7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V5, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 03:05 AM

2,962 posts

^^ or can try Google Pinyin keyboard. Pretty neat. Sometimes I prefer this over Samsung keyboard. But I have to remember to turn the Chinese off.
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 03:33 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(matsuru @ Oct 3 2010, 01:02 PM)
You use so many instant messaging apps. Wont they drain your battery? I found that only using msn talk, on it all the time, is sucking my battering juice very fast. So, after using it for 2 days. i off it liao. rclxub.gif
Probably something to do with the Ads, if you are not using the full version?

Unfortunately, none of the IMs in Android support voice calls. sad.gif

Maybe except for Fring, but Fring on my phone appears erratic.

Added on October 3, 2010, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 3 2010, 02:14 PM)
Whatsapp does not use much power too.
Need to pay after the 20-day trial period account. USD 1.99/year for iphone. So much for free messaging.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 03:34 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 08:59 PM

2,962 posts

*Ignore* WhatsApp in Advanced Task Killer.

Some how, my WhatsApp account only has 20 days trial as I checked in the app. Unfair sad.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 09:40 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 09:12 PM

2,962 posts

-delete-

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 09:12 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 09:47 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 3 2010, 09:23 PM)
Wah, that package from Maxis is superb lah! 16GB somemore. I am so tempted.  drool.gif

Wanna ask all you galaxy users, any regrets after using your SGS?  tongue.gif
Let me give you an unbiased comment: tongue.gif
1) the display, despite being really nice, good contrast and colours (except for red, it's too red on some photos), it's not as sharp as it should be. It's not TRUE 480x800 pixels, because it has only 2-subpixel for each pixels, or maybe 5 subpixels for each 2 pixels, due to its pentile arrangements. So yeah, it sucks on vertical and horizontal lines.
2) the lag, it starts to creep on me... but still manageable. I'm quite patient with it. biggrin.gif *coming from a Windows user, you'll get used to it tongue.gif*
3) Samsung lied to us on the battery life. Maybe it would standby as long as claimed if you set it to Flight Mode, or don't activate the screen AT ALL. rclxms.gif

I guess that's all for now. As for my friend owning HTC Desire. He keeps complaining that he has to contemplate on what apps to install, due to the puny 512MB ROM it has. lol. Oh ya, and somehow, my A-GPS works fine, while his Desire's A-GPS having problem locking instead.

And I've been installing/uninstalling all sorts of craps without remorse. thumbup.gif

Added on October 3, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 3 2010, 09:41 PM)
No regrets. I won't even trade my SGS for iPhone 4/HTC desire, because of my personal preference.

But.. GPS is garbage. I started Papago when I left home at Puchong. Can't get a fix. All the way until Jalan Imbi in KL, it suddenly detected my location. Then in less than 5 seconds, it lost signal again.
It's difficult to get a lock in the city centre, even with external BT GPS mouse. Mainly at Dang Wangi area, I can't even get a lock at all with my GPS mouse sad.gif.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 09:49 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 09:56 PM

2,962 posts

^^ how about use Advanced Task Cleaner?

I never face this problem when I last install WhatsApp with ATC running in the memory. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 10:01 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 3 2010, 10:47 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Oct 3 2010, 10:06 PM)
I started my journey in Puchong. No skyscrapers. Just my house.

I used 3 GPS device to date: Holux M1000B, HTC Touch Diamond, SGS.

Best accuracy and fastest lock time: HTC Touch Diamond. Locks in several seconds upon cold start, never skipped to to another road. Lag is very minor.

Worst: SGS. No lock. When there is lock, there is no accuracy. Lags badly too, my car moved 20 seconds, then it only started showing speed.
Seriously? I never trusted internal GPS that comes with phones and what not.

You using Garmin for the HTC Touch Diamond, right?

If you do, have you tried setting the GPS location to "on GPS location" (somewhere along the line), instead of "on road"?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 3 2010, 10:49 PM
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 12:06 AM

2,962 posts

It's quite similar to Swype, except without any swiping at all. Probably use approximation of the keyboard layout to determines the words you gonna type out.

