Hi-Fi Mini USB PCM2704 DAC, I am impressed

ssyycc
post Nov 29 2010, 11:23 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Nov 29 2010, 11:20 PM)
dang. is that yours? wow this 'rabbit hole' is really is deep..but that FiiO will do good to my C3?
Not mine, just pirate the pic from google. I think it will help a lot, it bring the bass back a lot. Ask around you will know.
I own E3.
E3 around RM30 and E5 around RM80, lot of people selling here or jaben.

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 29 2010, 11:23 PM
rifasha
post Nov 29 2010, 11:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ssyycc @ Nov 29 2010, 11:23 PM)
Not mine, just pirate the pic from google. I think it will help a lot, it bring the bass back a lot. Ask around you will know.
I own E3.
E3 around RM30 and E5 around RM80, lot of people selling here or jaben.
so mine is like, PCM2704-> Cable-> Fiio E3 -> C3?

This post has been edited by rifasha: Nov 30 2010, 12:19 AM
power911
post Nov 30 2010, 12:19 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Nov 29 2010, 11:29 PM)
so mine is like, PCM2704-> Cable-> Fiio E3 -> E3?
E3?again? lol I think you meant C3

but then you got the pcm2704. direct connect to c3 is more than enough
having e3 along the way is bad for your c3 amp.

e3 is an amp already, no need extra amp or not later you'll overworked your amp then poof* XD

This post has been edited by power911: Nov 30 2010, 12:20 AM
zombie24
post Nov 30 2010, 12:20 AM

805 posts

ASIO bypasses the normal audio path from the user application through layers of intermediary Windows operating system software, so that the application connects directly to the sound card hardware. Each layer that is bypassed means a reduction in latency (the delay between an application sending audio information and it being reproduced by the sound card, or input signals from the sound card being available to the application). In this way ASIO offers a relatively simple way of accessing multiple audio inputs and outputs independently. Its main strength lies in its method of bypassing the inherently high latency and poor-quality mixing and sample rate conversion of Windows audio mixing kernels (KMixer), allowing direct, high speed communication with audio hardware. Unlike KMixer, an unmixed ASIO output is "bit identical" or "bit transparent", that is, the bits sent to the sound card are identical to those of the original source, thus having higher audio fidelity.

asio

ssyycc
post Nov 30 2010, 12:37 AM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Nov 30 2010, 12:19 AM)

e3 is an amp already, no need extra amp or not later you'll overworked your amp then poof* XD
I think the amp wont poof... the pcm2704 is really really weak, adding little power by E3 still not as loud as those RCA input.
rifasha
post Nov 30 2010, 12:38 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Nov 30 2010, 12:19 AM)

i see. thanks a lot for the advice mate. really2 appreciate it. now i'll just wait..fheww.

boomber
post Nov 30 2010, 12:52 AM

447 posts

Double amplification will only make the scenario even worst. Didn't see much problem if connect your C3 with the USB soundcard since your C3 with built in amplifier unless the amp inside is very low power.

I tried connect it with Aego, the sound is good and only 40% of the volume is needed to sound loud and clear.
rifasha
post Nov 30 2010, 01:01 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(boomber @ Nov 30 2010, 12:52 AM)
Double amplification will only make the scenario even worst. Didn't see much problem if connect your C3 with the USB soundcard since your C3 with built in amplifier unless the amp inside is very low power.

I tried connect it with Aego, the sound is good and only 40% of the volume is needed to sound loud and clear.
lol. sorry for the noobness. tongue.gif oyeah. this almost made me cannot wait for the parcel~!
ssyycc
post Nov 30 2010, 01:01 AM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(boomber @ Nov 30 2010, 12:52 AM)

Yup understand what is double amplification, but what option does he had? Aego is way more expensive than C3 and has very good pre amp.
Fiio distortion is not too bad actually.
rifasha
post Nov 30 2010, 01:07 AM

233 posts

ahh..plis dun make me sound that bad. biggrin.gif. i'll test the upgrades when i get them and will tell u about my satisfaction~ smile.gif
chchyong89
post Nov 30 2010, 01:15 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Nov 29 2010, 11:29 PM)
so mine is like, PCM2704-> Cable-> Fiio E3 -> C3?
skip the E3 if possible, it is just, not really good sweat.gif
rifasha
post Nov 30 2010, 01:16 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:15 AM)
smile.gif okay boss. im skipping it few hours earlier. biggrin.gif
ssyycc
post Nov 30 2010, 01:48 AM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Nov 30 2010, 01:15 AM)
Emmm, sorry to everyone here, shouldn't advice this. It has some risk.

Added on November 30, 2010, 2:25 amI am really sorry just now, let me give something constructive instead
I use a eclipse mint case to hold the pcm2704, it does sound differently, sound is more concentrate and cleaner.
But make sure you don let the board contact with the case directly.
Use those threaded standoffs to mount the board.

Yes you need some tool to drill the metal case.

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 30 2010, 02:26 AM
vivakarna
post Dec 29 2010, 02:24 AM

1,360 posts

just recieved it today..what can i say this dac has more controlled than onboard soundcard..the sound become more clear, bass is tight and doesn't have harsh treble like the onboard sc. biggrin.gif

one thing i'm not sure, when I connect my speaker directly to onboard sc, the sound is more louder compare when i connect with the dac..is it normal? is this call analogue signal? haha~

i'm using foobar2k(asio) > DAC > Mx5021.
tunertoobe
post Dec 29 2010, 07:33 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Dec 29 2010, 02:24 AM)
just recieved it today..what can i say this dac has more controlled than onboard soundcard..the sound become more clear, bass is tight and doesn't have harsh treble like the onboard sc. biggrin.gif

one thing i'm not sure, when I connect my speaker directly to onboard sc, the sound is more louder compare when i connect with the dac..is it normal? is this call analogue signal? haha~

i'm using foobar2k(asio) > DAC > Mx5021.
They probabaly need more power as the DAC doesn't have an amp in it.
chchyong89
post Dec 29 2010, 08:10 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Dec 29 2010, 07:33 AM)
They probabaly need more power as the DAC doesn't have an amp in it.
The output Vpp of this PCM2704 maybe lower compare with onboard DAC.
Don't worry about it, you don't need so high of it blush.gif
iXora.ix
post Jan 13 2011, 06:53 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

hmmm..how if i want to use this dac with my headphone, but the sound
not so loud. do we need amp? which amp we need?
amp on ur last siggy? hehe
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2011, 07:58 PM

9,309 posts

Yes, any amp will do, as long as it has the appropriate interconnects.
brave777
post May 13 2011, 05:43 PM

still got stock?

noobandroid
post May 13 2011, 08:14 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(brave777 @ May 13 2011, 05:43 PM)
still got stock?
not ask here, but PM the seller instead laaa diuzzzz