Hi-Fi Mini USB PCM2704 DAC, I am impressed

chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 11:24 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

As your request flex.gif And thanks ts for the review, it sound more good than its look wink.gif

This post has been edited by chchyong89: Sep 28 2010, 11:25 AM
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 01:55 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 28 2010, 12:34 PM)
Good poison! thumbup.gif
Thanks for the effort, yuheng!
hmm.gif hmm.gif ??
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 03:33 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Sep 28 2010, 03:14 PM)
Because the (manufacturer) cost might less than USD10,possibly around USD5 tongue.gif

Anyway,since it's quite cheap,compare to others,worth to buy one and playing with mod.
Even the chip(PCM2704) alone is hardly get at the price at USD10 laugh.gif
Btw, it's really a very tempting price rclxms.gif Get it fast while the stocks is
ready icon_rolleyes.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 08:36 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Sep 28 2010, 08:25 PM)
Can try name card holder as casing,then spray with colour pattern.

Anyway,why no one ask does it sound ANALOG or not??hahaha! rclxms.gif
rclxs0.gif
I would answer like this,
Digital to analog converter, guaranteed is analog output tongue.gif

^shadowshine
Don't worries, girls will like it, even my girlfriend have a lot of FR4 dual layers pcb as keychains hanging around her bags, and she like it very much. wub.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 09:07 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 28 2010, 08:43 PM)
Is analog output..
But whether analog enough is another matter,I guess this is his meaning
I caught what he meaned, especially he caps the word -> ANALOG. tongue.gif It's actually another story. biggrin.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 09:53 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 28 2010, 09:16 PM)
Yea,I know.
But I think we able to get what is able to squeeze from that amount of money.
You still can't catch the joke lololol..

tips: who is the most analog guys in lyn? rclxs0.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 10:21 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Sep 28 2010, 10:05 PM)
LG
wrong rclxs0.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 28 2010, 11:01 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:23 PM)
VK! LOL! tongue.gif
Oh harkk... tongue.gif

btw, All stock for this batch habis. PM me if you wan to join the preorder. Around 10 days for the items to reach. notworthy.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 29 2010, 12:27 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(Leolabs @ Sep 29 2010, 12:21 AM)
Now another question,does it  sounds MUSICAL??? brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Lol, i can't get it. doh.gif Anyone? wave.gif
chchyong89
post Sep 29 2010, 12:52 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Sep 29 2010, 12:51 AM)
Any idea what is the dimension of this board? Looks like can fit inside a candy box. Then you gf will wonder why you eat so much sweet recently.
Here you go

chchyong89
post Sep 29 2010, 01:12 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Sep 29 2010, 01:00 AM)
don't you have to study for your last two papers?

turn off computer la.
tongue.gif i "watch" once half an hour oni ma...

Added on September 29, 2010, 1:14 am
QUOTE(PcWork @ Sep 29 2010, 01:01 AM)
wa....very small ohhhhh

i go and find pendrive casing tomorrow.
then thinking of rip the pendrive casing out to put this.
haha

thickness of the board?
^pcwork
PCB thickness : 1.5mm,
Height with parts < roughly 10mm.
Will contact you once the second batch stock arrive smile.gif very soon.

This post has been edited by chchyong89: Sep 29 2010, 01:14 AM
chchyong89
post Sep 29 2010, 05:10 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Sep 29 2010, 04:58 PM)
Ok-- sorry to interrupt the fun for a bit, but someone asked earlier if it can match or at least come close to the Ordnance-1 DAC for SQ. Well? Can or cannot? In the market for sub-RM100 DAC as a gift, and so I can keep my Ordnance at home...
No idea unsure.gif for sub RM90, can't expect that much.
Btw, maybe DaEMoNteNTAcLe can give some words
tomoro night?
chchyong89
post Sep 30 2010, 01:51 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Sep 29 2010, 09:56 PM)
This is even cheaper than DIY a Bantam DAC or Alien DAC.

