Eiraku
post Sep 28 2010, 01:18 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 27 2010, 11:24 PM)
its alive... on first try

its my corsair flash voyager gt 4gb.

havent tried my 16gb... time to sleep... experiment tomorrow...
For the love of god, WHY? WHYYYYYYYYYYYYY?

NOW I really miss my dead N900... cry.gif

Hopefully the N9 has OTG enabled... hmm.gif
Eiraku
post Oct 2 2010, 09:08 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Oct 2 2010, 02:22 AM)
Just tested USB hostmode. Successfully connected to my 2GB and 8Gb thumbdrive. Will try with external HDD next. biggrin.gif

You guys are just doing it to make me cry now izzit?

cry.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 2 2010, 09:09 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 2 2010, 11:48 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Oct 2 2010, 11:17 AM)
what is your purpose of using phone? what function serve you the most, N900 not for lame user tongue.gif  you need time constantly playing the setting
Or you can be totally unlame and brick/kill your phone from over-hacking... hmm.gif

Really, for normal users Android is better. For power users Maemo is better (can dual boot NITDroid also lol, best of both worlds).

For extra-power users (aka. memandai-mandai ones like me), Nokia S40 is better (cannot brick one ma).

But for some unknown reason, I just cannot bring myself to love Android much. Because I've never used it maybe?

Ah Nokia, already October oi, where's the Meego news?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 2 2010, 11:51 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 5 2010, 11:46 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dominus91 @ Oct 5 2010, 09:53 AM)
haha..i just plan to post up this joyful news.. the SGS users keep talking the spec is better than N900 so it should be winner.. WTH ==..
Ask them to take pictures in the dark. Lol. I know my E71 can take better pics in complete darkness.

But really, I'm seeing RAMPANT fanboism everywhere now, is it a new trend? Every phone has its advantages and disadvantages, why can't anyone simply accept that?
Eiraku
post Oct 5 2010, 02:50 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Oct 5 2010, 01:26 PM)
expecting tons of butthurts in here

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1588058

kihkihkih laugh.gif
Yes. Fight over the honor of smartphones. Sigh.

And appropriately it comes after my "fanboy explosion" comment lol.
Eiraku
post Oct 5 2010, 03:18 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 5 2010, 02:54 PM)
welcome to the world of kopitiam where ppl never sleeps and argument never ends
LYN should change their name to LYN/k/ lol. Or kopitiam.net.

But I digress. Doing something for the lolz is not bad sometimes asso. In a civilized manner anyway.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 5 2010, 03:21 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 6 2010, 05:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Sigh.

Ovi Store = Free got, trial got, paid asso got.

App Manager = If you add all the required repo/archive for free stuff -> all free stuff lar.

Shimple.

Not many paid apps for Maemo pon, it doesn't generate much income so developers mostly run away. The ones that are left are mostly enthusiasts/DIY guys so free apps lar.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 6 2010, 05:56 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 7 2010, 06:47 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Oct 7 2010, 04:03 PM)
Hi guys...

For tethering you N900 internet connection...

what is good to use?

Mobile Hotspot or Joikuspot?

Is there a setting that we need to set?

My Laptop has no problems connecting to Joikospot but my Samsung Star Wifi cannot connect to it...

Any advice?
Maybe the Star doesn't play nice with ad-hoc connections? Because IINM that's what Joikuspot is using.

Back during my N900 days I used mobile hotspot though - better compatibility with custom kernels.

QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Oct 7 2010, 06:04 PM)
not really bro. there are some apps i'd like to have ported to maemo, but there is a good stable of apps which currently suits all my needs. It depends on wether you're looking for functionality over having a flashy top of the range phone.Its games that are severely lacking, but i have a psp for that, tongue.gif
Well, actually the app-scape of Maemo is fine, except for the lack of a proper GPS app (don't say there's Sygic, it's crap and we all know it).

For the lack of REAL games we have an abundance of emulators and re-ported oldies like Dune 2, Jagged Alliance 2, Baldur's Gate/Planescape Torment/BG2/Iceland Dale, Descent - all of which I haven't seen on a handheld other then the Pandora.

For me, the greatest failing of the N900 is the crappily integrated phone functions and the battery life, really (and a few other phone function related hardware/software issues that is gonna take a few pages for me to write, so no).

As a mobile computer though, it has no rival IMHO, even more so now with NITDroid and USB-Host working.

