Samsung Galaxy 5 GT-I5503 (New Official Thread), The Budget Android Phone You Waiting

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 10 2010, 11:47 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Kiiin @ Nov 10 2010, 11:13 AM)
what was your problem? i also applied screen protector. im just scared it might melt on the scren

Added on November 10, 2010, 11:24 amwait. why does it says  on the box of g5 that it has GPS? so i dont have to download papago ior anything just to have gps?

and what does "maps" do in the g5? is it suppose to be a gps? it just locates my position but does not move and i think it needs wifi.

HELP PLS. sad.gif
sweat.gif Bro, GPS meaning "Global Positioning System", its not meaning the map. Map and GPS is different items

G5 does has stock GPS apps(Map), its call google maps

You can choose to use Google maps instead of papago, it up to you

Google maps can move and follow your movement
r3ivax
post Nov 10 2010, 11:48 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(r3ivax @ Nov 10 2010, 12:24 AM)
hmm.... is there anyway we can install the app on our sd card instead of the phone? the internal memory is so low, can't install many apps
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 10 2010, 11:51 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(r3ivax @ Nov 10 2010, 11:48 AM)

smile.gif This question has been answered many time in the thread.............

There is no way to install in sd card without froyo
siksa
post Nov 10 2010, 11:55 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(Kiiin @ Nov 10 2010, 11:13 AM)
what was your problem? i also applied screen protector. im just scared it might melt on the scren

Added on November 10, 2010, 11:24 amwait. why does it says  on the box of g5 that it has GPS? so i dont have to download papago ior anything just to have gps?

and what does "maps" do in the g5? is it suppose to be a gps? it just locates my position but does not move and i think it needs wifi.

HELP PLS. sad.gif
its just Google map. for location you need set it at setting>location & security>my location.it need wifi or network internet to locate you.

This post has been edited by siksa: Nov 10 2010, 12:15 PM
gocke55014
post Nov 10 2010, 12:13 PM

287 posts

hhehe.. most people who r new to GPS would get confused about this. GPS (Global Positioning System) is a chipset, a piece of hardware in the phone which is required by a GPS-navigation software to run such as PaPaGo, google maps
siksa
post Nov 10 2010, 12:38 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

just tried Google maps and it does work and follow you just like other map app but you will need internet connection and Google account to use it properly.
Kiiin
post Nov 10 2010, 02:18 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 10 2010, 12:47 PM)
sweat.gif Bro, GPS meaning "Global Positioning System", its not meaning the map. Map and GPS is different items

G5 does has stock GPS apps(Map), its call google maps

You can choose to use Google maps instead of papago, it up to you

Google maps can move and follow your movement
THANK YOU! so i have to download the google maps?

Added on November 10, 2010, 2:19 pm
QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 10 2010, 12:55 PM)
its just Google map. for location you need set it at setting>location & security>my location.it need wifi or network internet to locate you.
THANK YOU!

Added on November 10, 2010, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(siksa @ Nov 10 2010, 01:38 PM)
just tried Google maps and it does work and follow you just like other map app but you will need internet connection and Google account to use it properly.
what? so if im using google maps and in a car and there is no internet conncetion..i wont follow me? why in iphone it follows my direction even without wifi? im confused. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Kiiin: Nov 10 2010, 02:26 PM
careforever
post Nov 10 2010, 02:44 PM

38 posts

A stupid question to ask, how to type msg in Chinese ??

Can't find even change the language to Chinese ......

Help Help !!! cry.gif cry.gif
r3ivax
post Nov 10 2010, 03:01 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Nov 10 2010, 11:51 AM)
smile.gif This question has been answered many time in the thread.............

There is no way to install in sd card without froyo
oh... icic...
hmm... thot maybe there is some app could help... haha... anyway, thanks SGPC~!!

alright, that means I have to either wait for froyo for g5 or uninstall other apps... sad.gif
i don wanna root my phone now, until end of warranty especially i m js a new android user...

Added on November 10, 2010, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(careforever @ Nov 10 2010, 02:44 PM)
A stupid question to ask, how to type msg in Chinese ??

Can't find even change the language to Chinese ......

Help Help !!! cry.gif  cry.gif
long press in any of the text input/textbox, select input method -> DioPen Chinese IME
after that, you could choose to type chinese/english by pressing on the button that switch between alphabets/symbols/numbers, you can also change the keyboard type by pressing the settings button. only 3x4 keypad you can type chinese using pinyin, qwerty only have stroke option smile.gif

This post has been edited by r3ivax: Nov 10 2010, 03:04 PM
qunox
post Nov 10 2010, 04:28 PM

197 posts

Hey guys.insya'allah Just wanna share some info.

