TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 10:12 AM, updated 16y ago

24,193 posts

Dear phD School sifus, notworthy.gif

I have a question in mind (for a long time already) haha.... I tried looking from books and the internet for answers but I'm din't really find much cry.gif
I was wondering whether you guys could clarify, what's the differences between:

1. Pipe water
2. Rain water
3. Distilled water
4. Deionized water
5. Battery water

We are using some of these waters in our lab but it would be good to know if I can actually use different type of water for different processes i.e. PCR etc..

As for those in our daily lives... one thing which I'm very interested in is.... what type of water can we actually use for our car's battery? Some say battery water, some say distilled water... very confused rclxub.gif

Hope you guys can help me out, thanks thanks, appreciate your help! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 10:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:20 AM)
battery water, is actually distilled water.
I thought distilled water is very poor, if not doesn't conduct electricity? hmm.gif
My dad asked me to refill the car battery with distill water... [doubtful]
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Sep 28 2010, 12:17 PM)

no one start from the standard by WHO ?

basically water quality is measured by :
1) qualitative : appearance, taste, smell
2) quantitative : all chemical composition of the water
3) microbiologic : all microorganisms

shouldn't be too hard to figure out the difference i think.

and battery water you use to fill up the battery is DISTILLED WATER.
I've been thinking for quite a long time and I still don't know what's the difference...
May need to wait for Highwind85 to explain the usage of water when it comes to molecular level hmm.gif

As I've mentioned earlier, I thought distilled water is not (or very poor) in conducting electricity? O___O
I think its more likely deionized water... hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 12:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Sep 28 2010, 12:25 PM)
when you buy your battery.......what is the fluid in it? ever ponder on that?
Well... I never tried to take the water out from the battery and test it, my bad laugh.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 12:22 PM)
like what Eventless mentioned, the batteries are lead acid. but without H20, dry acid itself cannot exhibit acidity and hence the use of distilled water which is pure of any contaminants.
sos from wiki.
and to Awakened_Angel, distilled water is NOT for drinking la. since it is so pure, it is very hypotonic. When drank, it will cause excess water entering into our body cells, causing them to burst. Google deplasmolysis or cytolysis.
Well... I don't really trust Wiki but still here's a quote from there:
"Non-laboratory uses
Distilled or deionized water are commonly used to top up lead acid batteries used in cars and trucks. The presence of foreign ions commonly found in tap water will cause a drastic reduction in an automobile's battery lifespan.
Distilled or deionized water is preferable to tap water for use in automotive cooling systems.[6] The minerals and ions typically found in tap water can be corrosive to internal engine components, and can cause a more rapid depletion of the anti-corrosion additives found in most antifreeze formulations.[7][8] Distilled or deionized water is especially important in automotive hybrid system component cooling systems, mixed with hybrid system coolant, to prevent corrosion and/or electrolysis of hybrid components.[9]"

That settles one question.... laugh.gif

I'm living proof... drank distilled water and deionized water everyday laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 28 2010, 12:40 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 12:43 PM

24,193 posts

I think the reason why distilled water can be used (even though it is not good in terms of conductivity) is because there's still sulfuric acid inside the automotive battery. Based on Wiki, the car battery consists of 35% sulfuric acid and 65% water. hmm.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 12:44 pm
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 28 2010, 12:43 PM)
When famine breakout, and no potable water, evaporated and condensed distilled water is the only water that is safe to drink and easiest to obtain.

The problem that excessive distilled water cause it since there are no minerals within it, it tends to absorb minerals from body which leads to demineralization of body
+1 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 28 2010, 12:44 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 07:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 03:31 PM)
where does your distilled water comes from if may i ask?

