4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy 5 GT-I5503 (New Official Thread), The Budget Android Phone You Waiting

qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 11:43 AM

197 posts

Waa just come back from a horrible horrible service center.

As you might know, I got locked out from the phone. The only way to repair this is to flash the phone.

So i sent to the nearest Samsung mobile service center, which actually a Samsung hand-phone shop at mines shopping complex, owned by ocean Eleven company. I have experience very very good service from Samsung actually before this. When my Samsung monitor got broken, the service was really good.

BUT WHAT A FRUSTRATED SURPRISE I GET FROM THIS SHOP.

First they said they can repair my hand-phone in a hour a half, but the will charge me a freaking RM 60. They said this is not covered by warranty. Even thought I bought my g5 from this same shop and no longer than 2 month!!.

Now I only got a handphone, and i need this handphone to do work. So r I really need it fast. So I kinda relief when they said I can get it fix after and a hour or so. So I lepak around the mines, doing nothing much. After a sometimes i when to the shop again, and said it still not ready. So I go around again the mines shopping center again. After more than 2 hours of waiting. I go back to the store and they said my handphone is still not ready. They said I have to give half a day to fix it. So I agree to pick up last night.

I didn't go last night, but this morning. And you know what when i go to the shop again this morning. They need 3 hours more, a promised 1 and half hour cervice now become more than a day.

So you guys can imagine how frustrating I am now with this shop!!. By the way this is the same shop that sell to me a g5 with out giving me my samsung 2gig memory card at RM650!!!

So for you guys out there who want to buy a handphone. especially g5, I urge you to not but from this store. Samsung mobile store at mines shopping center owned by ocean eleven at the 4th and 3rd level. You have been warn about this shop really bad service

In my mind, i think this shop has wrecked my phone in their trying to fix this my phone, that why they need more time.
qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 11:46 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 19 2010, 11:44 AM)
smile.gif G5 camera zoom in/out by pressing volume +/- button
oh i dont know that, cant wait to try it out.
I really really miss my G5
qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 12:10 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 19 2010, 11:50 AM)
wink.gif You got cheated by this Shop, re-flashing is FOC, one of the G5 user in this thread facing same problem with you(phone lock and reflash)

and FYI, this Shop has con a G5 user, the user bought G5 with RM799, you may refer to the first LYN G5 thread

This Shop is SUX
Hear that other G5 kaki, this shop SUX

Added on November 19, 2010, 12:18 pmHmm... ginger braid will be released in couple of week. maybe i should upgrade my hand phone.
From Gizmodo

This post has been edited by qunox: Nov 19 2010, 12:18 PM
qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 09:26 PM

197 posts

Alhamdulilah, a miracle happened.

The Kies software actually recognize my G5 (got it back from that horrible shop, from what i see. They have done absolutely nothing to my phone). So even if my phone is in the prospect of getting a flash. at least my contact is saved

Now finding a way if there is method of hard reseting g5 using android sdk.
qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 09:44 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Nov 19 2010, 09:34 PM)
bro ur luck is bad but for other kaki g5 please dun go this shop ...
yeah, what i been trough should be lesson to other G5 kaki, huhuhu.

But I think for me personally, the number 1 lesson i learn is that my G5 is no longer just my phone to sms and call and annoying alarm
It has become my personal assistance, From manging my calender, editing document on the go and FB-ing. Google calender Apps i miss the most.

So a device this important, i should really protect it better. So no more letting kids around my G5. huhuhu
blush.gif

Added on November 19, 2010, 9:44 pm
QUOTE(gocke55014 @ Nov 19 2010, 09:41 PM)
Have u tried flashing urself bro? Using odin
yeah i totally forget about that, wanna look on it now

This post has been edited by qunox: Nov 19 2010, 09:44 PM
qunox
post Nov 19 2010, 11:28 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(gocke55014 @ Nov 19 2010, 09:41 PM)
Have u tried flashing urself bro? Using odin
Well i'm not confidence to flash with odin. Cause i haven't found any link to download my firmware.

PDA : i5503DXJH1
PHONE : i5503DXJG5
CSC : i5503OLBJG5

sigh....

This post has been edited by qunox: Nov 19 2010, 11:29 PM
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 05:48 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(speedrider @ Nov 20 2010, 12:37 PM)
SMS Typohorlicks!!! Get this! Im using this to communicate with my colleagues that uses Blackberry and Iphone.
WhatsApp for Android
http://www.whatsapp.com/android/

Minimum requirements

* Android OS 2.1 or above
    * Unlimited internet data plan

What is it?

