126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V5, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

ameeru_aniki
post Oct 6 2010, 08:56 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Oct 6 2010, 08:17 AM)
wwhich one is better papago or ndrive...papago seems to be have very little menu to use to compare to garmin
about the same i guess....

but when it comes down to maps... i prefer papago as it uses maps from malsingfreemaps team.
that is why i prefer garmin.... in which not available for sgs yet.....

kaeru_83
post Oct 6 2010, 09:11 AM

81 posts

Sorry for bringing out the old thread discussion from V2...
Just wondering where someone mentioned on the "samsung hdmi cable microusb to hdmi" cable...
and mengsuan replied...

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jul 30 2010, 05:16 AM)
Yes, and it works using Nokia's cable also.
May i know which Nokia Cable? HDMI output or just normal Composite Cable? where to get? any sellers here in this forum??
Bap3
post Oct 6 2010, 09:14 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Oct 6 2010, 08:56 AM)
about the same i guess....

but when it comes down to maps... i prefer papago as it uses maps from malsingfreemaps team.
that is why i prefer garmin.... in which not available for sgs yet.....
i read somewhere in garmin forums that looks like garmin will not make garmin apps for other android platform except for linux based G60...i'm hope some garmin will rethink about that because android is on the move right now!!
Crossover
post Oct 6 2010, 09:27 AM

865 posts

QUOTE(kaeru_83 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:11 AM)
Sorry for bringing out the old thread discussion from V2...
Just wondering where someone mentioned on the "samsung hdmi cable microusb to hdmi" cable...
and mengsuan replied...
May i know which Nokia Cable? HDMI output or just normal Composite Cable? where to get? any sellers here in this forum??
U can get those cable in tesco.. very cheap.

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:14 AM)
i read somewhere in garmin forums that looks like garmin will not make garmin apps for other android platform except for linux based G60...i'm hope some garmin will rethink about that because android is on the move right now!!
Dude, imho, i used most GPS platform... in the end. Garmin still the best and user friendly as well. I think Garmin for Asus (which is a android device) does come with Garmin as reported in the previous thread by other. So i guess there might be a chance available in other Android, just a matter of demand/market only.

This post has been edited by Crossover: Oct 6 2010, 09:28 AM
VinceLee
post Oct 6 2010, 09:31 AM

189 posts

I am using an IM called Trillian, quite good

This post has been edited by VinceLee: Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM
Harddisk
post Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:14 AM)
Yup, that was an old news. Garmin ditching mobile phone devices. That's why I was clinging hard to my Symbian's Garmin. But once you've used Garmin Nuvi, you wanna ditch Symbian's Garmin. It is simply too slow and always miss the turn.

I've just tested routing using Maps [brut], from home to work. The pointer location was more updated than when I use Papago. When I'm under the bridge, it shows I'm under the bridge, unlike Papago. It only shows I'm under the bridge after I've went through under the overhead bridge.

Besides that, Papago has a weird problem. It wasn't able to distinguish normal road & flyover, hence giving me wrong route from time to time. If anyone is heading towards Ara Damansara from Shah Alam/Subang Jaya via airport road, you'll notice this problem when you are at the Saujana traffic lights. Papago, at last minute, will ask you to go straight and take the long route using the roundabout, when I was about to reach the traffic lights.

I'm not sure it's Papago problem, or the alignment of the map from MFM has lari. Cause like I said earlier, Papago only shows me going under the bridge when I've already came out from the bridge.

jujx
post Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Oct 6 2010, 09:27 AM)
Dude, imho, i used most GPS platform... in the end. Garmin still the best and user friendly as well. I think Garmin for Asus (which is a android device) does come with Garmin as reported in the previous thread by other. So i guess there might be a chance available in other Android, just a matter of demand/market only.
Hopefully some1 from XDA manage to extract the garmin from A10 then port to All other andriod devices! biggrin.gif
turion64
post Oct 6 2010, 09:48 AM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM)
Hopefully some1 from XDA manage to extract the garmin from A10 then port to All other andriod devices! biggrin.gif
cant wait for that day!
Bap3
post Oct 6 2010, 09:51 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Oct 6 2010, 09:32 AM)
yea...hope some devs will rip it off and port it rclxms.gif
alvinz
post Oct 6 2010, 09:55 AM

832 posts

just came in to report my battery status ........
usage: quite an amount of text, roughly 15% brightness, low amount of wifi <30mins, no games, alot typing on memo app. phone was mostly left idle