Soon we gonna see a lot of smartphone users sending SMS while driving... biggrin.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 1:24 am
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 3 2010, 10:25 PM)
Thanks. Those are something I don't come across reading reviews. Very useful. Aside from lagging, does it crash a lot? I've even seen reviews where it shows the SGS crash. lol.
Lagging seems to be the main con here, from your opinion, how bad is the lag? Once the program load, does it lag in program too?
Frankly speaking... crashes. I had a few experience with it.

Yahoo! Mail & Yahoo! Messenger. These 2 f***ing apps. Dunno why it ran so slow on my phone. So ended up I uninstalled them. Screw them. So slow until the level that the OS prompted me to whether kill them off or not.

There are some other minor apps that hog the resources (don't have Task Manager like Windows to check if the CPU util reach 100% though) until the phone not responding. But the phone did a restart (without shutdown/bootup logo/video) on its own.

In term of stability. It's quite commendable as I would say. But once a while if you step on mines (lousy/buggy programs), you might encounter slow/lag/hang. But if you wait long enough without resorting to pulling out the battery, the OS will survive. I've yet to pull out my battery due to hanging so far. Cause I don't like taking out the battery. The back cover looks so fragile and loose easily. Pulling the plug gonna be last resort. smile.gif

And aside from that, for this phone (not sure if it applies to all Android phones), if you have running apps already and your phone shutdown itself due to low batt. The next boot up, those apps will be run in the background, auto-magically. biggrin.gif

As for the lag, it could be lag in everywhere. Currently my most annoying lag is using the Swype keyboard. At times when it access the dictionary, it renders the keyboard useless. You can only punch the keys 1 by 1, instead of swiping, in order to avoid the program trying to access the dictionary and slow the system down. It happens quite often if I switch IME from time to time. So I tried to stick with Swype as much as possible now. And when this problem occurs, certain buttons on the keyboard has been disabled. Even if I restart the phone, it won't help. Not sure if OCLF or Voodoo would fix this issue.

Will try OCLF as some said Voodoo sucks battery. Seeing that my battery already damn suck, I might have to go with the less strain on battery option.

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 4 2010, 01:24 AM
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 01:27 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(matsuru @ Oct 3 2010, 11:42 PM)
Install chompsms.  :-)
Thanks for the recommendation mate. Love it! rclxms.gif

I've always hated the huge ass fonts on the original SMS program. laugh.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 1:29 am
QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Oct 4 2010, 01:27 AM)
so far.. I'm not having lagging..
i'm not using any task killer..

as far as I know, the better for keep fast on launching apps is just let the apps keep running. so that it will be fast when reload back..

and usually, I'll close them using stock task manager by clearing memory ram level 1.. smile.gif
If I do that, my "desktop icons" all gone missing. Then after a while, they'll only be shown.

It's like killing the windows explorer, then run them again from Task manager.

Does this happen to yours?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 4 2010, 01:29 AM
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 08:59 AM

2,962 posts

Battery status update:
Unplug from PC USB: 7am
Current time: 8:57am
Battery level:76%

Wifi was always on from home until I left and continued with 3G connection automatically. PlurQ, WhatsApp running in background. Started GTalk as I left my apartment to go office.

Started radio at around 7:15am.

I think WhatsApp did take some heavy toll on my phone. Similarly, last night standby, the battery doesn't drain as much before I reinstall WhatsApp.
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 10:35 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 4 2010, 09:20 AM)
Go settings - > about phone -> battery use. List down all the usage

Go market download spare parts, choose battery history, list down all fields as well

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

according to this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=786509&page=29

seems like you can mix Voodoo + OCLF will double the effect of LagFix. Wonder how true it is

Please advise.

CODE
Display: 52%
Cell standby: 26%
Android System: 9%
Android OS: 3%
Phone Idle: 3%
aCircuit Board: 3%
Android Core Apps: 2%
Market: 2% (just opened to download Spare Parts)

Since last unplugged:
Running (100.0%)
Screen on (50.6%)
Wifi On (68.1%)
Wifi Running (67.7%)

As for the lagfix, I gotta hold on first, as I haven't apply the 3-button recovery patch. Then I still haven't fully decide on OCLF or Voodoo, seeing that my battery is crap here. hmm.gif

Thanks smile.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 10:49 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Oct 4 2010, 10:42 AM)
seems like your wifi is on AND running most of the time..... and you always open your display....
Yeah, as I claimed earlier, I left the wifi on during PC USB charging and unplug.

