99 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Standard Questions during Interview

aicescko
post May 8 2008, 05:58 AM

115 posts

Why do they need us to answer those qs ?
What is your strength and weakness... blablabla.... blink.gif
Will they really look at the answer and hire you ? whistling.gif
epo
post May 8 2008, 09:57 AM

892 posts

10 years ago i went to the easiest interview in my life & as a fresh graduate.

Me : (Knock the door...)
My Boss : Plz come in... Sit down. OK we already read your resume and can u start work on next monday? After this plz see bla bla... He will take u to the clinic for medical check-up. TQ u may go out now...
Me : (Shock... stand up and shake hand... and walk out...)

Oh gosshhhh... no need to say any word. after 10 years on that company now i want to move... i miss my boss who already passed away.

i hope i can face the interview season similar like above again nowadays... hahahaha...
Lowyat
post May 16 2008, 07:22 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

QUOTE(epo @ May 8 2008, 09:57 AM)
10 years ago i went to the easiest interview in my life & as a fresh graduate.

Me : (Knock the door...)
My Boss : Plz come in... Sit down. OK we already read your resume and can u start work on next monday? After this plz see bla bla... He will take u to the clinic for medical check-up. TQ u may go out now...
Me : (Shock... stand up and shake hand... and walk out...)

Oh gosshhhh... no need to say any word. after 10 years on that company now i want to move... i miss my boss who already passed away.

i hope i can face the interview season similar like above again nowadays... hahahaha...
HAHAA...no more such thing..
SUSlittle_mozart
post May 22 2008, 06:56 PM

391 posts

what i supposed to answer if the interviewer asks me

"how much do you like in the programming?'

its for IT job
siren
post May 24 2008, 01:15 AM

395 posts

Hi guys, i have a question. 3 days ago, i went for an interview and the manager asked me whether do I mind if they contact my current and former bosses.

My question is that, should I answer 'Yes' or 'No'? My situation is that I have some conflicts and disagreements with my current boss and I have told him my intention to leave. So, I answered 'Yes', I afraid when the manager call-up my current boss, my boss will surely say something negative about me.

But let's say if i answer him 'No', he will surely ask me why I cant call-up ur current boss since u have already told him u wanted to resign?

I wonder do most companies still practice in calling-up ur current or former bosses to further assess your personality, work performances and so on? However, i think it is true oso that a word that comes from a third party is ten times better than a word that comes from you urself alone.

Any pros here can enlighten me pls? Thanks

This post has been edited by siren: May 24 2008, 01:22 AM
macho_siot
post May 24 2008, 02:23 AM

Ba da la la la
572 posts

thanx for ur info bro...
it help me much...
i copied it..wink.gif
SUSXfX
post May 26 2008, 05:40 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(siren @ May 24 2008, 01:15 AM)
Hi guys, i have a question. 3 days ago, i went for an interview and the manager asked me whether do I mind if they contact my current and former bosses.

My question is that, should I answer 'Yes' or 'No'? My situation is that I have some conflicts and disagreements with my current boss and I have told him my intention to leave. So, I answered 'Yes', I afraid when the manager call-up my current boss, my boss will surely say something negative about me.

But let's say if i answer him 'No', he will surely ask me why I cant call-up ur current boss since u have already told him u wanted to resign?

I wonder do most companies still practice in calling-up ur current or former bosses to further assess your personality, work performances and so on? However, i think it is true oso that a word that comes from a third party is ten times better than a word that comes from you urself alone.

