brilliant!! but when the battery meter drops when i use the phone (especially internet), i think twice. I'm going to get some spare batteries and see if i can live with it. if not, when the desire hd comes, the galaxy goes.
agn
post Oct 13 2010, 02:27 PM

317 posts

ahh i didnt know amoled screens consume less power than the htc ones. my bad. thanks for setting me straight. saved me from jumping from the frying pan into the fire.

agn
post Oct 21 2010, 03:46 PM

317 posts

wow ameeru_aniki - that's some bill you have there!!
agn
post Oct 21 2010, 09:10 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2010, 07:57 PM)
good for u. so how u complain to them? through Maxis Center?

Mine is RM380 and I seriously believe I never reach 500mb, didn't do tethering and 3G Watchdog shows i'm below 40mb.

Btw, for those who change from 500mb to 1.5gb or 3gb, they will penalty u RM500. See mine

I changed from 500mb to 3gb when still in contract, back to 12 months (thats what they told me), they never told me it charge RM500  cry.gif
but havent they waived the RM500 penalty in your Goodwill waiver - Customer Satisfaction?

0.0433sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:42 PM