Hi-Fi Mini USB PCM2704 DAC, I am impressed

TSlengnui89
post Sep 28 2010, 10:33 AM, updated 16y ago

134 posts

*Picture copy from the seller (chchyong89)

*sampling rates up to 32, 44.1, 48kHz,
*16bit digital sigma DAC,
*THD+N = 0.006%(RL>10k ohm),
*SNR = 98dB,
*Dynamic Range = 98dB

Before i get started, one thing i must mention is, I am not a good reviewer, so forgive me if there is anything wrong.

I am a music lover, but i am not hardcore. Due to unsatisfied to my onboard soundcard on my dell laptop, i decided to purchase an USB DAC but my budget is below RM100. and chchyong89 had recommended me this DAC. I got it COD at cyberjaya cyberia yesterday. I am so excited when i look on it, the size is so miniature and so sexy! And i get RM5 off from him for writing a review for this sexy, and had been confirm by him i can write whatever (bad/good) about this device.

I don't have high end speaker or headphone, just an edifier C3 and shp8900. When i get to home, i instantly find a USB cable connect up my new DAC and get it run! the red and green LED is light up instantly and no driver is needed on my windows 7 32bit rclxms.gif . I just keep telling myself i can't stop testing this device, i can't stop testing this device, then quickly i play some music through this DAC with my collected FLAC album. Immediately, the first thing i notice is, the sound is so much cleaner and so relax even i play it loud compare with my onboard soundcard.

And for your information, i owned an asus xonar U1 too, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1172998&hl= , but it was sold, the thing i can sure is, the PCM2704 dac can sound a lot better than U1(luckily i sold it off) flex.gif . Afterward, i test on Olivia-fall In Love with, the voice is sweet! The way she sing, the way she pronounce is so detail and solid. And my eyes just can't be turn around instead of keep watching the naked sexy DAC on my table, it look so sexy with its naked body! Keep thinking in my mind( how can this little thing can sing that nice). Seriously, i am impressed when it's with my shp8900 because My shp8900 never sound that good before(but this dac cannot drive this headphone loud, and i definately will buy one amplifier soon, awaiting chchyong89 recommendation thumbup.gif ).

Down side:
BTW, there is good and there is bad too. This DAC, don't deserve to drive headphone directly due to low power output unlike most soundcard. As the seller said, it will be great to get an amp separately instead getting 2-in-1 DAC, which has integrated amplifier and dac together in one device, that not really wise for some people. There is no amplification stage in this DAC, so that we can directly source the signal out from the DAC and connect to any amplifier that flavor us! rclxms.gif

Conclusion:
For sub RM90, i think this is the best ever soundcard exist in the market for everyone in this budget, especially notebook users like me. No one will goes wrong with it. Finally, i will definitely vote this 9/10 if xonar U1 is 6.5/10. And i will guarantee buy one for my girlfriend soon! brows.gif RM90 is totally not a problem for such excellent performer! notworthy.gif

To chchyong89: Thanks for the RM5 discount, but i will still definitely doing this review if there is no discount from you, as this device is a really really a good performer! tongue.gif

Anyone interested can get it here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1578406

This post has been edited by lengnui89: Sep 28 2010, 10:39 AM
TSlengnui89
post Sep 28 2010, 04:50 PM

134 posts

See the tagging price, i would say RM90 is definately bang per buck! No need to consider that much, straight away grab one unit like me.

I GUARANTEE You WON'T regret getting this babe go home! rclxs0.gif
TSlengnui89
post Sep 30 2010, 09:37 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Sep 30 2010, 07:22 PM)
oh kolo me i oso suda lama tak makan.. sad.gif

Added on September 30, 2010, 8:04 pmok this is good.
buy it.

Added on September 30, 2010, 8:17 pmthis is a very nice dac. i iz happy.. wub.gif

Added on September 30, 2010, 8:22 pmthx lengnui89 for introducing this dac.
thx chchyong89 for bringing this at a steal price.
Yes! this is seriously a very nice DAC, i using it with my edifier C3 now thumbup.gif
TSlengnui89
post Oct 1 2010, 12:19 PM

134 posts

At last i manage to set up asio on my foobar, i spent up whole day just to learn this. (i know i am damn noob). sweat.gif

The different is significant, but when I tend to listen it seriously, i can hear there is little bit improvement, at least it just goes smoother with asio4all.
TSlengnui89
post Oct 4 2010, 04:39 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Oct 3 2010, 10:58 PM)
not really valuable?? i would jump for joy if i win it coz im still thinking whether to get one =/
My advice is, If you very like listen to music but you are not that hardcore and picky just like me, you won't goes wrong with this one. rclxm9.gif
TSlengnui89
post Oct 5 2010, 09:26 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(riddy @ Oct 5 2010, 09:21 AM)
Is this sound card are better then any build in sound card in the notebook or pc?..  smile.gif
I would not say YES, but Definitely!!! thumbup.gif It sound a lot better than build-in soundcard. It's best to use headphone to hear the difference if you don't have one good speaker.
TSlengnui89
post Oct 7 2010, 02:23 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Oct 7 2010, 12:12 PM)
actually already tried that,
the combination of this dac + ppk is cleaner vs optoplay + ppk, tho it still doesnt fix the slow problem last time. im not really sure what happened, will need some people to test together and some feedback.
For me, it sound much better from time to time on my edifier C3 from the first day i bought it. Maybe this is what u guys call it as burn in progress in audiophile world? hmm.gif

0.0257sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:13 PM