99 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Standard Questions during Interview

wartevar
post Jan 11 2008, 09:43 AM

170 posts

how long must yr answer be when they ask a specific question? if i answer short compare to other candidates, will it give a bad impression to the interviewers? :s

Added on January 11, 2008, 9:48 amanother thing, i find myself not very good at speech. i tend to be shaky and my sentences will be messed up and I myself couldnt understand what am i saying. this happens alot whenever i talk to anyone including friends.. is there anyway to improve the way i speak? is my command of english bad? i tend to speak manglish all the time. i find it very difficult to communicate with people, caucasion especially.

how am i going to overcome this during the interview?

This post has been edited by wartevar: Jan 11 2008, 09:48 AM
slsl
post Jan 13 2008, 01:00 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(wartevar @ Jan 11 2008, 09:43 AM)
how long must yr answer be when they ask a specific question? if i answer short compare to other candidates, will it give a bad impression to the interviewers? :s

Added on January 11, 2008, 9:48 amanother thing, i find myself not very good at speech. i tend to be shaky and my sentences will be messed up and I myself couldnt understand what am i saying. this happens alot whenever i talk to anyone including friends.. is there anyway to improve the way i speak? is my command of english bad? i tend to speak manglish all the time. i find it very difficult to communicate with people, caucasion especially.

Try to read aloud frequently... improves ur pronounciation...
lonewolf
post Jan 21 2008, 09:29 AM

3,945 posts

how do you write this.."how will the company fit your career objectives?"..what and how to reply this?
Newt0n
post Jan 21 2008, 10:23 AM

56 posts

^ I am confident that I can learn a lot from this company and thus helping me to gain more experience for my career path.
yen1022
post Jan 25 2008, 12:09 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

hi guys need ur favor.

i'm actually resigned on nov'07 after working 7 mths plus in a contact centre. then i go for a new job oso in a call centre on nov'07 but i resigned on dec'07.

i understand definitely the interviewers will ask y i left previous 2 company in such a short period. actually for the 1st company reason is better offer by 2nd company. then the 2nd company reason is they dun provide training n simply ask us to answer call, turn over is high, 90% is new there. v hv to ask around. i told them since i'm representing tat company so it would b gv bad image to the customer who call in since v hv to hold them everytime when answer call.

i did attended 2 interviews b4 n i got offered by 1 n rejected by 1. i rejected the offer by 1st company due to need to work shifts n low pay. the 1 rejected me is due to i dun really like the telesales post. both of the interviewer did ask me y i left both company in short period. n both of them i gv same answer as per above.

guys, any recommendation to answer the question in such a situation?
vey99
post Jan 25 2008, 12:24 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(yen1022 @ Jan 25 2008, 12:09 PM)
then i go for a new job oso in a call centre on nov'07 but i resigned on dec'07.
Its only 1 month, I would choose not to disclose it.
yen1022
post Jan 25 2008, 06:04 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

well i more prefer to b honest. n its actually stated in jobstreet oso. anyway any suggestion guys?
Reuben
post Feb 3 2008, 02:48 AM

Firo
667 posts

Being honest is important.

Don't pretend to know something or feel something if you aren't.
An experienced interviewer will probe and you will look bad if you aren't honest.

During one of my sister's interviews with PriceWaterHouse for a risk analyst position in the US they asked her a bunch of questions which she totally did not know how to do.

She was laughing in her head that this was horrible cause she didn't know how to answer any of the questions.

However she showed that she was interested to know about it and tried to work at it there and then. Keep in mind that she was stress free as she already got the job she wanted but wanted to go for experience purposes and it was too late to cancel.

She thought she didn't get the job but surprisingly she was one of the few people who did!

It's not about lying or coming out with template answers. I really don't think that will work.

It's about packaging it what you know and bringing the best out of you. Don't reveal your weaknesses but be prepared to come clean if asked or where it's relevant.

I really think being honest to yourself is important. If after all you have to lie to get the job to fit into the job...is this really a job you should be in at all?
Julie28
post Feb 4 2008, 11:40 PM

126 posts

Template answer doesn't sound right when we get to the real interview. Just talk like you're having a chit chat with someone older.

Anyway, I was asked "Do you have any difficulties in your group project?".

I answered "Yes, in terms of attitude. In one of my group project, I have 3 lazy team members in my group. They depend on me for solutions without trying. But what I do is I asked them to try first, only then can they see me..." bla3 something like that..

Then the manager said "Everyone here is lazy.. bla3 lazy bla3 lazy.."

I think he thought that I cannot work with lazy people. But actually I want to tell them what's really happening and what I actually do when I have to work with lazy people. But seems like they didn't get that point.

Now I'm freaking afraid that I didn't get that job because they thought I cannot work with lazy people. Argghh.. it would be heartbreaking if they didn't hire me just because I told them I'm hardworking!! doh.gif

Anyway, how should we answer this question? By saying "No, I don't have any problem in group project"? Sounds too perfect for me..any idea?