WhatsApp is a Smartphone-2-Smartphone instant messenger application and chat service that works over your existing internet data plan. Because WhatsApp uses the same internet data plan that you use for email and web browsing, there is no cost to message and stay in touch with your friends.

Can I also chat with my BlackBerry contacts?

Yes! Have your BlackBerry friends download WhatsApp Messenger for BlackBerry from our OTA site

How is WhatsApp Messenger different from SMS?

SMS is an older messaging system with limited functionality and higher cost. WhatsApp Messenger aims to provide more functionality at a lower cost. We are sure you and your friends will figure out the difference quickly after using WhatsApp to communicate with your friends.

Live Screen from My G5:

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

p/s: SGPC, did you notice that my image have extra black portion on the right side? Did yours snap is same and manually remove through other image editor?
yeah been using this apps for a while now

I'm begining to step in to the dark and exciting world of flashing my android phone, hope my phone will not brick.

qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 05:54 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 20 2010, 05:51 PM)
biggrin.gif Flash win ODIN?
should be easy
yeah, so tired of going to service center or shop asking other ppl to flash my hphone. In prospect of froyo coming this december. might just practicing flashing my phone now rclxms.gif
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 09:28 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(gocke55014 @ Nov 20 2010, 06:45 PM)
Do update us with ur progress with odin bro. Hows ur progress looking for the original rom? Any luck so far?
Alhamdulilah, every thing when well for my first ever bogelling (flashing). Used I5500XWJH4 firmware. Russian's.
The firmware got my android market (a relief, coz that's my biggest worry) but no setting for disable 3g.
Bonus apps? Well you assassin's creed! Buuble town 2, Ca gold rush, Tetris (hahaha, its funny to have this classic game) and navigation.

Ok wanna install some apps now, see wheter it work or not
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 09:48 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ja3kass @ Nov 20 2010, 09:24 PM)
Froyo~Froyo~Are you Coming~
yeah, heavily rumored to be in december. Hope malaysian samsung got thier hand quick on this firmware

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 20 2010, 09:41 PM)
doh.gif OMG, surprisingly read that Assassin Creed support 320*240..............

unable disable 3g, why? is that you haven set APN correctly?

Added on November 20, 2010, 9:42 pm
biggrin.gif Thats ROM is extract from others region stock ROM, not custom ROM
Well for us, malaysian firmware. We are lucky cause we got the setting of using 3g when there is no wifi. So no setting for that.

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 20 2010, 09:44 PM)
The firmware got my android market (a relief, coz that's my biggest worry) but no setting for disable 3g.
Bonus apps? Well you assassin's creed! Buuble town 2, Ca gold rush, Tetris (hahaha, its funny to have this classic game) and navigation.

How come other region stock ROM has so many games in it?  blink.gif
Beets me sweat.gif

But... this firmware also don't have google search for place around me. I guest i just have to use foursquare

This post has been edited by qunox: Nov 20 2010, 09:49 PM
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 09:58 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 20 2010, 09:49 PM)
another question.. i try to install the zenonia.v1.1.3.apk from the link you post earlier.
I got this error -> parse error "there is a problem parsing the package" when i try to install it from My Files. Any idea? Thanks.

Added on November 20, 2010, 9:53 pmanother question is.. how do we turn on/off the 3g?
Is it the "Enable always-on mobile" 3g setting?
for the 3g, yes, that's the setting
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 10:05 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Nov 20 2010, 09:59 PM)
bro did all g5 user can view rmvb on this set ..?/
I use arcMedia to watch video. But never tried on a rmvb, the apps descripton say it can
zenonia
QUOTE(xDarkKn1ghtx @ Nov 20 2010, 09:59 PM)
I think i have a solution. You can set the setting on 3g to mms only instead of internet and mms. That aside, anyone else typing with their G5? I am. :-9
Not this time, but i Allways do thumbup.gif
qunox
post Nov 20 2010, 10:12 PM

197 posts

Wanna ask you guys which better for antivirus Lookout mobile or avg?
qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 12:06 AM

197 posts

Hi all

At XDA forum, it is stated that samsung has release unofficial open source for GT-I500/I503 for froyo. So froyo is really coming soon. really soon i guest thumbup.gif
qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 12:22 PM

197 posts

Good morning all G5 kaki biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Nov 22 2010, 07:40 AM)
and money also...

need to upgrade my sd card
yeah, seeing now, me buying a 4 gig, hmmm, 4 gig might not be enough hmm.gif

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Nov 22 2010, 09:08 AM)
how to delete all contacts on sim card?
i can only delete it 1 by 1...
I use this apps, contact remover. but it might cos a little problem with your phone book, especially when you sync your phonebook to fb contact
Contact remover

QUOTE(gocke55014 @ Nov 22 2010, 12:10 PM)
yea. the grandfather of android phones G1 was also not multitouch capable in its early days but was enabled by software in the later updates.
and our g5 keeps getting better and better... thumbup.gif

Guys any recomendation for alternative sms apps. my handcent sms is not working properly this day.

qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 11:14 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 22 2010, 01:01 PM)
biggrin.gif Short of such skill for us............

