dreamer101
post May 22 2005, 03:16 PM

15,855 posts

HI Kii,

Just an interesting test.. What would you say of you get this response...

QUOTE(Kii @ May 22 2005, 02:41 PM)
*I'm not too keen with computer's application but I'm thinking of taking part time courses to improve.

So, what you are saying is you have not taken any concrete step to address this weakness now. What makes you think you will do anything different in the future??

*Although I don't have much experience in this field but I think it's really interesting and I am willing to learn.

So, since you say you think this field is interesting, please tell me what you done so far to learn more about this interesting field??

*Since I'm a fresh graduate, lack of experience is my weakness but I won't hesitate to ask and learn from others. 

Heh, I had interviewed quite a few fresh graduates and they had taken the trouble to get some exposure to this area in spite of their heavy study schedule. Why you have not done the same?? If you were not motivated to learn on your own in the past, why should I believe that you will act differently in the future??

Please noted that I had lived and worked in USA for a long time. So, I am very Americanized. If you apply to work in some companies that are American culture based, you may get this kind of response to your answers...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: May 22 2005, 03:20 PM
dreamer101
post May 22 2005, 03:32 PM

15,855 posts

Some time, the best and correct answer is "I do not know" instead trying to B.S. someone...

This is a very normal technique that I used when I interview some new people and trying to decide whether to work with someone.. I will ask question after question until the level of technicality of the question reach to a point that I know the person will not know the answer. Then, at that point, from the answer, I will know whether the person has the integrity or honesty of telling me the truth aka "I do not know". If the person will not tell you the truth when he/she do not know the answer, I either will not work with the person or I will be very careful on anything that I hear from the person.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post May 22 2005, 08:46 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 22 2005, 06:39 PM)
Actually I think b4 an interview, it is important to do some homework on the job I am applying to... I think the most important part of interview is to show the employer we hv done some homework b4.. Am i right?

Whether you done your homework on the particular job, it will show up on the interview.. Preparation is important...

Anyways, another question I frequently came across here is... What kind of person you can't actually get along with??

I always tell them I can't work with irresponsible kind of ppl.. but after some thoughts... I figured, should we tell them I can't work with xxx and yyy type of ppl.. Or should we tell them, I hv no problem working with anyone... Unless they really dislike me...

The answer is the goal is to get the job done.. I will find a way to get the job regardless of what kind of person that I work with.. Getting along is irrelevant..

What should you care whether someone like you or not?? It is a job and you get pay.. In fact, some time, people liking each other make the job a lot of harder..

Another thing I wanna ask is, should we remain serious during the interview or should we smile often? Even when answering question??

Cuz I hv a tendency of smiling all the time...
Be yourself. If someone cannot stand you smiling all the time, let's find out during the interview as opposed after you work on the job for a while..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post May 23 2005, 06:34 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 23 2005, 05:04 PM)
Hi there joblisted and dreamer, do you hv a few minutes to spare?

Actually I am an undergrad now I have been applying for internship here in UK for a very long time.. I hv been getting no response previously although I hv submitted 10s of application.. however, for those jobs that needs a cover letter, I get response back from back and they even arranged any interview ... I am juz curious can you review my cover letter so that I noe what is attracting them? Then I can emphasize more on that point?

I juz do some simple mod to my CV so I dun think my CV is the main attraction for them.. thanks !!

A) Actually, IMHO, who you know make a hell of difference than anything else.. Why don't you contact people that are your senior and it is currently working now to see whether there is any internship opportunity??

cool.gif Are you in good term with any of you lecturer/professor?? If yes, can they introduce you to some where for an internship??

C) "What color is your parachute" is a very good book for job hunting.. You should go to library and pick up a copy to read...

I am not a strong believer in cover letter and CV/Resume.. I had worked for 20 years and only one out of the ten jobs that I found is through responding to advertisement with cover letter and CV/Resume...

Anyhow, if you want me to review your copver letter and CXV/Resume, just send me an message and inclue the CV and cover letter in the message via this forum.. But, as I said again, I am Americanized so my style may not fit the UK style of companies..

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: May 23 2005, 06:36 PM
dreamer101
post May 24 2005, 06:23 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 23 2005, 06:53 PM)

Regardless, the system here is that, you hv to do everything yourself for looking for an intern... haha....

Why?? System is designed for average people. Do not be average. Beat the system so that you get above average result..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post May 25 2005, 08:46 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 25 2005, 05:18 AM)

Because I believe most of the people would be preparing for those things above....

You are wrong!!! Most people are lazy and they never come prepared for a job interview..

Hard working and motivated type always beat the smart and lazy type..