This post has been edited by Julie28: Feb 4 2008, 11:46 PM
one.good.guy
post Feb 13 2008, 11:43 AM

Observer
856 posts

^by saying everything is perfect, it is bullsh*tt*ing the interviewer.

from my understanding of your explanation, my guess would be the interviewer is interested to know how you would handle lazy people now, if you encounter them again in his company. you may have not stated a strong statement of how you addressed this issue and this prompt for further queries from the interviewer.

personally, i normally would associate laziness to being lack of collective direction and expectation and this should be a point to recheck to make sure everybody understand and perform as required. after all, we ain't paid to be lazy. there are courses to be taken.

back to your concern, any negative statements need to be substantiate with positive ones; i would expect you to delve on how you overcame (or now prepared to overcome) the laziness issue and what were the outcome -> does the 3 guys change for good, just managed to deliver or everything a total failure?

Added on February 13, 2008, 11:54 am
QUOTE(neenot @ Dec 25 2007, 12:55 AM)
simple question "when will ur are ready to work"????..possible.?
this one is a little tricky for me personally. sometimes the hirer do indeed require your presence immediately and they'll bug you to join them ASAP. this will be MAY be a problem if you are still attached to another job and need to serve a notice period. if you are not tied with these, then no problem la. or have plan and execute your own exit plan long time ago, handling over all tasks beforehand.

although you may show eagerness by joining them earlier than possible (time needed for notice period, project handover, etc.), you also paint a picture that you will just jump when there's better opportunities (although this is not morally wrong) or someone else willing to buy you out; without executing a transition plan.

but then looking for a new job while on another is not that great either, but i believe it's justifiable to argue that once our work stop, so does our feeding.

This post has been edited by one.good.guy: Feb 13 2008, 11:54 AM
edison_84
post Feb 17 2008, 12:58 PM

Redefine The Limit!!!
942 posts

Will graduate at April this year, after having discussion with my classmates bout possible questions during interview session, below are some questions and need you guys opinions, techniques to answer the questions.

What is more important to you, truth or comfort?
What led you to select your major?
Which of your course did you like the least?

Thanks in advance. smile.gif

p/s: Very useful and informative thread. thumbup.gif
kaffra
post Feb 25 2008, 11:44 AM

643 posts

QUOTE(one.good.guy @ Feb 13 2008, 11:43 AM)
but then looking for a new job while on another is not that great either, but i believe it's justifiable to argue that once our work stop, so does our feeding.
I disagree with this point, if already working, then it Is the only way to go. There is no reason to quit the current job and only after that find another.
Finding another job could take a few months, suppose it takes 6 months, there will be a gap in the resume and this is normally not a good thing to have. To me it also shows lack of planning ahead.

I don't consider the action requires any justification, it is well with the rights of the employee, and most have a provision for it in the contract.

Added on February 25, 2008, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(yen1022 @ Jan 25 2008, 06:04 PM)
well i more prefer to b honest. n its actually stated in jobstreet oso. anyway any suggestion guys?
what are you asking about? how to put in the 1month work in a good way? if you had learned something useful from it, maybe you can elaborate on that.

but this one of those times where honesty doesnt help.

This post has been edited by kaffra: Feb 25 2008, 12:11 PM
kirov
post Mar 5 2008, 10:40 PM

70 posts

Guys i have prob & the question is "why would you feel you can work in shift work .... wo.... I answer back my answer is Din't think be4 lo...so wht is the perfect answer ar guys
devil_snow
post Mar 7 2008, 11:07 AM

49 posts

Is there any tips for a few graduates? What kind of questions will they asked for a freshy?

ProX
post Apr 6 2008, 01:48 PM

316 posts

also, it all depends on "WHO" interview you:)
bpk16
post Apr 21 2008, 05:35 AM

248 posts

are tests given by all companies regardless of the position applied for?
hoax
post Apr 28 2008, 12:50 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(bpk16 @ Apr 21 2008, 05:35 AM)
are tests given by all companies regardless of the position applied for?
sometimes...
hopeguy123
post Apr 28 2008, 10:41 PM

how shud i answer the interviewer when she/he ask whether i got go for interview in their competitor companies?

if i answer yes...will they hire me because the company will lose me...
or will not consider me anymore?
Lowyat
post May 5 2008, 11:47 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

QUOTE(otherwise @ Oct 2 2007, 10:48 AM)
I did attended an interview last week.The question they asked (for fresh graduate with no experience) are :

Tell us about yourself.
What do you know about our company?
Why do you choose to work with our company?
What can you see yourself in 10 years with our company?
What if your boss scold you and you know that you are in the right position?
What can you contribute to our company?

Thats all and i hope i can get the good news from them..
This one how u answer??
carpathia
post May 7 2008, 05:23 PM

2,619 posts

that one easy la. you gotta prepare yourself before the interview as all company will ask this one.

TIP- always put yourself in the interviewer shoes- what is his problem? why does he need to hire you?

Added on May 7, 2008, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(wartevar @ Jan 11 2008, 09:43 AM)

TIP= When u go for the interview, tell yourself, you wont take this job and its not important to you. Just think of the interview is a practice session for you. I believe you stutter at interview bcos you are too nervous, which is normal for everyone they tend to slur/stutter/stumble in their speech.

TIP 2- Prepare yourself for all possible questions during an interview. you are probably not prepared enough. If you get caught off guard with a TOUGH question, calm urself and prepare for an answer. Most of the time, the interviewer is NOT expecting a CORRECT ANSWER but rather HOW you answer it ( clumsily, wrong answer for the sake of answering?) so just relax.

This post has been edited by carpathia: May 7 2008, 05:46 PM

99 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:03 AM