But I can't afford to get a proper phone AND an N900 (now that my original one is dead) so it's gonna be a loooooong wait for the N9 or the Droid/Milestone Pro or The Pre 2 for me.

As of rite now, the E71 does fine for most of my needs other then heavy browsing of complex web pages. UCWeb doesn't really play nice with javascript heavy pages you see.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 7 2010, 06:50 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 7 2010, 08:46 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

On a side note, my bro's IP4 just freezed on him this afternoon. He googled and it seemed that iOS has memory issues while multi-tasking, resulting in freezes that require a full reboot.

And they say Symbian was bad with memory lol. At least my E71 only has 128MB ram only. iOS has half a gig pun freeze? Baik no multi-tasking at all.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 7 2010, 08:47 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 8 2010, 09:04 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 8 2010, 08:25 AM)
Thanks to the power of tablet OS and FCam~

Wonder if MeeGo will be able to live up to Maemo standard, or it will become another "mobile" standard OS. For start, seems it already lost the Desktop concept...
If it wants to be a proper phone, it needs to look the part. Desktop concepts do not really work well for your fingertips. It might look cool, but in terms of egronomics?

But we still NEED a widgetized homescreen to manage info-overload, and hopefully Nokia doesn't ditch that in favour of iPhone menu only idiocy.

As for the no Meego news, that's what INTEL is saying. They are planning their own Moorestown based platform, rite? HOPEFULLY that has nothing to do with Nokia's ARM based Meego devices - the N9 included.
Eiraku
post Oct 8 2010, 02:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Oct 8 2010, 02:37 PM)
anyone just reflashed lately ? i just reflashed but i dont know why its taking so long for it to boot,it just stucks at the screen with the 5 dots,it's been almost 10 mins...only flashed the firmware and did not flashed the emmc,
weirdly after so long it still cant boot into the system

btw ,flashed it with RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.19-1_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM
Try reflashing again, if nothing changes and it's still stuck at the dots, congrats: you're the proud owner of the SECOND motherboard/eMMC cair Malaysian N900 in existence.

Which I really hope is not the case, but if it is, be thankful you still have warranty (which I didn't).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 8 2010, 03:04 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 8 2010, 03:11 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Oct 8 2010, 03:00 PM)
BUT will the warranty thingy(ap set from clareen bought on march) help me to get a new set or even repaired??? since its the mobo or maybe emmc problem
THAT'S IF it's a fried eMMC/Mobo. Even if it is, they SHOULD get you a new set, if not, yet another reason never to go AP.

But really, I don't know. All I've heard is the rumor that a certain AP company likes to sprinkle water onto in-repair sets that they can't economically repair and call it "water damage" - which conveniently voids your warranty.

Rumours, mind you.
Eiraku
post Oct 8 2010, 05:05 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(tabletennis @ Oct 8 2010, 04:29 PM)
waiting for suitable device,yet im sure that my phone is in flash mode...so can confirm the emmc gt some problem d
Yep this is exactly what I faced back then as well. No matter what OS you use to flash (Linux, Windows 32-bit, whatever); no matter how many times you check to see if you've taken all the steps needed; no matter what magical, superstitious extra step you take; it will keep on throwing you "suitable device not found error".

Sigh. Dead and unre-flashable. Sedih eh?

Anyhow, do try what I did above - try to change OS (and make sure it's 32-bit), triple-check your steps and reflash again. Not much else you CAN do on the software side anymore really. Not even phoenix/JAF.

IINM the reflashing tools given to us are the same ones used in the repair centers, unlike with symbian-based phones. So I doubt there's an alternative to just re-flashing it with Maemo flasher,

So, when you've tried all the things I did (and get told by some people who INSIST you're too much of an idiot to NOT miss one of the required steps to re-flash, over and over - I kena at Maemo.org), let's compare notes.

What did you do to your N900 that you think might have killed it? OC?

I do think my N900 died due to the same reason as yours, eMMC chip corruption/physical degradation. Now, let's freakin find out why it happened.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 8 2010, 05:18 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 8 2010, 05:42 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Ugh, so that makes two dead N900s is Malaysia edi. Let it right (biar betul).

Is it just me or is Malaysian N900 users really hardcore modders (at least us LYN ones lol).

