Standard Questions during Interview

boringpig
post Mar 30 2006, 12:46 PM

1,344 posts

Hi everyone,

I'll be going for an interview with Ericsson next Monday. They are recruiting Trainer (3G if I remember correctly). This would be my 2nd formal interview. The previous one was a Taiwan-based game development company, which the interview was conducted in his native-Mandarin and my broken-Mandarin. It was sort of a chatting rather than a serious interview. My uncle sent in my resume for me because he used to work there. The interviewers will mostly ask for a short presentation.

Currently, I am taking MCSE under government grant and would like to finish it first and it still has around 1 and a half month which I had stated in my resume. If the interviewer(s) do not ask, is it necessary for me to speak it out? When they ask for my weaknesses, I've been advised to be honestly but try to turn my weaknesses into something that can helps motivated me. I've searched the information/background/services offered of the company. Now, I'm worrying about the questions about myself and stuffs like that such as, how do you think you'll fit in the position. I have no prior experience in giving training.

Anyway, I planned to wear pantsuit and blouse for interview but still can't figure out what should I bring. A simple briefcase (looks similar to those typical, black notebook bag), or just a handbag and my documents in a plastic folder or just a brown envelope?

boringpig
post Mar 30 2006, 09:29 PM

1,344 posts

Yeah, my uncle to talked to me during the dinner about the interview.. something like preview lah but I'm not expecting him to tell me what kind of questions they're going to ask. I just told him, I'll answer when ask. xD

No, I'll definitely would not wear like that. laugh.gif But anyway, I've decided to don a white blouse with simple pink vertical pattern (not to "flower-ry") and a black pantsuit and the shoe.. not sure what that is called, a cover-toe "shoe".. Although I had read from some source that it is better to wear those so-called professional colour (dark tone) like black, grey, etc. but I feel like I'm too "dark" if I wear so. About the bag, I've finally found my black leather briefcase-like bag after digging for it in my wardrobe! rclxms.gif

Can you tell me what are those questions that interviewees should ask?
1) When can I expect the outcome of the interview?
other that 'expect', any other better word to replace it?
2) Can you tell me more about the job?
3) What kind of training that will be provided if I'm selected for the job or what kind of trainings that I can expect from the company?
I think the first should sound better and more polite, what do you think?
4) Anything else?

Thanks again.

This post has been edited by boringpig: Mar 30 2006, 09:30 PM
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 10:43 AM

1,344 posts

What should I tell them when they ask for my expected salary? Is this - "As I'm a fresh graduate without prior experience, I am not so sure ... bla bla bla", okay?

Thanks!
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 12:17 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 11:45 AM)
The same question also appears in same application.  sweat.gif
what do you mean? unsure.gif rolleyes.gif
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 07:39 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 12:27 PM)
I meant the two questions from your two previous posts also appeared in the application form for a job in some companies.

1. Expected salary.
2. Salary from your previous job(s).
Oh, sorry. Well, I guess these are the normal of "must-ask" questions in every interview.

QUOTE(musangpulut @ Mar 31 2006, 02:36 PM)
I manage to secure 2nd round interview at perodua next tuesday..just now call me that there is another exec position option for me..and that mean a related-to-my-course-position  aiya..has to go to Rawang again.....
Congrats! Wish you best of luck and all the best! rclxms.gif
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 09:20 PM

1,344 posts

Not sure if anyone notice this article in The Star today. Just in time for my interview next week. laugh.gif There are five BIG questions which had been discussed in the thread earlier. Well, not sure if I can post it here. If not please let me know.
What are you strength?
Think ahead of what you will say if they ask you that question. During an interview my daughter was asked this question in a different way. Her question was "what would your colleagues least like about you?" For a question like this, it may be wise to turn negative trait into a positive characteristics.

For instance, if you are impatient then it will be good to say that you are impatient with people who are not focused and disciplined about work. You are impatient with people who do not meet work deadlines. If you are disorganised, use the creative card to say that you are more rightbrain that left and there is order in you chaos.

Why should we hire you?
Here are some of the possible answers you can say with conviction: a quick learner, highly motivated, willing to accept challenges, focused about learning new things, willing to travel, will not watch the clock, will be willing to work anywhere, have the ability to get along with people, have good communication skills, have leadership skills, very disciplined, have great energy to work in order to learn something new, etc.

Where do you see yourself in five years down the line?
You must talk about what you want to do or dream about doing, even if in reality you change your mind after two years and it does not happen. The point here is to have a plan of action.