Added on November 22, 2010, 1:02 pm
tongue.gif Long time no see you, how your exam?

Added on November 22, 2010, 1:02 pm
laugh.gif Chompsms

Added on November 22, 2010, 1:03 pm
you mean screen shoot?
Ok downloading the apps just now, will give it a go

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 22 2010, 06:15 PM)
will try it later when i'm free..

juz curious.. what will happen if we bricked our phone?
can we do any reflash of the firmware ourself or do we hv to send the phone to samsung shop to reflash?
If you use odin and follow the instruction, is hard to brick your phone. I do not recomend you to go to any samsung shop, cause you might experiance the horible thing i go trought. Better go to samsung service center

QUOTE(bcmengs @ Nov 22 2010, 06:35 PM)
Guys, dun promote piracy la...
kesian those developers.
YEP I SOKONG YOU

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 22 2010, 06:54 PM)
i prefer our local firmware..
Yep the best one is to just use local firmware, I'm using russin firmware now, so i do experiance problems. Cant off 3G. Sigh

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Nov 22 2010, 08:02 PM)
Is there any browser that have tabs?
Just like firefox or chrome..
Currently i am using default browser
Hoho, out off all other browser apps, I still like the original one. It's faster, i think.

QUOTE(Dong101 @ Nov 22 2010, 10:51 PM)
Yes, a new proud owner of a G5, got it last Wednesday..... But I need to send my G5 back to Samsung Service Center after three days.  My Android OS were corrurted when i first got the phone.  Should have suspected that when I cannot made the phone shown current time correctly while in the shop  shakehead.gif  doh.gif

But the technician is very helpful and even came in on a Saturday to help me out... rclxms.gif
Welcome welcome laugh.gif
qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 11:18 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(careforever @ Nov 22 2010, 11:14 PM)
Thx, SGPC my problem solved !!!
G5 rocks with froyo !!! froyo faster come...

Hey anyone heard of DIGI smart plan ??
its unlimited data plan for RM68 per month
currently im using maxis, dun dare to use data connection sad.gif
cause its expensive sweat.gif
Suggestion anyone ?? got any smarter choice for our lovely G5 ??
Yeah I'm thinking of singing up to a data plan to. It's just to good to be conected online on the go. Can use foursquare, google maps, show off to friend laugh.gif laugh.gif Once I try experiance using 3G all day, battery run out very fast and have to recharge often sweat.gif
qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 11:22 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:19 PM)
any idea where we can find the firmware for our region?
nop, no idea, searching for it is like searching for the hang tuah lost keris, the taming sari. But the best place to find a firmware is at the XDA forum for galaxy 5. Safe to be there, cause you read other ppl coment about a particular firmware.

qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 11:35 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 22 2010, 11:32 PM)
biggrin.gif Many user feedback that G5's GPS slow in satellite locking, its software problem actually.........

Not only Galaxy 5, others Samsung phone like Galaxy S and Galaxy 3 facing the same problem

Samsung Official claimed the froyo for Galaxy S will improve the GPS performance
Let see what froyo will do our phone..

1) We can install apps in SD and all so the phone will use SD as an added RAM hmm.gif
2)MULTITOUCH!!! rclxm9.gif
3) Fixed the GPS Problem biggrin.gif

WOW! drool.gif drool.gif
qunox
post Nov 22 2010, 11:41 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 22 2010, 11:37 PM)
laugh.gif Dont be happy first, maybe the froyo not come to G5?
yeah, that's might be the possibility. I also suspect even if we G5 do get froyo, how to update? as many of us, the kies software can't even detect G5, and will Samsung Malaysia released if fast. yawn.gif

Oh well, might just go straight to gingerbread. hohoho

Added on November 22, 2010, 11:42 pmhmmm... this forum is updating too fast, fast as FB post

This post has been edited by qunox: Nov 22 2010, 11:42 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0585sec    2.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:02 PM