I should... I shouldn't...I should... I shouldn't...I should... I shouldn't...I should... I shouldn't...I should... I shouldn't......
Wait the stock arrive, then just take 1 unit la, no need to make the decision that hard, it won't hurt your pocket at all biggrin.gif

chchyong89
post Sep 30 2010, 07:13 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(vir___killer @ Sep 30 2010, 07:11 PM)
all metal film can sound good?
Oh hark, tailou lai liao... yawn.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 2 2010, 08:12 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

How about i organize one competition?
One USB PCM2704 will be awarded to
the most creative design. :lust:Although
the gift is not really that valuable, but this
will encourage more people to show their
creativity and talent thumbup.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 3 2010, 09:30 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 3 2010, 08:44 AM)
u need to change ur signature bro, or else mod will nuke it.
scaring others don't know what he is using. rclxs0.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 5 2010, 03:36 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Oct 5 2010, 03:07 PM)
i heard this thing as a laid back or warm signature...something similar to sansa clip+... true?
It's all depend on you taking which as reference
and compare with. tongue.gif There is almost nothing
at the same price can take this down.
And I am ex-owner of clip+, i can sure this is a lot better than clip+.
Prove: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1362523&hl= blush.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 6 2010, 09:21 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Oct 5 2010, 04:11 PM)
if just playing slow songs, slightly above gumstick.
if fast paced, then below gumstick and/or clip+.
if consider fullness of the sound body and bass alone, above gumstick.

overall, unless i figured a way to make it faster sounding.. personally i would put it below gumstick.

problem is.. if u are not using good phones or speakers and good source, the difference in speed would be small.

either way it is still rm90 vs rm315. for the price, the value is there.
Very thanks DaEMoNteNTAcLe for the kind review wub.gif

Perhaps, using a very high input with very low
output impedance buffer can cure the "slow" sounding?
-> JISBOS thumbup.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 7 2010, 01:10 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Oct 7 2010, 12:24 AM)
Hmm. Burning in is also probably a good idea. I am thinking that everything needs burn in for audio stuff, even the DAC, strangely. I'm not sure if Shroom EB qualifies as slow then: because on Shroom EB the DAC was still somewhat slow, though it was not as obvious as when on cans. Maybe the slowness of detail we both heard was due to not enough power to drive the cans? Inadequate USB power is an interesting proposition. Well. If there's another meeting sometime at Jaben you're coming to, let me know. Can drag my lappy with me to see whether the 'not enough juice' theory holds or not.
A question, is it an amp in the middle line? rolleyes.gif
chchyong89
post Oct 7 2010, 11:36 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Oct 7 2010, 08:33 AM)
nope, direct connect..

currently the only amp in my hand is the go-vibe ppk. i have a silver cable and vdh interconnect to go along with it.
well i wont be arnd for some time, i believe my bro is comin back to kl in another week? u might want to catch his unit instead.
anyways im using a different usb 2.0 cable with twin input as of now. there's also the possibility the caps took sometime to charge because of the low usb power, or it was off for sometime already, so need to build charge.
I didnt really notice the smearing we heard before on tubular bells.

so i'll be running it thru a day with my old hd201 and see what happens tonight.
later when i do have time i'll be putting it to the merciless test of the 300ohm HD650 + Symphonica, it will show all flaws without reservation brows.gif

seems like i'll be keeping this DAC after all. the low end weight and sound body is very nice. thumbup.gif

Added on October 7, 2010, 8:36 amoh chchyong89.. just kinda itchy, no offence here but..
this is for you..

=)

u no good u no good =( sweat.gif

An amp is recommended in the middle line between
the DAC and your cans, then u can hear more of this DAC. biggrin.gif

Btw, i tried shp8900 directly into this dac and
it distort like hell when i tune up the volume. It has a very
great signal but the output of this dac is too limited
to drive some cans directly. It's unlike some other
dac which has opamp at the output stage that is capable
to produce higher current output, (but opamp do
colorize the signal") doh.gif