What was the hardest think you have ever faced in you life?
This question calls for personal experiences and ther interviewer wants to know if you are capable of making hard choices and surviving tough times. You can talk about failing exams or not making the grade in getting the course you want, and having to make do with a second choice. It could be having to work and study, and struggling to make ends meet.

Article by Datin T. D. Ampikaipakan
Featured on The Star's StarTwo - Lifestyle (Pg. T26)

The rest of the article featured a few real-life interview experiences and some advices such as be prepared for surprises, e.g. an employer once asked the interviewee how M&M's were made. blink.gif The last phrase; "In the end, the interviewer wants to know whether you can keep cool and think logically. The answer is irrelevant. Go out there and get the job!" rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by boringpig: Mar 31 2006, 09:21 PM
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 10:56 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(crystal_kit85 @ Mar 31 2006, 10:50 PM)
Very good input you have there, thanks for posting it up. It has enlightened me a lot. I have been to some interviews during my college break, the toughest question that i have encounter would be the question about " Tell me about your strength and weaknesses". I am like OMG, i can't be telling him about my downside, but by the end of the day i manage to get through the interview process.
Lol.. those are the questions that I'm still struggling to find out the way to answer it! How did you answered that? Mind to share? Thanks!
QUOTE(one.good.guy @ Mar 31 2006, 10:55 PM)
1. when can I expect to hear from you?
2. be more specific. if u ask that, I also cincai  answer. u may want to ask job scope or the hierarchy level.
3. urs is ok.
4. eh, u gonna ask ur interviewer that question? cool! let me know how they reply.

well, few more days to ur big day. keep us updated k? have a nice weekend!
nolah.. I'm actually asking you guys if there is any other questions that I should ask at the end of the interview. laugh.gif

My first interview. Don't want to goof up my chances.

This post has been edited by boringpig: Mar 31 2006, 11:00 PM
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 11:01 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 10:57 PM)
I guess everybody has its own unique way of answering this kind of very subjective question.
Yeah, I know. Trying to get some ideas to create my own. Haha XD
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 11:07 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 11:04 PM)
Well, it may not suit you as my weaknesses might not be your weakness or vice versa. Try to be original. biggrin.gif
Nolah, I'm not trying to copy all the weaknesses of others to make it my own. Just want to see they way they answered and try to get some idea how to answer mine. Well, I'm constructing my list of Q&A's. xD
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 11:15 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 11:10 PM)
I didn't say that you're copying. What I meant that this type of questions can be considered as spontantaneous type of questions ... and you might not be giving the same set of "scripted" answer for each interview you went for. Got what I meant?
Yeah, I know what you mean. Construct a list of Q&A's to practise but not expecting that I'll be getting the same set of questions.
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 11:37 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 11:21 PM)
Good effort but it's might be a very wide scope. Some interviews are short and direct to points while others are very comprehensive which they ask from A to Z.

It's also differs on who is interviewing you; HR staffs, manager, technical personnel.
Yup. Wanna prepare myself to answering questions. Haha laugh.gif
boringpig
post Mar 31 2006, 11:49 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 31 2006, 11:43 PM)
Usually technical interview/questions are tough where they asked something you learnt 3-5 years ago and you can't recall even tough you prepared for it or you didn't prepare at all.

For questions from HR person, you may still use your creative skills to come out with an on-the-spot answer.
Hopefully, there would not be too many of these kind of questions. laugh.gif

Time for bed~ Nitey nitez~
boringpig
post Apr 1 2006, 06:25 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(crystal_kit85 @ Apr 1 2006, 04:59 PM)
To boringpig,

To be honest i didn't know how i did it but i just came out with it spontaneously, just try to use your strength and manipulate it into your weakness where by the end of the day the interviewer himself couldn't figure out if that answer is really a weakness or not. Kind of hard to explain look through this website for further understanding >> http://www.businessweek.com/careers/conten...position=link18
Do you mean manipulate weaknesses into a strength value? unsure.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by boringpig: Apr 1 2006, 06:26 PM
boringpig
post Apr 3 2006, 12:43 AM

1,344 posts

I'm going to interview at 12 noon today.. should be going out early around 9 am, scared later I wander off to somewhere else instead of Cyberjaya. Anyway, few days earlier were still okay. Now beginning to feel nervous. sweat.gif
boringpig
post Apr 3 2006, 02:57 PM

1,344 posts

Back!

Finally realised, malaysia's road sign cannot be totally trusted! I had found my way to Cyberjaya though but there was not enough signs and I exited Cyberjaya and into Putrajaya when there is a road sign showing the way to Cyberjaya.. hidden among the branches of trees. Again, went through Putrajaya, exited and into Cyberjaya. It will take me more than an hour to go there if I was not driving at 130 along the NKVE.