Ya, i oso wanna know...Any sifu can help??

cos last time i argued with my ex-boss then not happy with him, then i resigned but the main reason is that is i could not learn... so when during interview, the interviewer said wanna call my ex-boss to better understand my personality and performance...WTF, damn..my ex-boss sure will talk something negative about me until i cannot get a job... no wonder after 2 weeks no more reply from the interviewer..cos b4 that, the interviewer actually very keen to hire me liao...
kaffra
post May 29 2008, 02:42 AM

643 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ May 5 2008, 11:47 PM)
This one how u answer??
depends on what position you are applying to. if you have some experience in the field just mention it. if you are a fresh grad try to bring some internship/uni project/course which u feel will help in that role.

when this question is asked you should already know what the job requires and what skills are necessary. If not just ask in more detail during the interview.
canny_sam
post Jun 7 2008, 10:56 PM

18 posts

i am freshie from marketing.
wht answer tht the intervewer satisfy when they ask
"What us your ambition?"
any one can tell me what is perfect answer?

Myter
post Jun 11 2008, 04:34 PM

127 posts

hi expert2 LYN ppl...i have a question here...how to describe "tell more about urself" in the best way...coz i always got phone interview and by most of the time im not prepare...so just answer randomly...if can explain step by step..for example:

1. name
2. qualification
3. from wihich uni.
etc...

btw im a fresh graduate
ahaha
post Jun 12 2008, 09:43 AM

122 posts

Best advice.. go for as many interviews as possible.. gain experience then no longer need to worry..

Myself going for my 1st full time job.. went for more than 20 interviews.. even went for some which I didn't really wanted (just for the experience and to gain knowledge of the particular job scope and industry).. eventually got more then 50% success of landing a job but sadly the ones that suited me best were the earlier interviews when I wasn't certain on the job or didn't like the 'package' or wasn't prepared enough.. Luckily found one at last.. Haha

Some advice, for freshie: usually about urself; family, background, education, ambition, character, personality and depending on ur interviewer you will usually be given questions that will test your creativity, temperament, maturity, analytical, computational and critical thinking skills in either informal way (leisurely given question) or formal way (part of a set interviewing process questions)..

What kind of questions?? Depends on the company and interviewer.. No 'set' questions.. This aint a school like subject were there are 'correct' and 'incorrect' answers.. Depends on each individual.. Best way is to try and visualize urself as the employer and think what you will ask ur potential employee..
Myter
post Jun 12 2008, 08:57 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(ahaha @ Jun 12 2008, 09:43 AM)
Best advice.. go for as many interviews as possible.. gain experience then no longer need to worry..

Myself going for my 1st full time job.. went for more than 20 interviews.. even went for some which I didn't really wanted (just for the experience and to gain knowledge of the particular job scope and industry).. eventually got more then 50% success of landing a job but sadly the ones that suited me best were the earlier interviews when I wasn't certain on the job or didn't like the 'package' or wasn't prepared enough.. Luckily found one at last.. Haha

Some advice, for freshie: usually about urself; family, background, education, ambition, character, personality and depending on ur interviewer you will usually be given questions that will test your creativity, temperament, maturity, analytical, computational and critical thinking skills in either informal way (leisurely given question) or formal way (part of a set interviewing process questions)..

What kind of questions?? Depends on the company and interviewer.. No 'set' questions.. This aint a school like subject were there are 'correct' and 'incorrect' answers.. Depends on each individual..  Best way is to try and visualize urself as the employer and think what you will ask ur potential employee..
quite same with me lorr...the job that i want is the 1st interview...LOL...my problem usually on phone interview lor...so sudden and completely unprepare...btw tq for ur advice...still finding suitable jobs hehe..
zc_squash
post Jun 17 2008, 01:48 AM

1,149 posts

Urmph, i am just thinking.... what are the standard questions that the EMPLOYEES would ask the company instead? Suggestions? Well....except the how-much-is-the-salary question.
SUShlteoh
post Jun 21 2008, 06:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Myter @ Jun 11 2008, 04:34 PM)
hi expert2 LYN ppl...i have a question here...how to describe "tell more about urself" in the best way...coz i always got phone interview and by most of the time im not prepare...so just answer randomly...if can explain step by step..for example:

1. name
2. qualification
3. from wihich uni.
etc...

btw im a fresh graduate
Tell me more about yourself....best to start from...