There is a famous quote..

"The world is full of talented failures"

Dreamer
dreamer101
post May 26 2005, 09:41 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 26 2005, 07:17 AM)
Yea, juz got back from the interview.. TO my suprise, the lady told us out of so many applications, only 5 were selected for the interview.... And I am still quick surprised how I got the interview in the first place...

Anyways, the interview went pretty well for the 2nd half, as for the first half, due to all those formalities, I was quite nervous despite I have been practising in front of the mirror yesterday... And some questions, i can answer them better but I didn't.. well, we learn from experience...

Hmm, they are all very friendly people and they told me they are surprise d by me that I did so much research on HP.. (their previous CEO which is Fiorina, current CEO, revenue for the past few years, the business partner, they core business, how many branch they have and etc... ) They told me I done quite a good job for doing some "homework" (They really told me "well, u did ur homework huh...")

I didn't answer that well for some of the question because I still feel alittle  bit nervous.. On the 2nd half of the interview which is the technical part, another 2 person interviewed me and they only asked me some basic question.... However, some of the question I didn't answer that correct...haiks....But then again, in my CV I included some of the other curricular activities such as I am learning on my own some simple japanese and I told them something about the cultures in japan such as japs are very loyal and they wan to be treated with respect.. (then to another surprise, they told me I am right as one of the main business partner is japs....)

THe interview went pretty well and its not that serious, they did joke around with me and I did joke around abit with them (I dunno its appropriate or not when thinking back now.....I smile alot too ..)

And I think its very important to be honest cuz I directly tell them I am not good in ee stuff and they also didn't make any fuss out of that...

Generally, I think this interview really is very helpful, I learnt alot of things from them.. Regardless of I get the interview or not, I really learnt alot ... Hopefully the information i shared out will help some one not to make the same mistake..

And dreamer, joblisted, thanks for ur help smile.gif

If u find anything I can improve above, juz tell me, I'll be having another interview with another company soon....

If you hit it off with some of the interviewer, did you ask for their business card?? If they ask why, you can say regardless of whether you get this job or not, you would like to stay in contact and get some advice about this industry. Ask them whether this will be okay...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post May 27 2005, 09:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 27 2005, 06:09 AM)
Actually I was taking a bath juz now and a question strikes my head...

*sorry arr, me really is a problem child...

Anyways, from an employer POV, I have told them that beside I noe the things in my studies, I have also written some program and done some extra reading and even taken the step to learn some simple japanese language... And they didn't ask for any prove regarding the things I mentioned above...

Why izzit like that? They juz trust wut a person say like that?? I am curious why isn't it required for me to prove to them I actually noe the things mentioned above? I can juz lie that I noe xxx and yyy (of course not lying overly la...)

Two possibilities:

A) You had earned their trust by the way that you presented yourself.. If you are interested in learning more on how to earn trust. Search on "Orange Juice Test" and "Gerald M. Weinberg"

B ) Those items are irrelevant to them aka they do not care..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 1 2005, 09:59 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(cHlOe^Love @ May 31 2005, 04:12 PM)
I have a question: Is that the interviewer expect the candidates to speaks a lot? 'Coz i had attend an interview, after i tell them my opinion, then i just sit there quietly, and the interviewer ask me: You didnt talk much huh?!

From my experience, in general, when the interviewer talk more than me (the applicant), I tend to get a job offer..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 1 2005, 10:01 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ May 31 2005, 07:10 PM)
Haih.. sad story, juz got my reply for my inter from HP... haih.. why dun they reject me directly? haih....

This is the content of the letter .. haih...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately at present, HP's cost restraints cannot support the hiring of any new employees which includes new interns. We cannot currently make any offers to students, the best we can do is review the situation in a months time. 

Please do not take this as a rejection as we felt you were a very strong candidate, but if in the mean time you find another position, please do take the opportunity as we are not sure what the financial status will be after the review. 

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for you interest in HP and for attending the interview. It was a pleasure to meet you, good luck in your exams and in finding a suitable intern position. 
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Haih.. sad sad sad.... but wut to do..hehe.. life goes on ~~

HP is being very professional. Most places will not even send you a rejection lettter ASAP..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 1 2005, 10:03 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 31 2005, 04:19 PM)
I too have a question, Where do you see yourself in 10 years? tongue.gif

Rich, happy, still doing fun and interesting things...

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Jun 1 2005, 10:19 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(TYK @ Jun 1 2005, 10:05 PM)
Do you know the logic behind this? Pls share......

The interviewer is anxious to "sell" their company to you aka they want to convince you to join them...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 1 2005, 10:23 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(TYK @ Jun 1 2005, 10:06 PM)
You sure this won't impact the impression on the interviewer??