Unplugged for 4days 15hrs 51mins 42secs .... thumbup.gif

current status 6% ... roar!!
janov
post Oct 6 2010, 09:59 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Oct 6 2010, 09:55 AM)
usage: quite an amount of text, roughly 15% brightness, low amount of wifi <30mins, no games, alot typing on memo app. phone was mostly left idle

wahlau eh....sounds like you're using the extended version of the battery, the 3000mAh one, most i ever got out of the SGS is around 2days, 4days without charging sounds like fantasy dude!! wat firmware are you using? any special app to help with your battery usage?
lch78
post Oct 6 2010, 10:13 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Oct 6 2010, 10:55 AM)

I think screen brightness settings does help saves battery. I remember at first I was using 42% brightness, then I change to 30% brightness, and I did notice a difference in battery life.... So does using 2G rather than 3G. hmm.gif
hxcpride
post Oct 6 2010, 10:24 AM

Toyol Mabuk
612 posts

so are you guys mostly Using Papago or Ndrive?? im probably the only one here that only using google map laugh.gif
ameeru_aniki
post Oct 6 2010, 10:36 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(hxcpride @ Oct 6 2010, 10:24 AM)
so are you guys mostly Using Papago or Ndrive??  im probably the only one here that only using google map laugh.gif
don't use Google maps unless u have unlimited data plan...

Google maps use data, which will suck u wallet dry....

I use both..... Papago X5 n Ndrive10-> not at same time, of course.

This post has been edited by ameeru_aniki: Oct 6 2010, 10:45 AM
janov
post Oct 6 2010, 10:52 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(ameeru_aniki @ Oct 6 2010, 10:36 AM)
don't use Google maps unless u have unlimited data plan...

Google maps use data, which will suck u wallet dry....

I use both..... Papago X5 n Ndrive10.
I use Brut, navigation is quite good but out of curiousity how often does one needs to use GPS Navigation? Do one still use it to go to work when they already know the directions to work? i probably only use it when i need to find a new place and when that happens, i always make preperations by using a PC to find the new location i am searching for. besides, the nevigation even on a Garmin device is not that accurate. many times when someone is using it i can find faster ways to reach the destination cos i know where are the short cuts and less jammed roads or roads that avoid toll. maybe at first when we get our sgs its nice to play with the gps but for me, i usually hardly use my gps for navigation cos im not going to a new place everyday, if anything we can roughly know how to get nearby the place we are looking for even without the gps, its just that when we are nearby we might need some help from the device but most of the time i find asking for directions the best bet
Jason
post Oct 6 2010, 10:55 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Oct 6 2010, 09:27 AM)
Garmin won't make it available for iPhone or other Androids, as they want to make sure their Garmin Asus Phones sells... otherwise no more unique selling proposition for their own branded phones..

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Oct 6 2010, 09:51 AM)
yea...hope some devs will rip it off and port it rclxms.gif
not going to happen, somehow XDA has been blocked from re-engineering Garmin
(i don't know why considering everything XDA do is technically illegal e.g. hacking the firmware)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...980&postcount=5
kmrdeva
post Oct 6 2010, 11:00 AM

4,776 posts

Whoa! Fring video calling over 3G/HSDPA works pretty well..

I just had a nice video conversation with my friend on Maxis network (I'm on Digi).

P/S Something us SGS users can do that HTC Desire users can't, haha..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Oct 6 2010, 11:02 AM

Bap3
post Oct 6 2010, 11:17 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 6 2010, 10:55 AM)
Garmin won't make it available for iPhone or other Androids, as they want to make sure their Garmin Asus Phones sells... otherwise no more unique selling proposition for their own branded phones..
not going to happen, somehow XDA has been blocked from re-engineering Garmin
(i don't know why considering everything XDA do is technically illegal e.g. hacking the firmware)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...980&postcount=5
oh snap!!!...thinking on the bright sight...googles will not permit garmin overcome their Gmaps tho' tongue.gif
sengasdf
post Oct 6 2010, 11:18 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Oct 6 2010, 11:00 AM)
Whoa! Fring video calling over 3G/HSDPA works pretty well..

I just had a nice video conversation with my friend on Maxis network (I'm on Digi).

P/S Something us SGS users can do that HTC Desire users can't, haha..
Which service is it? I mean it is msn? google or own fring service?
kmrdeva
post Oct 6 2010, 11:19 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Oct 6 2010, 11:18 AM)
Which service is it? I mean it is msn? google or own fring service?
Own fring service. I don't msn on the phone.

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:30 AM