1. University studies background
2. Activities participated
3. Awards won
4. University Projects performed
5. Any volunteer experience
6. Internship ?

Juz my 2 cents view smile.gif
iluvena
post Jun 22 2008, 12:05 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(little_mozart @ May 22 2008, 06:56 PM)
what i supposed to answer if the interviewer asks me

"how much do you like in the programming?'

its for IT job
its up to your personal interest. if you don't like programming, don't take programming jobs.
at the end you're the one who will suffered mentally.
i got a few friends that their hobby is programming. so no problem for this type of ppl.

QUOTE(siren @ May 24 2008, 01:15 AM)

just tell Yes. Sometime they just wanna trick you. If you say No then they will wonder why u refuse to let them call?
just pray that your previous boss didnt say something bad bout u. sometime they will call. but most of the time they won't.

QUOTE(canny_sam @ Jun 7 2008, 10:56 PM)
i am freshie from marketing.
wht answer tht the intervewer satisfy when they ask
"What us your ambition?"
any one can tell me what is perfect answer?
for above question is similar to "what/where you see yourself in 10 years"
tell them you wanna work with their company. gradually get some promotion and end up with being a manager.

This post has been edited by iluvena: Jun 22 2008, 12:13 PM
kaffra
post Jun 24 2008, 01:51 AM

643 posts

QUOTE(Myter @ Jun 11 2008, 04:34 PM)

1. name
2. qualification
3. from wihich uni.
etc...

btw im a fresh graduate
my 2sen.

there are a few different opinions on this. For me with this question is to break the ice. You dont have to repeat everything thats from your cv. Just the highlights. name, qualification and also some interests/internships/previous work experience that is related to the post you are applying for. The interviewer will usually then zoom in to the examples you mentioned, and from there on it gets pretty simple.
SUSXfX
post Jun 24 2008, 11:14 PM

57 posts

How to answer if the employer ask u "How long do u intend to work in this company?"
iluvena
post Jun 25 2008, 06:50 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(XfX @ Jun 24 2008, 11:14 PM)
How to answer if the employer ask u "How long do u intend to work in this company?"
the reason they ask this question is to see whether you're really interested with the opportunity given by them. and not make their company as stepping stone for you to jump to other company within a year.

don't give a number. just answer it in general way.

something like.. i'm going forward to work in this company, get some promotion, give full commitment because this company opened up opprtunity for me to show my skills & capabilities. bla bla blaaa
Myter
post Jun 26 2008, 02:53 AM

127 posts

my 2sen.

there are a few different opinions on this. For me with this question is to break the ice. You dont have to repeat everything thats from your cv. Just the highlights. name, qualification and also some interests/internships/previous work experience that is related to the post you are applying for. The interviewer will usually then zoom in to the examples you mentioned, and from there on it gets pretty simple.

Tell me more about yourself....best to start from...

1. University studies background
2. Activities participated
3. Awards won
4. University Projects performed
5. Any volunteer experience
6. Internship ?

Juz my 2 cents view smile.gif

tq for all ur advice...really help...

i hav another question...at the end of every interview the interviewer always ask if we hav another question to ask them...

so is it ok if i ask them so many things or better i make it easy for them by not asking anything...

LOL my last interview i asked so many things about the jobs that i applied...i think my question to them is more than what they ask me...felt sorry for the interviewer...tongue.gif
iluvena
post Jun 26 2008, 12:09 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(Myter @ Jun 26 2008, 02:53 AM)
tq for all ur advice...really help...

i hav another question...at the end of every interview the interviewer always ask if we hav another question to ask them...

so is it ok if i ask them so many things or better i make it easy for them by not asking anything...

LOL my last interview i asked so many things about the jobs that i applied...i think my question to them is more than what they ask me...felt sorry for the interviewer...tongue.gif
thats the best thing to do. ask everything that come out from your mind.
its the last chance for you to impress your potential employer. ask their org chart, their system, the working environment bla bla bla.
who knows you might working with them.

99 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:32 PM