I use a lot of widget and addicted to sync. Google calender, google task, contact, weather etc.

Before this many of my widget when crazy and refuse to update or sync. I found out from the web this is caused by task killer apps. So after I deleted advanced task killer, all my widget and sync now working fine. Except facebook contact,, still showing error. Don't know why.

So if you guys have problem with widget. Maybe this info may help. laugh.gif
Psykit
post Nov 10 2010, 04:35 PM

Psychedelico
773 posts

Hi all G5 users.

I just got this excellent device myself and I am astounded by the value that this device provides without paying a hefty sum for an android phone.

I have some questions regarding data access/mobile internet or mobile network (as the android menu calls it). I would normally turn off "Enable always-on mobile" and only turn on when I need data access, however this will prevent push gmail or other syncs to happen (i.e. facebook updates, etc.)

Is there a way/option to only access mobile internet/data based on need basis rather than always on?

I came from a symbian phone and there is an option provided to only connect to mobile internet on need basis.

Appreciate all your help. This thread has been a great resource for G5 owners.

JinLeon
post Nov 10 2010, 04:43 PM

478 posts

Hi everyone!
i am planing to buy this cute little G5 next year... After i see the gsmarena review, i found out that the phone is limited to some app due to the screen, is this truth?
careforever
post Nov 10 2010, 05:38 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Psykit @ Nov 10 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hi all G5 users.

I just got this excellent device myself and I am astounded by the value that this device provides without paying a hefty sum for an android phone.

I have some questions regarding data access/mobile internet or mobile network (as the android menu calls it). I would normally turn off "Enable always-on mobile" and only turn on when I need data access, however this will prevent push gmail or other syncs to happen (i.e. facebook updates, etc.)

Is there a way/option to only access mobile internet/data based on need basis rather than always on?

I came from a symbian phone and there is an option provided to only connect to mobile internet on need basis.

same problem i wana ask oso... haha

Help help !!
siksa
post Nov 10 2010, 08:07 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(Kiiin @ Nov 10 2010, 02:18 PM)
THANK YOU! so i have to download the google maps?

Added on November 10, 2010, 2:19 pm
THANK YOU!

Added on November 10, 2010, 2:26 pm
what? so if im using google maps and in a car and there is no internet conncetion..i wont follow me? why in iphone it follows my direction even without wifi? im confused. sad.gif
Dunno maybe coz i am using celcom 3g bb sim so the internet is always on.

Make sure you log in your Google account to use the latitude feature,this is what they use to track you.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Nov 10 2010, 09:40 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Psykit @ Nov 10 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hi all G5 users.

Welcome.............. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on November 10, 2010, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(JinLeon @ Nov 10 2010, 04:43 PM)
Hi everyone!
i am planing to buy this cute little G5 next year... After i see the gsmarena review, i found out that the phone is limited to some app due to the screen, is this truth?
smile.gif Refer here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...2&hl=resolution

Added on November 10, 2010, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(careforever @ Nov 10 2010, 05:38 PM)
same problem i wana ask oso... haha

Help help !!
smile.gif I will find you all the solution once i free............quite busy recently

This post has been edited by StupidGuyPlayComp: Nov 10 2010, 09:41 PM
JJTam
post Nov 10 2010, 09:47 PM

120 posts

Hi, anyone interested to buy the Matte screen protector? It so happen that my mum bought me a SP today and i have already ordered it from Askar Perang. The seller have sent the purchase order, so i have no choice but to take it.

This post has been edited by JJTam: Nov 10 2010, 09:47 PM
ghost002
post Nov 10 2010, 09:58 PM

17 posts

New Member for Galaxy I-5503 ^^

hoping for froyo for G5 now!

This post has been edited by ghost002: Nov 10 2010, 10:03 PM
careforever
post Nov 10 2010, 10:04 PM

38 posts

Wats the recommended storage for microSD card to be use in G5 ? 16 ? 32 ?
sanjosel
post Nov 10 2010, 10:07 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(ghost002 @ Nov 10 2010, 08:58 AM)
New Member for Galaxy I-5503 ^^

hoping for froyo for G5 now!
Welcome to the Club!
SUSP1Maggot
post Nov 10 2010, 10:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 8 2010, 12:51 AM)

ready stock now!  drool.gif
PM me if interested!
Just got a Epic cover and matte screen protector from this seller, good seller, recommended and friendly. He even show me the new HTC HD7 with Windows Mobile 7.

He is currently bringing in Melkco flip pouches like the following

http://www.carrymobile.com/scripts/main/vi...FT2BK-5503.html

For those interested in Melkco flip pouch, PM him.

129 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:01 AM