The SONY NEX Discussion Thread, Sony NEX firmware v04 now available

esmonde
post Oct 1 2010, 01:49 PM

510 posts

I own NEX 5(black)
Just wan to know, those who are buying NEX 3 twin lens, does it come with a rear lens cap to close the part where it attach to the camera??
esmonde
post Oct 1 2010, 02:19 PM

510 posts

Hmmm.... When I go and see, the seller open the box and inside don have cap for the rear, only front cap with the pancake lens. And it is wrapped with the "bubble bag"(dono what it call).
esmonde
post Oct 1 2010, 06:03 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 1 2010, 03:30 PM)
esmonde: Bad seller!

The twin kit lens kit would have:

NEX body + 18-55mm already attached, with front lens cap and 18-55mm hood
16mm with rear lens cap and front lens cap
I don think the seller is bad. Because he open on the spot and let me check. And I confirmed it is sealed. opened 2 boxes and without lens cap. He was curious too. Waiting for him to get the cap from supplier now. The seller say Will find a 3rd party cap for me temporarily.

@shinchan^^: Ya i knew cjlai is doing a bulk for rear cap. But now I need it urgently. Because I have a SLR magic lens from him too. And now both my e-mount lens are exposed because no cap.
esmonde
post Oct 1 2010, 06:13 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 1 2010, 06:06 PM)
got filter or not? if not no cap also not big issue.
filter is on the front. And I have front cap. Just the part where attached with the camera is exposed. cry.gif
esmonde
post Oct 4 2010, 01:14 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 4 2010, 12:28 PM)
is this the battery only?
This kit comes with a battery, filter holder, longer strap and a cloth if not mistaken. smile.gif
esmonde
post Oct 4 2010, 01:16 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 4 2010, 08:26 AM)

Added on October 4, 2010, 9:31 amwow that is huge !
http://sonyalphanex.blogspot.com/2010/07/s...00-oss-699.html
The price is "huge" too!!! cry.gif
esmonde
post Oct 4 2010, 01:18 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 4 2010, 01:15 PM)
no one know when the NEX 7 will be out. and even it is out, the price should be in 4k range.

if u feel NEX 5 is enough for you. why waiting for a dunno when will out model
Or can wait for the new firmware which is going to release soon in mid October and see if the new interface is more easier to use before decide to go for NEX 5 or wait for the NEX 7. biggrin.gif

Added on October 4, 2010, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 4 2010, 01:18 PM)
oh...the 359 package
Ya the 359 package. Wonder what the street price will be.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by esmonde: Oct 4 2010, 01:19 PM
esmonde
post Oct 4 2010, 05:43 PM

510 posts

blink.gif blink.gif
WOAH!!!
shinchan^^ gadget looks so pro... biggrin.gif
esmonde
post Oct 10 2010, 11:58 AM

510 posts

The CCTV lens from Cjlai. smile.gif

C&C welcome. smile.gif
esmonde
post Oct 14 2010, 12:50 PM

510 posts

Where to download the new firmware. I went to Sony Malaysia still version 2.. T.T
esmonde
post Oct 14 2010, 01:44 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Oct 14 2010, 01:40 PM)
Check this page out > http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/swu-list....S=48#div_pos_30 i thk not official yet.
Checked before. Only version 2 sad.gif
esmonde
post Oct 14 2010, 11:01 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 14 2010, 10:57 PM)
Better than none? I think it's a conjob to sell such an expensive adaptor and have AF speed slow enough for user to go out yumcha and come back before it locks on.

Better just to manual focus (like shinchan said) using nice lens + cheap conversion ring.
Official version di ..
Ya having slow AF is still better than none. Maybe next firmware can fix the speed more?

And the firmware is official already and available in Sony Malaysia website. biggrin.gif
esmonde
post Oct 14 2010, 11:57 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(Deerc @ Oct 14 2010, 11:55 PM)
can i update it again?
Can't. i have tried. But then both file seems to be same..
esmonde
post Oct 15 2010, 01:12 AM

510 posts

the download link given by weixuan is same as the download link in sony Malaysia. So I guess if you download today then it should be the official 1.
esmonde
post Oct 15 2010, 04:20 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(mattiusa @ Oct 15 2010, 04:17 PM)
how do you update?? sad.gif
Download the firmware from Sony website and there will be a guide to help you. smile.gif
esmonde
post Oct 17 2010, 09:07 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 16 2010, 11:41 PM)
blink.gif
i m too used to the menu button to change iso
even i have already set shortcut for ISO haha
tongue.gif
Me too... haha. Still used to go into menu there to look for ISO and white balance... rclxub.gif
esmonde
post Oct 17 2010, 03:00 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(mattiusa @ Oct 17 2010, 02:33 PM)
im just using the 16mm.. so i dont need the lens sofware update right?
I think you don't need that since it is for the adapter to use AF. But you can update for future when you got an adapter. biggrin.gif
esmonde
post Oct 18 2010, 01:00 PM

510 posts

NEX potrait workshop in Penang. Anyone in Penang joined??? It is on 14 of November.
esmonde
post Oct 19 2010, 07:07 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(mattiusa @ Oct 19 2010, 06:46 PM)
yupe... i originally ordered the casing but Sony will charge rm20 for posting fee... so i called and canceled then i opted for the battery with free posting smile.gif
thumbs up to the customer service!! expedient!
I used the RM 50 voucher to order the LCD hardcover which also cost RM 50. Wonder if they will ship that cover to me... hmm.gif
esmonde
post Oct 19 2010, 11:00 PM

510 posts

The voucher will be available after you register online with your NEX camera. I dono now still have that voucher or not....

0.0467sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:08 PM