Anyway, good luck on the warranty claim.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 8 2010, 05:44 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 11 2010, 09:12 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I actually like the homescreen design and the UI really. It's the underlying OS that I don't like. I mean, no cut and paste? No multitasking? No bluetooth file sharing (or a file explorer to begin with)?

Is Microsoft planning to beat iOS 4 with an iOS ver 1 clone? Come on... sweat.gif

And Meego is delayed at least till next year (if Intel's "no Meego phones" announcement includes Nokia devices that is), so beside the Droid Pro, life is getting kinda boring in gadgetland.
Eiraku
post Oct 11 2010, 09:42 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2010/10/11/dell-ve...first-hands-on/

If only this thing was running at least Android, I'd be all over it. Sigh.
Eiraku
post Oct 17 2010, 11:57 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 17 2010, 11:49 PM)
There are basically 2 type of casing for N900
1st is the snap on hard casing.That's crap.It'll break off easily.
2nd is the otterbox case.This is the best case for N900 but it's bit expensive.About RM120 if I'm not mistaken.
After having tested a whole multitude of different cases for me (dead due to overwork) N900, I'd say that unless Epikcase/Capdase comes with a TPU resin case for the N900, the Otterbox REIGNS SUPREME.

Yeah, it's a bit expensive at around RM100, but heck it outlasted the phone it was supposed to protect lol. Cons? You have to buy it online or second hand - nobody selling it locally.
And hard cases fail on the N900 - as it does for most slider.

@aspire: Fun time eh with the N8?
Eiraku
post Oct 19 2010, 03:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

@aspire: With working Garmin, N8 (or any Symbian phone for that matter) pwns N900 or even N9 (or ANY phones lol, except WM6), unless Papago gets made for Meego or Nokia shocks us all and gives us a working Symbian emulation layer on Meego (aka, run Symbian apps on Meego yeah).

And I stay by my initial view that the N900 is NOT the best primary telephony device around (aka, as a phone, I'll take a Symbian device any time as it has better phone functions) - it's the BEST at Internet Consumption though, with no real rivals at all (except for that little flash 10 problem and almost-as-bad-as-desire battery life). Email is arguably slight better on newer Symbian devices PRIMARILY because push mail actually works (the N900 mail app FAILS at connecting to the internet itself to pull mail if you're not running a constant data connection - it pulls every time you connect to packet data ONLY), but the N900 displays email better for sure.

But if you need one device and need it to surf the web a lot and call people less (and have an extra battery/USB charger), for now the N900 is STILL NO.1 in my book. A shame nobody else has taken the crown from it yet.

In short, I STILL think the N900 SUCKS as a "smartphone", but RULES (for now) as a "computer with bonus phone functions".

@jananan: X2 has OTG? For the love of...

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 19 2010, 03:18 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 20 2010, 02:40 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Oct 19 2010, 06:59 PM)
Seriously if I'm rich I'll sponsor Eiraku with a free N900.
I miss his constant hacking.He's the 1 who discovered W3M CLI text-based web browser.Mighty usefull when I'm in 2G only area.
Sponsor? N900? Where? Lol...

I MYSELF miss the utter nerdness of surfing with W3C (and the speed at which it settles complex websites on EDGE).

And how can a guy with a dead N900 even be considered to be potential new TS for the thread? Hadoi.

Oh well, hopefully the N9 and Meego later will be interesting enough for both of us to go rock that thread pulak - though we will prolly still drop here from time to time.

Also, why everyone go perang without me one? cry.gif

Regarding flash 10, let's just say because Nokia edi paid for the Meego ver, they prolly find little reason to pay more for an OS they supposedly dropped edi (and will replace with Meego).

As for the memory management, there's only so much a desktop grade OS like Maemo can do with 256MB RAM without resorting to the horrid slowness that is the eMMC swap. To settle that, we need more RAM AND a faster swap flash chip. Which means we need a hardware refresh.

Lastly, upgradable HP's have been a pet idea of mine next to mobile-based portable computing - maybe go the way of the Modu with modules you can swap at your discretion? Need a qwerty keyboard, attach module C. Need a more powerful camera? Replace module B with a newer model. Need more RAM? Replace module F.

But trust me, big electronic companies WILL NEVER consider this route seriously because for most people, buying a new mobile will always be easier then upgrading an old one (which is proving true even for laptops nowadays - apa lagi them cheap mobiles).

Also, they make less money by NOT forcing people to buy new models, no?

0.0446sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:21 PM