Added on September 28, 2010, 3:34 pm
but that isn't really really pure distilled water.

those distilled water u get in labs are distilled and condensed for at 3-4 times, hence it is 100% free of minerals and other contaminants.

when famine breakouts, i doubt people have the time and energy to conduct distillation a few times.

and it does not absorb minerals from the body la.  doh.gif  it causes osmotic imbalance which results in cells bursting.
I work in a lab... I have ample of deionized water and distilled water haha biggrin.gif
I don't think its dangerous to drink distilled water, as long as we don't replace our everyday drinking water with distilled water. Normal water has more minerals, even though minute, which may be good for us nod.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Sep 28 2010, 03:39 PM)
distilled and condensed just once i guess? coz the steam will touch the cold coil, trickle down the tubing into the container you used to store your distilled water..
There's another purer type of distilled water called double distilled water...
Yeap, d dH2O is even purer, but quite expensive haha biggrin.gif
Tried both dH20 and deionized water for PCR, both works laugh.gif

Added on September 28, 2010, 7:19 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 04:20 PM)
ok. so how do you justify that the distilled water will 'absorb the minerals' when the water itself is already in the bloodstream?
The human's digestive tract isn't exactly "empty", as in there's a lot of other excretions i.e mucus, HCL acid, bile etc., which will offset the hypotonicity of the distilled water once consumed, regardless of how pure the water is... which probably explained why I'm still alive hahaha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 28 2010, 07:19 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 08:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Sep 28 2010, 08:15 PM)
nothing to do with the digestive tract. it's more to the influence of increasing amount of electrolyte free fluid to the interstitial space, hence, it becomes hypotonic relative to the fluid in the cell and then osmosis blablabla.....you know.
you are alive because the diet of most urban people(which likely include you) is actually have excess in sodium and other elements. which together with the kidneys compensate quite well. not that i am encouraging you to eat more salty food or drink more distilled water though  laugh.gif
Well, the hypotonicity of the water will be decreased when mixed with other "stuffs" within the digestive tract, upon absorption, only then what you say will happen nod.gif
LOL.... Even if I don't eat excessive Sodium also won't matter kua... osmoregulation via aldosterone will occur anyway laugh.gif
I eat a lot of vegetables (non-salty) to save money hahaha laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 28 2010, 09:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Sep 28 2010, 08:51 PM)
it so happens that the other stuff in the digestive tract you mentioned also comes from the body........so net effect is still the decrease of the concentration of the electrolyte.
sodium may not have to be the salt we use in our food. there's so many "hidden" source of sodium.
and yes.....the body is very good in osmoregulation.......there's a limit to it but no worries.....there's many signs the body will tell you when the limit of the osmoregulation is near.
You are scaring me ar dude haha laugh.gif
I should turn into vegetarian laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 10:22 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Eventless @ Sep 29 2010, 10:17 AM)
Here's a simple experiment that can be done to test this, take a bucket filled with distilled water and stick your hand in it. If you start seeing stuff coming off your hand after a while, it is probably a good indication that you have cells exploding and peeling off your hands or you should wash your hands more often.
The cells on the epidermis are dead cells.... I don't think they will burst laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 10:39 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Eventless @ Sep 29 2010, 10:30 AM)
Ever had your hands go wrinkly after soaking in water for a while? This shows that the water is having an effect on the skin so this experiment should still be valid.
The dead cells are permeable to water. Upon permeating through those cells (after prolonged exposure to water), they come into contact with the inner cells, causing them to swell... since there's not enough space, they tend to push each other causing a wrinkled effect. I don't think the cells burst though.... hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 11:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Sep 29 2010, 11:17 AM)
skin absorb water, yes..
cells burst, no...
http://www.scientificamerican.com/article....gers-wrinkle-in

Added on September 29, 2010, 11:23 am

haha..we are all learning...what you're saying is "diffussion" which is valid without the involvement of semi-permeable membrane..
Osmosis is applicable for biological system due to the presence of semi-permeable membrane (Cell membrane/ cell wall)...
Ah..this brings me back my memories of spm bio experiment where you soak potatos in isotonic, hypertonic and hypotonic solutions..
LOL.... I remembered stealing some potatoes home to cook french fries sweat.gif
Bad example, don't learn guys haha laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2010, 07:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Sep 29 2010, 06:50 PM)
What makes pure water hypotonic? are you saying that water distillers kill people?
No they don't haha laugh.gif
Explanation available in previous pages nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 6 2010, 12:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(brutalsoul @ Oct 6 2010, 12:25 PM)
acid or alkali? that makes the different...btw water is water, H2O
sweat.gif

0.0227sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:58 AM