Good company do not want to hire a failure... If you are good, you will be successful.. If the interviewer react negatively to this answer, it means they cannot handle people that are confident and successful. Then, the answer will be do you want to work for this kind of company??

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 2 2005, 12:43 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(cHlOe^Love @ Jun 2 2005, 12:46 AM)

Well, during the past interview that i am attend, normally they ask me to introduce myself. Well, normally i just tell them my name, age, the University and the which field of my degree holder. I think it's quite less though, so i just talk something about the activities during my school life. Then i just smile to them. From this point, is that i still need to talk another things else? 'Coz sometimes the interviews seems like wait me to continue my story, as i had already finish up my story. Any opinion on that?

If you do your homework/research, this will be a good time to talk about wehat you know about the company and why you think you can contribute to this company.

QUOTE(cHlOe^Love @ Jun 2 2005, 12:46 AM)

Another question: What is your career plan? Oh oh.. How to answer huh?!

My answer which may or may not be usable for you is I do not believe in career plan. I believe in capabilities and skills. If I have the capabilities to learn, communicate (listen, talk, and teach), lead, and coach.I will be adaptable to whatever the future holds. I had held 10 different jobs in different area/industries for 20 years. And, that is my philosophy.

A short version will be as long as I know how to make a lot of money for an employer, I wll be employable.. So, my plan is to learn how to make money..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 16 2005, 05:19 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(DreamScar @ Jun 15 2005, 04:49 PM)
it's true and i know it's not a good answer. that's why i was hoping to have an opinion on what else can i say. i did include that i took the time to think about what i want to do in life.

If it is true, why do you think it is not a good answer?? All you have to said is you are very close to you aunt and she is like a mother to you. As an employer, what we would want to know is going forward do you still have this kind of commitment??

Truth is always better than lies.. It is less troublesome too and it put you in a moral high ground.

You are not the only one in the world that has older familiy member to take care of...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 16 2005, 08:56 PM
dreamer101
post Jun 18 2005, 08:16 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(providence @ Jun 18 2005, 12:24 AM)

But, if u run into companies that are hardsellling and dont accept no as an answer,
you better not answer them like that bcause they basically dont care about your personal problems. Its either u give full commitment to your work or your family.

Why?? For those company,

1) You do not want to work for them

2) Even if you work for them, eventually you will have problem witth the company because you need time to deal with your family.

So, honesty saves time and trouble. It stops you for wasting time on a company that you do not want to work for..

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Jun 18 2005, 08:19 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(providence @ Jun 18 2005, 12:24 AM)
Maybe its better to tell them that u prefer not to mention more about your problems, Just tell them its personal matters and its already been solved.

Some companies will have sympathy on u and try to help u as much as they can. One they know thats it regarding family problems, they will stop asking and proceed to other questions.

But, if u run into companies that are hardsellling and dont accept no as an answer,
you better not answer them like that bcause they basically dont care about your personal problems. Its either u give full commitment to your work or your family.

You may or may not believe me. After working for 20 years, I found that it is just not worthwhile to lie. Honesty is the best policy...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jun 18 2005, 08:26 AM
dreamer101
post Jun 21 2005, 02:42 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(providence @ Jun 18 2005, 10:01 AM)
Yup, lying will never help you much, thats why u need to check out about the company that u are going to work for - about their background.

BTW, since u have been working for 20 years +, I think u should be experienced enough to balance time between your work and personal/family matters.

Good Luck flex.gif

I am sorry to tell you that years of experience does not help in balancing time between work, family and health. It will always be a tough struggle...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jun 24 2005, 09:25 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(jsm @ Jun 23 2005, 11:44 PM)
A Muslim lady is not supposed to have physical contact with men outside her immediate family, many people believe that includes handshakes.  Some women do not care about this and will shake hands with a man.  It is best to respect a Muslim lady and let her offer her hand first instead of sticking your hand out and making her feel awkward if she doesn't wish to shake your hand.  Some Muslim women may shake a males hand but they first put a piece of fabric between the hands to avoid real contact.
Hi Jsm,

Is this specific to Malay lady?? Generally, I do not shake hand or have any physical contact with Asian lady unless it is offerred by the lady first...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Jul 11 2005, 10:05 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ Jul 10 2005, 06:32 PM)
Why your expected salary is RM XXXX?

Do you think you worth that amount of salary?
if yes, why you think you worth?
if no, how much salary you think you worth?

You never tell the company what is your expected salary. You let the company to make the first offer. In any type of negotiation, whoever make the first offer loses..

Dreamer

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0455sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:11 PM