My i3-540 HTPC build, Including build information

TStbob87
post Oct 2 2010, 03:16 AM, updated 15y ago

41 posts

After months of researching and waiting for the casing to arrive, I have finally completed my first HTPC.

Background
Previously I have been using media players to watch movies, pictures etc through my TV. I had used the Western Digital and AC Ryan media players. All are good for the price. After a while, I decided to build a proper HTPC, partly inspired by what I can do with XBMC.

During the planning stage, these are the criteria of the HTPC I wanted.

1. Casing that can fit into my AV cabinet.
2. Silent.
3. Capable of playing all kind of formats up to 1080p without any problem via HDMI.
4. 5.1 Surround sound capable via optical output.
4. Able to run 24x7.
5. Sufficient storage area.
6. Nice GUI - thus I came about using XBMC.
7. Within a certain budget (very important smile.gif )

After much research, these are the final components of the built :

Core i3 540
GIGABYTE H55M-USB3
CORSAIR PC1333 (4GB)
CM 500W SILENT PRO M ( A/M/80+ )
Wireless Comfort Desktop 5000
Wireless Comfort Desktop 3000
2.5" SATA 320GB
3.5" SATA 1.5 TB
3.5" SATA 2.0 TB
Liteon BluRay Rom
Silverstone GD05 casing

The Components

My first option was actually Core i3 530. But recently the price of Core i3 540 dropped a bit. It is faster than the Core i3 530 but with the same TDP of 73 watt.

I chose the H55M board because it has a built in GPU that can easily play up to 1080p. This way I don't need to any discreet GPU thus avoiding additional heat generated (and money). Normally I won't go wrong with Gigabyte plus the blue motherboard looks cool.

Perfect size for my AV cabinet. Lots of ventilation. Looks very simple and neat. Lots of good reviews. I had to wait for quite some time for this casing. Had to email Inter-Asia Technology Sdn Bhd a couple of time to check when is it coming. Thank you Mr Marcus Ong for the help !

Actually I wanted to have a PSU which is less than 450W (again, to reduce heat and noise). Finally settled with this Cooler Master PSU. Reason is it is the cheapest modular PSU around i can find. The cable must be modular design because I can reduce the wires that goes into the GD05 casing thus improving the airflow inside.

For input I chose this Microsoft Wireless Desktop 3000 (and a Hauppauge MC remote control kit that i finally found during my last trip to Singapore). I choose 2.4Ghz wireless desktop over Bluetooth connection because I find that the Bluetooth connection is not that good when you have a lot of electronic stuff around.

The Build

Motherboard and PSU goes in first....

CPU and fan locked and ready to roll.....

4GB of RAM. Plenty for a HTPC, but helps a lot.

Connector wires neatly attached to the motherboard..

Wires/cables from the PSU all connected nicely

All 3 hard disks attached.

Final step to put the HDD and Bluray ROM. All SATA cables connected.

The Final Product

Hope this is informative for you guys.

Update 1st March 2011 : I am selling this HTPC. If you are interested, please check out : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1773623

My Trade List:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry35401147

This post has been edited by tbob87: Mar 1 2011, 04:47 PM
TStbob87
post Oct 2 2010, 11:28 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Oct 2 2010, 08:47 AM)
Put la pricing and I tot includes step by step setup?
If not just post at Your Home Theater Setup http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000020 oso same
I saw the link. It's mostly to tell what items/components you are using for your home theater. I was looking for a place to post specific on HTPC. Just wanted to share the HTPC build for people to have some ideas if they are planning to build one.

Any ideas ?

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:33 am
QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 2 2010, 08:08 AM)
Hey...thats a Sony AVR smile.gif

What model is the center speaker...nice and big..am looking was a bigger than usual Center for my setup too
I am using the DA1200ES. Excellent AV receiver and very good to listen to as normal amp (can't afford to have 2 amps smile.gif ). Planning to sell it though in the future.

For speakers, I am using the B&W 600 series.

rgds,

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:35 am
QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 2 2010, 08:02 AM)
this thread is so gonna get buried after a month a two.
maybe posting inside the HTPC thread is a better move rather than creating a new thread for it.
Have been looking for specific HTPC thread in this forum to post, but can't find one. Can you/anybody help ?

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:39 am
QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 2 2010, 10:45 AM)
Cool stuff !  Congrats on your new buit. 
May I suggest a minor upgrade after a while : a good soundcard such as Audiotrak Prodigy HD2 for excellent audio output even on its analogue.  That way you get the best of music playback even on stereo. 

But great stuff you got there. 

What OS you got there ?
Thanks for the feedback. Currently I spend less time listening to music. But will consider it when the time comes (though for pure hifi music I will try to avoid HTPC and stick to the old CD player and stereo amp).

Using Win 7. I use XBMC for the HTPC GUI. You can use it on Linux as well if you don't want to spend money on Win 7 OS.

rgds,

This post has been edited by tbob87: Oct 2 2010, 11:39 AM
TStbob87
post Oct 3 2010, 09:45 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 2 2010, 12:17 PM)
tbob87 - Many thanks for the share  thumbup.gif
My pleasure.

Added on October 3, 2010, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 2 2010, 11:53 AM)
Tbob87, what I did to my system is more like falling into place on its own rather than by design.