But on the same occasion yesterday, which I haven't reinstall WhatsApp (and Tango), I had the Wifi on and I left the phone unplugged since Friday night, around 2am, I think. And left Wifi connected & in standby by my bedside until morning. It was still showing 90% + when I woke up. Forgot the exact figure, but it was nice to know that the battery still on the high side after a few hours.

As for my screen... I think that has to do with the constant Gtalk + WhatsApping earlier when I reached office. That was after I reported my 1st battery status earlier. But now, the battery is 50%.

The system is getting freaking slow now... *sweat*
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 10:50 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
Seems like some bad apps is preventing your phone from Sleeping, so even the screen is off, the phone is still running, hence the 100% on running.

Try to reboot and then let it iddle for half an hour, check the running again.
Just rebooted. Let see if it'll last me until 6pm later. laugh.gif

Sorry for hogging the forum with my battery status. Hope most of you, if not everyone, would find this useful...at least a bit. blush.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 11:45 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(dannyng @ Oct 4 2010, 11:32 AM)

I go to Account in phone settings and disable the sync, and when my friend use Whatsup and send me sms,
i still can received the sms (incoming SMS). So what is the different to disable and enale the sync?

Cheers,

Danny
If you click on the sync entry, it says sync the contact on WhatsApp. If you notice, in your phone's contact display option, there's a new entry for WhatsApp, which will automatically linked to your current address book's entries on related people.

I guess if you don't sync them, if any of the new users, which happen to belong in your address book, won't shows up in your WhatsApp. Hence you can't start a conversation with them.

This is just my guess, but you can try it out and let me know. At least this program's contact detecting works much better than Tango's.

Added on October 4, 2010, 11:46 am
QUOTE(sengasdf @ Oct 4 2010, 11:44 AM)
Kinda regret already, but already passed, so just deal with it
Not to be a wet blanket. Could it be AP unit?

Did you get it off Samsung outlets or just any phone stalls?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Oct 4 2010, 11:46 AM
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 11:58 AM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(dannyng @ Oct 4 2010, 11:56 AM)
Thanks, my guess is the same. By any chance you know if we did not send/received any sms, Whatsapp still using
any data (it's running though)?

Cheers,

Danny
Only 1 solution, keep checking your WhatsApp Network Usage info, after you disable the sync. rclxms.gif

Sorry if this doesn't really work out. My data utilisation is still way below, despite just 500mb package. So I don't really bother if it use or not (at least for this month). blush.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 12:06 PM

2,962 posts

sengasdf, hope you got everything fixed up and flash to the fw that you want.

BTW, does US has Galaxy S I9000? Doesn't theirs called Captivate or something? Which doesn't come with front facing camera.
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 12:12 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Oct 4 2010, 12:07 PM)
great reference for gps settings here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=732030

is it safe to off the Secure Socket?
Actually, secure or not, I don't really bother. Unless ISA wanna trace me. Hahaha.

Even if ISA wanna find me, I better go off the net/wire/tech, to be safe.

So, just location information, secured/encrypted or not, don't care la. Besides, without encryption, it reduces the overheads/data packet size, although minimal.

BTW, I followed the instructions given. Not sure if it improves my GPS locking speed, cause all the while, it's acceptable for me for the A-GPS to lock. No complain on it and I tried not to use it too, cause accuracy down the drain one. tongue.gif

Don't want to be driving on the Malacca Straights like I did last time when I was cruising on the coast of Penang Island using my trusty E66's GPS. tongue.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 12:13 PM

2,962 posts

^^^ Whoa, sengasdf can flash his to Froyo already! biggrin.gif
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 12:34 PM

2,962 posts

QUOTE(VinceLee @ Oct 4 2010, 12:15 PM)
so how about changing NTP_SERVER in system/etc/gps.conf:
us.pool.ntp.org to my.pool.ntp.org
???

I think I've done up until this step only, which is to change the host where you update your location information to.
http://www.samsunggalaxysforum.com/samsung...sg1584/#msg1584

As for the rest of the info regarding usable in US only, I didn't bother. blush.gif

Ty this 1 first and see how it goes?
Harddisk
post Oct 4 2010, 02:46 PM

2,962 posts

Phone charging. Left 3%. lol.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:51 AM