Back to the topic. I went in there. It was a meeting room with a long oval table and lots of chairs. Three persons interviewed me which I think quite funny.. a Chinese, a Indian and a Malay, all middle-aged man. Only the Chinese and Indian spoke a lot.
  • Tell us about yourself.
  • What had you studied?
  • Have you been exposed to systems like Unix, Solaris, etc.?
  • Have you been working with networking. If yes, what types of signaling did you use?
  • What is your ambition? Do you have plan before to be a trainer?

Then they Indian guy was like trying to scared me by trying to tell me about the things a trainer will experienced, pressures, commitment, etc. Then asked, "Do you still want to do this?"

The interview lasted for 30 minutes. At the end, the Chinese guy told me they will call me in 2 weeks time, if I'm selected, for a second interview which will be interview by their boss and HR manager. Finally, when they asked if I have any question to ask.. I asked how did I present myself. Kinda embarassing though. The Chinese guy said I'm kinda nervous as he saw me hold my bag so tightly but overall they said I did answered my questions well which I do not think so.

Well, just hope that I'll do better next time! laugh.gif
boringpig
post Apr 3 2006, 07:55 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Apr 3 2006, 04:49 PM)
boringpig,

it's time for you to compose a follow-up email now. send it tomolo morning.. hehehe that's what i've been told by iZuDeeN and David83

having my interview tomolo.. time to read up something from ere... sweat.gif
Hmm... but I was too nervous I guess.. until I had forgotten to get their contact.. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(one.good.guy @ Apr 3 2006, 05:56 PM)
haha. i found the road signs to cyber is ok. but when wanna go back home, teruk. i twice went into putrajaya.

boringpig, good for u for surviving the interview! do look for other jobs in da mean time. gambateh!
I mean, the road signs from KL up to the entrance of Cyberjaya and Putrajaya are fine but when inside, I didn't notice any road name's sign or directional sign indicating different sections in Cyberjaya. I had to make a BIG (it's a real big) turn to go back Cyberjaya and turned into LKW instead of going straight. rclxub.gif
boringpig
post Apr 4 2006, 09:11 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(one.good.guy @ Apr 4 2006, 12:16 AM)
that's true.

but u din get the interviewer email? did u send ur resume using email? if yes, u can use back that email.

otherwise snail mail?
hmm.. no.. my uncle helped me to passed my resume to one of the interviewer..
boringpig
post Feb 2 2007, 10:38 AM

1,344 posts

dunno if this question fits this thread..

i got a call from a company for the post of network support..
had a brief phone interview.. she asked me a question and i got stucked..

she asked: imagine i am a salesperson for nike store, she bought a pair of sport shoe and she has no idea how to tie the shoe lace. i need to guide her by giving her the instructions.

as i;m not expecting these kinda question, i got nervous and i think i screwed up the whole thing.

for anyone here applying for technical support post, any other question similar to the one above?

boringpig
post Feb 5 2007, 10:25 AM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 3 2007, 01:08 AM)
Hahahaha, that's Datacom right? is it for the Netgear, CISCO or D-Link team?
yeah, datacom.. network support specialist..
how did u know?? hehe laugh.gif

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 4 2007, 10:45 PM)
An experienced interviewer will not accept this as an answer, plus it shows you've rehearsed the answer before the interview, AND it tells the interviewer that you didn't really listen to the question. He/she's gonna ask "you've never tied a shoe lace before?" Major deduction points there.

The least you can do is set the expectation, then try to answer the question, or at least what you can do when faced with these kinds of situation and THEN you tell them you're a fast learner and things like that.
i did try to answer that questions with a lot of pauses.. but i think she did tot of asking me to attend a formal interview when she asked me why i put available after June.. then i told her cos i;ve promised my current employer to stay until June as he's short of manpower at the moment.. then she said will inform me of any other available vacancies as that was an immediate vacancy that i'm applying for..

i checked jobstreet today and it's still on posting.. should i re-apply again?
boringpig
post Feb 9 2007, 11:50 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Feb 5 2007, 04:00 PM)
I surprise people that way. Heheh
No, Datacom's pretty efficient in their hiring process. If they didn't call you back, you probably didn't get the position. Don't worry too much about it, it's not a big opportunity you missed.
i guess so..
anyway, Manpower is having a walk-in interview for HP tomorrow at Hilton KL.. anyone going?

0.0177sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:14 AM