I got an AV Amp that originally picked up the Toslink link from my Htpc Mobo audio digital out like you did initially.  But since I have a vintage ampliflier lying around idle (a good marantz circa 1978), I use that vintage as the power amp for the front 2 LR speakers.  My AV Amp become a pre-amp for the front two speakers, but still drive my centre and surrounds. 

The hifi vintage Amp is of better quality audio wise it seems. So it stays that way for now. 

With the newly upgraded Prodigy HD2 (rm390 brand new from lowyat), I configure the foobar 2000 to apply only on stereo playback thru the soundcard only whenever I clicked on Flac or APE or anything audio only files. 

I compared the audio quality of this step up, ie. playing my CD thru HTPC and Thru my CDP (Marantz CD 52 Mk II, another old stuff), HTPC with Prodigy is actually of better quality then my Hifi CD player !  Maybe its due to age of my CDP I don't know.  So now I can literally stop using CDP for a while.  ( I also plan to upgrade the chip on the soundcard now to play around with it for better sound.)

Just to share.
Many thanks for the pointers.

This post has been edited by tbob87: Oct 3 2010, 09:46 PM
TStbob87
post Oct 4 2010, 11:02 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Oct 3 2010, 10:55 PM)
yes he can.
his hardware supports it, but no idea wether his software is configured to do so
I assume HD audio here means uncompressed HD audio. I was informed that the motherboard can bitstream Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD-MA over HDMI. Have not had the opportunity to try it out coz have yet to install the sofware (that came with the Bluray ROM) plus my AV amp does not do Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD-MA.
TStbob87
post Oct 5 2010, 09:50 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 4 2010, 11:10 PM)
media center remote spotted.
TS, where did you bought it?
I found it in Singapore. Could not find any in Malaysia. Even in Singapore I found only 1 shop selling it.

rgds,
TStbob87
post Oct 6 2010, 04:02 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 6 2010, 11:50 AM)
My mobo Gigabyte H55M-USB3 only has one SYS_FAN header but I have two case fans, how do I connect the other one?
You can connect it directly to the PSU.
With my setup, the casing has 3 fans. Only the fan for the CPU I connect to the mobo. The 3 fans runs with power directly from the PSU (you use the connector with 4 pins). I don't use the SYS_FAN.

Hope that helps
TStbob87
post Oct 7 2010, 03:30 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Oct 7 2010, 12:04 PM)
Bro you running Dharma or Camelot?
Dharma. Quite stable for a beta.

Added on October 7, 2010, 3:33 pm
QUOTE(echoesian @ Oct 7 2010, 12:34 PM)
The PSU does not have the connector to connect to the 3 pin fan, it has only those 4 pin connector to hdd, optical drive, etc...
I think you can buy the 3 pin fan to 4 pin connector adapter. The fans I got with the GD05 casing uses the 4 pin connector.

This post has been edited by tbob87: Oct 7 2010, 03:33 PM
TStbob87
post Oct 13 2010, 11:01 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Oct 13 2010, 10:25 AM)
Nice setup.  thumbup.gif
I also plan to change my current casing to GD05, add one 2.5" hd and probably will change to modular psu. With my current PSU, my casing probably will entangle with lots of unused cable.

A few questions, how much is the casing? Where you bought it?

BTW, you can post you set up in this thread HTPC V2
Yup. Modular PSU is much recommended.

You can check Viewnet. When I check this week, they have listed in in their pricelist. It is about RM10 cheaper now.

All in all, I am very happy with the casing.

Added on October 13, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(atih007 @ Oct 13 2010, 10:32 PM)
do have any prob playing bluray disc? mine is not very smooth. your setup is similar to mine.
Initially yes.
The Bluray software bundled with the LiteOn drive, PowerDVD 8, was really crap. When played, the pictures were black n white with funny horizontal line. Can't watch the movie. Problem still persist even when I installed the patch.

Then I got myself PoverDVD 10. Now I can play the bluray discs without any problems.

This post has been edited by tbob87: Oct 13 2010, 11:07 PM
TStbob87
post Nov 23 2010, 08:02 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(hilk @ Nov 11 2010, 03:09 AM)
hi tbo87. mind to share the cost (RM) to build this HTPC ?? tq
About rm2000. I recommend you check the pricelist guide for lowyat shops as the component price always change.
TStbob87
post Jan 14 2011, 11:27 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 23 2010, 08:27 PM)
Dharma build can bitstream HD audio already?
I have not tried it yet.

I only use PowerDVD to bitstream the HD audio when watching blu rays.
TStbob87
post Jan 16 2011, 09:49 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jan 14 2011, 11:39 AM)
Bro, your AV cabinet looks simple and nice. Can share where you got it from? My new cabinet is too long, and I cant use speaker stands for my bookshelf at the moment.
The cabinet is custom made. That is the only way I can get one that fits my required measurement.

rgds.

Added on January 16, 2011, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 14 2011, 12:18 PM)
IMO, the layout of your speakers and subwoofer are more aesthetics than function.
Yup. Can't argue with that. That is what you get when you place the AV setup in a living room. If only I have a proper Home Theater room...
unsure.gif

Added on February 15, 2011, 10:48 pmThinking of letting go of this HTPC. Any offer for takers ? nod.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 4:48 pmI am selling this HTPC. If you are interested, please check out : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1773623

This post has been edited by tbob87: Mar 1 2011, 04:48 PM

0.0227sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:10 PM